DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that narrowing expressions of corresponding structure or implementations could not be clearly identified for cases of “means for” as recited in claim 18, and are therefore read according to ordinary language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The term “drive bit” in claims 7-8, 16, and 18 is used by the claim to mean “bit,” a binary digit. While no accepted meaning for the term “drive bit” could be found within typical academic references (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc), multiple online references, such as bit#2 For Robertson head screw. Flexpipe Inc. 2026, use “drive bit” to refer to “a replaceable part of a compound tool that actually performs the function (such as drilling or boring) for which the whole tool is designed” a bit as defined by Merriam-Webster, 2026. Therefore, the term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 9-17 and 19-20 are rejected as they are dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vasishtha et al (hereinafter Vasishtha), US-PG-PUB No 2018/0176864.
Regarding claim 1, Vasishtha discloses an apparatus (An apparatus for optimizing sleep states of a Bluetooth device.....¶[0024], lines 1-4) comprising an audio peripheral (The apparatus may comprise wireless headphones (a type of audio peripheral).....¶[0016], line 9, 12-13) configured to generate (Signals are generated by a Bluetooth circuit provided to the apparatus.....¶[0017], lines 6-8) a power control signal (Shown in Fig. 3, Sleep timing signal (96) controls the transitions between active and sleep states, which control the power used by the headphones.....¶[0039], lines 7-11) to assert a first transition (Rising edge (100) asserts the transition to active state.....¶[0039], lines 11-12) to a high current state (The active state is a high current state, using 2000 microamps as compared to sleep mode’s 4 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using an activation time based on an assertion time interval (The activation time (132) where power control signal (96) is driven high at (100) is at the start of wake-up interval (134) (the assertion time interval), ending at time (136) when the device is in an active (fully asserted) state.....¶[0043], lines 3-9) and to de-assert a second transition to a low current state (The sleep state is a low current state, using 4 microamps as compared to active state’s 2000 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using a passivation time based on an de-assertion time interval (The passivation time (124) where the power control signal (96) is driven low corresponds to (is based upon) the end of a post-processing interval (122) (de-assertion time interval).....¶[0042], lines 5-8); and a power supply coupled to the audio peripheral (A battery supplies power to the audio peripheral.....¶[0016], lines 26-27), the power supply configured to supply power to the audio peripheral (The power supply supplies power to the peripheral in accordance with a power management unit and CPU which process the power control signal.....¶[0048], lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 2, Vasishtha discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power supply is further configured to assert the first transition to the high current state (Power for the apparatus and peripheral is drawn from the battery, thus assertion of the first transition to the high current state relies upon the battery being configured by the power management unit to supply more power in the active state. As previously stated, the active state draws 2000 microamps as compared to the sleep state’s 3-4 microamps…...¶[0016], lines 27-29, 39-42)
Regarding claim 3, Vasishtha discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power supply is further configured to de-assert the second transition to the low current state (Power for the apparatus and peripheral is drawn from the battery, thus assertion of the second transition to the low current state relies upon the battery being configured by the power management unit to supply less power in the sleep state. As previously stated, the sleep state draws 3-4 microamps as compared to the active state’s 2000 microamps…...¶[0016], lines 27-29, 39-42).
Regarding claim 8, Vasishtha discloses a method comprising: determining an assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval (134) is determined to be long enough for the system to wake and prepare after an assertion to an active state at time (132), thus interval (134) is an assertion time interval.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) prior to a start one drive bit of a plurality of drive bits (While in the active state, the method allows a wireless device to receive Bluetooth data packets from a second device, data packets inherently containing a plurality of bits, such pluralities inherently containing one (first) bit, the start of which is not available to the system until it achieves the active state.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) based on a reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to an asserted state at time (132) is based upon a sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4);
determining a de-assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval of time (122) between when the last data is processed at time (120) and when the method de-asserts to a sleep state at time (124).....¶[0042], lines 4-8), subsequent to an end of the one drive bit of the plurality of drive bits (The interval is used for post-processing activity, thus subsequent to the bit-processing activity denoted at point (104), at which point the one (first) drive bit of the first received packet has already been processed by the system.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to a de-asserted state at time (124) is based upon an sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4); and
generating (Signals are generated by a Bluetooth circuit provided to the apparatus.....¶[0017], lines 6-8) a power control signal (Sleep timing signal (96) controls the transitions between active and sleep states, which control the power used by devices applying the method.....¶[0039], lines 7-11) to assert a first transition (Rising edge (100) asserts the transition to active state.....¶[0039], lines 11-12) to a high current state (The active state is a higher power (therefore higher current) state, using (in one example) 2000 microamps as compared to sleep mode’s 4 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using an activation time based on the assertion time interval (The activation time (132) is always at the start of assertion time interval (134), as it triggers the assertion time warm up process.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) and to de-assert a second transition to a low current state (The sleep state is a lower power (therefore lower current) state, using (in one example) 4 microamps as compared to active state’s 2000 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using a passivation time based on the de-assertion time interval (The passivation time (98) occurs at the end of the de-assertion time interval.....¶[0039], lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 9, Vasishtha discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the assertion time interval governs a transition from a low current state to a high current state (The assertion time interval allows the transition from low to high current states to complete and the system to stabilize before resuming data operations.....¶[0043], lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 10, Vasishtha discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the high current state accommodates an audio peripheral (The method may be employed in wireless headsets (audio peripherals).....¶[0016], lines 8-13) as an active load (The active (high current) state is an active state wherein data processing occurs.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) and the low current state accommodates the audio peripheral as a passive load (The sleep (low current) state is a passive state in which data is not being processed.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Vasishtha discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the de-assertion time interval governs a transition from a high current state to a low current state (The de-assertion time interval allows the system to complete post-processing operations prior to entering sleep state.....¶[0042], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 12, Vasishtha discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the high current state accommodates an audio peripheral (The method may be employed in wireless headsets (audio peripherals).....¶[0016], lines 8-13) as an active load (The active (high current) state is an active state wherein data processing occurs.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) and the low current state accommodates the audio peripheral as a passive load (The sleep (low current) state is a passive state in which data is not being processed.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, Vasishtha teaches, as explained above, the method of claim 8, further comprising determining the reconfiguration timeline (The assertion and de-assertion time intervals that comprise and determine the reconfiguration timeline are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3) from a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, the functional limitations are the same as those recited in claim 8, and are similarly disclosed by Vasishtha, as explained above.
Regarding the additional limitations, Vasishtha additionally discloses an apparatus for toggling (A power management unit (apparatus) of a device conducts transitions (toggles) to and from a sleep mode.....¶[0067], lines 10-12, 17) quiescent current power mode (The sleep mode uses minimal current as compared to active mode, thus comprising a quiescent current power mode…..¶[0016], lines 39-42) based on a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3), as well as means for determining the assertion time interval, the de-assertion time interval, and for generating the power control signal (The power management (including assertion and de-assertion to and from active and sleep modes, relying upon the power control signal) functions of the method are implemented by means of a power management unit comprising processor circuitry.....¶[0016], lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 19, the functional limitations are the same as those recited in claim 13.
Regarding the additional limitations, Vasishtha additionally discloses for performing recited functions (The power management (including assertion and de-assertion to and from active and sleep modes, relying upon the power control signal) functions of the method are implemented by means of a power management unit comprising processor circuitry.....¶[0016], lines 30-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view of DuBose, US-PG-PUB No. 2009/0287947.
Regarding claim 4, Vasishtha discloses, as explained above, the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a power supply comprises a first switch and a second switch for toggling between a low power mode and a high power mode.
DuBose teaches a circuit for low idle power in Bluetooth devices (analogous to the headset of Vasishtha), wherein a power supply comprises (Shown in Fig. 3, primary circuit (210) is part of power supply (200).....¶[0017], lines 1-3) a first switch and a second switch (Shown in Fig. 3, switches S1 and S2 are part of primary circuit (210).....¶[0036], lines 4-5) for toggling between a low power mode (S1 may be designated to put the system in a low power mode.....¶[0036], lines 12-15) and a high power mode (S2 may be used by the power control unit to return the system to active (high power) mode.....¶[0036], lines 18-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha by DuBose to provide the benefit of where operational power may be saved by physically disengaging circuits of a device (DuBose, ¶[0005], lines 9-11). This would make obvious the feature wherein the power supply comprises a first switch and a second switch for toggling between a low power mode and a high power mode.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Vasishtha and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 4.
DuBose additionally teaches a power control module (Shown in Fig. 3, Power Control Unit (232).....¶[0036], lines 1-2) coupled to the power supply (The power control unit is operationally coupled to a power supply, as it controls the power supply state.....¶[0036], lines 1-2, 12-15), the power control module configured to activate the first switch and the second switch (The power control unit controls first and second switches S1 and S2.....¶[0036], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Vasishtha and DuBose by DuBose to provide the benefit of where operational power may be saved by physically disengaging circuits of a device (DuBose, ¶[0005], lines 9-11). This would make obvious the feature of a power control module coupled to the power supply, the power control module configured to activate the first switch and the second switch.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Vasishtha and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 5.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the audio peripheral determines the reconfiguration timeline (The assertion and de-assertion time intervals that comprise and determine the reconfiguration timeline are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3) from a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Vasishtha and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the audio peripheral is further configured to determine an assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval (134) is determined to be long enough for the system to wake and prepare after an assertion to an active state at time (132), thus interval (134) is an assertion time interval.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) prior to the start one drive bit of a plurality of drive bits (While in the active state, the method allows a wireless device to receive Bluetooth data packets from a second device, data packets inherently containing a plurality of bits, such pluralities inherently containing one bit (e.g. a first bit of a first packet).....¶[0014], lines 3-7) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to an asserted state at time (132) is based upon a sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4);
determining a de-assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval of time (122) between when the last data is processed at time (120) and when the method de-asserts to a sleep state at time (124).....¶[0042], lines 4-8), subsequent to the end of the one drive bit of the plurality of drive bits (The interval is used for post-processing activity, thus subsequent to the bit-processing activity denoted at point (104), including the processing of the one (first) bit of the first packet.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to a de-asserted state at time (124) is based upon an sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4).
Claims 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view of BLUETOOTH CORE SPECIFICATION Version 5.3 [online]. Bluetooth SIG Proprietary, 2021 (hereinafter Bluetooth).
Regarding claim 14, Vasishtha discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above, Vasishtha fails to explicitly disclose wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame, instead broadly disclosing Bluetooth data packets.
Bluetooth teaches wherein a Bluetooth data connection may utilize the L2CAP layer to provide a data configuration which defines the size of transmission data frames (Pg. 212, section 3.1.1, ¶[1], lines 1-3, ¶[2], lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha by Bluetooth to provide the benefit of a digital audio configuration compatible with Bluetooth LE (Low Energy), providing further power efficiency of the device (Bluetooth, 3.1.2, last line). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Vasishtha and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 14.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the digital audio configuration defines a bit slot sequence (The audio data contains pluralities of bits which are inherently received and processed in a sequence, with packets received in 625 microsecond slots.....¶[0018], lines 1-4), with a relative timeline of a plurality of active loads and a plurality of passive loads (Shown in Fig. 3, activity is aligned to the slots at points (104) and (106), while the device is in the active state, and the device is in a passive state (with passive loads) when in a sleep state.....¶[0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Vasishtha and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 15.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the reconfiguration timeline includes a plurality of drive bits from the bit slot sequence (Shown in Fig. 3, (showing the timeline which defines how the method reconfigures itself between sleep and active modes), is wireless communication activity marker (104), wherein the apparatus performs wireless and processing activity, including the processing of wireless data (including a plurality of bits) in accordance with the slot sequence of the top row of the figure.....¶[0040], lines 1-3, ¶[0016], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 20, Vasishtha, as explained above, discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
Vasishtha additionally discloses means for receiving the digital audio configuration (A wireless communication circuit and processor for processing received data.....¶[0067], lines 1-8).
Vasishtha fails to disclose fails to explicitly disclose wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame, instead broadly disclosing Bluetooth data packets.
Bluetooth teaches wherein a Bluetooth data connection may utilize the L2CAP layer to provide a data configuration which defines the size of transmission data frames (Pg. 212, section 3.1.1, ¶[1], lines 1-3, ¶[2], lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha by Bluetooth to provide the benefit of a digital audio configuration compatible with Bluetooth LE (Low Energy), providing further power efficiency of the device (Bluetooth, 3.1.2, last line). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view of Bluetooth in further view of Trajmar et al (hereinafter Trajmar), US Patent No. 8,098,737 with further evidence provided by DDR SDRAM [online]. Wikipedia.org, 2023 (hereinafter DDR SDRAM).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Vasishtha and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 16, but fail to teach wherein the bit slot sequence operates in a double data rate (DDR) mode where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock.
Trajmar teaches an audio data transport method utilizing DDR (double data rate) SD Random Access Memory, thus enabling the bit slot sequence (data being processed for transport, analogous to the data being processed of Vasishtha) to operate in a double data rate mode, where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock (DDR interfaces inherently transfer (transport) data (defining the bit slot boundaries) on rising and falling edges of the transfer clock signal, evidenced in “DDR SDRAM”, ¶2, lines 4-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Vasishtha and Bluetooth by Trajmar to provide the benefit of nearly double the data bandwidth (“DDR SDRAM”, ¶2, lines 7-9). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the bit slot sequence operates in a double data rate (DDR) mode where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ozawa, US-PG-PUB No. 2017/0220094, teaches a method of power control for electronic devices wherein predetermined transition stages exist between power states.
Gu et al, US Patent No. 8,738,824, teaches an audio codec which cyclically switches between a high and low current state.
Zheng et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2025/0184896, teaches an adaptive sleep method where a device is synchronized to periodically wake to check for a control signal.
/SEAN M RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694