DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the stepped sidewall”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US# 4744677) in view of Kato et al (US# 2019/0255931) or Gebert et al (US# 2834616).
Tanaka et al disclose an elastomeric bushing comprising: an inner sleeve 112 including a first end face and an opposite second end face; a bearing 118/120 circumscribing the inner sleeve; an elastomer 114/116 disposed around and directly engaging the bearing, the elastomer including a first seal gland 126; an outer sleeve 110 disposed around the bearing and the elastomer, the outer sleeve being spaced apart from the inner sleeve and directly engaging the elastomer 114; a one-piece monolithic first cap 122 including an end wall 166 and a sidewall 174 surrounding a portion of the inner sleeve 112 and a portion of the bearing 118/116, the end wall 166 radially inwardly extending from the sidewall and overlapping the first end face of the inner sleeve 112, the sidewall 174 having an inner surface positioned in engagement with the first seal gland 126. Figures 23-32. Tanaka et al lack the disclosure of the sidewall being a stepped sidewall. Kato et al disclose a vibration damping device and further teach a wall formed with a step 48 to improve the deformation rigidity of the part [0060]. Gebert et al discloses a seal and further teaches a sidewall 23-25 having a stepped construction to provide a strong and rugged support for a seal (col. 5, lines 65-71). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the sidewall of Tanaka et al to be stepped, as taught by Kato et al or Gebert et al to improve the rigidity of the sidewall and ensure a durable seal.
Regarding claim 2, the first cap 122 and the first seal gland 126 are configured to allow relative rotary movement therebetween. Col. 12, lines 57-60.
Regarding claim 3, the first cap 122 is fixed to the inner sleeve 112. Col. 12, lines 32-34.
Regarding claim 4, the first seal gland includes a first circumferentially extending rib and a second circumferentially extending rib longitudinally spaced apart from the first rib. Note a rib is formed on each side of each circumferential groove 148.
Regarding claim 5, the first seal gland 126 includes an annular land (either portion adjacent circumferential groove 148) in direct engagement with a portion of the stepped sidewall 174 of the first cap.
Regarding claim 6, an inner surface of the stepped sidewall 174 of the first cap engages and compresses at least one of the first rib and the second rib. Col. 12, lines 46-50.
Regarding claim 7, the first cap 122 is spaced apart from the bearing 118/120.
Regarding claim 8, the end wall 166 of the first cap directly engages the first end face of the inner sleeve 112. Figure 23.
Regarding claim 10, the inner sleeve 112 is axially translatable (at least during assembly) and rotatable relative to the bearing.
Regarding claim 11, the first cap 122 limits axial travel of the inner sleeve relative to the bearing.
Regarding claim 12, the outer sleeve 110 includes a radially outwardly extending flange. Figures 23 and 26.
Regarding claim 13, the elastomer includes a circumferentially extending bumper bonded to the flange of the outer sleeve. Col. 11, lines 5-16.
Regarding claim 14, an inner surface of the outer sleeve 110 is bonded to the elastomer. Col. 11, lines 5-16.
Regarding claim 15, the first cap 122 is press fit to the inner sleeve 112. Col. 12, lines 32-34.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US# 4744677) and Kato et al (US# 2019/0255931) or Gebert et al (US# 2834616), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Cerri III (US# 2018/0291975).
Tanaka et al, as modified above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the disclosure that the bearing inner cylindrical surface includes a PTFE coating. Cerri III disclose a similar bushing assembly and further teaches a PTFE coating on an bearing inner cylindrical surface [0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a PTFE coating, such as taught by Cerri, in the bushing of Tanaka et al to further reduce friction and/or wear, thereby improving the durability of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK