DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 01/30/2026.
Claim 1-20 is pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in INDIA on 04/10/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202411029198 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 2024/0063658 A1)in view of Maruyama et al. (US 2018/0010818 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a system, comprising:
a cloud-based server ([0238]: The remote energy monitoring system 40 comprises system software which runs on a system server platform, which may be distributed as a cloud based platform in some examples) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor ([0239]: The remote energy monitoring system 40 includes a data store for the uploaded data it receives from power sockets 10 and includes one or more data processors for processing uploaded data, user registration and other software-based functions provided by the system), cause the processor to:
generate at least one group of socket outlets from a plurality of socket outlets associated with a plurality of facilities ([0382]: many power sockets or outlets 10 across a large geographical range (including different building, etc. . . . ) are grouped into a single ‘virtual load’. This virtual load can be used together with other virtual loads as a larger single power or energy load for use by an external DSR system, wherein the socket outlets are logically grouped based on data associated with a plurality of assets ([0443]: select a logical grouping of power sockets 10, options to select by location metric (i.e. Building, Floor and Section), by the amount of power (less than, equal and more than X Watts), Current (less than, equal and more than X Amps), whether the socket is On or Off and the User ID of the Socket user are made available to users [0447]: all power sockets 10 in a group of sockets which are associated with by a user can be listed. The data displayed in a list may include a power socket ID, a Device Type identifier for a connected energy consuming device (which may, in some embodiments, optionally also include a device model ID), a power socket location, a power consumption of a connected energy consuming device 36, the energy status of the power outlet providing energy to that device, and a user ID);
generate at least one schedule corresponding to the at least one group of socket outlets ([0454]: a rule set function consists of the following variables: the time period and date that one or more power sockets 10 relay should be switched-off or on. Where the rule is desired to be ‘reoccurred’, the user can select either a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly reoccurrence. For example, Daily=either every X day, Weekly=Recur every X week on Y day of the week (where Y can be 1 to 7 days of the week), Monthly=Every X day of the month, Yearly=Every month X and day Y of the year);
control at least one operation of the at least one group of socket outlets based on the at least one schedule ([0132]:determining the plurality of power outlets form a group of power outlets associated with a set of power consumption rules; determining a plurality of the power outlets of the group are providing energy determined by the ML model to have a wasted energy usage classification; and, in dependence on at least one rule of the set of power consumption rules for the group of sockets, selectively actuating a relay on each one of one or more or all of the outlets of the group to turn off the delivery of power by the selected outlets).
However, Williams does not disclose split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets; execute, at the plurality of facilities, the at least one schedule corresponding to the at least one group of socket outlets.
In an analogous art, Maruyama discloses split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets ([0117]: automated control module 232 may store a generic scheduling template for each of a thermostat, intelligent electrical outlet devices, and a lighting control device. [0177]: The automated schedule can be selected according to a particular location or a particular device within the location, the season, and the apparent temperatures determined in operation 510 or in operation 516. Each particular location or device within the location can have separate automated schedules to account for regional preferences); execute, at the plurality of facilities, the at least one schedule corresponding to the at least one group of socket outlets ([0117]: Automated control module 232 may also comprise one or more default scheduling templates for different business types that may be selected by a user and deployed to one or more devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams to comprise “split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets; execute, at the plurality of facilities, the at least one schedule corresponding to the at least one group of socket outlets” taught by Maruyama.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to provide for centralized management and control of multiple energy management devices located at a plurality of sites (Maruyama, [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data comprises at least one of asset data, relationship among the plurality of assets, and relationship between at least one asset of the plurality of assets and at least one facility of the plurality of facilities (Williams, [0392]: Power socket 10's that are classified into the same user grouping (e.g. Desktop Power Sockets). [0433]: to select a logical grouping of power sockets 10, options to select by location metric (i.e. Building, Floor and Section), by the amount of power (less than, equal and more than X Watts), Current (less than, equal and more than X Amps), whether the socket is On or Off and the User ID of the Socket user are made available to users).
Regarding claim 3, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 1,wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to store the at least one schedule in a schedule database (Maruyama, [0064]: energy management service unit 130 is coupled to data repositories 140 which stores collected energy management data, externally collected data, user information, site groupings, scheduling templates, and other data elements utilized by energy management service unit 130 as further described herein. [0117]: automated control module 232 may store a generic scheduling template for each of a thermostat, intelligent electrical outlet devices).
Regarding claim 7, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: display, via a dashboard visualization, the generated group of socket outlets to a user on an electronic interface of a display device (Maruyama, [0056]: users may interact with the portal to configure site groupings, define device scheduling templates, and request various statistical views of collected energy usage data for display in one or more dashboard-like interfaces); and receive an input, via the electronic interface of the display device from the user corresponding to the generated group of socket outlets (Maruyama, [0093]: a user accessing portal 224 may define and configure various aspects of the energy management system in accordance with the user's profile and corresponding access levels. For example, a user may use portal 224 to configure one or more data collection configurations, scheduling templates, site groupings, statistical views, and other elements, as further described in other sections). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to modify the generated group of socket outlets based on the input from the user (Maruyama, [0095]: site groupings may be configured by a user using portal 224 and configuration may include the user creating new site groupings, adding or removing one or more sites or other site groupings from an existing grouping, or deleting an existing grouping). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to generate the at least one schedule corresponding to the modified group of socket outlets (Maruyama, [0109]: portal 224 may include a scheduling template configuration interface that enables users to specify desired scheduling template parameters and cause the configured scheduling templates to be deployed to one or more energy management devices. In an embodiment, a user may associate a particular scheduling template with an individual energy management device at a particular site, with all devices at a site, with sites in one or more site groupings). The same rationale applies as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 12; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3
Regarding claim 18; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 19; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 20; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Claims 4-5, 10, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in of Maruyama, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Matthews et al. (US 2023/0418346 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 1.
However, Williams-Maruyama does not disclose wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: communicate with gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities; and transmit, via the respective gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities, one or more control commands to the at least one group of socket outlets during the execution of the at least one schedule.
In an analogous art, Matthews discloses wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: communicate with gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities; and transmit, via the respective gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities, one or more control commands to the at least one group of socket outlets during the execution of the at least one schedule ([0022]: transmitting, using the hardware processor, a first subset of the plurality of automatic control actions to one or more communication gateways that are each connected to at least one of the subset of connected devices and a second subset of the plurality of automatic control actions directly to a subset of the connected devices via a device cloud platform; and updating, using the hardware processor, the user interface to indicate that at least one of the first subset of the plurality of automatic control actions and the second subset of the plurality of automatic control actions have been performed on the portion of the connected devices and energy usage savings from the performance of the automatic control actions. [0053]: For example, the home scheduler can transmit a control action to a smart plug device that turns an electronic device that is connected to the smart plug device to an on state or an off state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams-Maruyama to comprise “wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: communicate with gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities; and transmit, via the respective gateway controllers of the plurality of facilities, one or more control commands to the at least one group of socket outlets during the execution of the at least one schedule” taught by Matthews.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled the subset of connected devices to be eligible for automatic control based on an operation mode selected by the user in the application (Matthews, [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Williams-Maruyama-Matthews discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the one or more control commands include one of a switch ON command or a switch OFF command to operate the at least one group of socket outlets (Williams, [0454]: a rule set function consists of the following variables: the time period and date that one or more power sockets 10 relay should be switched-off or on. Where the rule is desired to be ‘reoccurred’, the user can select either a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly reoccurrence).
Regarding claim 10, Williams discloses a system, comprising:
wherein the cloud-based server is configured to:
generate the at least one group of socket outlets from a plurality of socket outlets associated with the plurality of facilities ([0382]: many power sockets or outlets 10 across a large geographical range (including different building, etc. . . . ) are grouped into a single ‘virtual load’. This virtual load can be used together with other virtual loads as a larger single power or energy load for use by an external DSR system, wherein the socket outlets are logically grouped based on data associated with a plurality of assets ([0443]: select a logical grouping of power sockets 10, options to select by location metric (i.e. Building, Floor and Section), by the amount of power (less than, equal and more than X Watts), Current (less than, equal and more than X Amps), whether the socket is On or Off and the User ID of the Socket user are made available to users [0447]: all power sockets 10 in a group of sockets which are associated with by a user can be listed. The data displayed in a list may include a power socket ID, a Device Type identifier for a connected energy consuming device (which may, in some embodiments, optionally also include a device model ID), a power socket location, a power consumption of a connected energy consuming device 36, the energy status of the power outlet providing energy to that device, and a user ID);
generate the at least one schedule corresponding to the at least one group of socket outlets ([0454]: a rule set function consists of the following variables: the time period and date that one or more power sockets 10 relay should be switched-off or on. Where the rule is desired to be ‘reoccurred’, the user can select either a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly reoccurrence. For example, Daily=either every X day, Weekly=Recur every X week on Y day of the week (where Y can be 1 to 7 days of the week), Monthly=Every X day of the month, Yearly=Every month X and day Y of the year); and
control at least one operation of the set of socket outlets based on the at least one schedule ([0132]:determining the plurality of power outlets form a group of power outlets associated with a set of power consumption rules; determining a plurality of the power outlets of the group are providing energy determined by the ML model to have a wasted energy usage classification; and, in dependence on at least one rule of the set of power consumption rules for the group of sockets, selectively actuating a relay on each one of one or more or all of the outlets of the group to turn off the delivery of power by the selected outlets).
However, Williams does not disclose split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets; execute, at the facility, the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets.
In an analogous art, Maruyama discloses split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets ([0117]: automated control module 232 may store a generic scheduling template for each of a thermostat, intelligent electrical outlet devices, and a lighting control device. [0177]: The automated schedule can be selected according to a particular location or a particular device within the location, the season, and the apparent temperatures determined in operation 510 or in operation 516. Each particular location or device within the location can have separate automated schedules to account for regional preferences); execute, at the facility, the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets ([0117]: Automated control module 232 may also comprise one or more default scheduling templates for different business types that may be selected by a user and deployed to one or more devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams to comprise “split the at least one schedule into multiple separate schedules for respective facilities of the plurality of facilities based on the generated group of socket outlets; execute, at the facility, the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets” taught by Maruyama.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to provide for centralized management and control of multiple energy management devices located at a plurality of sites (Maruyama, [0002]).
However, Williams-Maruyama does not disclose a gateway controller and a memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to: receive, from a cloud-based server, at least one schedule corresponding to a set of socket outlets from at least one group of socket outlets, wherein the set of socket outlets is associated with a facility of a plurality of facilities.
In an analogous art, Matthews discloses a gateway controller and a memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to: receive, from a cloud-based server, at least one schedule corresponding to a set of socket outlets from at least one group of socket outlets ([0045], [0047]: an API gateway 160 can collect and/or aggregate data from multiple internal and external data sources (e.g., recommendation systems – cloud). [0049]: the home scheduler can generate actions and recommendations for energy cost savings against the dynamic rate at a device level at every hour or any other suitable interval. [0099]: scheduler optimizer 210 can select a particular subset of devices to determine whether or not each device in the subset of devices meets the eligibility criteria for control and generates control actions and/or recommendations for each eligible device. The communication gateway 280 and/or device adapter 285 can transmit those actions over their platforms and on to the devices that they respectively manage), wherein the set of socket outlets is associated with a facility of a plurality of facilities ([0022]: transmitting, using the hardware processor, a first subset of the plurality of automatic control actions to one or more communication gateways that are each connected to at least one of the subset of connected devices and a second subset of the plurality of automatic control actions directly to a subset of the connected devices via a device cloud platform. [0053]: For example, the home scheduler can transmit a control action to a smart plug device that turns an electronic device that is connected to the smart plug device to an on state or an off state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams-Maruyama to comprise “a gateway controller and a memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to: receive, from a cloud-based server, at least one schedule corresponding to a set of socket outlets from at least one group of socket outlets, wherein the set of socket outlets is associated with a facility of a plurality of facilities” taught by Matthews.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled the subset of connected devices to be eligible for automatic control based on an operation mode selected by the user in the application (Matthews, [0006]).
Regarding claim 15; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 16; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Maruyama, as applied to claim 1, in view of Schoenfelder et al. (US 2021/0142601 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Williams-Maruyama discloses the system of claim 1.
However, Williams-Maruyama does not disclose wherein the plurality of socket outlets is wirelessly connected to respective hubs of the plurality of facilities.
In an analogous art, Schoenfelder discloses wherein the plurality of socket outlets is wirelessly connected to respective hubs of the plurality of facilities ([0038]: the smart building system can include one or more smart devices 195. Smart devices can include, but are not limited to smart outlets. [0041]: Associating Smart hubs with particular areas, such as apartments, can streamline smart building management, monitoring, and access functions. [0054]: Smart devices can connect to smart hubs to receive commands, software updates, receive or transmit data, internet connectivity, etc. and to relay information to the cloud-based computing system 100 or other devices such as a user mobile device or management gateway).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams-Maruyama to comprise “wherein the plurality of socket outlets is wirelessly connected to respective hubs of the plurality of facilities” taught by Schoenfelder.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to send an instruction relating to a device to the hub, wherein the hub can then direct the instruction directly to the smart device, such as a smart lock or smart outlet (Schoenfelder, [0053]).
Regarding claim 17; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Maruyama in view of Matthews, as applied to claim 10, in further view of Valder et al. (US 2021/0373541 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Williams-Maruyama-Matthews discloses the system of claim 10.
However, Williams-Maruyama-Matthews wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to download the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets from the cloud-based server.
In an analogous art, Valder discloses wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to download the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets from the cloud-based server ([0028], [0038]: The site configuration tool 28 may be configured to enable the user to configure alarm limits on points, history collections and operational schedules for one or more of the local controllers 18. Changes to the model and/or the schedule by the cloud-based server may be automatically downloaded (e.g. mirrored) to the intelligent gateway. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Williams-Maruyama-Matthews to comprise “wherein the memory storing program instructions which, when executed by the gateway controller, cause the gateway controller to download the at least one schedule corresponding to the set of socket outlets from the cloud-based server” taught by Valder.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to remotely configuring one or more building system components at a building site that uses a cloud-based server remote from the building site (Valder, [0003]).
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Miller, US 2017/0070090 A1: Smart Electrical Outlet.
Chen et al., US 2017/0142538 A1: Smart Device Grouping System, Method and Apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446