DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 USC 102 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the following: “Equating the deviation from the usage limit range of claim 1 with a mere violation of preset driving restrictions of Penilla is incorrect. The deviation determination of claim 1 is not a simple enforcement of a driving limit, but rather functions as a management trigger that initiates subsequent post-event management actions, such as evidence acquisition, owner notification, and server-based monitoring. This causal and functional role of the deviation determination is not taught or suggested by Penilla.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 currently states triggering a management operation by transmitting deviation information to an external server. Claim 1 makes no mention of any post-event management actions such as evidence acquisition or owner notification. Penilla states in 0119 and 0300 that notifications may be received by the dealership or vehicle user when a respective potential customer or valet violates the driving restrictions. In this instance, the post-event management action is the notification itself, which is the transmission of the deviation information to an external server as claimed. One possible exhibition of transmission of deviation information may be a simple notification that a deviation has occurred – the notification is the information. By sending a notification to the dealership or vehicle user that a violation of the restriction (usage limit) has occurred (which, as one of ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge, would involve communication with an external server), a management operation/action of transmitting deviation information to an external server has, in effect, occurred. Thus, Examiner maintains that Penilla discloses the claimed subject matter. See prior art rejections below for more details.
Should Applicant wish to define over the prior art with more specific and nuanced management actions triggered by the deviation from the usage limit, such actions must be in the claims. Applicant is invited to discuss the prior art, claims, and possible claim amendments should any doubts or concerns about prior art, claims and rejection remain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by US20200361335 (“Penilla”).
Claim 1
Penilla discloses:
a method for controlling a vehicle comprising a video recording device comprising a camera module for capturing video around the vehicle and a controller configured to control an access/start of a share key (0202 remote camera activation, remote audio/video recording of the vehicle (i.e., areas around the vehicle and inside the vehicle), abstract: sharing digital electronic keys (e-keys) to use a vehicle with the e-key), the method comprising:
setting a usage limit range for the share key (0036 In one embodiment, access can be by way of electronic keys (e.g., e-keys), which can be sent by a vehicle owner/admin to some person or entity. For example, the user-owner of the vehicle can assign a valet with access to the vehicle by going on an application (App or website) on a computing device (e.g., mobile or non-mobile device), identifying the recipient, identifying a mode for communicating with the recipient (e.g., text, email, message, notification, etc.), selecting the advisor account privileges (e.g., what type of access, speed limits, geographic restrictions, amount of time the e-keys will be valid (or else expire), and requesting that e-keys be sent to the recipient.);
allowing an access/start of the vehicle by the share key (0039 the e-keys when active will provide a graphical user interface on the device of the recipient, which may allow access, such as icon buttons to unlock, lock, start and stop the vehicle.);
determining whether the vehicle deviates from the usage limit range during a drive initiated by the access/start (0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected.); and
when it is determined that the vehicle deviates from the usage limit range, triggering a management operation by transmitting deviation information to an external server (0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0300 a user can also receive notifications when a vehicle is being accessed, driven or used in a manner that is in violation of the privileges assigned to the e-keys. For instance, if the e-keys were assigned to a valet and the valet attempts to speed excessively during the use of the e-keys, the user can be notified of the privilege breach or violation. In one embodiment, the account associated with the e-keys can act to automatically deactivate the e-keys upon detecting a violation.),
wherein the deviation information is transmitted as a consequence of the determination that the vehicle has deviated from the usage limit range (0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0300 a user can also receive notifications when a vehicle is being accessed, driven or used in a manner that is in violation of the privileges assigned to the e-keys. For instance, if the e-keys were assigned to a valet and the valet attempts to speed excessively during the use of the e-keys, the user can be notified of the privilege breach or violation. In one embodiment, the account associated with the e-keys can act to automatically deactivate the e-keys upon detecting a violation.).
Claim 5
Penilla discloses:
outputting a warning through a display device in the vehicle upon determination that the vehicle has deviated from the usage limit range (0011 the method includes sending a warning notification to the device of the recipient, or the vehicle, or both the device of the recipient, the vehicle warning notification identifying the violation of the condition of use., 0103).
Claim 11
Penilla discloses:
a vehicle (abstract) comprising:
a video recording device comprising a camera module configured to capture video around the vehicle (0202 remote camera activation, remote audio/video recording of the vehicle (i.e., areas around the vehicle and inside the vehicle), abstract: sharing digital electronic keys (e-keys) to use a vehicle with the e-key);
an audio video navigation telematics (AVNT) controller (0173 system controller);
a controller configured to control an access/start by a share key (0309 Further, embodiments of the present invention may be practiced with various computer system configurations including hand-held devices, microprocessor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, minicomputers, mainframe computers and the like. The invention can also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a wire-based or wireless network.); and
a vehicle controller (0091 a vehicle can include electronics that utilize memory and a processor to execute program instructions to provide services.),
wherein at least one controller of a controller of the video recording device, the AVNT controller, and the vehicle controller is configured (0309 Further, embodiments of the present invention may be practiced with various computer system configurations including hand-held devices, microprocessor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, minicomputers, mainframe computers and the like. The invention can also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a wire-based or wireless network.) to:
set a usage limit range for the share key (0036 In one embodiment, access can be by way of electronic keys (e.g., e-keys), which can be sent by a vehicle owner/admin to some person or entity. For example, the user-owner of the vehicle can assign a valet with access to the vehicle by going on an application (App or website) on a computing device (e.g., mobile or non-mobile device), identifying the recipient, identifying a mode for communicating with the recipient (e.g., text, email, message, notification, etc.), selecting the advisor account privileges (e.g., what type of access, speed limits, geographic restrictions, amount of time the e-keys will be valid (or else expire), and requesting that e-keys be sent to the recipient.),
determine whether the vehicle deviates from the usage limit range during a drive initiated by the access/start (0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected.), and
when it is determined that the vehicle deviates from the usage limit range, triggering a management operation by transmitting deviation information to an external server (0036 In one embodiment, access can be by way of electronic keys (e.g., e-keys), which can be sent by a vehicle owner/admin to some person or entity. For example, the user-owner of the vehicle can assign a valet with access to the vehicle by going on an application (App or website) on a computing device (e.g., mobile or non-mobile device), identifying the recipient, identifying a mode for communicating with the recipient (e.g., text, email, message, notification, etc.), selecting the advisor account privileges (e.g., what type of access, speed limits, geographic restrictions, amount of time the e-keys will be valid (or else expire), and requesting that e-keys be sent to the recipient., 0039 the e-keys when active will provide a graphical user interface on the device of the recipient, which may allow access, such as icon buttons to unlock, lock, start and stop the vehicle., 0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0300 a user can also receive notifications when a vehicle is being accessed, driven or used in a manner that is in violation of the privileges assigned to the e-keys. For instance, if the e-keys were assigned to a valet and the valet attempts to speed excessively during the use of the e-keys, the user can be notified of the privilege breach or violation. In one embodiment, the account associated with the e-keys can act to automatically deactivate the e-keys upon detecting a violation.),
wherein the deviation information is transmitted as a consequence of the determination that the vehicle has deviated from the usage limit range (0036 In one embodiment, access can be by way of electronic keys (e.g., e-keys), which can be sent by a vehicle owner/admin to some person or entity. For example, the user-owner of the vehicle can assign a valet with access to the vehicle by going on an application (App or website) on a computing device (e.g., mobile or non-mobile device), identifying the recipient, identifying a mode for communicating with the recipient (e.g., text, email, message, notification, etc.), selecting the advisor account privileges (e.g., what type of access, speed limits, geographic restrictions, amount of time the e-keys will be valid (or else expire), and requesting that e-keys be sent to the recipient., 0039 the e-keys when active will provide a graphical user interface on the device of the recipient, which may allow access, such as icon buttons to unlock, lock, start and stop the vehicle., 0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0119 A dealership can grant “test drive” logins to potential customers, which allows them to operate less than 100 mph and only within a 5-mile radius. In one embodiment, alerts or notifications can be automatically triggered if violations in the restrictions are detected., 0300 a user can also receive notifications when a vehicle is being accessed, driven or used in a manner that is in violation of the privileges assigned to the e-keys. For instance, if the e-keys were assigned to a valet and the valet attempts to speed excessively during the use of the e-keys, the user can be notified of the privilege breach or violation. In one embodiment, the account associated with the e-keys can act to automatically deactivate the e-keys upon detecting a violation.).
Claim(s) 15
Claim(s) 15 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 5 and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla in view of US20190259227 (“Oesterling”)
Claim 2
Penilla fails to disclose wherein the deviation information comprises a video of the video recording device. However, Penilla does disclose deviation information (0300) and video information (0158). Furthermore, Oesterling teaches a system of monitoring a vehicle accessed by a share key (0030), including:
wherein the deviation information comprises a video of the video recording device (0078 One or more outward-facing cameras 48 can be installed and/or mounted on vehicle 12. According to a particular embodiment, a first camera can be mounted on the left side of the vehicle 12 and a second camera can be mounted on the right side of the vehicle 12., 0073 The cameras 46 and 48 can be used to capture photographs, videos, and/or other information pertaining to light, which is collectively referred to herein as image data., 0018 when it is detected that vehicle misuse has occurred, automatically sending a subset of the vehicle monitoring information to the vehicle backend services facility at the time of the detection of the vehicle misuse, wherein the subset of the vehicle monitoring information includes any of the vehicle monitoring information that is relevant in assessing an extent and nature of the vehicle misuse, as well as any vehicle monitoring information that is relevant in assessing damage to the vehicle as a result of the vehicle misuse;).
Penilla and Oesterling both disclose systems of monitoring a vehicle being used by a share key. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to apply the known element(s) of Oesterling to the known system of Penilla, the latter having been ready for improvement. The combination would have done no more than yield the predictable results of wherein the deviation information comprises a video of the video recording device.
Claim 3
Penilla discloses:
wherein the video comprises a video stored in the video recording device or a real-time video of the camera module (0158 The cameras can be accessed to view historical uses by the user, or can be access to view current and live video of the vehicle.).
Claim 4
Penilla discloses:
wherein the deviation information further comprises at least one of a deviation notification, driving information of the vehicle, and a deviation detail (0236 The drivers 520 can also include a plurality of drivers, which may have predefined access to the vehicle. Some accounts can also be associated with temporary drivers, such as valets, mechanics, service people, friends, etc. In one embodiment, the driver can place the car in the valet account mode when the vehicle is provided to a valet for parking. In the valet mode, the vehicle will have restricted use parameters, and will also provide for reporting back to the user in case violations occur in accordance with the predefined privileges assigned to a valet. Examples of violation can include, driving too fast, driving out of an area, accelerating too fast, stopping too fast, parking too close to a structure or other vehicle).
Claim(s) 12, 13 and 14
Claim(s) 12, 13 and 14 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 2, 3 and 4, respectively, and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla in view of US20140043152 (“Lippman”).
Claim 6
Penilla fails to disclose setting the usage limit range changeable or non-changeable. However, Penilla does disclose changing the usage limit range (0102 In other embodiments, the custom configuration can be transferred from one vehicle to another, or when the user buys a new vehicle. In another embodiment, the custom configuration can be adjusted based on the driver. The custom configuration can also be preset remotely from the Internet, using the cloud services. The custom configuration can also be configured to provide limited use of certain systems or the vehicle, such as when a guest is driving the vehicle. In other embodiments, restrictions can be placed on the vehicle speed, location of driving, and automatic notifications for the user or the master user of the vehicle. The master user of the vehicle can have a master account with administrator credentials.). Furthermore, Lippman teaches a system of vehicle sharing (abstract), including:
setting the usage limit range changeable or non-changeable (0038 The ACC module 60 is adapted to receive the signal DRIVER_STATUS from the cluster 22 to determine if the driver of the vehicle is the primary or the secondary driver. The ACC module 60 is configured to allow the primary driver to place the ACC system into a restricted mode in which the secondary driver is prevented or limited in the adjustment that may be made to any one or more of the ACC operating parameters. For example, the primary driver may establish the restricted mode such the secondary driver is prevented from disabling the Auto Distance Maintain Mode and from adjusting the MFD to below a certain minimum distance. As another example, the restricted mode may be established by the primary driver such that the secondary driver is allowed to disable the Auto Distance Maintain Mode, but the secondary driver is unable to disable the Alert Only Mode and unable to adjust the ATI to below a certain minimum time. In the event the driver of the vehicle is the secondary driver, the cluster 22 may not present a message in the message center display 24 to the secondary driver to allow the secondary driver to make the selections and/or adjustments to the ACC operating parameters that have been selected by the primary driver. In the event the secondary driver attempts to adjust any one or more of the ACC operating parameters, the cluster 22 may display an ACC driver status message.).
Penilla and Lippman both disclose share keys for vehicles and different usage limits based on the user of the key. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to apply the known element(s) of Lippman to the known system of Penilla, the latter having been ready for improvement. The combination would have done no more than yield the predictable results of setting the usage limit range changeable or non-changeable, thus allowing further customization of the settings based on the situation.
Claim 7
Penilla fails to disclose allowing a change of the usage limit range based on the share key if the usage limit range has been set changeable. However, Penilla does disclose changing the usage limit range (0102 In other embodiments, the custom configuration can be transferred from one vehicle to another, or when the user buys a new vehicle. In another embodiment, the custom configuration can be adjusted based on the driver. The custom configuration can also be preset remotely from the Internet, using the cloud services. The custom configuration can also be configured to provide limited use of certain systems or the vehicle, such as when a guest is driving the vehicle. In other embodiments, restrictions can be placed on the vehicle speed, location of driving, and automatic notifications for the user or the master user of the vehicle. The master user of the vehicle can have a master account with administrator credentials.). Furthermore, Lippman teaches a system of vehicle sharing (abstract), including:
allowing a change of the usage limit range based on the share key if the usage limit range has been set changeable (0038 The ACC module 60 is adapted to receive the signal DRIVER_STATUS from the cluster 22 to determine if the driver of the vehicle is the primary or the secondary driver. The ACC module 60 is configured to allow the primary driver to place the ACC system into a restricted mode in which the secondary driver is prevented or limited in the adjustment that may be made to any one or more of the ACC operating parameters. For example, the primary driver may establish the restricted mode such the secondary driver is prevented from disabling the Auto Distance Maintain Mode and from adjusting the MFD to below a certain minimum distance. As another example, the restricted mode may be established by the primary driver such that the secondary driver is allowed to disable the Auto Distance Maintain Mode, but the secondary driver is unable to disable the Alert Only Mode and unable to adjust the ATI to below a certain minimum time. In the event the driver of the vehicle is the secondary driver, the cluster 22 may not present a message in the message center display 24 to the secondary driver to allow the secondary driver to make the selections and/or adjustments to the ACC operating parameters that have been selected by the primary driver. In the event the secondary driver attempts to adjust any one or more of the ACC operating parameters, the cluster 22 may display an ACC driver status message., 0026).
See prior art rejection of claim 6 for obviousness and reasons to combine.
Claim 8
Penilla discloses:
making system changes through the external server (0270 In one embodiment, access can be by way of electronic keys (e.g., e-keys), which can be sent by a vehicle owner/admin to some person or entity. For example, the user-owner of the vehicle can assign a valet with access to the vehicle by going on an application (App or website) on a computing device (e.g., mobile or non-mobile device), identifying the recipient, identifying a mode for communicating with the recipient (e.g., text, email, message, notification, etc.), selecting the advisor account privileges (e.g., what type of access, speed limits, geographic restrictions, amount of time the e-keys will be valid (or else expire)), and requesting that e-keys be sent to the recipient.).
Penilla fails to disclose wherein the making of system changes includes wherein the setting the usage limit range changeable or non-changeable comprises setting the usage limit range changeable. Furthermore, Lippman teaches:
wherein the making of system changes includes wherein the setting the usage limit range changeable or non-changeable comprises setting the usage limit range changeable (0038 The ACC module 60 is adapted to receive the signal DRIVER_STATUS from the cluster 22 to determine if the driver of the vehicle is the primary or the secondary driver. The ACC module 60 is configured to allow the primary driver to place the ACC system into a restricted mode in which the secondary driver is prevented or limited in the adjustment that may be made to any one or more of the ACC operating parameters. For example, the primary driver may establish the restricted mode such the secondary driver is prevented from disabling the Auto Distance Maintain Mode and from adjusting the MFD to below a certain minimum distance. As another example, the restricted mode may be established by the primary driver such that the secondary driver is allowed to disable the Auto Distance Maintain Mode, but the secondary driver is unable to disable the Alert Only Mode and unable to adjust the ATI to below a certain minimum time. In the event the driver of the vehicle is the secondary driver, the cluster 22 may not present a message in the message center display 24 to the secondary driver to allow the secondary driver to make the selections and/or adjustments to the ACC operating parameters that have been selected by the primary driver. In the event the secondary driver attempts to adjust any one or more of the ACC operating parameters, the cluster 22 may display an ACC driver status message., 0026).
See prior art rejection of claim 6 for obviousness and reasons to combine.
Claim(s) 16, 17 and 18
Claim(s) 16, 17 and 18 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 6, 7 and 8, respectively, and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 9, 10, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla in view of US20210009111 (“Kang”).
Claim 9
Penilla discloses:
as part of the management operation, setting a preset function of the vehicle limited upon determination that the vehicle has deviated from the usage limit range (0121 A user may set the valet login to alert the user that left the vehicle with a valet that the car has traveled beyond the allowed radius or has reached a speed greater than 100 mph, for example. This alert can be sent wirelessly to an email address, texted via mobile phone number or sent to a mobile device having a login-profile mobile application capable of sharing current vehicle location, speed, fuel status among other metrics. The last logged in user of the vehicle or vehicle administrator can send visual, audio or auto override notifications to the valet letting them know they need their car back, they are traveling too fast or even auto shut down to prevent theft., 0300).
Penilla fails to disclose wherein the function is set upon determination that video recording is impossible due to operation being stopped or damage of the video recording device. Furthermore, Kang teaches a system of controlling a vehicle in a limited use mode (0163, 0164), including:
wherein the function is set upon determination that video recording is impossible due to operation being stopped or damage of the video recording device (0164 The risk management mode refers to a mode in which any error occurs during automated valet parking. In the description of the present disclosure, the error refers to a communication error between the vehicle and the infrastructure, an error associated with autonomous traveling of the vehicle (for example, abrupt stopping of the engine, inability to steer, malfunctioning of cameras or ultrasonic sensors, presence of a person in the vehicle, etc.)... In the risk management mode, the vehicle stops driving and flashes lamps. A time duration during which the risk management mode continues exceeds a predetermined period of time, the risk management mode automatically changes to the emergency stop mode. The risk management mode is different from the emergency stop mode in that the vehicle can resume the autonomous traveling without intervention (approval or confirmation) of the infrastructure.).
Penilla and Kang both disclose vehicle control systems in which the vehicle functions are limited. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to apply the known element(s) of Kang to the known system of Penilla, the latter having been ready for improvement. The combination would have done no more than yield the predictable results of wherein the function is set upon determination that video recording is impossible due to operation being stopped or damage of the video recording device.
Claim 10
Penilla discloses:
wherein the setting the preset function comprises at least one of limiting a speed of the vehicle, limiting restart of the vehicle, switching driving control of the vehicle to autonomous driving, maintaining a fuel inlet of the vehicle to be locked, and limiting electric charging of a battery of the vehicle (0121 A user may set the valet login to alert the user that left the vehicle with a valet that the car has traveled beyond the allowed radius or has reached a speed greater than 100 mph, for example. This alert can be sent wirelessly to an email address, texted via mobile phone number or sent to a mobile device having a login-profile mobile application capable of sharing current vehicle location, speed, fuel status among other metrics. The last logged in user of the vehicle or vehicle administrator can send visual, audio or auto override notifications to the valet letting them know they need their car back, they are traveling too fast or even auto shut down to prevent theft., 0300).
Claim(s) 19 and 20
Claim(s) 19 and 20 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 9 and 10 and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN RAMESH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663