Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3 September 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 3 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The legends are not approved by the Office. Legends should contain as few words as possible and only be present where necessary for understanding of the drawing. See MPEP 608.02 V. (o). This objection can be overcome by removing the words from figures 1 and 2 as well as the numerals followed by #.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 6 of “an API standard storage tank” is led to be indefinite because standards are not constant and could be modified in the future. This standard is indefinite because one does not know if this standard would be from the time of the filing date, the publication date, the allowance date, or some other time and the standard is not constant and could be changed at any time. Further, it is unclear which API standard is being referred to here. There are a number of API standards directed to storage tanks, including API 12F, API-650, API 620, API 12B, etc. There is no single set of dimensions for an API standard storage tank as the dimensions vary based on capacity. For the purposes of applying art the limitation will be interpreted as if it covered any API standard storage tank as of the filing date of the invention. Further clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minta (US 6212891).
Claim 1: Minta discloses a separator system 40 (system) capable of housing hydrocarbons in both liquid and gaseous forms, comprising: a vessel 41 (body) constructed from ultra-high strength steels containing less than about 3 wt% nickel and having tensile strength exceeding about 145 ksi [see C. 25 L. 39-52] and therefore configured to withstand some level of both storage related internal pressures as well as processing related vacuum pressures (see fig. 4, C. 1 L. 24-31, and C. 36-39).
Claim 2: Minta discloses an isolation baffle 47 (internal gas chamber baffle) (see fig. 4).
Claim 3: Minta discloses an isolation baffle 47 (gas chamber platform) (see fig. 4).
Claim 4: Minta discloses a liquid outlet port 43 (oil outlet); and a gas outlet 44 (see fig. 4).
Claim 5: The vessel 41 (body) of Minta inherently is capable of withstanding internal pressures of about 15psig to about 30psig and vacuum pressures up to at least about 3psig as the vessel 41 (body) is configured to contain cryogenic temperature fluids and is constructed from ultra-high strength steels containing less than about 3 wt% nickel and having tensile strength exceeding about 145 ksi. The burden is shifted to applicants to show the vessel 41 (body) cannot withstand internal pressures of about 15psig to about 30psig and vacuum pressures up to at least about 3psig. Otherwise a prima facie case of anticipation, or in the alternative, of obviousness has been established.
Claim 1: Minta further discloses a pressure vessel (system) capable of housing hydrocarbons in both liquid and gaseous forms, comprising: a body with a design pressure of 500 psi and an allowable hoop stress of 48.3 ksi such that the body is therefore configured to withstand some level of both storage related internal pressures as well as processing related vacuum pressures (see C. 18 L. 23-31).
Claim 6: Minta discloses the pressure vessel (system) having a diameter of 15 ft and therefore being configured to fit withing a physical footprint of a 500 and a 150,000 BBLS standard API 650 tank (API standard storage tank) which have diameters of 15 and 150 ft respectively (see C. 18 L. 23-31).
Conclusion
/ALLAN D STEVENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736