DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 6/20/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 25, 36 and 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers et al (US 20120070714 A1) in view of Suonsivu et al (US 20160126521 A1) and Zenczak (US 3450571 A).
Regarding claim 25, Chambers discloses a battery separator comprising a polyolefin membrane filled with a silica-based material [paragraph 0010, 0016, 0018, 0048, 0073, 0115]. Chambers remains silent about carbon/mineral coating on the separator. However, it is known in the art to utilize carbon coating on the separator for mechanically strengthening and stabilizing the separator surface as taught by Suonsivu [Abstract; paragraph 0035, 0037, 0047, 0104]. And Zenczak teaches coating a separator with mineral material [column 3, line 46-53; claim 1]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 36 and 43-44, Suonsivu teaches that both side of the separator is coated [paragraph 0048] and Zenczak teaches coating a separator with mineral material [column 3, line 46-53; claim 1]. Since both sides of the separator is coated, placing the positive or the negative plate at any side would be within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan and would be obvious.
8. Claim(s) 26-28 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers et al (US 20120070714 A1) in view of Suonsivu et al (US 20160126521 A1) and Zenczak (US 3450571 A) as applied in claim 25 and further in view of Bendale et al (US 20030086238 A1).
Regarding claims 26-28, Chambers/Suonsivu remains silent about the surface area of the carbon; however, Bendale teaches coating a current collector of an energy storage device with activated carbon powder and a binder wherein BET surface area of the activated carbon powders is on the order of 500 to 2500 m2/g in order to optimize both the "effectivity" and "utilization" of the carbon used [Abstract; paragraph 0015-0016, 0058, 0065]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 35, Bendale teaches that the carbon is activated carbon [paragraph 0015-0016].
9. Claim(s) 29-34 and 37-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers et al (US 20120070714 A1) in view of Suonsivu et al (US 20160126521 A1) and Zenczak (US 3450571 A) as applied in claims 25&36 and further in view of Bendale et al (US 20030086238 A1).
Regarding claims 29-34 and 37-42, Chambers/Suonsivu remains silent that the coating comprises surfactant/binder; however it is known in the art to utilize surfactant/binder in coating so that the internal resistance of the lithium secondary battery can be reduced as a result of swelling of the polymer, so that a reduction in battery performance can be suppressed as taught by Bendale. Bendale further teaches that the binder can be acrylate and acrylonitrile. Surfactants can be nonionic [Abstract; paragraph 0022-0023, 0159, 0237, 0310, 0526, 0530]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723