DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A new claim set was filed on 8/10/26 with the following:
Amended claims
1, 12-17
Newly canceled claims
Newly added claims
Previously canceled claims
20
Previously withdrawn claims
19, 22
Claims under instant examination
1-18, 21
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
The rejections of claims 1-19 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 8/10/26.
The rejections of:
claims 1-5 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hierlemann et al. (US 2002/0028231; published: 3/7/02; thereafter referred to as Hierlemann A)
are hereby withdrawn in view of the persuasive arguments presented by Applicants on 8/10/26.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hierlemann et al. (WO 2015/189389; published: 6/12/15; thereafter referred to as Hierlemann B; of record).
The English language machine translation of WO 2015/189389 was previously provided. The passages cited below which indicate the teachings of the ‘389 publication are based on its English translation.
Hierlemann B is directed to wound contact material for use in the treatment and/or care of wounds [Title].
With regards to instant claims 1-5, Hierlemann B teaches a wound contact material comprising a terpolymer composed of lactic acid, trimethylene carbonate and ε-caprolactone units, wherein the material has a porosity > 80%, a pore size of 0.1-800 µm (e.g., 0.5-30 µm), a particle size ranging from 0.1 to 1000 µm (e.g., 10-350 µm) [claims, description].
With regards to instant claims 15-1[[5]]6, Hierlemann B teaches wherein the wound contact material contains a polymer blend; wherein the polymer blend comprises the abovementioned polymer in combination with another polymer such as polyvinyl alcohol [description].
With regards to instant claim 17, Hierlemann B teaches wherein the wound contact material is membrane-shaped (e.g., in the form of a solidified membrane), foam-shaped or film-shaped [description].
With regards to instant claim 18, Hierlemann B teaches wherein the wound contact material assumes a gelatinous or gel-like consistency [description].
With regards to instant claims 6-14, the MPEP states the following (MPEP §2112(I)):
I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art' s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
In the instant case, Hierlemann B teaches the wound agent of instant claim 1; more specifically, Hierlemann B teaches the same terpolymer as claimed and wherein such terpolymer is made in the same general way. Therefore, in view of MPEP §2112, claiming a new use/function/property for such known composition (e.g., bulk density, volume weight, bimodal pore structure, %wt of free monomers), which is inherently present in the prior art, does not necessarily make the claim patentable. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
Therefore, by teaching all the limitations of claims 1-18, Hierlemann B anticipates the instant invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regard to the previously cited prior art are moot in view of the withdrawn claim rejections. To the extent that Applicants’ arguments are pertinent to the newly applied rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicants argue that although Hierlemann B separately descripbes the recited terpolymer, particulate would-contact material, and wound-contact material having porosity greater than 80%, Hierlemann B does not state that the disclosed powder or flakes are themselves porous or that each such particle has porosity greater than 80% [Remarks: p. 6].
This is not found persuasive. In response, and as indicated in the rejection, Hierlemann B teaches “a wound contact material comprising a terpolymer composed of lactic acid, trimethylene carbonate and ε-caprolactone units, wherein the material has a porosity > 80%, a pore size of 0.1-800 µm (e.g., 0.5-30 µm), a particle size ranging from 0.1 to 1000 µm (e.g., 10-350 µm) [claims, description].” The above summary of the teachings of Hierlemann come from the following statements in the description:
“In a further embodiment, the wound contact material has a porosity of > 80%, in particular of 80% to 96%, preferably 85% to 96%, more preferably 90% to 96%.”
“In a further embodiment, the wound contact material is present in particulate form, in particular in the form of a powder (finely ground, generally dry solid), powder (particle size fine to coarse) or in the form of flakes (flakes, flakes or leaflets).”
“Such a wound contact material can have a particle size, in particular grain size, of 0.1 μm to 1000 μm, in particular 1 μm to 500 μm, preferably 10 μm to 350 μm.”
It is true that Hierlemann does not disclose in one sentence that the wound contact material is in particle form AND that that particle wound contact material has porosity of > 80%. However, Hierlemann B only teaches 2 possible forms of the wound contact material: 1) planar structure (e.g., membrane or film) or 2) particulate form (e.g., powder or flakes). Even within these two possible forms, Hierlemann B only teaches 7 types: films, membranes, foams, meshes, nonwovens, powders and flakes, as mentioned by Applicants [Remarks: p. 7]. An anticipation rejection over the abovementioned limitation over Hierlemann is supported by MPEP 2131.02, which states: A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim even if the reference does not describe "the limitations arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Such is especially true in the instant case, where there is not a teaching away and the generic disclosure includes two possible forms of the wound contact material (one of which is particulate form), wherein the generic wound contact material has a porosity > 80%. Attention is directed to MPEP §2131.02 (III), which states: “If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be "at once envisaged." One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962).”
Applicants argue that contrary to the cited prior art, the production of porous particles according to Applicant’s invention requires several steps as taught in [0055-0065] [Remarks: p. 7].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., method steps) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GENEVIEVE S ALLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617