Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14, 19, and 20 recite “may extend”, it is unclear if the limitation thereafter is required. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the claim such as --is configured to extend--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20080176718 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a system for adjusting a stiffness of a fitness machine operable by a user, the fitness machine having a base 12 and a mobile portion 20,25 that moves relative to the base 12 during operation of the fitness machine, the system comprising: a resilient body 40 that resists movement of the mobile portion 20,25 towards the base 12 in a height direction, wherein the resilient body has a length defined in a length direction that is perpendicular to the height direction, and wherein the length of the resilient body increases when the mobile portion moves towards the base 12 (Refer to Figs. 2&3 Paragraph [0019]:”A pair of -shaped rigid connection elements 30 and a pair of pivotal rigid cushioning elements 40 are interposed between the bottom surface of both sides of the platform frame 20 and the base bars 12. The pivotal rigid cushioning element 40 includes a guidewheel 41 at one end thereof. In this way, the guidewheel 41 is movable on the surface of the base bar 12 when the platform frame 20 is moved up and down by the external forces applied to it (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5). Accordingly, the cushioning and restoring effects can be achieved.”); and
an actuator 42 operable to adjust a set maximum for which the length of the resilient body may extend during operation of the fitness machine (Refer to Figs. 4&5 Paragraph [0020] Moreover, a resistance-adjusting element 42 is provided at the bottom of the guidewheel 41. A free adjustment of the cushioning force may be achieved by the inclination of the resistance-adjusting element 42. An auxiliary supporting element 50 is pivotally interposed between both sides of the platform frame 20 and the handle frame assembly 10, respectively. As a result, a complete cushioning and restoring effect can be ensured….[0021] In a few words, the sliding resistance created by the resistance adjusting element 42 and acting on the guidewheel 41 is smaller when the inclination of the resistance adjusting element 42 approaches to the horizontal position, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. To the contrary, the sliding resistance acting on the guidewheel 41 will be increased, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.”..The set maximum for which the length of the resilient body 40 may extend is less when the actuator is at an angle and extended in Fig. 5 than when the actuator is not extended in Fig. 3), wherein a resistance provided by the resilient body to resist movement of the mobile portion towards the base is unaffected by operation of the actuator when the length of the resilient body is less than the set maximum (The Office takes the position that the resistance is unaffected by operation of the actuator when the length of the resilient body 40 is less than the set maximum until end 41 of the resilient body 40 hits the end wall (the set maximum) and provides a resistance force upwards against the mobile portion in the same manner as Applicants invention).
Regarding Claim 3-5, Wang teaches the claimed invention as noted above, wherein Wang teaches an embodiment comprising two resilient members 40 which form a parabolic shape comprising a non-translatable end and a movable end (Refer to annotated Fig. 7), and wherein the mobile portion 20,25 is supported at least in part by a vertex (top) of the parabolic shape of the resilient body 40 (Refer to annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang continues to teach wherein a second end 41 of the resilient body 40 is translatable relative to the base 12 in the length direction and non-translatable in the height direction (Refer to Figs. 3,4,&7 where the actuator is not extended and the second end 41 of the resilient body 40 slides lengthwise but not change height).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang continues to teach wherein operating the actuator 42 causes the actuator to linearly extend (Refer to Figs. 3&4).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang continues to teach wherein the actuator 42 and the resilient body 40 are pivotally coupled together (Refer to Paragraph [0019]:” The pivotal rigid cushioning element 40 includes a guidewheel 41 at one end thereof. In this way, the guidewheel 41 is movable on the surface of the base bar 12 when the platform frame 20 is moved up and down by the external forces applied to it (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5). Accordingly, the cushioning and restoring effects can be achieved.”..The Office takes the position that the resilient body 40 is pivotally moveable on a track that is connected to the actuator 42 (Refer to annotated Fig. 7 below)).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang continues to teach wherein the mobile portion is moveable towards the base in a first phase and in a second phase, wherein in the first phase the mobile portion moves towards the base principally via bending of the resilient body 40 (Refer to Fig. 4 to depict that the top of the resilient body 40 is bent), and wherein in the second phase the mobile portion moves towards the base principally via compression of the resilient body (Refer to Fig. 5 to depict that the resilient body is compressed once the second end hits the end wall to stop the resilient body 40 for extending further lengthwise).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang continues to teach wherein the fitness machine is a treadmill and the mobile portion 20 is a running deck supporting a belt 25 on which the user runs (Refer to Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang continues to teach wherein the resilient body is a first resilient body 40, further comprising at least one additional resilient body 40 functionally equivalent to the first resilient body, and wherein the first resilient body and the at least one additional resilient body both resist the movement of the mobile portion towards the base in the height direction (Refer to Fig. 6 Paragraph [0023] Referring to FIG. 6, which is a schematic drawing of another preferred embodiment of the invention, the pivotal rigid cushioning element 40, may be made of a plurality of arched steel plates for increasing the whole strength. Likewise, the pivotal rigid cushioning elements 40 may be symmetrically designed in .andgate.-form for enhancing the whole effect thereof.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang continues to teach wherein the actuator is operable to adjust the set maximums for both the first resilient body 40 and the at least one additional resilient body 40 (Refer to Paragraph [0021]:”In a few words, the sliding resistance created by the resistance adjusting element 42 and acting on the guidewheel 41 is smaller when the inclination of the resistance adjusting element 42 approaches to the horizontal position, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. To the contrary, the sliding resistance acting on the guidewheel 41 will be increased, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches a method for adjusting a stiffness of a fitness machine operable by a user, the fitness machine having a base 12 and a mobile portion 20,25 that moves relative to the base 12 during operation of the fitness machine, the method comprising: resisting via a resilient body 40 movement of the mobile portion 20,25 towards the base 12 in a height direction, wherein the resilient body has a length defined in a length direction that is perpendicular to the height direction, and wherein the length of the resilient body increases when the mobile portion moves towards the base 12 (Refer to Figs. 2&3 Paragraph [0019]:”A pair of -shaped rigid connection elements 30 and a pair of pivotal rigid cushioning elements 40 are interposed between the bottom surface of both sides of the platform frame 20 and the base bars 12. The pivotal rigid cushioning element 40 includes a guidewheel 41 at one end thereof. In this way, the guidewheel 41 is movable on the surface of the base bar 12 when the platform frame 20 is moved up and down by the external forces applied to it (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5). Accordingly, the cushioning and restoring effects can be achieved.”); and
operating an actuator 42 to adjust a set maximum for which the length of the resilient body may extend during operation of the fitness machine (Refer to Figs. 4&5 Paragraph [0020] Moreover, a resistance-adjusting element 42 is provided at the bottom of the guidewheel 41. A free adjustment of the cushioning force may be achieved by the inclination of the resistance-adjusting element 42. An auxiliary supporting element 50 is pivotally interposed between both sides of the platform frame 20 and the handle frame assembly 10, respectively. As a result, a complete cushioning and restoring effect can be ensured….[0021] In a few words, the sliding resistance created by the resistance adjusting element 42 and acting on the guidewheel 41 is smaller when the inclination of the resistance adjusting element 42 approaches to the horizontal position, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. To the contrary, the sliding resistance acting on the guidewheel 41 will be increased, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.”..The set maximum for which the length of the resilient body 40 may extend is less when the actuator is at an angle and extended in Fig. 5 than when the actuator is not extended in Fig. 3), wherein a resistance provided by the resilient body to resist movement of the mobile portion towards the base is unaffected by operating the actuator when the length of the resilient body is less than the set maximum (The Office takes the position that the resistance is unaffected by operation of the actuator when the length of the resilient body 40 is less than the set maximum until end 41 of the resilient body 40 hits the end wall (the set maximum) and provides a resistance force upwards against the mobile portion in the same manner as Applicants invention).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang continues to teach wherein the resilient body 40 is a first resilient body, further comprising also resisting the movement of the mobile portion towards the base in the height direction via a second resilient body 40 (Refer to Fig. 6 Paragraph [0023] Referring to FIG. 6, which is a schematic drawing of another preferred embodiment of the invention, the pivotal rigid cushioning element 40, may be made of a plurality of arched steel plates for increasing the whole strength. Likewise, the pivotal rigid cushioning elements 40 may be symmetrically designed in .andgate.-form for enhancing the whole effect thereof.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang continues to teach wherein operating the actuator adjusts the set maximums of the lengths of the first resilient body and the second body at the same time (Refer to Fig. Paragraph [0021]:”In a few words, the sliding resistance created by the resistance adjusting element 42 and acting on the guidewheel 41 is smaller when the inclination of the resistance adjusting element 42 approaches to the horizontal position, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. To the contrary, the sliding resistance acting on the guidewheel 41 will be increased, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang continues to teach wherein operating the actuator 42 causes the actuator to linearly extend (Refer to Figs. 3&4).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang continues to teach wherein the mobile portion is moveable towards the base in a first phase and in a second phase, wherein in the first phase the mobile portion moves towards the base principally via bending of the resilient body 40 (Refer to Fig. 4 to depict that the top of the resilient body 40 is bent), and wherein in the second phase the mobile portion moves towards the base principally via compression of the resilient body (Refer to Fig. 5 to depict that the resilient body is compressed once the second end hits the end wall to stop the resilient body 40 for extending further lengthwise).
Regarding Claim 20, Wang teaches a method for adjusting a stiffness of a fitness machine operable by a user, the fitness machine having a base 12 and a mobile portion 20,25 that moves relative to the base 12 during operation of the fitness machine, the method comprising: resisting via a resilient body 40 movement of the mobile portion 20,25 towards the base 12 in a height direction, wherein the resilient body has a length defined in a length direction that is perpendicular to the height direction, and wherein the length of the resilient body increases when the mobile portion moves towards the base 12 (Refer to Figs. 2&3 Paragraph [0019]:”A pair of -shaped rigid connection elements 30 and a pair of pivotal rigid cushioning elements 40 are interposed between the bottom surface of both sides of the platform frame 20 and the base bars 12. The pivotal rigid cushioning element 40 includes a guidewheel 41 at one end thereof. In this way, the guidewheel 41 is movable on the surface of the base bar 12 when the platform frame 20 is moved up and down by the external forces applied to it (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5). Accordingly, the cushioning and restoring effects can be achieved.”); and
operating an actuator 42 to adjust a set maximum for which the length of the resilient body may extend during operation of the fitness machine (Refer to Figs. 4&5 Paragraph [0020] Moreover, a resistance-adjusting element 42 is provided at the bottom of the guidewheel 41. A free adjustment of the cushioning force may be achieved by the inclination of the resistance-adjusting element 42. An auxiliary supporting element 50 is pivotally interposed between both sides of the platform frame 20 and the handle frame assembly 10, respectively. As a result, a complete cushioning and restoring effect can be ensured….[0021] In a few words, the sliding resistance created by the resistance adjusting element 42 and acting on the guidewheel 41 is smaller when the inclination of the resistance adjusting element 42 approaches to the horizontal position, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. To the contrary, the sliding resistance acting on the guidewheel 41 will be increased, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.”..The set maximum for which the length of the resilient body 40 may extend is less when the actuator is at an angle and extended in Fig. 5 than when the actuator is not extended in Fig. 3), wherein a resistance provided by the resilient body to resist movement of the mobile portion towards the base is unaffected by operating the actuator when the length of the resilient body is less than the set maximum (The Office takes the position that the resistance is unaffected by operation of the actuator when the length of the resilient body 40 is less than the set maximum until end 41 of the resilient body 40 hits the end wall (the set maximum) and provides a resistance force upwards against the mobile portion in the same manner as Applicants invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20080176718) in view of Molter et al (US 20070015636).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein the resilient body 40 is an elastomer. Molter et al teaches a treadmill cushion element 50-56 comprising an elastomeric material (Refer to Fig. 3 Paragraph [0027]:” Normally, the term leaf spring relates to long narrow springs consisting of several layers of metal springs bracketed together. However, here this term will include an elongated, arc shaped spring made of an elastic or elastomeric material.”). Molter et al is from the same field of endeavor as Applicants invention and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the resilient body 40 of Wang to be an elastomer since Molter et al teaches that such material is known to be suitable in the art for cushioning a running deck and does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Wang is the closest prior art to the claimed invention teaching a system for adjusting a stiffness of a fitness machine operable by a user, the fitness machine having a base and a mobile portion that moves relative to the base during operation of the fitness machine, the system comprising: a resilient body that resists movement of the mobile portion towards the base in a height direction, wherein the resilient body has a length defined in a length direction that is perpendicular to the height direction, and wherein the length of the resilient body increases when the mobile portion moves towards the base; and an actuator operable to adjust a set maximum for which the length of the resilient body may extend during operation of the fitness machine, wherein a resistance provided by the resilient body to resist movement of the mobile portion towards the base is unaffected by operation of the actuator when the length of the resilient body is less than the set maximum and wherein the resilient body is a first resilient body, further comprising at least one additional resilient body functionally equivalent to the first resilient body, and wherein the first resilient body and the at least one additional resilient body both resist the movement of the mobile portion towards the base in the height direction but fails to teach the claim invention as a whole further comprising wherein the set maximum for the first resilient body is adjustable separately than the set maximum for the at least one additional resilient body and/or wherein the actuator is a first actuator and the resilient body is a first resilient body, further comprising also resisting the movement of the mobile portion towards the base in the height direction via a second resilient body, further comprising operating a second actuator to adjust a set maximum for which the length of the second resilient body may extend during operation of the fitness machine, wherein a resistance provided by the second resilient body to resist movement of the mobile portion towards the base is unaffected by operating the second actuator when the length of the second resilient body is less than the set maximum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784