DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kazuno et al. (2017/0066337).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kazuno teaches a method (Fig. 1), comprising:
activating a converter (34) coupled with at least one energy storage device (30), one or more inverters (14), and one or more of a load (12) or a charging input, wherein the load comprises a traction motor (12) of a vehicle system, the converter activated based on (a) demand characteristics of the one or more of the load (i.e. speed/acceleration of the motor vehicle, which determines the demand characteristic) or the charging input and (b) supply characteristics of the at least one energy storage device (i.e. SOC), the converter activated to change a voltage that is supplied to the load or that is supplied by the charging input via the inverter ([0058]-[0060], [0101]-[0104]; [0101] teaches during acceleration aka high load demand the converter is activated to supply more voltage from the energy storage device to the load aka motor); and
responsive to a comparison of an electric power demanded by the traction motor to a designated threshold electric power (i.e. during idling stop or a constant low speed) associated with a supply capability of the at least one energy storage device, deactivating the converter or preventing activation of the converter ([0091], [0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Kazuno teaches determining whether the load is operating to perform work based at least in part on the demand characteristics ([0070]-[0072]).
Regarding claims 3, 13, 14, and 16, Kazuno teaches the demand and/or supply characteristics include a demanded voltage demanded by the load/traction motor ([0070]-[0072]) and a stored voltage stored in the at least one energy storage device ([0058]), and the converter is activated responsive to the demanded voltage being greater than a threshold demand ([0101]) and the stored voltage being less than a storage threshold (i.e. fully charged; [0102], [0104]).
Regarding claim 4, Kazuno teaches the load is a vehicle system (Fig. 1) and the demand characteristics include a moving speed of the vehicle system, and further comprising determining the speed of the vehicle system and comparing the moving speed to a determined threshold speed value ([0091], [0092], [0101]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Kazuno teaches the demand characteristics include an electric power demanded by the load, and further comprising determining whether the electric power demanded by the load is greater than a designated threshold (i.e. power provided by the FC alone and/or based on the speed) electric power value. ([0098]-[0104])
Regarding claim 6, Kazuno teaches determining that a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device is less than a designated threshold state of charge (i.e. fully charged). ([0058], [0177]-[0179])
Regarding claims 17 and 22, Kazuno teaches the load includes a traction motor (12) of a vehicle system, and further comprising:
deactivating the converter or preventing activation of the converter (i.e. “directly connected state” aka normal mode), responsive to determining:
the traction motor not operating to propel the vehicle system (i.e. idling/stationary),
the moving speed of the vehicle system being slower than a designated threshold speed (low speed vs. high speed/acceleration),
an electric power demanded by the traction motor does not exceed a designated threshold electric power (based on the speed/acceleration levels), or
a state of charge of the at least one energy storage device is above a designated threshold state of charge. ([0091], [0092], [0095], [0106])
Regarding claim 8, Kazuno teaches the converter being activated (to charge the battery) to reduce the voltage that is supplied to the load (during deceleration) or supplied by the charging input via the inverter. ([0104])
Regarding independent claim 9, Kazuno teaches (Fig. 1) a converter (34) configured to change a voltage output by an energy storage device (30) prior to the voltage being supplied to an inverter (14) responsive to activation of the converter ([0044], [0045], [0048], [0060]); and
a controller (50) configured to selectively activate the converter based at least in part on a measured demand characteristic (speed/acceleration level, which determines the demand characteristic) and on a measured electric supply characteristic (the SOC of the battery if it needs charging) ([0058], [0101]-[0104], as described above with claim 1),
wherein the measured demand characteristic includes whether a traction motor is propelling a vehicle system (i.e. idling stop [0095] vs. light acceleration/low load [0091] vs. high acceleration/high load [0101]), and wherein the controller is configured to deactivate, or prevent activation of, the converter responsive to an electric power demanded by the traction motor not exceeded a designated threshold electric power (based on the current speed and acceleration levels).
Regarding claim 15, Kazuno teaches the electric supply characteristic includes a state of charge of the energy storage device ([0058]).
Regarding independent claim 18, Kazuno teaches a power supply system, comprising:
a controller (50) configured to switch operation of a vehicle power system between different modes, the modes including a normal mode (“a directly connected state”) and a boosted voltage mode (“step up/down state”) ([0100]), the controller configured to switch the operation of the vehicle power system to the boosted voltage mode responsive to a voltage of a vehicle battery being less than a threshold amount (i.e. fully charged) and the vehicle being in motion (i.e. in deceleration). ([0104])
Regarding claim 19, Kazuno teaches the controller is configured to switch the operation of the vehicle power system to the normal mode responsive to the voltage of the vehicle battery being at least the threshold amount or the vehicle being stationary. ([0095])
Regarding claim 20, Kazuno teaches the controller is configured to switch the operation of the vehicle power system to the boosted voltage mode by activating a converter of the vehicle power system (into a step-up/down operation).
Regarding claim 21, Kazuno teaches the controller configured to switch the operation of the vehicle power system to the boosted voltage mode responsive to the voltage of the vehicle battery being less than the threshold amount, the vehicle being in motion, and the vehicle moving faster than a designated speed. ([0091], [0092]; the boosted voltage mode is controlled based on battery voltage and vehicle speed above a particular limit)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner believes that the Kazuno reference performs the same functions as described in Applicant’s specification, paragraph 0039. They both teach determining the load demand and compare that to the output capability of a power source system, and if the power source system can’t satisfy the full load demand directly (i.e. demand above the designated threshold), then a converter will be “activated to change a voltage that is supplied to the load.” Kazuno teaches this, as described in paragraphs 0091 and 0095, which show the deactivated state when the load demand is lower than the designated threshold, and in paragraph 0101, which shows the converter being activated to change a voltage that is supplied to the load when the load demand is higher than the designated threshold. With the teachings of these three paragraphs in Kazuno, then it is inherent that the converter will be activated/deactivated responsive to a comparison between the power demanded by the traction motor (i.e. load) and the designated threshold (i.e. whether the load demand is higher or lower than the designated threshold). This is Kazuno’s trigger condition.
Regarding the activation/deactivation states, as stated above and as in the claims, the converter is activated when it changes a voltage that is supplied to the load. The Examiner reads that to mean that when the converter is not changing a voltage that is supplied to the load then the converter is deactivated. Therefore, when Kazuno operates in the directly connected state, the converter is deactivated (i.e. bypassed), since it is not changing the voltage that is supplied to the load from the battery.
Conclusion
DMP
5/26/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836