DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch (2022/0185683). Lynch teaches a method for manufacturing an insulating board, the method comprising providing a tray 608 having a bottom surface and plurality of side walls 606, placing on the bottom surface of the tray a plurality of seeds in a first layer, placing a plurality of seeds in a second layer on top of the first layer, a center of each seed in the second layer being horizontally offset from a center of each seed of the first layer, placing a plurality of seeds in a third layer on top of the second layer, a center of each seed in the third layer being horizontally offset from a center of each seed of the first layer and the second layer, and heating the tray to transform the seeds into a plurality of hollow structures in the positioned in which they were laid (figure 6, [0159]-[0160]). Lynch doesn’t specify printing of the seeds in this embodiment. However, Lynch teaches the seeds can be produced by 3-dimensional printing. More specifically, Lynch teaches applying a lower coating over a tray bottom or belt, applying a plurality of cores over the lower coating, and applying an upper coating over the cores and lower coating ([0141], [0142]). Lynch also teaches multiple layers of seeds can be produced by a similar method of applying a lower coating over a tray bottom, applying a plurality of cores over the lower coating, and applying an upper coating over the cores and lower coating, and repeated to form more layers ([0153]). Lynch teaches the 3-dimensional printing method is used to produce seeds that are subsequently used in the embodiment shown in figure 6, as discussed earlier. However, in light of the different embodiments for producing seeds taught by Lynch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined known steps of 3-D printing of the layers of seeds directly into the tray 608 in the embodiment of figure 6, wherein the layers of seeds are 3-D printed by layering of the lower coating, the cores, and the upper coating, repeatedly to form a plurality of layers, and heating of filled tray with the plurality of layers of seeds to transform the seeds in the seeds in the positioned in which they were printed, as it would provide a more efficient process than producing the seeds, collecting them, and then filling the tray with the seeds. Naturally in combining the known techniques, the printing of said plurality of seeds of said first layer would include applying a lower coating over said tray bottom, applying a plurality of cores over said lower coating, and applying an upper coating over said cores and said lower coating, the printing of said plurality of seeds of said second layer would include applying a second lower coating over upper coating of said first layer, applying a second plurality of cores over said second lower coating, and applying a second upper coating over said second plurality of cores and said second lower coating, the printing of said plurality of seeds of said third layer would include applying a third lower coating over said second upper coating, applying a third plurality of cores over said third lower coating, and applying a third upper coating over said third plurality of cores and said third lower coating, and the step of heating said tray to transform said seeds of said first, second, and third layers into said plurality of hollow structures includes transforming said seeds in the position in which they are printed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not provide any substantial argument in their response filed April 29, 2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741