DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 19 JUNE 2024 is acknowledged and considered. In the claim set, Claims 1-20 are presented and are considered on the merits below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is a period missing at the end of [0052].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In step (b); the word ‘Selectively’ should be ‘selectively’ (using a lowercase) . Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the instance of ‘wherein in’ should be ‘wherein the’. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, it is unclear to the Examiner when an ‘ambient air measurement’ to take place in determining the ratio as it is not positively claimed in the independent claims.
Claims 2 and 12 recites the limitation "ambient air measurement" . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, it is unclear to the Examiner how ‘an accuracy’ is to be measured or calculated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from exhaled breath of subjects that is useful for identifying a presence of an influenza infection, comprising: (a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of specific VOCs or VOC(s) concentration levels; and (b) producing isolated or measurable VOC concentrations extracted by: (i) VOC reaction reagents to identify or measure VOC concentration level, (ii) selectively measuring attributes associated with VOCs, (a) measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor, or (b) selectively using size-based filtration to identify VOCs of interest, and (c) analyzing exhaled breath samples produced in Claim 1; and in the combination of Claims 11 and 19, the invention recites method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from exhaled breath of humans for identifying a presence of an influenza infection, comprising: (a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of total VOC concentration levels; and (b) Selectively measuring attributes associated with the total VOCs by measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensors; and “selectively binding the breath samples to carbon nanotubes; measuring a baseline resistance; and comparing the baseline resistance to resistance changes after sample collection.”
Claim 1 recites “(c) analyzing exhaled breath samples produced” and Claim 19 recites “comparing the baseline resistance to resistance changes after sample collection”; which are directed to an abstract idea.
Both the “analyzing” and “comparing” are considered to be mental process or processes which can performed with a pen/paper, which are abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B).
Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 depend from Claims 1 and 19 and also recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because in Claim 1, after the analyzing step nothing is done and is not integrated into a practical application. The analyzing does not affect the method in any material way. The steps prior the analyzing steps merely amount to extra-solution activities (pre-solution) of mere data gathering. Extra-solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to a practical application of the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). In Claim 19, after the comparing step nothing is done and is not integrated into a practical application. The analyzing and comparing steps do not affect the method in any material way. The steps prior the analyzing steps merely amount to extra-solution activities (pre-solution) of mere data gathering. Extra-solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to a practical application of the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because Claim 1, the steps prior to the judicial exception amount to the extra-solution activity of mere data gathering; the steps prior to the abstract idea are essentially meant to produce a data for analyzing . Extra solution
activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
In Claims 11 and 19, the step prior to the prior to the judicial exception amount to the extra-solution activity of mere data gathering of VOC concentration levels or total levels; the steps prior to the abstract idea are essentially meant to produce a data for analyzing . Extra solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 2-3 recites preferred data levels for determining and characterizing whether or not an individual has influenza. This is considered to be an extra solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 4, 7, 8 recites the specific VOC to be measured, which is as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 5-6 recite a preferred method of data gathering. This is considered to be an extra solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 9 recites a ‘comparing’ step which is considered to be mental process or processes which can performed with a pen/paper, which are abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B).
Claim 10 recites a preferred method of data gathering. This is considered to be an extra solution activities such as data-gathering are insufficient to amount to significantly more
than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim Interpretation
In Claim 1, it is unclear to the Examiner the sequence of the steps (a) to (c) at the end of the claim. It is interpreted by the Examiner that element (ii) selectively measuring attributes associated with VOCs is either (a) measuring voltage or (b) selectively using size-based filtration. Step (c) of analyzing is occurring no matter what as it belong with the sequence of (a) extracting, (b) producing and (c) analyzing.
If this interpretation is incorrect, please clarify this in the response to this Office Action.
For clarification purposes, the Examiner suggest decrease the indent of step (c ) or use a different notation for (a) measuring voltage or (b) selectively using size-based filtration; such as 1) and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DANAHER, 2022 Sep 21;9(10):ofac489. doi: 10.1093/ofid/ofac489, and further in view of LI, US Patent 10,566,089 B1.
7. Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
8. Regarding Claim 1, the reference DANAHER discloses a method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from exhaled breath of subjects that is useful for identifying a presence of an influenza infection, abstract, page 1, comprising:
(a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of specific VOCs or VOC(s) concentration levels, abstract, page 1, Study Procedures, page 3; and
(b) producing isolated or measurable VOC concentrations extracted by:
(i) VOC reaction reagents to identify or measure VOC concentration level, page 3, Breath Sample Analysis, page 3-4, Figure 1A, Results,
(ii) selectively measuring attributes associated with VOCs, page 3, Table 1,
and
(c) analyzing exhaled breath samples produced, page 3-4, Table 2.
The DUNBAR reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the step of measuring attributes is either (a) measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor, or (b) selectively using size-based filtration to identify VOCs of interest.
9. LI discloses a method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing a chemical component from exhaled breath of subjects that is useful for identifying a presence of a disease, abstract, Column 1 line 50-66, comprising:
(a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of specific chemical component, Column 1 line 50-66, concentration level, Claim 14; and
(b) producing isolated or measurable chemical component concentrations, Table 1-3, extracted by:
(i) solution to identify or measure chemical component concentration level,
(ii) selectively measuring attributes associated with chemical components,
(a) measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor, Column 2 line 43-54 or
(b) selectively using size-based filtration to identify VOCs of interest, and
(c) analyzing exhaled breath samples produced, Claim 14-16.
10. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of DANAHER with the step of measuring attributes is either (a) measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor, ensure maximum sensitivity, selectivity, and accuracy by tailoring the electrochemical measurement to the specific analyte and experimental conditions.
11. Applicant’s invention is directed to a method.
12. Regarding Claim 11, the reference DANAHER discloses a method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from exhaled breath humans for identifying a presence of an influenza infection, abstract, page 1, comprising:
(a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of total VOC concentration levels, abstract, page 1, Study Procedures, page 3; and
(b) Selectively measuring attributes associated with the total VOCs, page 3, Table 1,
13. The DUNBAR reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the step of measuring attributes by measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor.
13. LI discloses a method for preparing, analyzing and characterizing a chemical component from exhaled breath of subjects that is useful for identifying a presence of a disease, abstract, Column 1 line 50-66, comprising:
(a) extracting exhaled breath samples from subjects to obtain a presence of specific chemical component, Column 1 line 50-66, concentration level, Claim 14; and
(b) Selectively measuring attributes associated with chemical components by measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor, Column 2 line 43-54.
14. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of DANAHER with the step of measuring attributes is either measuring voltage differences using voltage measuring sensors or resistance sensor to ensure maximum sensitivity, selectivity, and accuracy by tailoring the electrochemical measurement to the specific analyte and experimental conditions.
11. Additional Disclosures Included by the combination are: Claims 3 and 13: wherein the wherein the method of claim 1 or claim 11 , respectively, having an accuracy in a range of about 79% to about 85% for influenza, DANAHER abstract, 78% accuracy, page 4, Results, right column, Figure 1. ; Claims 4 and 14: wherein the method of claim 1 or claim 11 , respectively, wherein the VOCs are at least one selected from the group consisting of acetaldehyde, propanal, n-propyl acetate, methyl-methacrylate, styrene, 1,1- dipropoxypropane, isoprene, acetone, ethyl acetate, butanone, 1-butene, dimethyl sulfide, ethylene and hexanal, DANAHER Table 4. ; Claims 7 and 17: wherein the method of claim 1 or claim 11 , respectively, wherein the breath samples are collected by exhaling into a polyvinyl fluoride gas sampling bag, DANAHER page 6, left column.
12. Regarding Claims 2 ad 12, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
13. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein a positive result for influenza is a ratio of about 2.29 sample measurement/ambient air measurement.
14. LI teaches that for the diagnosis of certain diseases, the diagnosis is based off a ratio certain biomarkers, Table 1, respiratory disorder, Column 12. LI also teaches a DEPV to estimate whether a specified chemical component is likely present in the sample gas, a most probable concentration value, Column 40-67.
15. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DANAHER reference with determining a positive result for influenza is a ratio of about 2.29 sample measurement/ambient air measurement, where LI teaches a ratio and a DEPV to estimate whether a specified chemical component is likely present in the sample gas, a most probable concentration value, Column 40-67.
16. Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
17. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein the chemical component is detected by resistance measurement.
18. LI further teaches measuring an attribute of a biomarker using voltage or resistance, Column 2 line 3-12.
19. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DANAHER reference with measuring the resistance as taught by LI to ensure maximum sensitivity, selectivity, and accuracy by tailoring the electrochemical measurement to the specific analyte and experimental conditions.
20. Regarding Claims 6 and 16, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
21. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein in chemical components are detected by resistance measurement, and the resistance measurement shows peaks at about 131 seconds, about 209 seconds and about 290 seconds.
22. LI does not teach specific peaks, but Li does disclose that the delta EPV is different for each specified component , Column 2 line 27-54. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify DUNBA reference with measuring the resistance as taught by LI so that there are peaks at about 131 second, about 209 seconds and about 290 seconds to increase accuracy of the VOC detected.
23. Regarding Claims 8 and 18, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
24. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein the breath samples are selectively bound to carbon nanotubes.
25. LI teaches a sensor that is exposed to a patient’s exhaled breath. LI teaches certain diseases or medical conditions are associated with certain biomarkers, Column 1 line 50-67. LI teaches the material for constructing the sensor can include carbon nanotubes, Column 11 line 26-30.
26. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify DUNBAR with the carbon nanotubes as taught by LI since carbon nanotubes (CNTs) are used in breath detection because their unique nanoscale properties enable highly sensitive, selective, and rapid detection of analytes in exhaled breath, often with minimal sample preparation.
27. Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
28. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein the method further comprising: selectively binding the breath samples to carbon nanotubes; measuring a baseline resistance; and comparing the baseline resistance to resistance changes after sample collection.
29. LI teaches certain diseases or medical conditions are associated with certain biomarkers, Column 1 line 50-67. Li teaches the material for constructing the sensor can include carbon nanotubes, Column 11 line 26-30, Figure 1, Column 2 line 13-54, Claim 1, Column 9 line 11-21.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify DUNBAR with the carbon nanotubes as taught by LI since carbon nanotubes (CNTs) are used in breath detection because their unique nanoscale properties enable highly sensitive, selective, and rapid detection of analytes in exhaled breath, often with minimal sample preparation.
30. Regarding Claims 10 and 20, the combination of DANAHER in view of LI suggests the claimed invention.
31. DANAHER is silent in regards to wherein the voltage differences are measures using metal-oxide semiconductors, conductive polymers or polymer composites containing carbon black.
32. LI discloses wherein the voltage differences are measured using semiconductors and polymers, Column 5 line 15-21.
33. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention so that their electronic properties can be directly modulated by the presence of target molecules, enabling highly sensitive and selective measurement of voltage differences (or related electrical signals) that correlate with analyte concentration.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797