DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on June 20, 2024. Claims 1-35 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Relevant Technical Information Submittal Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that the present application, Application No. 18/748,560 (“the Application”), identified as “US202418749560,” may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 20, 2024 and on December 16, 2024 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 20-31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rudolf et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2025/0048389) (hereinafter “Rudolf”).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See, Figs. 1 and 3, #116; and ¶[0053], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116”), comprising:
a processing system (Fig. 3, #116) that includes one or more processors (Fig. 3, #340) and one or more memories (Fig. 3, #360) coupled with the one or more processors (See, ¶[0057], “The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 ”), the processing system configured to cause the UE to (See, ¶[0058], “The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360. For example, the processor 340 may execute processes for PDCCH monitoring adaptation in FD systems as described in embodiments of the present disclosure.”):
receive (See, ¶[139], “unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.”) configuration information for a search space (See, ¶[0270], “the UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx that assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring”) associated with a search space type (See, ¶[0145], “a UE-specific search space (USS);” and ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS”) for which one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters (See, ¶[0228], “a UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter, for example PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx, that enables or disables PDCCH reception;” and ¶[0296], “for a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring;”) are applicable (See, ¶[0172], “Using Rel-17 NR, when a UE is configured with a PDCCH monitoring reduction feature, PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and [0166], “by Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching.”), the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters being associated with a timer (See, e.g., Fig. 16, #1630, “including a timer;” and ¶[0173], “If a SSSG switch timer is also configured, the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration.”), and the timer being associated with unicast traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format;” ¶[0284], “An indication value associated with searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx …. may be provided to the UE using a unicast DCI such as DCI format 0_1/0_2/1_1/1_2;” and ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values”.) and multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”);
receive, in association with control channel monitoring of the search space, a downlink control information (DCI) communication (See, Fig. 16, #1640; and ¶[0312], “The UE then receives a DCI with a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field and determines a field value (1640).”) that uses a DCI format that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format”); and
perform an action associated with the timer (See, Fig. 16, #1670, “and sets timer;” and ¶[0312], “and sets a timer for the indicated symbol types and the indicated TRPs (1670).”) in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0312], “The UE … determines a field value (1640). … determines that SSSG switching is indicated by the field value, … and stops PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, …and sets a timer”.).
Regarding claim 2/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”), and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
apply the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters to the control channel monitoring in association with the control channel monitoring being associated with the RRC connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”).
Regarding claim 3/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein, to cause the UE to perform the action, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to:
reset, after a slot in which the DCI communication is received, the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
Regarding claim 4/3, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the RNTI is an MBS multicast RNTI (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 5/3, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the RNTI is a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for multicast or a group configured scheduling RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) for multicast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 6/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is associated with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with unicast communications (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format”), and wherein, to cause the UE to perform the action, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to:
reset the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
Regarding claim 7/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with MBS broadcast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein, to cause the UE to perform the action, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to:
refrain from resetting the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0174], “The UE ignores an indication for PDCCH skipping and continues to monitor PDCCH in several cases, for example as described in [3]. For example, one such case is when the UE transmitted a PUCCH with positive SR and has not received a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Another such case is when a contention resolution timer is running or during monitoring of the RAR/MsgB window on an SpCell. Several additional cases can exist and are not captured for brevity. In the above example scenarios, because the timer is not set in the first place, a UE would not rest the timer. Moreover, for those UEs receiving multicast traffic, i.e., MBS traffic, receiving a unicast DCI, e.g., scrambled by C-RNTI, will not trigger resetting of the timer that controls the monitoring for a multicast PDCCH, e.g., PDCCH scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI.).
Regarding claim 8/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI format includes at least one of:
one or more MBS multicast DCI formats, or one or more MBS broadcast DCI formats (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”).
Regarding claim 9/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters include a search space set group (SSSG) switching parameter (See, ¶[0296], “for a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring”.).
Regarding claim 10/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the search space type is a Type3 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space that is configured for the MBS (See, ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS;” ¶[0172], “PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”.).
Regarding claim 11/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”), and wherein, to cause the UE to perform the action, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to:
reset the timer in association with the control channel monitoring (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.) being associated with the RRC connected state (See, above).
Regarding claim 12/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (See, below), and wherein, to cause the UE to perform the action, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to:
refrain from resetting the timer in association with the control channel monitoring being associated with the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (See, ¶[0171], “Rel-17 NR provides several additional features in support of reduced UE power consumption for UEs in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE or in RRC_CONNECTED modes such as paging enhancements for UEs in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE modes, the provision of potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in RRC_CONNECTED mode to UEs in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE modes, or PDCCH monitoring reduction features including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”. According to Rudolf, at least as of release 17 of the 3GPP standard, the SSSG switching and the PDCCH skipping are not supported for UEs in RRC inactive/idle states. Therefore, no timer associated with those features are set or rest by a UE in an RRC inactive or idle state.).
Regarding 13/1, Rudolf discloses a UE comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the timer is an SSSG switching timer (See, ¶[0173], The UE can be indicated to switch from a first SSSG to a second SSSG for PDCCH monitoring via an indication by a scheduling DCI. If a SSSG switch timer is also configured, the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration;” and ¶[0296], a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring”.).
Regarding claim 14, Rudolf discloses a network node for wireless communication (See, Fig. 1, #102; Fig. 2, #200; and ¶[0043] FIG. 2 illustrates an example TRP 200 according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, the TRP 200 any be a base station, such as gNB 101-103”.), comprising:
a processing system (Fig. 2, #200) that includes one or more processors (Fig. 2, #225) and one or more memories (Fig. 2, #230) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to (See, ¶[0048], “The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes to support PDCCH monitoring adaptation in FD systems.”):
transmit (See, ¶[139], “unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.”) configuration information for a search space (See, ¶[0270], “the UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx that assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring”) associated with a search space type (See, ¶[0145], “a UE-specific search space (USS);” and ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS”) for which one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters (See, ¶[0228], “a UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter, for example PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx, that enables or disables PDCCH reception;” and ¶[0296], “for a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring;”) are applicable (See, ¶[0172], “Using Rel-17 NR, when a UE is configured with a PDCCH monitoring reduction feature, PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and [0166], “by Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching.”), the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters being associated with a timer (See, e.g., Fig. 16, #1630, “including a timer;” and ¶[0173], “If a SSSG switch timer is also configured, the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration.”), and the timer being associated with unicast traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format;” ¶[0284], “An indication value associated with searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx …. may be provided to the UE using a unicast DCI such as DCI format 0_1/0_2/1_1/1_2;” and ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values”.) and multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”); and
transmit via the search space and for a user equipment (UE), one or more downlink control information (DCI) communications (See, Fig. 16, #1640; and ¶[0312], “The UE then receives a DCI with a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field and determines a field value (1640).”) using one or more DCI formats that are associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) in association with a control channel monitoring by the UE (See, ¶[0072], “such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format”), an action associated with the timer (See, Fig. 16, #1670, “and sets timer;” and ¶[0312], “and sets a timer for the indicated symbol types and the indicated TRPs (1670).”) being associated with the one or more DCI formats (See, ¶[0312], “The UE … determines a field value (1640). … determines that SSSG switching is indicated by the field value, … and stops PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, …and sets a timer”.).
Regarding claim 15/14, Rudolf discloses a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”), and wherein the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters are applicable in association with the control channel monitoring being associated with the RRC connected state (See, above).
Regarding claim 20/14, Rudolf discloses a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the one or more DCI formats include at least one of:
one or more MBS multicast DCI formats, or one or more MBS broadcast DCI formats (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”).
Regarding claim 21/14, Rudolf discloses a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters include at least one of: a search space set group (SSSG) switching parameter (See, Fig. 16, #1630; and ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values”.), or a control channel skipping parameter (See, Fig. 15, #1530; and ¶[0171], “Rel-17 NR provides several additional features in support of reduced UE power consumption … PDCCH monitoring reduction features including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”.).
Regarding claim 22/14, Rudolf discloses a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the search space type is a Type3 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space that is configured for the MBS (See, ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS;” ¶[0172], “PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”.).
Regarding claim 23, Rudolf discloses a method of wireless communication (See, e.g., Figs. 15 and 16) by a user equipment (UE) (See, Figs. 1 and 3, #116; and ¶[0053], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116”), comprising:
receiving (See, ¶[139], “unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.”) configuration information for a search space (See, ¶[0270], “the UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx that assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring”) associated with a search space type (See, ¶[0145], “a UE-specific search space (USS);” and ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS”) for which one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters (See, ¶[0228], “a UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter, for example PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx, that enables or disables PDCCH reception;” and ¶[0296], “for a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring;”) are applicable (See, ¶[0172], “Using Rel-17 NR, when a UE is configured with a PDCCH monitoring reduction feature, PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and [0166], “by Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching.”), the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters being associated with a timer (See, e.g., Fig. 16, #1630, “including a timer;” and ¶[0173], “If a SSSG switch timer is also configured, the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration.”), and the timer being associated with unicast traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format;” ¶[0284], “An indication value associated with searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx …. may be provided to the UE using a unicast DCI such as DCI format 0_1/0_2/1_1/1_2;” and ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values”.) and multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”);
receive [sic], in association with control channel monitoring of the search space, a downlink control information (DCI) communication (See, Fig. 16, #1640; and ¶[0312], “The UE then receives a DCI with a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field and determines a field value (1640).”) that uses a DCI format that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format”); and
performing an action associated with the timer (See, Fig. 16, #1670, “and sets timer;” and ¶[0312], and sets a timer for the indicated symbol types and the indicated TRPs (1670).”) in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0312], “The UE … determines a field value (1640). … determines that SSSG switching is indicated by the field value, … and stops PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, …and sets a timer”).
Regarding claim 24/23, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See, below), and wherein the method further comprises:
applying the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters to the control channel monitoring in association with the control channel monitoring being associated with the RRC connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”).
Regarding claim 25/23, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein performing the action comprises:
resetting, after a slot in which the DCI communication is received, the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
Regarding claim 26/25, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 25 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the RNTI is an MBS multicast RNTI (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 27/25, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 25 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the RNTI is a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for multicast or a group configured scheduling RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) for multicast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 28/23, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is associated with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with unicast data communications (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format”), and wherein performing the action comprises:
resetting the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
Regarding claim 29/23, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the DCI communication is scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with MBS broadcast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein performing the action comprises:
refraining from resetting the timer in association with receiving the DCI communication (See, ¶[0174], “The UE ignores an indication for PDCCH skipping and continues to monitor PDCCH in several cases, for example as described in [3]. For example, one such case is when the UE transmitted a PUCCH with positive SR and has not received a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Another such case is when a contention resolution timer is running or during monitoring of the RAR/MsgB window on an SpCell. Several additional cases can exist and are not captured for brevity. In the above example scenarios, because the timer is not set in the first place, a UE would not rest the timer. Moreover, for those UEs receiving multicast traffic, i.e., MBS traffic, receiving a unicast DCI, e.g., scrambled by C-RNTI, will not trigger resetting of the timer that controls the monitoring for a multicast PDCCH, e.g., PDCCH scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI.).
Regarding claim 30, Rudolf discloses a method of wireless communication by a network node (See, Fig. 1, #102; Fig. 2, #200; and ¶[0043] FIG. 2 illustrates an example TRP 200 according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, the TRP 200 any be a base station, such as gNB 101-103”.), comprising:
transmitting (See, ¶[139], “unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.”) configuration information for a search space (See, ¶[0270], “the UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx that assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring”) associated with a search space type (See, ¶[0145], “a UE-specific search space (USS);” and ¶[0146], “a common search space (CSS)… referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS”) for which one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters (See, ¶[0228], “a UE is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter, for example PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx, that enables or disables PDCCH reception;” and ¶[0296], “for a same RRC timer value provided by searchSpaceSwitchTimer to a UE for PDCCH monitoring;”) are applicable (See, ¶[0172], “Using Rel-17 NR, when a UE is configured with a PDCCH monitoring reduction feature, PDCCH monitoring by the UE can be adapted by the gNB for Type3-PDCCH CSS sets or USS sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell;” and [0166], “by Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching.”), the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters being associated with a timer (See, e.g., Fig. 16, #1630, “including a timer;” and ¶[0173], “If a SSSG switch timer is also configured, the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration.”), and the timer being associated with unicast traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission for a single UE, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI as described in [2], are referred for brevity as a unicast DCI format;” ¶[0284], “An indication value associated with searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx …. may be provided to the UE using a unicast DCI such as DCI format 0_1/0_2/1_1/1_2;” and ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values”.) and multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format;” and ¶[0284], “The functionality of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field for SSSG switching …can also be applicable for a multicast DCI, for SSSGs associated with multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”); and
transmitting via the search space and for a user equipment (UE), one or more downlink control information (DCI) communications (See, Fig. 16, #1640; and ¶[0312], “The UE then receives a DCI with a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field and determines a field value (1640).”) using one or more DCI formats that are associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) in association with a control channel monitoring by the UE (See, ¶[0072], “such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI as described in [2], are referred to as multicast DCI format”), an action associated with the timer (See, Fig. 16, #1670, “and sets timer;” and ¶[0312], “and sets a timer for the indicated symbol types and the indicated TRPs (1670).”) being associated with the one or more DCI formats (See, ¶[0312], “The UE … determines a field value (1640). … determines that SSSG switching is indicated by the field value, … and stops PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, …and sets a timer”.).
Regarding claim 31/30, Rudolf discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 30 as discussed above.
Rudolf further discloses that the control channel monitoring is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See, below), and wherein the one or more control channel monitoring adaptation parameters are applicable in association with the control channel monitoring being associated with the RRC connected state (See, ¶[0166], “For a UE in RRC_CONNECTED mode, PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE may be controlled in several ways by … Rel-17 NR PDCCH adaptation features such as PDCCH skipping and search space set group (SSSG) switching;” and ¶[0171], including SSSG switching or PDCCH skipping for UEs in RRC_CONNECTED mode”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Huang et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2024/0276520) (hereinafter "Huang”).
Regarding claim 16/14, Rudolf teaches a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the one or more DCI communications are scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause a UE to:
reset, after a slot in which the one or more DCI communications are transmitted (See, ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values or a larger maximum allowed switching timer value than SCS-SpecificDuration-r17, e.g., larger than 200 in units of slots or 100 msec for SCS=30 kHz.” Rudolf thus discloses the SSSG switching timer may have a granularity of a slot. Since, the timer is reset upon detection/decoding of the DCI, the timer is restarted at least a slot after the reception (or transmission by the base station).) the timer in association with transmitting the one or more DCI communications (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
While Rudolf teaches, as discussed above, a UE resetting the timer in response to the network node transmitting the DCI, it fails to explicitly teach the network node resetting the timer.
Huang teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., PDCCH monitoring adaptation (See, e.g., Fig. 8; ¶[0004], “the network device uses a PDCCH monitoring skipping mechanism or a search space set group (SSSG) switching mechanism to reduce PDCCH monitoring;” and Abstract, “The terminal device runs a timer, where the timer is used for BWP switching.” See, also, ¶[0271]), and teaches the network node running and stopping a timer simultaneously and correspondingly with a UE (See, Fig. 8, S803, S804, S807 and S808; ¶[0257], “The network device also correspondingly runs the timer while the terminal device runs the timer;” ¶[0258], “the terminal device and the network device run the timer at the same time;” ¶[0260], “In response to the terminal device suspending the running of the timer within the first duration, the network device also suspends the running of the timer within the first duration;” and ¶[0261], “the terminal device and the network device suspend the running of the timer within the first duration at the same time.” Huan thus teaches a network node maintaining a timer and mirroring the operation of the timer by a UE. Accordingly, when the UE taught by Rudolf resets the timer, the network node as taught by Huang will also reset its own timer, i.e., upon transmission of a DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Rudolf to incorporate the above teaching of Huang, i.e., the maintenance and synchronous operation of timer by both the network node, e.g., a base station, and a UE, in order to maintain the timing synchronization between the transmission of PDCCH by the network node and the monitoring for the PDCCH by a UE (see, e.g., Huang, ¶[0266], “In response to the timer expiring, the network device switches a BWP, and sends the PDCCH on a switched-to BWP, and the terminal device monitors the PDCCH on the switched-to BWP.”).
Regarding claim 17/16, Rudolf in view of Huang teaches a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the RNTI is an MBS multicast RNTI (See, Rudolf, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 18/16, Rudolf in view of Huang teaches a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the RNTI is a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for multicast or a group configured scheduling RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) for multicast (See, Rudolf, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 19/14, Rudolf teaches a network node comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the one or more DCI communications are scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with MBS broadcast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
refrain from resetting the timer in association with transmitting the one or more DCI communications (See, ¶[0174], “The UE ignores an indication for PDCCH skipping and continues to monitor PDCCH in several cases, for example as described in [3]. For example, one such case is when the UE transmitted a PUCCH with positive SR and has not received a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Another such case is when a contention resolution timer is running or during monitoring of the RAR/MsgB window on an SpCell. Several additional cases can exist and are not captured for brevity. In the above example scenarios, because the timer is not set in the first place, a UE would not rest the timer. Moreover, for those UEs receiving multicast traffic, i.e., MBS traffic, receiving a unicast DCI, e.g., scrambled by C-RNTI, will not trigger resetting of the timer that controls the monitoring for a multicast PDCCH, e.g., PDCCH scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI.).
While Rudolf teaches, as discussed above, a UE refraining from resetting the timer in response to the network node transmitting the DCI, it fails to explicitly teach the network node refraining from resetting the timer.
Huang teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., PDCCH monitoring adaptation (See, e.g., Fig. 8; ¶[0004], “the network device uses a PDCCH monitoring skipping mechanism or a search space set group (SSSG) switching mechanism to reduce PDCCH monitoring;” and Abstract, “The terminal device runs a timer, where the timer is used for BWP switching.” See, also, ¶[0271]), and teaches the network node running and stopping a timer simultaneously and correspondingly with a UE (See, Fig. 8, S803, S804, S807 and S808; ¶[0257], “The network device also correspondingly runs the timer while the terminal device runs the timer;” ¶[0258], “the terminal device and the network device run the timer at the same time;” ¶[0260], “In response to the terminal device suspending the running of the timer within the first duration, the network device also suspends the running of the timer within the first duration;” and ¶[0261], “the terminal device and the network device suspend the running of the timer within the first duration at the same time.” Huan thus teaches a network node maintaining a timer and mirroring the operation of the timer by a UE. Accordingly, when the UE taught by Rudolf refrains from resetting the timer, the network node as taught by Huang will also refrain from resetting its own timer, i.e., upon transmission of a DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Rudolf to incorporate the above teaching of Huang, i.e., the maintenance and synchronous operation of timer by both the network node, e.g., a base station, and a UE, in order to maintain the timing synchronization between the transmission of PDCCH by the network node and the monitoring for the PDCCH by a UE (see, e.g., Huang, ¶[0266], “In response to the timer expiring, the network device switches a BWP, and sends the PDCCH on a switched-to BWP, and the terminal device monitors the PDCCH on the switched-to BWP.”).
Regarding claim 32/30, Rudolf teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 30 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the one or more DCI communications are scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and the method further comprising:
resetting, after a slot in which the one or more DCI communications are transmitted(See, ¶[0304], “Parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-rxx may include a different allowed set of switching timer values or a larger maximum allowed switching timer value than SCS-SpecificDuration-r17, e.g., larger than 200 in units of slots or 100 msec for SCS=30 kHz.” Rudolf thus discloses the SSSG switching timer may have a granularity of a slot. Since, the timer is reset upon detection/decoding of the DCI, the timer is restarted at least a slot after the reception (or transmission by the base station).), the timer in association with transmitting the one or more DCI communications (See, ¶[0173], “the UE switches to the SSSG with lowest group index (e.g., group index 0) after timer expiration if the UE does not detect any DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI during the configured timer duration;” and ¶[0296], “when the UE detects fewer DCI formats on the SBFD symbols of TRP A, e.g., the UE resets the associated timer value fewer times.” Accordingly, Rudolf discloses that, if during when the timer is running, a DCI scrambled with the associated RNTI for the monitored traffic, rather than allowing the timer to continue running until expiration, the UE resets the timer.).
While Rudolf teaches, as discussed above, a UE resetting the timer in response to the network node transmitting the DCI, it fails to explicitly teach that the step of resetting the timer is performed by the network node.
Huang teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., PDCCH monitoring adaptation (See, e.g., Fig. 8; ¶[0004], “the network device uses a PDCCH monitoring skipping mechanism or a search space set group (SSSG) switching mechanism to reduce PDCCH monitoring;” and Abstract, “The terminal device runs a timer, where the timer is used for BWP switching.” See, also, ¶[0271]), and teaches the network node running and stopping a timer simultaneously and correspondingly with a UE (See, Fig. 8, S803, S804, S807 and S808; ¶[0257], “The network device also correspondingly runs the timer while the terminal device runs the timer;” ¶[0258], “the terminal device and the network device run the timer at the same time;” ¶[0260], “In response to the terminal device suspending the running of the timer within the first duration, the network device also suspends the running of the timer within the first duration;” and ¶[0261], “the terminal device and the network device suspend the running of the timer within the first duration at the same time.” Huan thus teaches a network node maintaining a timer and mirroring the operation of the timer by a UE. Accordingly, when the UE taught by Rudolf resets the timer, the network node as taught by Huang will also reset its own timer, i.e., upon transmission of a DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Rudolf to incorporate the above teaching of Huang, i.e., the maintenance and synchronous operation of timer by both the network node, e.g., a base station, and a UE, in order to maintain the timing synchronization between the transmission of PDCCH by the network node and the monitoring for the PDCCH by a UE (see, e.g., Huang, ¶[0266], “In response to the timer expiring, the network device switches a BWP, and sends the PDCCH on a switched-to BWP, and the terminal device monitors the PDCCH on the switched-to BWP.”).
Regarding claim 33/32, Rudolf in view of Huang teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 32 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the RNTI is an MBS multicast RNTI (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 34/32, Rudolf in view of Huang teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 32 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the RNTI is a group RNTI (G-RNTI) for multicast or a group configured scheduling RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) for multicast (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI”.).
Regarding claim 35/30, Rudolf teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 30 as discussed above.
Rudolf further teaches that the one or more DCI communications are scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that is associated with the MBS (See, ¶[0072], “A DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception for multicast communication, such as a DCI format with CRC scrambled by G-RNTI/G-CS-RNTI;” and ¶[0284], “multicast DCI formats, such as DCI format 4_0/4_1”), and the method further comprising:
While Rudolf teaches, as discussed above, a UE refraining from resetting the timer in response to the network node transmitting the DCI, it fails to explicitly teach the step of refraining from resetting the timer is performed by the network node.
Huang teaches an analogous field of art, i.e., PDCCH monitoring adaptation (See, e.g., Fig. 8; ¶[0004], “the network device uses a PDCCH monitoring skipping mechanism or a search space set group (SSSG) switching mechanism to reduce PDCCH monitoring;” and Abstract, “The terminal device runs a timer, where the timer is used for BWP switching.” See, also, ¶[0271]), and teaches the network node running and stopping a timer simultaneously and correspondingly with a UE (See, Fig. 8, S803, S804, S807 and S808; ¶[0257], “The network device also correspondingly runs the timer while the terminal device runs the timer;” ¶[0258], “the terminal device and the network device run the timer at the same time;” ¶[0260], “In response to the terminal device suspending the running of the timer within the first duration, the network device also suspends the running of the timer within the first duration;” and ¶[0261], “the terminal device and the network device suspend the running of the timer within the first duration at the same time.” Huan thus teaches a network node maintaining a timer and mirroring the operation of the timer by a UE. Accordingly, when the UE taught by Rudolf refrains from resetting the timer, the network node as taught by Huang will also refrain from resetting its own timer, i.e., upon transmission of a DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Rudolf to incorporate the above teaching of Huang, i.e., the maintenance and synchronous operation of timer by both the network node, e.g., a base station, and a UE, in order to maintain the timing synchronization between the transmission of PDCCH by the network node and the monitoring for the PDCCH by a UE (see, e.g., Huang, ¶[0266], “In response to the timer expiring, the network device switches a BWP, and sends the PDCCH on a switched-to BWP, and the terminal device monitors the PDCCH on the switched-to BWP.”).
<Remainder of this page is intentionally left blank>
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 July 29, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See Qualcomm Incorporated’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202411-021, pp 2 & 4 (listing the Application as “US202418748560”), Retrieved from the Internet<URL: https://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=8902&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=57dd51> (Year: 2024). A copy of the ISLD-202411-021 is being provided herewith.