DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Marion et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2010/0212999 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Marion discloses a resonator (e.g., Helmholtz resonator 6) and an audio device (e.g., sound damper 7) comprising: a first resonance portion (e.g., gam delivery system 2) including a first housing (e.g., housing 8) which includes a first space and on which a first opening portion (e.g., opening 22) configured to communicate the first space with outside is formed (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]); a second resonance portion (e.g., exhaust system 3) including a second housing (e.g., housing 8) which includes a second space and on which a second opening portion (e.g., opening 22) configured to communicate the second space with the outside is formed (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]); and a communication portion (e.g., membrane 11) configured to connect the first resonance portion with the second resonance portion to communicate with each other (See pg. 2, paragraph [0016]), wherein a resonance frequency (e.g., first resonance frequency 18) of the first resonance portion and a resonance frequency (e.g., second resonance frequency 21) of the second resonance portion are identical to each other (See pg. 1, paragraph [0005]).
In regards to claim 2, Marion discloses the resonator, wherein the first resonance portion and the second resonance portion are each a Helmholtz resonator including a cavity and a neck (e.g., neck 10) (See pg. 1, paragraph 0002), and wherein a cavity volume (e.g., resonance volume 9), a neck length, and a neck area of the first resonance portion are respectively identical to a cavity volume, a neck length, and a neck area of the second resonance portion (See pg. 1-2, paragraph [0015]) and pg. 2-3, paragraph [0023]).
In regards to claim 3, Marion discloses the resonator, wherein the first resonance portion and the second resonance portion are each a tube resonator (e.g., Helmholtz resonator 6), and wherein a tube length and a tube cross-sectional area distribution in a direction of the tube length of the first resonance portion are respectively identical to a tube length and a tube cross sectional area distribution in a direction of the tube length of the second resonance portion (for example, both of the necks 10, 10' are designed to be different from one another in such a manner that the Helmholtz resonator 6 already has two different resonance frequencies owing to both of the necks 10, 10' … both of the necks 10, 10' differ from one another with regard to cross section and/or through their length) (See pg. 2-3, paragraph [0023]).
In regards to claim 5, Marion discloses the audio device, wherein the first opening portion and the second opening portion are disposed in two positions including: a position of an antinode in an identical phase to a pressure standing wave generated in the speaker housing and having an identical frequency to a primary resonance frequency of the resonator; and a position of an antinode in an opposite phase to a pressure standing wave generated in the speaker housing having an identical frequency to a secondary resonance frequency of the resonator (for example, by means of this style of construction, a certain decoupling of the damping effect of the membrane 11 from the environmental conditions, such as temperature and pressure, for example, of the Helmholtz resonator 6 can be achieved) (See pg. 1, paragraph [0005] and pg. 2, paragraph [0021]).
In regards to claim 6, Marion discloses the audio device, wherein the speaker housing includes first and second inner walls that interpose an internal space of the speaker housing (for example, the housing can have at least one covering that on an external side of the housing that is opposite the resonance volume seals the wall section that has the membrane in an additional, in particular gas-tight, volume) (See pg. 1, paragraph [0006]), and third and fourth inner walls that are orthogonal to the first and second inner walls and that interpose the internal space in common with the first and second inner walls, and wherein the first opening portion and the second opening portion are respectively disposed on the first inner wall in a position in a vicinity of the third inner wall and in a position in a vicinity of the fourth inner wall (for example, each housing 8 has at least one membrane 11 capable of vibrating that forms the wall section of the housing that delimits the resonance volume 9) (See pg. 2, paragraph [0016]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2019/0051965 A1) teach a multi-mode resonator.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693