Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/18/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 15, 17, 18 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.142(b). Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 1-14, 16, 19, 20 are finally rejected for reasons necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 5/21/2026 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN 106299241), or in alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN 106299241) in view of Ohama (JP 2014-232591).
See figures 1 and 2 of Pan. Regarding claim 1, Pan discloses a battery cell, comprising a battery cell and a packaging bag for packaging the battery cell, the battery cell comprises:
a first electrode plate;
a second electrode plate;
a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator are wound along a length direction of the first electrode plate;
a first electrode tab located at an end in a width direction of the first electrode plate;
wherein in the length direction of the first electrode plate, the first electrode plate comprises a first edge, and a first notch 41 is disposed at the first edge [0037],
wherein the first edge is an edge of a first end portion of the first electrode plate;
the first electrode plate further comprises a second edge opposite to the first edge in the length direction of the first electrode plate, and a second notch 41 is disposed at the second edge [0037],
an opening direction of the first notch is opposite to an opening direction of the second notch. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 7, in a length direction of the second electrode plate, the second electrode plate comprises a fourth edge, and a third notch is disposed at the fourth edge [0040].
Regarding claim 8, the second electrode plate further comprises a fifth edge opposite to the fourth edge in the length direction of the second electrode plate, and a fourth notch is disposed at the fifth edge [0020, 0040]. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 9, an opening direction of the third notch is opposite to an opening direction of the fourth notch are opposite [0020, 0040]. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 12, one of the first electrode plate and he second electrode plate is a cathode electrode plate, and the other of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate is an anode electrode plate [0037, 0040].
Regarding claim 13, the first notch is disposed in a start segment of the anode electrode plate, and the second electrode plate comprises a third notch disposed in a tail segment of the cathode electrode plate [0027].
Regarding claim 14, the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector; the first electrode tab and the first current collector are integrally formed [0023, 0024].
Regarding claim 1, wherein the first notch and the second notch are each axisymmetric, see figure 2 of Pan. Should it not be anticipatory, Ohama teaches notches on a battery electrode unit outer periphery. A guide member can be reliably engaged with the notch, the electrode unit can be accurately stacked without causing a positional shift (page 3 of translation). Since the shape of the notch is V-shaped, it engages with the guide member reliably at two points. Therefore, accurate and effective positioning can be performed (page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 1, wherein a center of the first notch is a deepest point of the first notch recessed in the first electrode plate, and a center of the second notch is a deepest point of the second notch recessed in the first electrode plate, Ohama teaches that the notch can be a V shape (page 3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the notch of Pan if a V-shape, as taught by Ohama, for the benefit of effectively positioning the guide member into the notch.
Regarding claim 1, and a symmetry axis of the first notch and a symmetry axis of the second notch are on one straight line. Refer to figure 2 of Pan. Pan discloses the positive and negative plates are stacked and aligned, and the tabs of the positive plate and the tabs of the negative plate are symmetrically arranged on both sides of the coating area of the positive plate, and the positive and negative plates are matched with each other. Then, the cell is wound in the opposite direction to form a cell. The centerlines of the negative tabs are aligned with each other [0042]. Hence, it appears that the symmetry axis of the first notch and the second notch are on one straight line.
Should it not be anticipatory, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the axis of the notches in Pan in one straight line for the benefit of aligning the positive tabs and negative tabs at their respective sides.
Regarding claim 1, an opening width of the first notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of a width of the first electrode plate, regarding claim 6, an opening width of the second notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of the width of the first electrode plate, and regarding claim 11, an opening width of the third notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of a width of the second electrode plate; and an opening width of the fourth notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of the width of the second electrode plate, Pan discloses that mark holes (Applicant’s notches) mark the starting point and the end point of the coating area provided [0011, 0037]. Ohama teaches that the V-shaped notch engages with the guide member to effectively position the electrode unit (page 4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the notch of Pan modified by Ohama depending on the side of the guide member for the benefit of fitting the guide member into the notch.
Regarding claim 5, the first electrode plate comprises a third edge in the length direction of the first electrode plate, a distance between a symmetry axis of the first notch and the third edge is 1/3 to 2/3 of a width of the first electrode plate; and a distance between a symmetry axis of the second notch and the third edge is 1/3 to 2/3 of the width of the first electrode plate, and regarding claim 10, the second electrode plate comprises a sixth edge in a length direction of the second electrode plate, a distance between a symmetry axis of the third notch and the sixth edge is 1/3 to 2/3 of a width of the second electrode plate; and a distance between a symmetry axis of the fourth notch and the sixth edge is 1/3 to 2/3 of the width of the second electrode plate, Pan discloses a position of the notch as a distance of the notch from the top of the tab h1 and h2. See figure 2. Pan discloses that the distance h1 and h2 are adjustable [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the distance of the mark hole h1 and h2 depending on a position that allows for good visibility.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN 106299241) as applied to claim 1, in view of Endo (US 2017/0187036).
Regarding claim 16, Pan discloses an active material is provided on the first electrode plate, but not on the first electrode tab; Pan does not disclose the active material on the first electrode plate and the active material on the first electrode tab are in contact with each other; and a width of the active material on the first electrode tab is 0 mm to 2 mm in the width direction of the first electrode plate. Endo teaches a wound battery comprising a positive electrode current collector having a layer of protective layer and a positive electrode mixture layer. A portion of the protective layer protrudes an edge of the positive electrode mixture layer called the second region 23b [0030]. The second region 23b highly suppresses the occurrence of a low-resistance internal short-circuit between the part of the positive electrode current collector where the positive electrode mixture layer is not disposed and the negative electrode. The second region 23b is a hard layer mainly composed of inorganic particles and is therefore hardly broken even if contaminating foreign matter is strongly abutted against the second region 23b [0031]. The active material layer 26 is provided on the tab 25 by protruding from the entire body part 26 to the tab 25. See figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to coat the electrode layer from the body part into the tab, as taught by Endo, for the benefit of strengthening the interface between the body part and the tab portion of the current collector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the width of the active material on the tab for the benefit of appropriately strengthening the interface between the body part and the tab portion of the current collector.
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN 106299241) in view of Ohama (JP 2014-232591).
See Figures 1 and 2 of Pan. Regarding claim 19, Pan discloses a lithium-ion battery, comprising a battery cell and a packaging bag for packaging the battery cell, the battery cell comprises: a first electrode plate; a second electrode plate; a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator are wound along a length direction of the first electrode plate; a first electrode tab located at an end in a width direction of the first electrode plate; wherein in the length direction of the first electrode plate, the first electrode plate comprises a first edge, and
a first notch 41 is disposed at the first edge [0037],
wherein the first edge is an edge of a first end portion of the first electrode plate;
the first electrode plate further comprises a second edge opposite to the first edge in the length direction of the first electrode plate, and a second notch 41 is disposed at the second edge [0037],
an opening direction of the first notch is opposite to an opening direction of the second notch. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 1, wherein the first notch and the second notch are each axisymmetric, see figure 2 of Pan. Should it not be anticipatory, Ohama teaches notches on a battery electrode unit outer periphery. A guide member can be reliably engaged with the notch, the electrode unit can be accurately stacked without causing a positional shift (page 3 of translation). Since the shape of the notch is V-shaped, it engages with the guide member reliably at two points. Therefore, accurate and effective positioning can be performed (page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 1, wherein a center of the first notch is a deepest point of the first notch recessed in the first electrode plate, and a center of the second notch is a deepest point of the second notch recessed in the first electrode plate, Ohama teaches that the notch can be a V shape (page 3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the notch of Pan if a V-shape, as taught by Ohama, for the benefit of effectively positioning the guide member into the notch.
Regarding claim 1, and a symmetry axis of the first notch and a symmetry axis of the second notch are on one straight line. Refer to figure 2 of Pan. Pan discloses the positive and negative plates are stacked and aligned, and the tabs of the positive plate and the tabs of the negative plate are symmetrically arranged on both sides of the coating area of the positive plate, and the positive and negative plates are matched with each other. Then, the cell is wound in the opposite direction to form a cell. The centerlines of the negative tabs are aligned with each other [0042]. Hence, it appears that the symmetry axis of the first notch and the second notch are on one straight line.
Should it not be anticipatory, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the axis of the notches in Pan in one straight line for the benefit of aligning the positive tabs and negative tabs at their respective sides.
Regarding claim 1, an opening width of the first notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of a width of the first electrode plate, regarding claim 6, an opening width of the second notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of the width of the first electrode plate, and regarding claim 11, an opening width of the third notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of a width of the second electrode plate; and an opening width of the fourth notch is 1/7 to 3/5 of the width of the second electrode plate, Pan discloses that mark holes (Applicant’s notches) mark the starting point and the end point of the coating area provided [0011, 0037]. Ohama teaches that the V-shaped notch engages with the guide member to effectively position the electrode unit (page 4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the notch of Pan modified by Ohama depending on the side of the guide member for the benefit of fitting the guide member into the notch.
Regarding claim 20, the first electrode plate comprises a third edge in the length direction of the first electrode plate, a distance between a symmetry axis of the first notch and the third edge is 1/3 to 2/3 of a width of the first electrode plate, Pan discloses a position of the notch as a distance of the notch from the top of the tab h1 and h2. See figure 2. Pan discloses that the distance h1 and h2 are adjustable [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the distance of the mark hole h1 and h2 depending on a position that allows for good visibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 5/18/2026 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751