DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee U.S. Patent Application 2009/0180229 (hereinafter “Lee”) and further in view of Haines et al. U.S. Patent Application 2011/0216453 (hereinafter “Haines”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a disconnect component for a circuit (refer to fig.21), the disconnect component comprising: an input (i.e. terminals 33 and 34)(fig.21)(refer also to [0044]) receiving a main power line (refer to terminal 33)(fig.21) and a neutral line input (refer to terminal 34)(fig.21) to the disconnect component (refer to relay 30)(fig.21) from the circuit (implicit); an output (refer to rectification circuit 50)(figs.3+21) including a main output line (implicit) and a neutral line output (implicit), wherein the main output line and the neutral line output are configured to provide a voltage to a load (implicit); a voltage sensing circuit (i.e. voltage detection module 31)(fig.21) configured to monitor a voltage on the main power line (refer to [0041]) and to operate in a first state when the monitored voltage on the main power line is below a first reference voltage (refer to steps 401-403)(fig.26A) and to operate in a second state when the monitored voltage on the main power line is above a second reference voltage (refer to steps 404-407)(figs.26A+B), wherein the first and second reference voltages differ by a predetermined amount (implicit); and a coupling component (i.e. relay 30)(fig.21) configured to: couple the main power line to the main output line (implicit); decouple the main power line from the main output line (implicit) when the voltage sensing circuit changes operation from the first state to the second state (refer to step 405)(fig.26A); and re-couple the main power line to the main output line (implicit) when the voltage sensing circuit changes operation from the second state to the first state (refer to step 409)(fig.26B), however Lee does not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit and the coupling component configured to: couple neutral line input to the neutral line output; decouple the neutral line input from the neutral line output; and re-couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output. However, Haines teaches the coupling component configured to: couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1); decouple the neutral line input from the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1); and re-couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee to include the interruption of both the hot and neutral lines of Haines to provide the advantage of completely interrupting the lines so as to prevent any power to flow that could damage the load. However, Lee and Haines do not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit be a 277 volt circuit, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee and Haines to provide the advantage of providing the necessary voltage to the load for proper operation.
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Haines teach the disconnect component of claim 1, further comprising: a low power bias supply (i.e. Haines power supply 108)(fig.1)(i.e. Lee Auxiliary power supply generation module 322)(fig.3) that includes the input (implicit); and a load disconnect relay that includes the coupling component (i.e. Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(i.e. Haines circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Haines teach the disconnect component of claim 1, wherein the coupling component comprises at least one switch (i.e. Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(i.e. Haines circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee and Haines teach the disconnect component of claim 1, wherein the load comprises a lighting system having components susceptible to damage at a voltage beyond the upper limit voltage (refer to Haines [0009] and [0159]).
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Haines as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Spira et al. U.S. Patent No. 4,350,935 (hereinafter “Spira”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee and Haines teach the disconnect component of claim 4, however they do not teach wherein the lighting system components comprise at least one selected from a group consisting of a power supply, a ballast, and a light emitter. However, Spira teaches wherein the lighting system components comprise at least one selected from a group consisting of a power supply, a ballast, and a light emitter (refer to Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component of Lee and Haines to include the lighting system of Spira to provide the advantage of protecting a common type of load from overvoltage.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Haines, and Spira teach the disconnect component of claim 5, wherein the light emitter comprises at least one of at least one of a light emitting diode, a fluorescent light, and a high pressure sodium light (refer to Spira Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2)(refer also to Spira Abstract).
Claims 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and further in view of Spira.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches a method of protecting a system on a circuit (refer to fig.21), the method comprising: monitoring a voltage (refer to voltage detection module 31)(fig.21) on a main power line (refer to terminal 33)(fig.21); determining whether the voltage is higher than a high voltage limit (refer to step 403)(fig.26A); when the voltage is higher than a high voltage limit, decoupling the main power line from components of the system that are susceptible to damage by the voltage (refer to steps 404 and 405)(fig.26A) and continuing to monitor the voltage on the main power line (refer to steps 406 and 407)(figs.26A+B); determining whether the voltage on the main power line returns to a level a predetermined amount below the high voltage limit (refer to step 407)(fig.26B); and when the voltage on the main power line returns to the level the predetermined amount below the high voltage limit, re-coupling the main power line to the components of the system (refer to step 409)(fig.46B), however Lee does not teach wherein the system is a lighting system on a 277 V circuit. However, Spira teaches wherein the system is a lighting system (refer to Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to include the lighting system of Spira to provide the advantage of protecting a common type of load from overvoltage. However, Lee and Spira do not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit be a 277 volt circuit, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee and Spira to provide the advantage of providing the necessary voltage to the load for proper operation.
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Spira teach the method of claim 7, wherein decoupling the main power line from the components comprises: opening a switch provided between the main power line and the components (refer to Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(refer to Spira series switch 18)(fig.2).
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and further in view of Haines and Haines Background.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a disconnect component for a circuit (refer to fig.21), the disconnect component comprising: an input (i.e. terminals 33 and 34)(fig.21)(refer also to [0044]) receiving a main power line (refer to terminal 33)(fig.21) and a neutral line input (refer to terminal 34)(fig.21) to the disconnect component (refer to relay 30)(fig.21) from the circuit (implicit); an output (refer to rectification circuit 50)(figs.3+21) including a main output line (implicit) and a neutral line output (implicit), wherein the main output line and the neutral line output are configured to provide a voltage to a load (implicit); a voltage sensing circuit (i.e. voltage detection module 31)(fig.21) configured to monitor a voltage on the main power line (refer to [0041]) and to operate in a first state when the monitored voltage on the main power line is below a first reference voltage (refer to steps 401-403)(fig.26A) and to operate in a second state when the monitored voltage on the main power line is above a second reference voltage (refer to steps 404-407)(figs.26A+B), wherein the first and second reference voltages differ by a predetermined amount (implicit); and a coupling component (i.e. relay 30)(fig.21) configured to: couple the main power line to the main output line (implicit); decouple the main power line from the main output line (implicit) when the voltage sensing circuit changes operation from the first state to the second state (refer to step 405)(fig.26A); and re-couple the main power line to the main output line (implicit) when the voltage sensing circuit changes operation from the second state to the first state (refer to step 409)(fig.26B), however Lee does not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit and the coupling component configured to: couple neutral line input to the neutral line output; decouple the neutral line input from the neutral line output; and re-couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output. However, Haines teaches the coupling component configured to: couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1); decouple the neutral line input from the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1); and re-couple the neutral line input to the neutral line output (Refer to circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee to include the interruption of both the hot and neutral lines of Haines to provide the advantage of completely interrupting the lines so as to prevent any power to flow that could damage the load. However, Lee and Haines do not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit. However, the background of Haines teaches wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit (refer to Haines [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee and Haines to include the voltage from the background of Haines provide the advantage of providing the necessary voltage to the load for proper operation.
Regarding claim 2, Lee, Haines, and Haines Background teach the disconnect component of claim 1, further comprising: a low power bias supply (i.e. Haines power supply 108)(fig.1)(i.e. Lee Auxiliary power supply generation module 322)(fig.3) that includes the input (implicit); and a load disconnect relay that includes the coupling component (i.e. Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(i.e. Haines circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee, Haines, and Haines Background teach the disconnect component of claim 1, wherein the coupling component comprises at least one switch (i.e. Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(i.e. Haines circuit interrupter 130)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Haines, and Haines Background teach the disconnect component of claim 1, wherein the load comprises a lighting system having components susceptible to damage at a voltage beyond the upper limit voltage (refer to Haines [0009] and [0159]).
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Haines, and Haines Background as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Spira et al. U.S. Patent No. 4,350,935 (hereinafter “Spira”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Haines, and Haines Background teach the disconnect component of claim 4, however they do not teach wherein the lighting system components comprise at least one selected from a group consisting of a power supply, a ballast, and a light emitter. However, Spira teaches wherein the lighting system components comprise at least one selected from a group consisting of a power supply, a ballast, and a light emitter (refer to Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component of Lee and Haines to include the lighting system of Spira to provide the advantage of protecting a common type of load from overvoltage.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Haines, Haines Background, and Spira teach the disconnect component of claim 5, wherein the light emitter comprises at least one of at least one of a light emitting diode, a fluorescent light, and a high pressure sodium light (refer to Spira Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2)(refer also to Spira Abstract).
Claims 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and further in view of Spira and Haines Background.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches a method of protecting a system on a circuit (refer to fig.21), the method comprising: monitoring a voltage (refer to voltage detection module 31)(fig.21) on a main power line (refer to terminal 33)(fig.21); determining whether the voltage is higher than a high voltage limit (refer to step 403)(fig.26A); when the voltage is higher than a high voltage limit, decoupling the main power line from components of the system that are susceptible to damage by the voltage (refer to steps 404 and 405)(fig.26A) and continuing to monitor the voltage on the main power line (refer to steps 406 and 407)(figs.26A+B); determining whether the voltage on the main power line returns to a level a predetermined amount below the high voltage limit (refer to step 407)(fig.26B); and when the voltage on the main power line returns to the level the predetermined amount below the high voltage limit, re-coupling the main power line to the components of the system (refer to step 409)(fig.46B), however Lee does not teach wherein the system is a lighting system on a 277 V circuit. However, Spira teaches wherein the system is a lighting system (refer to Ballast 17 and gas discharge lamps 16)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to include the lighting system of Spira to provide the advantage of protecting a common type of load from overvoltage. However, Lee and Spira do not teach wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit. However, the background of Haines teaches wherein the circuit is a 277 volt circuit (refer to Haines [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disconnect component of Lee and Spira to include the voltage from the background of Haines provide the advantage of providing the necessary voltage to the load for proper operation.
Regarding claim 8, Lee, Spira, and Haines Background teach the method of claim 7, wherein decoupling the main power line from the components comprises: opening a switch provided between the main power line and the components (refer to Lee relay 30)(fig.3)(refer to Spira series switch 18)(fig.2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,594,130 (hereinafter “130”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6, 14, 16, and 8 of 130 include all of the limitations of claims 1-9 of the instant application, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action or if a terminal disclaimer is filed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 9 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 9, especially a coupling component configured to: detect as an over-voltage cycle that the voltage on the main power line is higher than the upper limit voltage; within a time period of the over-voltage cycle, decouple the main power line from the output when the monitor senses that the voltage on the main power line is higher than the upper limit voltage; and re-couple the main power line to the output when the monitor senses that the voltage on the main power line is a predetermined percentage below the upper limit voltage.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838