DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 20 July 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, but merely states that it would not be a serious burden to examine all of the claims. This is unpersuasive, since there is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct inventions due to their mutually exclusive characteristics. The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention; and/or the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 12-20 have been withdrawn as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-11 are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites "a neutralization component in fluid communication with the
acid hydrolysis component. This was not described in the original specification or
claims. The specification doesn't contain any information about a fluid communication
and what this encompasses. The specification only mentions acid hydrolysis and
subsequent neutralization.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "a neutralization component in fluid communication with the acid
hydrolysis component". It's unclear what is meant by "in fluid communication with". A
discussion or definition for this phrase is not found in the specification. This may mean
that the communication between the neutralization and hydrolysis component is fluid, as
in adaptive and able to communicate easily. Or, this may have a meaning about the fluid that may flow through the neutralization and hydrolysis component, which meaning
was not described in the specification. Where there is an ambiguous term, applicants
need to show that, for whichever choice is selected, one skilled in the art could have
figured out that this choice, and not another, was surely intended.
In re Zletz, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322, says "An essential purpose of patent
examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct and unambiguous."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng
in view of Ng et al. (US2007/0207224), Rongqing (CN1284503A- machine translation attached to foreign doc) and Belalcazar Otalora (US Patent 9,896,572). [REFS cited in IDS filed by Applicant 10/11/2024]
The recitation "for commercial scale extraction of an isoflavone from soybean
meal" is, in this case, a preamble statement of intended use which has no patentable weight and is not limiting. This is because the recited intended use does not add a structural limitation to the claimed system. See MPEP 2111.02. Claims to a product or apparatus are generally not limited by process limitations or intended use. The process performed in/by the system is not a limitation of the claims, however, those parts that may impart a structural limitation to the system are being afforded patentable weight. In the last line of claim 1 the claim recites "wherein the system extracts about 500 to about 1000 kg/h". It is the examiner's opinion that this recitation imparts a limitation to the extraction component in the system, which is that the system is a large scale- manufacturing system.
In addition, the components recited in the claims are described in terms of a function. The components comprised in the claims do not require to have any particular shape or structure but only that an extraction, solid-liquid separation, acid hydrolysis, neutralization and purification can be performed in such component(s). Moreover, from the disclosure one could reasonably interpret that the components can either be separate components or the same unit.
Feng teaches a method for extracting isoflavones from soybean flour by solvent extraction (soaking/maceration), filtration (solid-liquid separation), two-step acid hydrolysis, neutralization of the hydrolyzate, filtration, collection of the filtrate, concentration and purification (chromatography). See whole document, particularly the examples. Thus, Feng taught the components that perform the claimed function of extraction, solid-liquid separation, acid hydrolysis, neutralization, filtration, collection of the filtrate, concentration and purification.
Ng et al (U 2007/0207224) teaches a method for extracting isoflavones from soybean flour by using a grinder (soybean flour was ground), a component to extract (by soaking/maceration), a component to filter the mixture (solid-liquid separation), a component to hydrolyze (with an acid) the filtrate extract, a component for purification by crystallization and their adaptation for large-scale manufacturing. See at least abstract and paragraphs [0015-0018]. Nga further teaches that the extraction solvent may be recycled (at paragraph [0038]), therefore, teaching a recovery component of the extraction solvent as in claim 5. While Ng does not discuss neutralization, a neutralization component as claimed in claim 1 is found in the acid hydrolysis component of Ng, because the same component where acid hydrolysis is performed can host the neutralization reaction. Thus, all components/units required by the rejected claims have been taught in the prior art Ng, including the large-scale manufacturing system.
Rongqing (CN1284503A) also teaches a method for separating and refining soy isoflavones from soybean meal. A 40-60 mesh sieve is used at the first stage of the process, followed by extractions, followed by the use of a 60-80 mesh sieve to obtain the isoflavones. Rongqing disclosed that the method is suitable for industrial production.
Belalcazar Otalora described a large-scale system/apparatus for the extraction of polyphenol functionalized pectin from coffee in Fig. 1. The extraction includes a system for milling the pulp to a suitable particle size ranging between 10 and 40 mesh (col. 12, lines 5-11), a system for washing wherein the coffee pulp is mixed with a solvent, preferably in a countercurrent extractor 100 (col. 12, lines 12-67), a system for acidic extraction, which is an extraction vessel or counter current extractor 200 (col. 9, lines 1-5, col. 13, lines 4-31), a separation unit 300 that can be a plate separator, sieve, centrifuge or filter (col. 13, lines 32-57), a first reactor 600 where the filtrate 320 is transferred to and a second extraction vessel 400 where the residual product 310 is transferred to (columns 13 and 14), a second separation unit 500 that can be a frame separator, plate separator, sieve, and centrifuge and where the pH can be lowered to 7 or 8 (neutral) (col. 14, lines 37-50). The first reactor 600 may include an extruder or a stirrer in which it's "preferred to lower the pH near neutrality" (col. 15, lines 1-13). There's a second reactor or stage 700 wherein pH control and thermostat are present (col. 15, lines 34-44) and a third reactor with a decanter 800 for separating the product (col. 15, lines 63-66 to col. 16, lines 1-12).
Feng differs from claims 1-11 in that it doesn't include a sieve component to reject particles greater than about 250 µm in size and doesn't mention that the system is a large-scale system able to extract about 500 to about 1000kg/h of soybean meal. For claim 5, Feng also doesn't teach a recovery component for the extraction solvent.
Belalcazar Otalora only differs from the claims in that it doesn't mention the size of the sieve component.
All the components of the claims were known in the prior art to be used for the same use as in this application. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a 40-60 mesh (425 µm-250 µm) sieve component, or a 60-80 mesh (250 µm-177 µm) sieve component in the system of Feng at least in the interest of separating and refining soy isoflavones from soybean meal per the teachings of Rongqing. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to scale-up the extraction system of Feng including said sieve component, to extract as much isoflavone from soybean meal as possible, such as from about 500 to about 1000kg/h of soybean meal. This is because Feng teaches that the process provides high purity and high amounts of isoflavones for the use in pharmaceutical, health food and medical industry. As In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). See MPEP 2144.04. The ordinary skilled artisan is capable of scaling up reactions according to the prevailing needs and wants. The scaling up of the claimed system to "from about 500 to about 1000kg/h" requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered routine expedient. Further, the scale-up of the isoflavone extraction system was suggested by Ng. Furthermore, large scale systems comprising the components recited in the claims were well known in the art (see Belalcazar Otalora). For the same reasons it would also have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to scale-up the extraction system of Ng to be able to extract from about 500 to about 1000kg/h of soybean meal.
In addition, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the system of Belalcazar Otalora wherein the size of the sieve component is about 250 µm or less because decreasing the average particle diameter of plant matrix increases the available surface area for interaction with the extraction solvents, resulting in higher extraction yields.
In regards to claim 5, one would have been motivated to have a recovery component for the recycling of the extraction solvent in the system of Feng. This is a component of the isoflavone extraction system taught by Ng which is more environmentally friendly and reduces costs by recycling the solvent.
In regards to claims 6-10, Applicant is reminded that the claims are drawn to a product, that is, a system comprising components. The intended use of the filtration component at claim 6, and the characteristics of the soybean meal described in claim 7 do not affect the claimed system and are therefore, not limiting. Similarly, the characteristics of the animal to be fed recited in claim 8, of the isoflavones of claim 9, the amount of isoflavones per amount of soybean meal of claim 10, and the amount of isoflavones produced recited in claim 11 do not affect the claimed system. The process language is intended use and currently has no patentable consequence in the instantly claimed product/ system comprising the components.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1655