DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) and Species (a) (Figure 3) in the reply filed on 22 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “each pending claim, as amended incorporates the limitations of claim 1 (or of corresponding claim 11) and therefore reads on the elected species.” This is not found persuasive because species claims are routinely recited as dependent claims and merely reciting the claims as dependent claims does not necessarily cause the claim to “read on the elected species” as alleged.
Applicant has amended Groups II and IV to be dependent from Groups I and III, respectively. Accordingly, the Groupings have been effectively changed to only Groups I and III with Group I being elected. As such, Group I now includes claims 1-10.
Regarding Group III, Applicant argues that apparatus claim 1 is a “linking claim” for all claims including method claims 11-20. Examiner disagrees. The prior reasoning that the process as claimed could be practiced by hand is but one line of reasoning. For instance, the apparatus as claimed could be used to practice another and materially different method other than providing guidance. For instance, a laundry washing method, a laundry drying method, or a laundry storage method, each requiring different classification. It is further noted that the restriction is maintained for reasons of record such as different classification.
As noted above, Applicant’s election of Species (a) is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 are directed to non-elected Species (b), Figure 9. Therefore, claims 9-10 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected Species.
Accordingly, claims 1-8 are deemed to be directed to elected Group I and Species (a), and will be examined on the merits.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 22 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2003/0182976 to Koo et al. (“Koo”) in view of 2010/0192639 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Koo discloses a washing machine (see abstract) comprising:
washing components (see washing in ¶ [0002]);
drying components (see spin-drying in ¶ [0002]);
an input interface (key application part 30);
a display (LCD 70);
at least one memory storing one or more instructions (see controlling part 2; controller memory is inherent/implicit in an automatic washing machine controller); and
at least one processor (see controlling part 2; controller processor is inherent/implicit in an automatic washing machine controller), wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the at least one memory to:
receive, through the input interface, a user input of setting a desired time for washing and drying of laundry to be completed (see time selection step S110 and spinning cycle selection S115 in Fig. 4A; see also setting washing time in claims 3 and 8-9 and spinning time in claims 7-9);
based on a user input according to the guide information, drive the washing components and the drying components to wash and dry the laundry within the desired time (see claim 7).
Koo does not expressly disclose to calculate a minimum time required for the washing and drying of the laundry to be completed or based on determining that the desired time is less than the minimum time required, display, through the display, guide information for completing the washing and drying of the laundry within the desired time. Kim teaches that it is known to set a minimum drying time and maximum drying time according to the amount of laundry sensed in a laundry amount sensing step (see claim 1 of Kim), and based on a user input according to guide information, operating the washing and drying components within the desired time (see claims 3 and 7 of Kim).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the washing and drying operations of Koo to include calculating minimum washing and drying times and performing the washing and drying cycles within the desired time based on user input according to guide information, such as that taught in Kim, to yield the same and predictable results optimizing washing and drying cycles based on calculated guide information.
Regarding claim 2, Koo further discloses displaying a guide message based on detection of laundry amount, such information guiding a user to select the appropriate amount of clothing for the selected cycle.
Regarding claim 4, Kim further discloses measuring humidity with a dryness sensor and determine a drying level (see ¶ [0064]-[0068]; note user adjustment of reference dryness).
Regarding claim 5, Koo further discloses guide information for not performing various courses (see claim 3), and the position is taken that it would have been prima facie obvious to provide such guidance in the combination of Koo and Kim, which the combination teaches guidance of not selecting washing or drying courses.
Regarding claims 6-7, the combination of Koo and Kim disclose calculating time required for drying based on laundry weight or user input above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize a drying time minimum as a result effective variable based on laundry amount/weight, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II) regarding Routine Optimization.
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses finishing the drying step based on malfunction of the dryness sensor (see ¶ [0073]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 2023-0032164 to Kang.
Koo and Kim, supra, disclose the claimed invention including user guide information for guiding a user to dry laundry (particularly time). Neither discloses guiding a user to increase a drying temperature of the laundry. Kang teaches that it is know to providing a user control panel functioning to receive a desired drying temperature and time from the user for optimized drying (see Kang at abstract).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to provide the user guide information of Koo and Kim with desired drying temperature, as taught in Kang, to yield the same and predictable results of optimizing drying.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0195229 to Pistochini et al, which discloses self-calibrating automatic controller to determine end of drying in a drying cycle.
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711