DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the terms “approximately” are not definite because they don’t provide measurable standard of degree. The instant specification doesn’t provide the boundary of these terms.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it is not clear what is meant by “some.” The claim is treated as not all of the connector supports are closer to the primary supports and not all of the connector supports attached to the buccal auxiliary support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kopelman et al. (7,347,688).
Regarding claim 1, Kopelman discloses a dental overlay device (e.g. 100) capable for the placement of one or more veneers in a mouth of a patient comprising a curved body (e.g. curved matching dental arc), the curved body comprising: a body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting portions of one or more teeth in the mouth of a patient, including distal teeth on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth, to secure the curved body in a suitable position on the patient’s teeth; and a plurality of holes (e.g. 50) extending through the curved body and corresponding to locations on a plurality of teeth.
Regarding claim 2 first and second portions of the body surface are configured for contacting molars on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth (e.g. ends of the tray), and wherein the first and second portions of the body surface are solid without holes therethrough (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3 the curved body defines individual tooth forms each having an outline of a portion of a tooth of the teeth in the patient’s mouth and through which the holes extend, and wherein, for each tooth form having a hole extending therethrough, a maximum of two holes extend through each individual tooth form of the curved body (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Kopelman discloses one or more veneers (e.g. elements to be attached on teeth; and the dental overlay device of claim 1 as addressed above, wherein the one or more veneers are removably attachable to the body surface.
Regarding claim 20 Kopelman discloses a dental overlay system capable for the placement of veneers (e.g. elements for the teeth) into a mouth of a patient, the dental overlay system comprising: two or more veneers (e.g. elements);
and the dental overlay device of claim 15 which claims a dental overlay device (e.g. fig. 1) capable for the placement of one or more veneers in the mouth of a patient comprising a curved body (e.g. following dental arch), the curved body comprising: a body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting portions of teeth in the mouth of a patient, including distal teeth on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth, capable to secure the body in a suitable position on the patient’s teeth; a lingual auxiliary support (e.g. side facing tongue); and connector supports (e.g. portions between lingual and buccal side) extending from the lingual auxiliary support, wherein the two or more veneers/elements are removably attachable to the body surface of the dental overlay device.
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farrell (2010/0227289).
Regarding claim 1, Farrell discloses a dental overlay device (e.g. 71) capable for the placement of one or more veneers in a mouth of a patient comprising a curved body (e.g. curved matching dental arc), the curved body comprising: a body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting portions of one or more teeth in the mouth of a patient, including distal teeth on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth, to secure the curved body in a suitable position on the patient’s teeth; and a plurality of holes (e.g. 77) extending through the curved body and corresponding to locations on a plurality of teeth.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 10 the curved body of the dental overlay device further comprises a lingual auxiliary support (e.g. on lingual side), a buccal auxiliary support (e.g. buccal side e.g. front), and connector supports (e.g. 83) extending between the lingual auxiliary support and the buccal auxiliary support, wherein the connector supports are spaced apart from one another capable to allow for flossing in a space between two or more connector supports, wherein the lingual auxiliary support, the buccal auxiliary support, and the connector supports together define openings through the dental overlay device (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, portions of the body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting the distal teeth (e.g. back teeth towards molar sides) on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth are primary supports and the buccal auxiliary support (e.g. front) and lingual auxiliary support (e.g. back side) extend between the primary supports.
Regarding claims 15, 16, 17, 18 Farrell discloses a dental overlay device (e.g. fig. 1) capable for the placement of one or more veneers in the mouth of a patient comprising a curved body (e.g. following dental arch), the curved body comprising: a body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting portions of teeth in the mouth of a patient, including distal teeth on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth, capable to secure the body in a suitable position on the patient’s teeth; a lingual auxiliary support (e.g. backside facing tongue); and connector supports (e.g. 83s) extending from the lingual auxiliary support, wherein the curved body further comprises a buccal auxiliary support (e.g. frontside, e.g. 81), and wherein the connector supports extend between the lingual auxiliary support and the buccal auxiliary support (fig. 1), wherein the connector supports are spaced apart from one another capable to allow for flossing in a space between two or more connector supports, wherein portions of the body surface complementary to and configured/capable for contacting the distal teeth (e.g. towards molar side) on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth are primary supports (e.g. see 83 at the end towards the back of the device) and the lingual auxiliary support extends between the primary supports, wherein the primary supports (e.g. 83) are configured/capable for contacting molars on opposite sides of the patient’s mouth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman et al as applied to claim 1 above.
Kopelman discloses the invention substantially as claimed and further discloses the curved body defines individual tooth forms (fig. 1) each having an outline of a portion of a tooth of the teeth in the patient’s mouth and through which the holes extend, and wherein, for each tooth form having a hole extending therethrough except for the overlay including minimum of 3 or 16 or 30 holes and maximum of 6 or 20 or 60 holes as claimed; however, such depends on how many elements are needed to be fixed on teeth. If a patient’s needs all of their teeth with elements, then holes for each tooth would be created.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the device by providing desired number of holes including at least 16 or maximum of 20 in order to treat the patient’s needs.
Regarding the diameter of the hole, such parameter would depend on the size of the elements needed for the patient, thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the device by providing the size of the hole of appropriate size depending on patient’s need order to treat the patient’s teeth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming 112 2nd rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/YOGESH P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772