DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/748,509, for a SOLAR CABLE SUPPORT BRACKET, filed on 6/20/2024. This correspondence is in response to applicant's reply filed on 1/14/2026. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending. Claims 3, 4 and 7 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 13, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labeirie et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,994,300).
Regarding claim 1, Labeirie teaches a support bracket (see figure below) configured to receive an edge of a workpiece (3, Fig. 3) and support an elongated object (tubes, sheaths, cables) relative to the workpiece, the support bracket comprising: a first hanger portion configured to support the edge of the workpiece and limit a rotation of the support bracket on the edge of the workpiece; a clip portion (members 8, 18, 19, 21 operate as the clip portion) configured to fasten over the edge of the workpiece, the clip portion including a first connector (21) configured to engage at least one of a first web face or a second web face of the workpiece, the clip portion spaced apart from the first hanger portion; a cable tie retainer defining an aperture configured to receive a cable tie therethrough, the cable tie retainer configured to receive the cable tie to attach the elongated object to the support bracket; and an object support section (see cradle portion 11 below) configured to support the elongated object.
[AltContent: textbox (Cross brace)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Object support section)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st cradle arm)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Cable tie)][AltContent: textbox (1st connector)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (rib)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st hanger portion)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd cradle arm)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd clip arm)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Clip portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st end wall)]
[AltContent: textbox (gap)][AltContent: textbox (1st clip arm)]
[AltContent: textbox (Cable tie retainer)]
Regarding claim 2, Labeirie teaches the bracket of claim 1, wherein the clip portion further comprises: a first clip arm; a second clip arm (see Fig. 3) arranged opposite the first clip arm; and a first end wall interconnecting the first and second clip arms, wherein the first and second clip arms define a gap therebetween that is configured to receive the edge of the workpiece through an opening opposite the first end wall.
Regarding claim 6, Labeirie teaches a support bracket of claim 1, wherein the support bracket includes at least one rib configured to bend a loose cable tie inserted through a cable tie retainer to retain the cable tie on the support bracket.
Regarding claim 8, Labeirie teaches a support bracket of claim 1, wherein the object support section further comprises: a cross brace; a first cradle arm; and a second cradle arm, wherein the first and second cradle arms are spaced apart and define a cradle therebetween.
Regarding claim 13, Labeirie teaches the bracket of claim 1, further comprising: a second hanger portion configured to hang over the edge of the workpiece, the second hanger portion spaced apart from the first hanger portion (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Labeirie teaches the bracket of claim 13, wherein the cable tie retainer is defined on at least one of the clip portion, the first hanger portion, or the second hanger portion.
Regarding claim 21, Labeirie teaches a support bracket (see figure above) configured to receive an edge of a workpiece (3) and support an elongated object relative to the workpiece, the support bracket comprising: a first hanger portion configured to support the edge of the workpiece at a first location and limit a rotation of the support bracket on the edge of the workpiece; a clip portion (members 8, 18, 19, 21 operate as the clip portion) configured to fasten over the edge of the workpiece at a second location, the clip portion including a first connector configured to engage at least one of a first web face or a second web face of the workpiece, the first location and the second location are different locations on the edge of the workpiece; a cable tie retainer defining an aperture configured to receive a cable tie therethrough, the cable tie retainer configured to receive the cable tie to attach the elongated object to the support bracket; and an object support section (cradle, 11) configured to support the elongated object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 11, 12, 14-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 13, 16 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 April 13, 2026