DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 20, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: element 306 in fig. 3.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: second piezoelectric element 4 from ¶[00106] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda (WO 2016042878 A1). Textual references to Matsuda herein are drawn from the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda teaches a liquid ejecting head comprising: a nozzle substrate that is provided with a nozzle for ejecting a liquid (fig. 3; nozzle plate 18, nozzle hole 18h; pg. 10, ln. 20 to pg. 11, ln. 2); a pressure chamber substrate that includes a pressure chamber in which pressure for ejecting the liquid from the nozzle is applied to the liquid, and an absorption chamber that is adjacent to the pressure chamber and absorbs vibration of the liquid generated when the pressure is applied to the liquid in the pressure chamber (fig. 3; body substrate 11a, insulating film 11b, body portion 11c, pressure chambers 16a, ink flow path 16c; pg. 9, lns. 4-14); a first piezoelectric member that is provided corresponding to the pressure chamber and applies pressure to the pressure chamber when a voltage is applied (fig. 3; driving piezoelectric element 15a; pg. 11, lns. 3-10); a second piezoelectric member that is provided corresponding to the absorption chamber (fig. 3; detection piezoelectric element 15b; pg. 11, ln. 18 to pg. 12, ln. 10); and a pressure acquisition portion that acquires pressure of the absorption chamber based on a voltage applied to the second piezoelectric member (figs. 3-4; main control unit 15n, drive control unit 15p, detection control unit 15q; pg. 12, lns. 7-10 and pg. 13, lns. 1-12).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, wherein at least a plurality of the pressure chambers and one absorption chamber that is commonly coupled to the plurality of the pressure chambers are provided in the pressure chamber substrate (fig. 2; pressure chamber 16a, communication path 16b, ink flow path 16c, pressure chamber 16d, communication path 16e; pg. 9, ln. 15 to pg. 10, ln. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 6, further comprising: a first vibration plate that vibrates when the voltage is applied to the first piezoelectric member to apply pressure to the pressure chamber; and a second vibration plate that is driven when pressure is applied from the absorption chamber to apply pressure to the second piezoelectric member (fig. 3; driven plate 11d, insulating film 11e, vibration layer 11f; pg. 10, lns. 3-17).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 7, wherein the first vibration plate and the second vibration plate are not separated from each other and are formed by a continuous member (fig. 3; driven plate 11d, insulating film 11e, vibration layer 11f; pg. 10, lns. 3-17).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuda teaches a liquid ejecting apparatus (fig. 1; inkjet printer 1; pg. 8, lns. 4-18) comprising: a liquid ejecting head including a nozzle substrate that is provided with a nozzle for ejecting a liquid (fig. 3; nozzle plate 18, nozzle hole 18h; pg. 10, ln. 20 to pg. 11, ln. 2), a pressure chamber substrate that includes a pressure chamber in which pressure for ejecting the liquid from the nozzle is applied to the liquid, and an absorption chamber that is adjacent to the pressure chamber and absorbs vibration of the liquid generated when the pressure is applied to the liquid in the pressure chamber (fig. 3; body substrate 11a, insulating film 11b, body portion 11c, pressure chambers 16a, ink flow path 16c; pg. 9, lns. 4-14), a first piezoelectric member that is provided corresponding to the pressure chamber and applies pressure to the pressure chamber when a voltage is applied (fig. 3; driving piezoelectric element 15a; pg. 11, lns. 3-10), and a second piezoelectric member that is provided corresponding to the absorption chamber (fig. 3; detection piezoelectric element 15b; pg. 11, ln. 18 to pg. 12, ln. 10); and a pressure acquisition portion that acquires pressure of the absorption chamber based on a voltage applied to the second piezoelectric member (figs. 3-4; main control unit 15n, drive control unit 15p, detection control unit 15q; pg. 12, lns. 7-10 and pg. 13, lns. 1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (WO 2016042878 A1) in view of Kusakari (US 2006/0290737 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 2012/0007910 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, however Matsuda fails to teach or fairly suggest the pressure acquisition portion acquires electrostatic capacitance of the second piezoelectric member based on the voltage applied to the second piezoelectric member, and acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on the electrostatic capacitance.
Kusakari teaches a liquid ejection head comprising a pressure sensor and a pressure acquisition portion (fig. 4; head 50, piezoelectric actuator 58, pressure sensor 59; ¶[0080]-[0085], [0087]), wherein the pressure acquisition portion acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on the electrostatic capacitance (figs. 6-9; ; ¶[0013]-[0014], [0107]-[0130]).
Lee teaches an apparatus for inspecting an inkjet head, wherein the capacitance of a piezoelectric actuator is acquired based on a voltage applied to the piezoelectric actuator (figs. 1-3; scan unit 104, pulse input unit 106, switching unit 108; ¶[0021]-[0026], [0031]-[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pressure acquisition portion of Kusakari and the apparatus of Lee into the liquid ejection head of Matsuda in order to provide for good-quality pressure measurements.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda as modified by Kusakari and Lee teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 2. Matsuda further teaches a drive circuit that applies a drive voltage that changes with time to the first piezoelectric member (fig. 5; drive control circuit 15p; pg. 13, lns. 13-15).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (WO 2016042878 A1) in view of Nagashima (US 2006/0256146 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuda teaches the liquid ejected head according to claim 7, however Matsuda fails to teach or fairly suggest a first electrode that is provided in common for the plurality of pressure chambers and is located on one side in an up-down direction with respect to the first piezoelectric member; a second electrode that is provided individually for the plurality of pressure chambers and is located on another side in the up-down direction with respect to the first piezoelectric member; a third electrode that is provided for the absorption chamber and is located on the one side in the up-down direction with respect to the second piezoelectric member; and a fourth electrode that is provided for the absorption chamber and is located on the other side in the up-down direction with respect to the second piezoelectric member.
Nagashima teaches a liquid ejection head comprising a pressure sensor and ejection actuator comprising a first electrode that is provided in common for the plurality of pressure chambers and is located on one side in an up-down direction with respect to the first piezoelectric member (fig. 5; diaphragm 56, individual electrode 57, piezoelectric body 58, actuator 60; ¶[0067]-[0071]); a second electrode that is provided individually for the plurality of pressure chambers and is located on another side in the up-down direction with respect to the first piezoelectric member (fig. 5; diaphragm 56, individual electrode 57, piezoelectric body 58, actuator 60; ¶[0067]-[0071]); a third electrode that is provided for the absorption chamber and is located on the one side in the up-down direction with respect to the second piezoelectric member (fig. 4; pressure sensor 70, piezoelectric body layer 71, electrode layers 72; ¶[0059]-[0064]); and a fourth electrode that is provided for the absorption chamber and is located on the other side in the up-down direction with respect to the second piezoelectric member (fig. 4; pressure sensor 70, piezoelectric body layer 71, electrode layers 72; ¶[0059]-[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electrodes and electrode arrangement of Nagashima into the liquid ejection head of Matsuda in order to provide pressure sensors better suited to high-density arrangement.
Regarding claim 10, Matsuda as modified by Nagashima teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 9. Nagashima further teaches the one side is an upward direction of the first piezoelectric member, and the other side is a downward direction of the first piezoelectric member (fig. 5; diaphragm 56, individual electrode 57, piezoelectric body 58, actuator 60; ¶[0067]-[0071]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the liquid ejecting head of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, third piezoelectric member that is coupled in series to the second piezoelectric member and has a known electrostatic capacitance.
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the liquid ejecting head of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, a thickness of the second piezoelectric member is different from a thickness of the first piezoelectric member.
Regarding dependent claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the liquid ejecting head of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, when a direction in which the plurality of pressure chambers are arranged is set as a first direction and a direction in which the pressure chamber and the absorption chamber are arranged is set as a second direction, the second electrode extends in the second direction, and the fourth electrode extends in the first direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song et al. (US 2011/0063360 A1) teaches a device to measure the capacitance of a piezoelectric actuator in an inkjet printhead. Otsuka (JP 2007185804 A) teaches a liquid ejector and pressure detection method. Yazaki (US 2018/0154652 A1) teaches a liquid ejecting head comprising a plurality of piezoelectric ejectors attached to a pressure chamber.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853