DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The brief summary in the specification is missing.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because “rooftile” should be --roof tile--. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figure 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. Figure 5 is described as “a perspective view showing use of the prior art nail gun of Figure 3 to use the protruding lead nail to commence locating pre-punched nail hole in a prior art roofing steeltile”. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant’s admitted prior art (figs. 3-5, paras. 7-11, 61, and 62).
13. APA teaches a nail kit comprising:
a nail gun (figs. 3 and 5) having a nail rack mount (the rear bracket);
a nail rack (nail magazine) having:
a first lead nail (the first nail in the nail strip) with a first lead nail tip extending from a first lead nail shank, the nail rack mountable in the nail rack mount with the first lead nail tip protruding externally from the nail gun prior to the nail gun moving of the first lead nail tip in the nail rack, fig. 5;
a second nail (the second nail in the nail strip) having a second nail shank parallel to a first nail shank in the first lead nail prior to the nail gun moving of the first lead nail tip in the nail rack.
14. APA teaches the kit of claim 13, APA further teaching the first lead nail tip is spaced forward of the second nail tip, fig. 4.
15. APA teaches the kit of claim 14, APA further teaching the second nail capable of moving in the nail rack to take the position of the first lead nail, with the second nail tip protruding externally of the nail gun, when the first lead nail is ejected from the nail rack by the nail gun (nail gun nails on a strip are designed to advance one nail at a time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naden (5,174,092) in view of Caselli (11,959,279) and Liang (7,905,378).
1. Naden teaches a method of installing a rigid roof tile (the tile is rigid metal) comprising:
placing a first rigid roof tile 10 in a desired position on a roof substrate 12 and driving a first nail 36a into a first nail mounting passage 34a in the first rigid rooftile. Naden does not teach grasping a nail gun having a nail rack mounted in the nail gun, the nail rack having a plurality of nails with nail shanks mounted in parallel in the rack and having a first lead nail with a first lead nail tip protruding externally from the nail gun; moving the nail gun and first protruding lead nail tip to penetrate the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid rooftile; and activating the nail gun to shoot the first lead nail into the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid roof tile. Liang teaches grasping a nail gun 10 having a nail rack mounted in the nail gun, the nail rack having a plurality of nails with nail shanks mounted in parallel in the rack and having a first lead nail 9, fig. 1, with a first lead nail tip protruding externally from the nail gun, fig. 1; moving the nail gun and first protruding lead nail tip to penetrate the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid member 81, figs. 13-15; and activating the nail gun to shoot the first lead nail into the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid member, fig. 15 and Caselli teaches using a nail gun, col. 11, lines 45-50, to secure metal roof tiles, col. 2, lines 7-14. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Naden to include grasping a nail gun having a nail rack mounted in the nail gun, the nail rack having a plurality of nails with nail shanks mounted in parallel in the rack and having a first lead nail with a first lead nail tip protruding externally from the nail gun; moving the nail gun and first protruding lead nail tip to penetrate the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid rooftile; and activating the nail gun to shoot the first lead nail into the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid roof tile as taught by Caselli and Liang to reduce installation time.
2. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 1, Naden in view of Caselli and Liang further teaching the activating step includes shooting the first lead nail into and through the first nail mounting passage in the first rigid rooftile and the roof substrate (the nail is fully seated so the tile is secure).
3. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 1, Naden in view of Caselli and Liang further comprising again moving the nail gun and a second protruding lead nail tip to penetrate a second nail mounting passage or depression in a second rigid rooftile; and activating the nail gun to shoot the second lead nail into the second nail mounting passage or depression in the second rigid rooftile (there are two nail holes).
4. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 1, Naden in view of Caselli and Liang further comprising: again moving the nail gun and a second protruding lead nail tip to penetrate a second nail mounting passage in a second rigid rooftile; and activating the nail gun to shoot the second lead nail into and through the second nail mounting passage or depression in the second rigid rooftile and penetrate the roof substrate (there are two tile nail holes).
5. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 1, Naden further comprising the first rigid rooftile is a metal rooftile, col. 1, lines 5-7.
6. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 2, Naden further comprising the first rigid rooftile is a metal rooftile, col. 1, lines 5-7.
7. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 1, Naden further comprising the first and second rigid rooftile is a metal rooftile, col. 1, lines 5-7.
8. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid rooftile installing method of claim 4, Naden further comprising the first and second rigid rooftile is a metal rooftile, col. 1, lines 5-7.
9. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid roof tile installing method of claim 1, Naden further teaching the rigid roof tile is a preformed sheet metal roof tile, col. 1, lines 5-7, figs. 1-3.
10. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid roof tile installing method of claim 2, Naden further teaching the first rigid rooftile is a preformed sheet metal rooftile, col. 1, lines 5-7.
11. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid roof tile installing method of claim 3, Naden further teaching the first rigid rooftile and second rigid rooftile are each preformed sheet metal rooftiles, col. 1, lines 5-7, figs. 1-3.
12. Naden in view of Caselli and Liang teach the rigid roof tile installing method of claim 4, Naden further teaching the first rigid rooftile and second right rooftile are each preformed sheet metal roof tile, col. 1, lines 5-7, figs. 1-3.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633