DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments with respect to amendment filed on 01/09/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of arguments presented. The amended limitation has been rejected with para [50] from Lee.
As to applicant arguments to Claim 1 “The present Office Action rejected claim 9 based on paragraph [0050] of Lee's U.S. publication. However, paragraph [0050] of Lee's U.S. publication as pointed to in the present Office Action merely describes "the finite number of retransmissions supported by a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) step may not be a solution for all lost messages . . .." No other description of PFCP is described in Lee.”
Lee in [50] teaches the message being a PFCP message which is used in rejection of limitation wherein the message obtained from the user plane function node is a Packet Forwarding Control Protocol (PFCP) node report request message.
As to applicant arguments to Claim 1, “Moreover, the present Office Action points to paragraph [0210] of Lee's U.S. publication for rejecting the features of "obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node" as recited in independent claim 1. Paragraph [0210] of Lee's U.S. publication clearly describes a "session deletion response message" sent by Lee's UPF to Lee's SMF.”
Lee in [122-123] talks about usage “, a used usage amount may be lost, and the UPF may support a service as much as 20 M after the usage amount is lost. Whether there is a lost usage amount may be identified through a cumulative usage amount and a usage amount received at the time the call is deleted and then the lost usage amount may be recovered, and the recovered usage amount may be transmitted to an OCS, thereby preventing usage amount loss.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,11-18,21,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee et al. (US20230353685A1) in view of Qiao et al. (US20210122261A1) in further view of Ying et al.( US20230189309A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches, A method performed at a controller node, the method comprising:
obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node, wherein the obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; [188-189]- In an example, the OCS may configure the threshold usage amount to be 20 M and the quota to be 100 M(=obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification), and may transmit the pertinent information through a CCA to the SMF. n operation 905, the SMF may transmit a session modification request message (=the predefined service classification) to the UPF.
[210]- In another embodiment, the cumulative usage amount information may include information corresponding to a total cumulative usage amount (e.g., 400 M) obtained by adding the traffic amount (e.g., 20 M), additionally used by the UPF after retransmission failure.(= obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node)
wherein the message obtained from the user plane function node is a Packet Forwarding Control Protocol (PFCP) node report request message; [50]- However, the limitations of user datagram protocol (UDP) communication and the finite number of retransmissions supported in a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) step may not be a solution for all lost messages, and the waiting time required for retransmission itself may cause congestion.
Lee does not teach, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service;
[368]- UPF may enforce the at least one packet detection rule by matching a user data/traffic packet with service data flow template (e.g. service data flow filters and/or application identifiers), for example, the data/traffic packets may match the first service type, or the second service type[369]- the UPF may report the network resources usage to the SMF when the quota/threshold reached, and/or event and/or another trigger is (are) met.
[361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and [339]- a third service type(=newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification) (e.g. vehicle remote maintenance); a third QoS policy (e.g. bandwidth of 5 Mbps) for the third service type; a third charging rate (e.g. $10 per month) for the third service type
sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [339]-For example, the SMF may determine a PCC rule for Mercedes-Benz (vehicle manufacturer)… for the third service type; a second bill payer (e.g. Mercedes-Benz).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Lee in view of Qiao does not teach, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node;
Ying teaches, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node; [265]For example, if a QoS flow 1 is delay-insensitive(=non critical) and a QoS flow 2(=critical) is delay-sensitive, the RAN and the UPF may preferentially schedule network resources to transmit a data packet of the QoS flow 2(= not create Qos flow 1 ; preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node) on a premise of ensuring that a basic requirement of the QoS flow 1 can be met.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Qiao, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node as taught by Ying to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node.
Qiao teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node.[340]- a first service type (e.g. web browsing); a first QoS policy for the first service type; The second charging parameter may comprise a second service and bill payer information, and the second service and bill payer information may comprise at least one of: a second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function nodeas taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different network slices or data network names (DNNs) associated with the user plane function n
Qiao teaches, The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different network slices or data network names (DNNs) associated with the user plane function node.[161]- the SMF 160 may select PDU type IPv4 or IPv6 based on DNN configuration and/or operator policies. In an example, the SMF 160 may provide a cause value to the UE 100 to indicate whether the other IP version is supported on the DNN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types
Qiao teaches, The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types. [188]- The 5G QoS model may support both QoS flows that require a guaranteed flow bit rate and QoS flows that may not require a guaranteed flow bit rate.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the message associated with the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification is a message indicating that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of the communication resource is exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [188]- In operation 904, the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF. The event occurrence conditions may be information related to a threshold usage amount (a threshold).
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches, predefined service classification. [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from the simultaneously-maintained QoS flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification further comprises:
monitoring the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification in relation to the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; and [187]- identifying that the summed usage amount is equal to the newly received cumulative usage amount, the SMF may determine the received usage amount to be normal, and may,
identifying, based on the monitoring, that the total bandwidth usage does exceed or will exceed the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification.[188]- the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF.
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the bandwidth configuration further comprises a priority value and a bandwidth allocation value.
Qiao teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the bandwidth configuration further comprises a priority value and a bandwidth allocation value. [368]- The UPF may apply other user plane rules (e.g. usage reporting rule) to the data/traffic packets matched the packet detection rule (e.g. the first service type, or the second service type).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, The method of claim 1, wherein the bandwidth configuration further comprises a priority value and a bandwidth allocation value as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the controller node comprises a Session Management Function (SMF) or a network management cloud controller. [185]- In operation 902, the SMF may transmit a session report response message to the UPF. Additionally, the SMF may generate a message to be transmitted to an OCS, based on usage amount information included in the session report request message received from the UPF.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches, An apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memory elements for storing instructions executable on the one or more processors for operation as a controller node, the operation including:
obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node, wherein the obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; [188-189]- In an example, the OCS may configure the threshold usage amount to be 20 M and the quota to be 100 M(=obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification), and may transmit the pertinent information through a CCA to the SMF. n operation 905, the SMF may transmit a session modification request message (=the predefined service classification) to the UPF.
[210]- In another embodiment, the cumulative usage amount information may include information corresponding to a total cumulative usage amount (e.g., 400 M) obtained by adding the traffic amount (e.g., 20 M), additionally used by the UPF after retransmission failure.(= obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node)
wherein the message obtained from the user plane function node is a Packet Forwarding Control Protocol (PFCP) node report request message; [50]- However, the limitations of user datagram protocol (UDP) communication and the finite number of retransmissions supported in a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) step may not be a solution for all lost messages, and the waiting time required for retransmission itself may cause congestion.
Lee does not teach, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification.
upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; [368]- UPF may enforce the at least one packet detection rule by matching a user data/traffic packet with service data flow template (e.g. service data flow filters and/or application identifiers), for example, the data/traffic packets may match the first service type, or the second service type[369]- the UPF may report the network resources usage to the SMF when the quota/threshold reached, and/or event and/or another trigger is (are) met.
[361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and [339]- a third service type(=newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification) (e.g. vehicle remote maintenance); a third QoS policy (e.g. bandwidth of 5 Mbps) for the third service type; a third charging rate (e.g. $10 per month) for the third service type
sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [339]-For example, the SMF may determine a PCC rule for Mercedes-Benz (vehicle manufacturer)… for the third service type; a second bill payer (e.g. Mercedes-Benz).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification.
as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Lee in view of Qiao does not teach, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node;
Ying teaches, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node; [265]For example, if a QoS flow 1 is delay-insensitive and a QoS flow 2 is delay-sensitive, the RAN and the UPF may preferentially schedule network resources to transmit a data packet of the QoS flow 2(= not create Qos flow 1 ; preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node) on a premise of ensuring that a basic requirement of the QoS flow 1 can be met.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node as taught by Ying to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee does not teach, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are executable on the one or more processors for operation as the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node.
Qiao teaches, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are executable on the one or more processors for operation as the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node.[340]- a first service type (e.g. web browsing); a first QoS policy for the first service type; The second charging parameter may comprise a second service and bill payer information, and the second service and bill payer information may comprise at least one of: a second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are executable on the one or more processors for operation as the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node.as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee does not teach The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types.
Qiao teaches, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types.. [188]- The 5G QoS model may support both QoS flows that require a guaranteed flow bit rate and QoS flows that may not require a guaranteed flow bit rate.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource comprise a plurality of different QoS Flow resource types at the user plane function node, including Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) types and non-GBR types.as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 14, lee teaches, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the message associated with the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification is a message indicating that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of the communication resource is exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [188]- In operation 904, the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF. The event occurrence conditions may be information related to a threshold usage amount (a threshold).
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches predefined service classification [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from the simultaneously-maintained QoS flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification further comprises:
monitoring the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification in relation to the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; and [187]- identifying that the summed usage amount is equal to the newly received cumulative usage amount, the SMF may determine the received usage amount to be normal
identifying, based on the monitoring, that the total bandwidth usage does exceed or will exceed the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. .[188]- the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF.
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches, predefined service classification. [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches, One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor of a controller node, cause the processor to perform operations, comprising:
obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node, wherein the obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; [188-189]- In an example, the OCS may configure the threshold usage amount to be 20 M and the quota to be 100 M(=obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification), and may transmit the pertinent information through a CCA to the SMF. n operation 905, the SMF may transmit a session modification request message (=the predefined service classification) to the UPF.
[210]- In another embodiment, the cumulative usage amount information may include information corresponding to a total cumulative usage amount (e.g., 400 M) obtained by adding the traffic amount (e.g., 20 M), additionally used by the UPF after retransmission failure.(= obtaining, from a user plane function node, a message associated with a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at the user plane function node)
wherein the message obtained from the user plane function node is a Packet Forwarding Control Protocol (PFCP) node report request message; [50]- However, the limitations of user datagram protocol (UDP) communication and the finite number of retransmissions supported in a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) step may not be a solution for all lost messages, and the waiting time required for retransmission itself may cause congestion.
Lee does not teach, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches, upon determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds a threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, determining whether the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service or a critical service; [368]- UPF may enforce the at least one packet detection rule by matching a user data/traffic packet with service data flow template (e.g. service data flow filters and/or application identifiers), for example, the data/traffic packets may match the first service type, or the second service type[369]- the UPF may report the network resources usage to the SMF when the quota/threshold reached, and/or event and/or another trigger is (are) met.
[361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a critical service: allowing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification to be established at the user plane function node; [339]- a third service type(=newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification) (e.g. vehicle remote maintenance); a third QoS policy (e.g. bandwidth of 5 Mbps) for the third service type; a third charging rate (e.g. $10 per month) for the third service type
and sending a command to the user plane function node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [339]-For example, the SMF may determine a PCC rule for Mercedes-Benz (vehicle manufacturer)… for the third service type; a second bill payer (e.g. Mercedes-Benz).
Lee in view of Qiao does not teach, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flows in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node; and
Ying teaches, upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flows in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node; and [265]For example, if a QoS flow 1 is delay-insensitive and a QoS flow 2 is delay-sensitive, the RAN and the UPF may preferentially schedule network resources to transmit a data packet of the QoS flow 2(= not create Qos flow 1 ; preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node) on a premise of ensuring that a basic requirement of the QoS flow 1 can be met.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Qiao,
;upon determining that the predefined service classification is associated with a non-critical service, preventing a newly-requested QoS flow in the predefined service classification from being established at the user plane function node as taught by Ying to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the message associated with the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification is a message indicating that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of the communication resource is exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [188]- In operation 904, the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF. The event occurrence conditions may be information related to a threshold usage amount (a threshold).
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches, predefined service classification. [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 18, Lee teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein determining, based on the message, that the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification, consumed from the simultaneously-maintained QoS flows routed via the user plane function node, exceeds the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification further comprises:
monitoring the total bandwidth usage for the predefined service classification in relation to the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; and [187]- identifying that the summed usage amount is equal to the newly received cumulative usage amount, the SMF may determine the received usage amount to be normal
identifying, based on the monitoring, that the total bandwidth usage does exceed or will exceed the threshold limit value associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification. [188]- the OCS may identify the usage amount received through a CCR, may determine the remaining quota based on the identified usage amount, and may transmit event occurrence conditions and a quota available to a subscriber to the SMF.
Lee does not teach predefined service classification.
Qiao teaches predefined service classification. [361]- a subscription first bill payer (e.g. vehicle driver, the passenger in the vehicle) for the subscription first service type; a subscription second service type (e.g. vehicle remote diagnostics) (=critical service); a subscription second QoS policy for the subscription second service type (=non critical service)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee, predefined service classification as taught by Qiao to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 21,Lee teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the operations are performed at the controller node for each one of a plurality of different predefined service classifications, each different predefined service classification being associated with a respective one of a plurality of different predefined types of the communication resource at the user plane function node. [188-189]- In an example, the OCS may configure the threshold usage amount to be 20 M and the quota to be 100 M(=obtaining is based on a bandwidth configuration for an allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification), and may transmit the pertinent information through a CCA to the SMF. n operation 905, the SMF may transmit a session modification request message (=the predefined service classification) to the UPF.
Regarding Claim 22, Lee in view of Qiao does not teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message.
Ying teaches, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message. [176] For example, the SMF may allocate an IP address to the terminal, select a UPF that provides a packet forwarding function, and terminate a session management part in a non-access stratum (NAS) message.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Qiao, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message as taught by Ying to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Claim(s) 10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee et al. (US20230353685A1) in view of Qiao et al. (US20210122261A1) in further view of Ying et al.( US20230189309A1)in further view of Pilar et al. (WO2021136636A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee in view of Qiao and Ying does not teach, The method of claim 9, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message.
Pilar teaches, The method of claim 9, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message. [69]- As such, the shared PFCP session enables sharing the management of the user-plane traffic (PDR, FAR, etc). FIG. 3 is an example for group-level alternative, but for merged QoS flow the shared PFCP session 399 would be the same or similar (e.g., PDR for UL and DL traffic and then the associated FAR, QER, etc that should apply for both UEs).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Qiao and Ying, The method of claim 9, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message as taught by Pilar to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Regarding Claim 20, Lee in view of Qiao and Ying does not teach The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 19, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message.
Pilar teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 19, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message. [69]- As such, the shared PFCP session enables sharing the management of the user-plane traffic (PDR, FAR, etc). FIG. 3 is an example for group-level alternative, but for merged QoS flow the shared PFCP session 399 would be the same or similar (e.g., PDR for UL and DL traffic and then the associated FAR, QER, etc that should apply for both UEs).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Qiao and Ying, The method of claim 9, wherein the command sent by the controller node to readjust the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification is a PFCP node report response message as taught by Pilar to use maximum usage based on QOS to have controller calibrate bandwidth for future service.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478