DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on June 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim 1-10 & 12-14 are rejected.
Claims 11 & 15 are objected to.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
"an optical member configured to change a direction of the measurement auxiliary light" in Claim 6, as described in Para. [0041] of Applicant’s specification.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 recites the limitation “the measurement auxiliary light head is disposed on one of two sides of a line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens [emphasis added]” on Lines 2-3. It is unclear whether these “two sides” and this “line” are the same as the “two sides” and the “line”, previously recited on Line 14 of Claim 1, respectively, or separate, different sides and a separate, different line. For the purpose of examination, “the measurement auxiliary light head is disposed on one of two sides of a line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens” is being interpreted as “the measurement auxiliary light head is disposed on one of the two sides of the line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens [emphasis added]”.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 recites the limitation “a plurality of index figures” on Line 2. It is unclear whether these “plurality of index figures” include the “index figure” previously recited on Line 3 of Claim 9, or separate, different index figures. For the purpose of examination, “a plurality of index figures” is being interpreted as “a plurality of index figures, which include the index figure,”.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 recites the limitation “a plurality of actual sizes of the specific region in the subject” on Lines 2-3. It is unclear whether these “plurality of actual sizes” include the “actual size” previously recited on Line 4 of Claim 9, or separate, different actual sizes. For the purpose of examination, “a plurality of actual sizes of the specific region in the subject” is being interpreted as “a plurality of actual sizes, which includes the actual size, of the specific region in the subject”.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 recites the limitation “a position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image [emphasis added]” on Lines 3-4. It is unclear whether this “position” is the same as the “position” previously recited on Lines 4-5 of Claim 9, or a separate, different position. For the purpose of examination, “a position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image” is being interpreted as “the position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image [emphasis added]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takami (DE 3629435 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Takami, as best understood, discloses an endoscope (Fig. 3, 52; [0047]) comprising:
an insertion part (Fig. 3, 54; [0047]) configured to be inserted into a body ([0002]);
an end surface (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 58s; [0015] & [0048]) that is provided on a distal end of the insertion part (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 58; [0047]);
a plurality of illuminating lenses (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 80; [0048]) that are disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4);
a forceps port (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 74; [0048]) that is disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4);
an imaging sensor (Fig. 5, 66; [0048]) configured to capture an image of a subject in the body ([0049]);
an imaging lens (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 62; [0048]) that is disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4) on a same optical path (Fig. 5, LO; [0048]) as the imaging sensor (see Fig. 5); and
a measurement auxiliary light head (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 68; [0048]) from which measurement auxiliary light is radiated (Fig. 5, a measuring beam; [0048]) within an imaging range (Fig. 5, ℓO; [0054]) of the image captured by the imaging sensor (Figs. 5 & 11, 128 wherein 128 is P2; [0055] & [0071]), the measurement auxiliary light head being disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4),
wherein when the end surface is viewed from a front, the plurality of illuminating lenses are disposed on two sides of an optical axis of the measurement auxiliary light (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, Ld; [0048]) and are disposed on two sides of a line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens (w; see Takami Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 1. Takami further discloses wherein when the end surface is viewed from the front, the optical axis of the measurement auxiliary light crosses the imaging lens ([0054] & see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 1. Takami further discloses wherein when the end surface is viewed from the front, the measurement auxiliary light head is disposed on one of two sides of a line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 1. Takami further discloses an operating part (Fig. 3, 56; [0047]) that is disposed on a proximal side of the insertion part ([0047]); and
a light source of the measurement auxiliary light (Figs. 3 & 5, 72; [0048]) that is disposed in the operating part (Fig. 3, a portion of 72 is disposed in 56; [0048]).
Regarding Claim 5, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 4. Takami further discloses wherein the light source of the measurement auxiliary light includes one of a semiconductor laser or a light-emitting diode ([0079]).
Regarding Claim 9, Takami, as best understood, discloses an endoscope system (Fig. 3, an endoscopic system comprising 52, 70, 72, 82 and 84; [0048]) comprising:
the endoscope according to Claim 1 (FOR THE SAKE OF BREVITY THE REJECTION OF CLAIM 1 IS NOT REPRODUCED HEREIN); and
a processor (Fig. 6, 114; [0051]) configured to display an index figure (Fig. 11, superimposed graphics comprising 126, 132 and 134; [0071] & [0072]) together with the image (Figs. 5 & 11, 128 wherein 128 is P2; [0055] & [0071]) on a display (Fig. 11, 98; [0049]), the index figure indicating an actual size of a specific region ([0073]) in the subject in accordance with a position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image ([0073]).
Regarding Claim 13, Takami discloses the endoscope system according to Claim 9. Takami further discloses wherein a shape of the index figure is a distorted circle (Fig. 11, 132 is substantially a warped circle; [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami (DE 3629435 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 1.
Takami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the measurement auxiliary light head has a diameter not larger than 1.5 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the diameter of the measurement auxiliary light head of Takami be not larger than 1.5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the measurement auxiliary light head would not operate differently with the claimed diameter. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that “the total diameter of the laser head 506 can be 1.0 mm to 1.5 mm” (see Para. [0036] of Applicant’s specification).
Claims 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami (DE 3629435 A1) in view of Kitatsuji et al. (hereinafter "Kitatsuji") (US 2013/0289396).
Regarding Claim 6, Takami discloses the endoscope according to Claim 1. Takami further discloses wherein the measurement auxiliary light head radiates the measurement auxiliary light in a direction relative to the optical path of the imaging lens (Fig. 5, the measurement beam of 68 is radiated at an angle β relative to LO; [0048]).
Takami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the measurement auxiliary light head includes an optical member configured to change the direction of the measurement auxiliary light radiated from the measurement auxiliary light head.
However, Kitatsuji teaches a medical imaging device (Fig. 1, 1; [0017]) comprising:
an insertion part (Fig. 1, 10; [0018]) configured to be inserted into a body ([0022]);
a measurement light head (Fig. 1, a distal OCT assembly comprising 11, 12, 13 and 14; [0022]) from which measurement light (Fig. 1, object light used in measurement of an interferometric signal; [0022] & [0027]) is radiated at an angle (a deflection angle; [0023]) relative to an optical axis (Fig. 1, AX; [0023]); and
wherein the measurement light head includes an optical member (Fig. 1, 14; [0022]) configured to change the angle of the measurement light radiated from the measurement light head ([0023]).
The advantage of the prism is to selectively control the angle/direction of measurement auxiliary light by selecting the cut surface/angle of the prism (Kitatsuji; [0010] & [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the measurement auxiliary light head as disclosed by Takami, to include the pri taught by Kitatsuji, to selectively control the angle/direction of measurement auxiliary light by selecting the cut surface/angle of the prism (Kitatsuji; [0010] & [0022]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Takami teaches the endoscope according to Claim 7. Modified Takami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the measurement auxiliary light head includes a ferrule having a diameter not larger than 1.25 mm.
However, Kitatsuji teaches a medical imaging device (Fig. 1, 1; [0017]) comprising:
an insertion part (Fig. 1, 10; [0018]) configured to be inserted into a body ([0022]);
a measurement light head (Fig. 1, a distal OCT assembly comprising 11, 12, 13 and 14; [0022]) from which measurement light is radiated (Fig. 1, object light used in measurement of an interferometric signal; [0022] & [0027]); and
wherein the measurement light head includes a ferrule having a diameter (Fig. 2, 12; [0022]).
The advantage of the ferrule is to strengthen an attachment between the measurement auxiliary light head and a light source of the measurement auxiliary light thereby preventing light loss ([Kitatsuji; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the measurement auxiliary light head as disclosed by Takami, to include the ferrule taught by Kitatsuji, to strengthen an attachment between the measurement auxiliary light head and a light source of the measurement auxiliary light thereby preventing light loss ([Kitatsuji; [0031]).
Kitatsuji fails to explicitly teach wherein the ferrule has a diameter of not larger than 1.25 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the diameter of the ferrule of Kitatsuji be not larger than since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, ferrule would not operate differently with the claimed diameter. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that “in the laser head 506, for example, [the ferrule] ha[s] a diameter of 0.8 mm to 1.25 mm” (see Para. [0036] of Applicant’s specification).
Claims 10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami (DE 3629435 A1) in view of Nakamura et al. (hereinafter "Nakamura") (JP 2011015721 A).
Regarding Claims 10 & 12, Takami discloses the endoscope system according to Claim 9. Takami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor makes the index figure corrected in accordance with a distortion aberration of an imaging optical system including the imaging lens; and wherein the processor is configured to display the index figure indicating the actual size set by a user.
However, Nakamura, as best understood, teaches an endoscope system (Fig. 11, a stereoscopic video display device; [0061]) comprising:
an endoscope (Fig. 11, 51; [0061]) comprising:
an insertion part (see Fig. 11);
an end surface (see Fig. 11) that is provided on a distal end of the insertion part (see Fig. 11);
an imaging sensor (Fig. 11, 55; [0061]) configured to capture an image ([0062]) of a subject in the body (see Fig. 11); an
an imaging lens (Fig. 9, 36; [0054]); and
a display (Fig. 11, 53; [0061]);
a processor (Fig. 11, 52; [0061]) configured to display an index figure (Fig. 11, 58; [0062]) together with the image on the display (Fig. 11, 58 is superimposed on the captured image and displayed on 53; [0062]), the index figure indicating an actual size of a specific region in the subject ([0063]);
wherein the processor makes the index figure corrected in accordance with a distortion aberration of an imaging optical system including the imaging lens ([0057]); and
wherein the processor is configured to display the index figure indicating the actual size set by a user (Fig. 11, an operator designates the position and the posture of 58 on the image; [0063]).
The advantage of the user-controlled index figure is to measure various objects in the same image (Nakamura; [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the processor as disclosed by Takami, to include the user-controlled index figure as taught by Nakamura, to measure various objects in the same image (Nakamura; [0040]).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-10 & 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,126 in view of Takami (DE 3629435 A1).
The claims of ‘126 disclose all of the limitations of the instant claims except for an insertion part configured to be inserted into a body; and wherein a shape of the index figure is a distorted circle.
Regarding Claims 9-10 & 12-14, Takami, as best understood, discloses an endoscope system (Fig. 3, an endoscopic system comprising 52, 70, 72, 82 and 84; [0048]) comprising:
an endoscope (Fig. 3, 52; [0047]) comprising:
an insertion part (Fig. 3, 54; [0047]) configured to be inserted into a body ([0002]);
an end surface (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 58s; [0015] & [0048]) that is provided on a distal end of the insertion part (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 58; [0047]);
a plurality of illuminating lenses (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 80; [0048]) that are disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4);
a forceps port (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 74; [0048]) that is disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4);
an imaging sensor (Fig. 5, 66; [0048]) configured to capture an image of a subject in the body ([0049]);
an imaging lens (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 62; [0048]) that is disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4) on a same optical path (Fig. 5, LO; [0048]) as the imaging sensor (see Fig. 5); and
a measurement auxiliary light head (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, 68; [0048]) from which measurement auxiliary light is radiated (Fig. 5, a measuring beam; [0048]) within an imaging range (Fig. 5, ℓO; [0054]) of the image captured by the imaging sensor (Figs. 5 & 11, 128 wherein 128 is P2; [0055] & [0071]), the measurement auxiliary light head being disposed on the end surface (see Takami Annotated Fig. 4),
wherein when the end surface is viewed from a front, the plurality of illuminating lenses are disposed on two sides of an optical axis of the measurement auxiliary light (Takami Annotated Fig. 4, Ld; [0048]) and are disposed on two sides of a line connecting the forceps port and the imaging lens (w; see Takami Annotated Fig. 4); and
a processor (Fig. 6, 114; [0051]) configured to display an index figure (Fig. 11, superimposed graphics comprising 126, 132 and 134; [0071] & [0072]) together with the image (Figs. 5 & 11, 128 wherein 128 is P2; [0055] & [0071]) on a display (Fig. 11, 98; [0049]), the index figure indicating an actual size of a specific region ([0073]) in the subject in accordance with a position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image ([0073]); and
wherein a shape of the index figure is a distorted circle (Fig. 11, 132 is substantially a warped circle; [0072]).
The advantage of the index figure being a distorted circle is to better identify an area intended for inspection by a user (Takami; [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the index figure as disclosed by '126, to include the distorted circle as taught by Takami, to better identify an area intended for inspection by a user (Takami; [0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 11, Takami discloses the endoscope system according to Claim 9. Takami, as best understood, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to display the index figure according to information on a relationship between the position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image and a size of the index figure corresponding to the actual size measured in advance.
Regarding Claim 14, Takami discloses the endoscope system according to Claim 9. Takami, as best understood, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to display a plurality of the index figures indicating a plurality of the actual sizes of the specific region in the subject in accordance with a position of the measurement auxiliary light in the image.
Regarding Claim 15, Takami discloses the endoscope system according to Claim 9. Takami, as best understood, fails to explicitly disclose wherein illumination light that is radiated from the plurality of illuminating lenses is turned off or dimmed when the measurement auxiliary light is radiated from the measurement auxiliary light head.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0287141; US 2016/0225168; US 2012/0050514; US 2011/0187824; US 2010/0324366; and U.S. 5,436,655.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795