DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11 and 17.
Both independent claims 1 and 11 were amended by incorporating the subject matter of dependent claims 2 and 12, respectively, and thereby canceling claims 2 and 12.
Claim 17 was amended to recite a combination of features including "a runner plate, disposed over the molding device and including a plurality of runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate", and "a divider disposed within the runner plate and having a plurality of passages connectable to the runners, wherein the number of the runners is different from the number of the passages."
Applicant argues that the rejections of independent claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C.§ 102 (a)(1) and (a) (2) is not valid because prior art reference Blundy (US 6,196,822 B1) IDS 04/29/2025 while disclosing a flow adjusting pin rotatable around a center axis so that it has three separate positions to regulate fluid flow does not disclose that this flow adjusting pin can be placed or removed. If the flow adjusting pin is removed, the injection operation in Blundy may not function correctly.
Moreover, in the case of claim 11, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, whereby the secondary reference Takeshita (JP S62-28516U), discloses a plug, and Takeshita is silent as to this plug being placed or removed.
The examiner counter argues that regarding the limitation of former claims 2 and 12 (canceled), the examiner maintains that the original rejection as regards the “injecting a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner; and forming a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity” still holds,
because the first divider being placed does not involve a physical detachment or removal of the flow adjusting pin, which acts as the divider, but does allow through its rotation for the injection of a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner and thereby forms a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity. See Fig. 2 below:
Moreover, see Figs. 6-8 Col. 3, ll. 53-64 where the flow adjusting pin (first divider) can be placed into a bore formed in the manifold – 10 and this implies that it can be removed.
As to the argument regarding claim 11 that the plug is not placed or removed, in Takeshita, the same argument from claim 1 in that the first divider being placed does not involve a physical detachment or removal of the flow adjusting pin holds as well, in that the divider allows for the injection of a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner and thereby forms a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity. In this case, Blundy is modified by Takeshita whereby the flow adjusting pin of Blundy is replaced with the shielding piece corresponding to the plug of Takeshita.
Applicant further argues regarding independent claim 17 that Blundy does not disclose a plurality of runners communicable with the mold cavity that extend with the runner plate with the number of passages within the mold cavity with the flow adjustment pin (divider) being different than the number of runners (first and second input passages).
Examiner responds to the independent claim 17 argument by providing new grounds of rejection as necessitated by this amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Blundy (US 6,196,822 B1) IDS 04/29/2025.
Regarding Claim 1, Blundy anticipates an injection molding method (abs, Col. 1, ll. 6-12), comprising:
providing a molding device (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 2 ll.47-48 multicolor/component injection molding machine and a mold – 16) and a runner plate over the molding device (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-51 platen – 12, false platen – 14, manifold – 10) , wherein the molding device comprises a first mold (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-50 platen – 12 is the first mold with a mold – 16), a second mold over the first mold (Figs. 1, 2, 3 Col. 2 ll. 49-54 claim 1, manifold – 10 attached to platen (first mold) – 12, false platen (second mold) – 14) , and a mold cavity defined by the first mold and the second mold (See Fig. 2 Col.2 ll. 49-54 Col. 3 ll. 12-15 claim 1– where cavity is formed between the first mold (platen) – 12 and the second mold (false platen) – 14 where manifold is present – 10, which may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam and plastic),
the runner plate includes first and second runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 1 ll. 63-65; Col. 3 ll. 7-15 molten material transferred through the first inlet port – 30 conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48 (first runner) within the manifold; molten material transferred through the second inlet port – 32 is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50 (second runner) within the manifold – 10);
placing a first divider within the runner plate (Fig. 2 Col. 3 ll. 32-34 flow adjusting pin – 72), wherein the first divider has a passage connectable to the first runner or the second runner (Fig. 3 Col. 3 ll. 7-11 molten material conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48; molten material is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50) See also Fig. 3 (Col. 4 ll. 3-7 pin – 72 is in first position – 88 molten material from both the first inlet passage – 48 and the second inlet passage – 50 allowed to flow through junction – 70 and to exit passage way – 52 for use in molding a part);
injecting a first mixture into the mold cavity through the passage and the first runner (Fig. 2 Col. 2 l. 65-Col. 3 l. 4 first inlet port – 30 in fluid communication with a first inlet nozzle – 40 which receives a molten material from a first barrel – 42),
wherein the first mixture fails to flow into the mold cavity through the passage and the second runner (Figs. 4, 5 Col.4 ll. 13-27 pin – 72 is in second position – 90 or in a third position – 92, third channel – 86 allows molten material from the first inlet passage – 48 to flow directly to exit passage – 52 while second channel – 84 allows molten material from the second inlet passage – 50 to flow directly to the exit passageway – 52, but the flow from the second inlet passage – 50 is prevented from entering the junction and contact the periphery – 80 of the stem portion – 78 halting its flow); and
forming a first foamed article from the first mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. ll. 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam). See Figs. 3, 4, 5 corresponding to the first, second and third positions, respectively:
Moreover, Blundy further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises that prior to the placement of the first divider (See Figs. 6 – 8 with side views and end view below; Col. 3 ll. 61-64 pin – 72 positioned within the bore, operator can rotate which effectively places the first divider):
injecting a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner (Figs. 2, 3, 4 Col. 2 l. 65-Col. 3 l. 11 second inlet port – 32 in communication with a second inlet nozzle – 44 which receives a molten material from a second barrel – 46 where the molten material is transferred through the first inlet port –30 to a first inlet passage – 48 (first runner) and conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48 and the molten material transferred through the second inlet port – 32 is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50 (second runner)) ; and
forming a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. 3 ll. 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam). See Figs 6-8 and 2 below:
Regarding Claim 3, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises removing the first divider from the runner plate after the formation of the first foamed article; and
placing a second divider within the runner plate, wherein the second divider is in different configuration from the first divider (Fig.4 Col. 4 ll. 13-19 pin – 72 is in second position – 90, third channel – 86 allows molten material from the first inlet passage – 48 to flow directly to the exit passage way – 52).
Regarding Claim 4, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises that placing the first divider within the runner plate further comprises:
aligning the passage with the first runner and misaligning the passage with the second runner (See Fig. 4 above where the third channel (passage) – 86 is aligned with the first inlet passage (first runner) – 48 and misaligned with the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises inserting a block into the passage after the formation of the first foamed article (See Figs 6, 7 Col. 4 ll. 3-12 where in the first position – 88, passage – 82 is blocked and the molten material can only flow unimpeded to the exit passageway – 52) and
where Blundy further anticipates in claim 6 that the block is insertable into or removable from the passage when the first divider is placed within the runner plate (Figs 6,8 Col. 3, ll. 53-64 where the flow adjusting pin (first divider) can be placed into a bore formed in the manifold – 10 and this implies that it can be removed).
Regarding Claim 7, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises:
rotating the first divider within the runner plate (Figs 6-8 Col. 3 ll. 61-64 knob portion – 74 extends from the manifold – 10 such that an operator can rotate with the aid of a standard tool or wrench the pin – 72 to the appropriate position);
injecting a third mixture into the mold cavity through the passage and the second runner, wherein the third mixture fails to flow into the mold cavity through the passage and the first runner (Fig. 5 Col. 4 ll. 19-26 when the pin – 72 is in its third position – 92 the second channel – 84 allows the molten material from the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50 to flow directly to the exit passageway – 52 and the flow of material from the first inlet passage – 48 is prevented from entering the junction – 70 where the flow is halted) ; and
forming a third foamed article from the third mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. ll. 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam). See Fig. 5 below:
Regarding Claim 8, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 7 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises rotating the first divider within the runner plate further comprises:
aligning the passage with the second runner and misaligning the passage with the first runner (See Fig. 5 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 7 and further anticipates that the injection molding method further comprises a dimension of the first runner is substantially greater than a dimension of the passage, and a dimension of the second runner is substantially greater than the dimension of the passage (Fig. 2 where length of the first runner (first inlet passage – 48) and the second runner (second inlet passage – 50 is longer than the exit passageway (passage) – 52 Col. 3 ll. 16-30 where the second end -68 of the exit passageway – 52 meets with the second end – 60 of the first inlet passage (first runner) – 48 and the second end – 64 of the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50 )
Regarding Claim 10, Blundy anticipates all the limitations of claim 1and further anticipates that the first divider is insertable into or removable from the runner plate when the runner plate is disposed on the molding device (Figs 6,8 Col. 3, ll. 53-64 where the flow adjusting pin (first divider) can be placed into a bore formed in the manifold – 10 and this implies that it can be removed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blundy (US 6,196,822 B1) IDS 04/29/2025 in view of Takeshita (JP S62-28516U) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 11, Blundy discloses an injection molding method (abs, Col. 1, ll. 6-12), comprising:
providing a molding device (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 2 ll.47-48 multicolor/component injection molding machine and a mold – 16) and a runner plate over the molding device (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-51 platen – 12, false platen – 14, manifold – 10) , wherein the molding device comprises a first mold (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-50 platen – 12 is the first mold with a mold – 16), a second mold over the first mold (Figs. 1, 2, 3 Col. 2 ll. 49-54 claim 1, manifold – 10 attached to platen (first mold) – 12, false platen (second mold) – 14) , and a mold cavity defined by the first mold and the second mold (See Fig. 2 Col.2 ll. 49-54 Col. 3 ll. 12-15 claim 1– where cavity is formed between the first mold (platen) – 12 and the second mold (false platen) – 14 where manifold is present – 10, which may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam and plastic),
the runner plate includes first and second runners that communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 1 ll. 63-65; Col. 3 ll. 7-15 molten material transferred through the first inlet port – 30 conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48 (first runner) within the manifold; molten material transferred through the second inlet port – 32 is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50 (second runner) within the manifold – 10);
injecting a first mixture into the mold cavity through the second runner, wherein the first mixture fails to flow into the mold cavity through the first runner (See Fig. 5 above, Col. 4 ll. 19-26 when the pin – 72 is in its third position – 92 the second channel – 84 allows the molten material from the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50 to flow directly to the exit passageway – 52 and the flow of material from the first inlet passage – 48 is prevented from entering the junction – 70 where the flow is halted); and
forming a first foamed article from the first mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. 3 ll 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam).
Moreover, Blundy further discloses that the injection molding method further comprises that prior to the placement of the first divider (See Figs. 6 – 8 with side views and end view below; Col. 3 ll. 61-64 pin – 72 positioned within the bore, operator can rotate which effectively places the first divider):
injecting a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner (Figs. 2, 3, 4 Col. 2 l. 65-Col. 3 l. 11 second inlet port – 32 in communication with a second inlet nozzle – 44 which receives a molten material from a second barrel – 46 where the molten material is transferred through the first inlet port –30 to a first inlet passage – 48 (first runner) and conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48 and the molten material transferred through the second inlet port – 32 is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50 (second runner)) ; and
forming a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. 3 ll. 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam). See Figs 6-8 and 2 above.
However, while Blundy discloses a flow adjusting pin – 72 that is rotated there is no disclosure of a plug that is inserted or removed.
Takeshita discloses an injection mold characterized by a shielding piece that corresponds to the first plug as recited by claim 11 which is used to adjust the amount of resin flowing into a runner and where each of two of these shielding pieces correspond the a first and second runner where a concave part on each of the shielding pieces correspond to the grooves on each runner (Fig. 1 p. 3 1st paragraph ll. 1-10 shielding pieces 5 and t6 concave part – 7, 89 runner part – 4 with two branches – 4a & 4b). Moreover, this shielding piece (plug) can be placed or removed (p. 4 paragraph ll. 1-2 if you activate the shielding pieces, you can step part of the runner) See Fig. 1 2nd below:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Blundy with the teaching of Takeshita, whereby the flow adjusting pin of Blundy is replaced with the shielding piece corresponding to the plug of Takeshita.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider this plug as a feature because the recess of the sliding shielding piece deviates from a groove on the runner part thus imparting a more fine adjustment in the resin (molten material) flow due to an offset between a shielding piece and the runner part (Fig. 4 p. 3 2nd paragraph 1-14 shielding piece – 6 is slightly offset from the groove – 40 of the runner part – 4 and the inflow of molten resin to cavity type C2 is less than that for cavity type C1).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Blundy and Takeshita disclose all the limitations of claim 11 and Blundy further discloses that the injection molding method further comprises removing the first plug from the first runner after the formation of the first foamed article (Fig. 4 Col. 3, ll.40-45 when flow adjusting pin -72 is turned to a second position – 90, the flow of molten material from the first inlet passage (first runner) – 48 is allowed to flow through the exit passageway – 52).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Blundy and Takeshita disclose all the limitations of claim 13 and Blundy further discloses that the injection molding method further comprises that after the removal of the first plug:
injecting a second mixture into the mold cavity through the first runner and the second runner (Fig. 3 Col. 4 ll. 3-12 where the pin (plug) – 72 is in its first position – 88, molten material from both the first inlet passage (first runner) – 48 and the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50 is allowed to flow through the junction – 70 to the exit passageway – 52 for use in molding a part); and
forming a second foamed article from the second mixture inside the mold cavity (Col. ll. 12-15 manifold of present invention may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Blundy and Takeshita disclose all the limitations of claim 11 and Takeshita further discloses that the injection molding method further comprises inserting a second plug into the second runner after the formation of the first foamed article (Fig. 1 p. 2 3rd paragraph p. 3 last paragraph – p. 4 first paragraph: shielding pieces can be used for multiple cavity types and as a selection technique and used as an insert).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Blundy and Takeshita disclose all the limitations of claim 15 and Takeshita further discloses that the injection molding method further comprises that the first plug and the second plug are insertable into or removable from the first runner and the second runner respectively when the runner plate is disposed on the molding device (Fig. 1, 2 p. 1 Scope of request paragraph (2); p. 3 1st paragraph shielding piece is installed in a sliding motion or on slide transfer).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blundy (US 6,196,822 B1) IDS 04/29/2025 in view of Altonen (US 9,610,721 B2).
Regarding Claim 17, Blundy discloses an injection molding system (abs, Col. 1, ll. 6-12), comprising:
a molding device (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 2 ll.47-48 multicolor/component injection molding machine and a mold – 16) and a runner plate over the molding device (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-51 platen – 12, false platen – 14, manifold – 10) , wherein the molding device comprises a first mold (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 49-50 platen – 12 is the first mold with a mold – 16), a second mold over the first mold (Figs. 1, 2, 3 Col. 2 ll. 49-54 claim 1, manifold – 10 attached to platen (first mold) – 12, false platen (second mold) – 14) , and a mold cavity defined by the first mold and the second mold (See Fig. 2 Col.2 ll. 49-54 Col. 3 ll. 12-15 claim 1– where cavity is formed between the first mold (platen) – 12 and the second mold (false platen) – 14 where manifold is present – 10, which may be utilized in connection with any molten material, including foam and plastic),
a runner plate, disposed over the molding device and the runner plate includes first and second runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate (Figs. 1, 2 Col. 1 ll. 63-65; Col. 3 ll. 7-15 molten material transferred through the first inlet port – 30 conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48 (first runner) within the manifold; molten material transferred through the second inlet port – 32 is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50 (second runner) within the manifold – 10);
a divider disposed within the runner plate (Fig. 2 Col. 3 ll. 32-34 flow adjusting pin – 72), wherein the first divider has a passage connectable to the first runner or the second runner (Fig. 3 Col. 3 ll. 7-11 molten material conveyed to a first inlet passage – 48; molten material is in fluid communication with a second inlet passage – 50) See also Fig. 3 (Col. 4 ll. 3-7 pin – 72 is in first position – 88 molten material from both the first inlet passage – 48 and the second inlet passage – 50 allowed to flow through junction – 70 and to exit passage way – 52 for use in molding a part);
wherein the divider is configured to block a mixture flowing into the mold cavity through one of the first and second runners and allow the mixture flowing into the mold cavity through the passage and another one of the first and second runners (Figs. 4, 5 Col.4 ll. 13-27 pin – 72 is in second position – 90 or in a third position – 92, third channel – 86 allows molten material from the first inlet passage – 48 to flow directly to exit passage – 52 while second channel – 84 allows molten material from the second inlet passage – 50 to flow directly to the exit passageway – 52, but the flow from the second inlet passage – 50 is prevented from entering the junction and contact the periphery – 80 of the stem portion – 78 halting its flow).
However, Blundy does not disclose that instead of a first and second runner, that there is a plurality of runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate and that the divider disposed within the runner plate has a plurality of passages connectable to the runners wherein the number of the runners is different from the number of the passages.
Altonen discloses a runner system for a multi-cavity injection molding system (abs) whereby there is a plurality of runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending withing the runner plate and with the divider disposed within the runner plate and having a plurality of passages connectable to the runners wherein the number of runners is different from the number of passages (Fig. 2, Col. 9, ll. 45-61 additional mold cavities – 32 and branch sets of runners – 64 ; runner systems may be designed and manufactured to split off at each branch in a number of directions; alternate configurations including odd number of splits, leading to any number of total cavities, whether even or odd, where Fig. 2 is illustrated in two dimensions, but the branches can be in a number of directions ).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Blundy with the teachings of Altonen, whereby an injection molding system with a molding device, having first and second molds with the second mold engaged with the first mold, a runner plate and a divider as disclosed by Blundy, would also include that the runner plate would have a plurality of runners communicable with the mold cavity and extending within the runner plate and having a plurality of passages connectable to the runners wherein the number of the runners is different from the number of the passages.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider and utilize this feature because using these plurality runner systems facilitates decreasing the runner size advantageously increasing options regarding mold cavity spacing (more closely together) and the number of total cavities can be increased, and this system reduces the energy needed to introduce molten polymer through the runner system and ultimately to the mold cavities (Col. 4 l. 60-Col. 5 l. 3).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Blundy and Altonen disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Blundy further discloses that the passage is alignable with the first runner or the second runner (See Fig. 4 above where the third channel (passage) – 86 is aligned with the first inlet passage (first runner) – 48 and misaligned with the second inlet passage (second runner) – 50).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Blundy and Altonen disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Blundy further discloses that the system further comprises a block disposed within the passage to block the mixture flowing through the passage (See Figs 6, 7 Col. 4 ll. 3-12 where in the first position – 88, passage – 82 is blocked and the molten material can only flow unimpeded to the exit passageway – 52).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Blundy and Altonen disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Blundy further discloses that the system further comprises that the divider is rotatable relative to the runner plate (Figs 6-8 Col. 3 ll. 61-64 knob portion – 74 extends from the manifold – 10 such that an operator can rotate with the aid of a standard tool or wrench the pin – 72 to the appropriate position) and is insertable into and removable from the runner plate (Figs 6,8 Col. 3, ll. 53-64 where the flow adjusting pin (first divider) can be placed into a bore formed in the manifold – 10 and this implies that it can be removed).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748