DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for 18/747,871 filed on 06/09/2026.
Please note claims 1-20 remain in the application.
In response to the amendments filed to claims 8 and 18, the previous rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha et al (hereinafter Vasishtha), US-PG-PUB No 2018/0176864 (previously cited) in view of Specification for SoundWire Version 1.2. MIPI Alliance, 2019 (hereinafter Soundwire).
Regarding claim 1, Vasishtha discloses an apparatus (An apparatus for optimizing sleep states of a Bluetooth device.....¶[0024], lines 1-4) comprising an audio peripheral (The apparatus may comprise wireless headphones (a type of audio peripheral).....¶[0016], line 9, 12-13) configured to generate (Signals are generated by a Bluetooth circuit provided to the apparatus.....¶[0017], lines 6-8) a power control signal (Shown in Fig. 3, Sleep timing signal (96) controls the transitions between active and sleep states, which control the power used by the headphones.....¶[0039], lines 7-11) to assert a first transition (Rising edge (100) asserts the transition to active state.....¶[0039], lines 11-12) to a high current state (The active state is a high current state, using 2000 microamps as compared to sleep mode’s 4 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using an activation time based on an assertion time interval (The activation time (132) where power control signal (96) is driven high at (100) is at the start of wake-up interval (134) (the assertion time interval), ending at time (136) when the device is in an active (fully asserted) state.....¶[0043], lines 3-9) and to de-assert a second transition to a low current state (The sleep state is a low current state, using 4 microamps as compared to active state’s 2000 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using a passivation time based on an de-assertion time interval (The passivation time (124) where the power control signal (96) is driven low corresponds to (is based upon) the end of a post-processing interval (122) (de-assertion time interval).....¶[0042], lines 5-8); and a power supply coupled to the audio peripheral (A battery supplies power to the audio peripheral.....¶[0016], lines 26-27), the power supply configured to supply power to the audio peripheral (The power supply supplies power to the peripheral in accordance with a power management unit and CPU which process the power control signal.....¶[0048], lines 3-8).
Vasishtha fails to explicitly disclose wherein a passive state transition at the passivation time is signified on a transport link by control bits in a transmission data frame. The examiner does, however note, that while not relied upon for the current rejection, such behavior may be implied, as outgoing protocol data units (transmission data frames) from a peripheral bluetooth device include headers (control bits) signifying presence to a linked control device.
However, Soundwire teaches wherein a peripheral device undergoing a passive state transition at a passivation time is signified (At a time where a peripheral device receives a ClockStopNow request from a control device, it responds with Command_OK (a signifier) as it accepts the command and transitions into ClockStop mode (a low power, passive state)…..Pg. 133, table 51, row 1) on a transport link (A SoundWire interface…..Pg. 85, lines 1799-1801) by control bits (Command_OK is represented by ACK and NACK control bits…..Pg. 81, line 1688; Pg. 86, Table 25, last two rows) in a transmission data frame (Data sent over the interface is done via transmitted frames containing data…..Pg. 85, lines 1799-1801).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha by SoundWire to provide the benefit of alerting all devices in a system to mitigate error conditions present in individual devices (Pg. 80, lines 1665-1668). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein a passive state transition at the passivation time is signified on a transport link by control bits in a transmission data frame.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the power supply is further configured to assert the first transition to the high current state (Power for the apparatus and peripheral is drawn from the battery, thus assertion of the first transition to the high current state relies upon the battery being configured by the power management unit to supply more power in the active state. As previously stated, the active state draws 2000 microamps as compared to the sleep state’s 3-4 microamps…...¶[0016], lines 27-29, 39-42)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the power supply is further configured to de-assert the second transition to the low current state (Power for the apparatus and peripheral is drawn from the battery, thus assertion of the second transition to the low current state relies upon the battery being configured by the power management unit to supply less power in the sleep state. As previously stated, the sleep state draws 3-4 microamps as compared to the active state’s 2000 microamps…...¶[0016], lines 27-29, 39-42).
Regarding claim 8, Vasishtha discloses a method comprising: determining an assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval (134) is determined to be long enough for the system to wake and prepare after an assertion to an active state at time (132), thus interval (134) is an assertion time interval.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) prior to a start one drive bit of a plurality of drive bits (While in the active state, the method allows a wireless device to receive Bluetooth data packets from a second device, data packets inherently containing a plurality of bits, such pluralities inherently containing one (first) bit, the start of which is not available to the system until it achieves the active state.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) based on a reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to an asserted state at time (132) is based upon a sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4);
determining a de-assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval of time (122) between when the last data is processed at time (120) and when the method de-asserts to a sleep state at time (124).....¶[0042], lines 4-8), subsequent to an end of the one drive bit of the plurality of drive bits (The interval is used for post-processing activity, thus subsequent to the bit-processing activity denoted at point (104), at which point the one (first) drive bit of the first received packet has already been processed by the system.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to a de-asserted state at time (124) is based upon an sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4); and
generating (Signals are generated by a Bluetooth circuit provided to the apparatus.....¶[0017], lines 6-8) a power control signal (Sleep timing signal (96) controls the transitions between active and sleep states, which control the power used by devices applying the method.....¶[0039], lines 7-11) to assert a first transition (Rising edge (100) asserts the transition to active state.....¶[0039], lines 11-12) to a high current state (The active state is a higher power (therefore higher current) state, using (in one example) 2000 microamps as compared to sleep mode’s 4 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using an activation time based on the assertion time interval (The activation time (132) is always at the start of assertion time interval (134), as it triggers the assertion time warm up process.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) and to de-assert a second transition to a low current state (The sleep state is a lower power (therefore lower current) state, using (in one example) 4 microamps as compared to active state’s 2000 microamps.....¶[0016], lines 39-42) using a passivation time based on the de-assertion time interval (The passivation time (98) occurs at the end of the de-assertion time interval.....¶[0039], lines 7-8).
Vasishtha fails to explicitly disclose wherein a passive state transition at the passivation time is signified on a transport link by control bits in a transmission data frame. The examiner does, however note, that while not relied upon for the current rejection, such behavior may be implied, as outgoing protocol data units (transmission data frames) from a peripheral bluetooth device include headers (control bits) signifying presence to a linked control device.
However, Soundwire teaches wherein a peripheral device undergoing a passive state transition at a passivation time is signified (At a time where a peripheral device receives a ClockStopNow request from a control device, it responds with Command_OK (a signifier) as it accepts the command and transitions into ClockStop mode (a low power, passive state)…..Pg. 133, table 51, row 1) on a transport link (A SoundWire interface…..Pg. 85, lines 1799-1801) by control bits (Command_OK is represented by ACK and NACK control bits…..Pg. 81, line 1688; Pg. 86, Table 25, last two rows) in a transmission data frame (Data sent over the interface is done via transmitted frames containing data…..Pg. 85, lines 1799-1801).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha by SoundWire to provide the benefit of alerting all devices in a system to mitigate error conditions present in individual devices (Pg. 80, lines 1665-1668). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein a passive state transition at the passivation time is signified on a transport link by control bits in a transmission data frame.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the method of claim 8.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the assertion time interval governs a transition from a low current state to a high current state (The assertion time interval allows the transition from low to high current states to complete and the system to stabilize before resuming data operations.....¶[0043], lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the method of claim 9.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the high current state accommodates an audio peripheral (The method may be employed in wireless headsets (audio peripherals).....¶[0016], lines 8-13) as an active load (The active (high current) state is an active state wherein data processing occurs.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) and the low current state accommodates the audio peripheral as a passive load (The sleep (low current) state is a passive state in which data is not being processed.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the method of claim 8.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the de-assertion time interval governs a transition from a high current state to a low current state (The de-assertion time interval allows the system to complete post-processing operations prior to entering sleep state.....¶[0042], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the method of claim 11.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the high current state accommodates an audio peripheral (The method may be employed in wireless headsets (audio peripherals).....¶[0016], lines 8-13) as an active load (The active (high current) state is an active state wherein data processing occurs.....¶[0014], lines 3-7) and the low current state accommodates the audio peripheral as a passive load (The sleep (low current) state is a passive state in which data is not being processed.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the method of claim 8.
Vasishtha additionally teaches further comprising determining the reconfiguration timeline (The assertion and de-assertion time intervals that comprise and determine the reconfiguration timeline are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3) from a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, the functional limitations are the same as those recited in claim 8, and are similarly taught by the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above.
Regarding the additional limitations, Vasishtha additionally discloses an apparatus for toggling (A power management unit (apparatus) of a device conducts transitions (toggles) to and from a sleep mode.....¶[0067], lines 10-12, 17) quiescent current power mode (The sleep mode uses minimal current as compared to active mode, thus comprising a quiescent current power mode…..¶[0016], lines 39-42) based on a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3), as well as means for determining the assertion time interval, the de-assertion time interval, and for generating the power control signal (The power management (including assertion and de-assertion to and from active and sleep modes, relying upon the power control signal) functions of the method are implemented by means of a power management unit comprising processor circuitry.....¶[0016], lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 19, the functional limitations are the same as those recited in claim 13, and are similarly taught by the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire.
Regarding the additional limitations, Vasishtha additionally discloses for performing recited functions (The power management (including assertion and de-assertion to and from active and sleep modes, relying upon the power control signal) functions of the method are implemented by means of a power management unit comprising processor circuitry.....¶[0016], lines 30-33).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view of SoundWire in further view of DuBose, US-PG-PUB No. 2009/0287947 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire teach, as explained above, the apparatus of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein a power supply comprises a first switch and a second switch for toggling between a low power mode and a high power mode.
DuBose teaches a circuit for low idle power in Bluetooth devices (analogous to the headset of Vasishtha), wherein a power supply comprises (Shown in Fig. 3, primary circuit (210) is part of power supply (200).....¶[0017], lines 1-3) a first switch and a second switch (Shown in Fig. 3, switches S1 and S2 are part of primary circuit (210).....¶[0036], lines 4-5) for toggling between a low power mode (S1 may be designated to put the system in a low power mode.....¶[0036], lines 12-15) and a high power mode (S2 may be used by the power control unit to return the system to active (high power) mode.....¶[0036], lines 18-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha and Soundwire by DuBose to provide the benefit of where operational power may be saved by physically disengaging circuits of a device (DuBose, ¶[0005], lines 9-11). This would make obvious the feature wherein the power supply comprises a first switch and a second switch for toggling between a low power mode and a high power mode.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 4.
DuBose additionally teaches a power control module (Shown in Fig. 3, Power Control Unit (232).....¶[0036], lines 1-2) coupled to the power supply (The power control unit is operationally coupled to a power supply, as it controls the power supply state.....¶[0036], lines 1-2, 12-15), the power control module configured to activate the first switch and the second switch (The power control unit controls first and second switches S1 and S2.....¶[0036], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and DuBose by DuBose to provide the benefit of where operational power may be saved by physically disengaging circuits of a device (DuBose, ¶[0005], lines 9-11). This would make obvious the feature of a power control module coupled to the power supply, the power control module configured to activate the first switch and the second switch.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 5.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the audio peripheral determines the reconfiguration timeline (The assertion and de-assertion time intervals that comprise and determine the reconfiguration timeline are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3) from a digital audio (Vasishtha refers to the data received by the apparatus as Bluetooth data packets (¶0016], lines 13-16). Additionally, the apparatus may be embodied in wireless headphones (¶[0016], lines 6-9). Based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, the nature of the received data packets is clearly guided towards audio data packets when the apparatus is embodied in wireless headphones) configuration (Assertion and de-assertion time intervals are based upon 625 microsecond timeslots, intervals determined by the Bluetooth specification.....¶[0039], lines 5-7, ¶[0018], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and DuBose, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the audio peripheral is further configured to determine an assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval (134) is determined to be long enough for the system to wake and prepare after an assertion to an active state at time (132), thus interval (134) is an assertion time interval.....¶[0043], lines 2-6) prior to the start one drive bit of a plurality of drive bits (While in the active state, the method allows a wireless device to receive Bluetooth data packets from a second device, data packets inherently containing a plurality of bits, such pluralities inherently containing one bit (e.g. a first bit of a first packet).....¶[0014], lines 3-7) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to an asserted state at time (132) is based upon a sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4);
determining a de-assertion time interval (Shown in Fig. 3, an interval of time (122) between when the last data is processed at time (120) and when the method de-asserts to a sleep state at time (124).....¶[0042], lines 4-8), subsequent to the end of the one drive bit of the plurality of drive bits (The interval is used for post-processing activity, thus subsequent to the bit-processing activity denoted at point (104), including the processing of the one (first) bit of the first packet.....¶[0042], lines 5-8, ¶[0040], lines 3-4) based on the reconfiguration timeline (Reconfiguration to a de-asserted state at time (124) is based upon an sleep/wake cycle (reconfiguration timeline), shown in Fig. 3 and explained in ¶[0042], lines 1-3 and ¶[0043], lines 2-4).
Claims 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view SoundWire in further view of BLUETOOTH CORE SPECIFICATION Version 5.3 [online]. Bluetooth SIG Proprietary, 2021 (hereinafter Bluetooth) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Vasishtha and Soundwire teach, as explained above, the method of claim 13, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame, instead broadly disclosing Bluetooth data packets.
Bluetooth teaches wherein a Bluetooth data connection may utilize the L2CAP layer to provide a data configuration which defines the size of transmission data frames (Pg. 212, section 3.1.1, ¶[1], lines 1-3, ¶[2], lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha and Soundwire by Bluetooth to provide the benefit of a digital audio configuration compatible with Bluetooth LE (Low Energy), providing further power efficiency of the device (Bluetooth, 3.1.2, last line). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 14.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the digital audio configuration defines a bit slot sequence (The audio data contains pluralities of bits which are inherently received and processed in a sequence, with packets received in 625 microsecond slots.....¶[0018], lines 1-4), with a relative timeline of a plurality of active loads and a plurality of passive loads (Shown in Fig. 3, activity is aligned to the slots at points (104) and (106), while the device is in the active state, and the device is in a passive state (with passive loads) when in a sleep state.....¶[0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 15.
Vasishtha additionally teaches wherein the reconfiguration timeline includes a plurality of drive bits from the bit slot sequence (Shown in Fig. 3, (showing the timeline which defines how the method reconfigures itself between sleep and active modes), is wireless communication activity marker (104), wherein the apparatus performs wireless and processing activity, including the processing of wireless data (including a plurality of bits) in accordance with the slot sequence of the top row of the figure.....¶[0040], lines 1-3, ¶[0016], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 20, Vasishtha and Soundwire, as explained above, teach the apparatus of claim 19.
Vasishtha additionally teaches means for receiving the digital audio configuration (A wireless communication circuit and processor for processing received data.....¶[0067], lines 1-8).
This further combination fails to disclose fails to explicitly disclose wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame, instead broadly disclosing Bluetooth data packets.
Bluetooth teaches wherein a Bluetooth data connection may utilize the L2CAP layer to provide a data configuration which defines the size of transmission data frames (Pg. 212, section 3.1.1, ¶[1], lines 1-3, ¶[2], lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vasishtha and Soundwire by Bluetooth to provide the benefit of a digital audio configuration compatible with Bluetooth LE (Low Energy), providing further power efficiency of the device (Bluetooth, 3.1.2, last line). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the digital audio configuration defines a transmission data frame.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishtha in view of Soundwire and Bluetooth in further view of Trajmar et al (hereinafter Trajmar), US Patent No. 8,098,737 with further evidence provided by DDR SDRAM [online]. Wikipedia.org, 2023 (hereinafter DDR SDRAM).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and Bluetooth, as explained above, teach the method of claim 16, but fail to teach wherein the bit slot sequence operates in a double data rate (DDR) mode where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock.
Trajmar teaches an audio data transport method utilizing DDR (double data rate) SD Random Access Memory, thus enabling the bit slot sequence (data being processed for transport, analogous to the data being processed of Vasishtha) to operate in a double data rate mode, where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock (DDR interfaces inherently transfer (transport) data (defining the bit slot boundaries) on rising and falling edges of the transfer clock signal, evidenced in “DDR SDRAM”, ¶2, lines 4-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Vasishtha, Soundwire, and Bluetooth by Trajmar to provide the benefit of nearly double the data bandwidth (“DDR SDRAM”, ¶2, lines 7-9). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the bit slot sequence operates in a double data rate (DDR) mode where bit slot boundaries occur on both rising edge and falling edge of a transport clock.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ono et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2023/0221791 teaches wherein a peripheral device responds to a host device confirming a transition to a low power state.
Jeon et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2021/0073166 teaches wherein a peripheral device responds to a host device confirming a transition to a low power state.
Amarilio et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2020/0293081 and 2019/0289393 both detail methods for SoundWire systems to implement power saving through clock cycle and power manipulation.
Poulsen, US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0287549 and 2019/0074026 teach methods for a slave device to notify a master device of power transitions by changing the control bit and data frame format between power states.
Amarilio et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2017/0168968 details the SLV_STAT_NN (XX) controls, prior to their incorporation into later SoundWire versions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/ALEXANDER KRZYSTAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694