DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 has have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyobe et al. (US2010/0027305 A1) in view of Stancu et al. (US2012/0218069 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oyobe teaches vehicle power distribution system comprising: a traction battery [see (Fig. 1, power storage device B, para. 0043-0046) Oyobe discloses a DC power storage device B supplying DC electric power to vehicle propulsion and charging systems]; a direct current to alternating current (DC/AC) power converter configured to supply three-phase alternating current (AC) electric power to an armature of a traction motor from DC electric power of the traction battery; [see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, motor generators MG1, MG2, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches inverters 10 and 20 converting DC electric power from the battery into three-phase AC electric power supplied to motor generators MG1 and MG2, which correspond to traction motors]; and a bi-directional power converter configured to: operate in a first mode as a DC/AC converter to convert DC electric power from the traction battery to AC electric power [ see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches that, in propulsion operation, the inverters convert DC electric power from the battery into AC electric power]; and operate in a second mode as an AC/DC converter that converts AC electric power from a power grid to DC power for charging the traction battery [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches that AC electric power supplied from an external source is converted by the inverters into DC electric power to charge the battery].
Oyobe doesn’t expressly teach AC electric power that is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor winding of the traction motor;
In an analogous art, Stancu teaches AC electric power that is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor winding of the traction motor; [see inverter 104 converts DC electric power into AC electric power and supplies the AC electric power to a rotary transformer 112 having primary and secondary windings magnetically coupled across an air gap (Fig. 1, para. 0005, 0012-0013). The rotary transformer functions as an inductive transfer unit that receives AC electric power; Stancu further teaches that AC electric power supplied to the rotary transformer is inductively transferred across the air gap to secondary winding 232 and is ultimately supplied to rotor winding 210 via rectifier/filter circuitry (Fig. 2, para. 0005, 0014-0015), such that the same AC-derived electrical power is supplied through the inductive transfer structure and to the rotor winding of a synchronous electrical machine].
Accordingly, Stancu teaches that AC electric power is supplied to a rotary transformer, which functions as an inductive transfer unit, and is inductively transferred and ultimately supplied to the rotor winding of an electrical machine, corresponding to the claimed limitation that AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor winding of the traction motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the rotary transformer-based inductive power transfer system of Stancu into the vehicle power system of Oyobe to supply electrical power to a rotor winding without physical electrical contact, thereby improving reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Oyobe teaches method for distributing electric power of a vehicle, comprising: supplying direct current (DC) electric power to a traction battery via a bi-directional power converter operating as an AC/DC converter that converts AC electric power from a power grid to DC power for charging the traction battery during a first condition; [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches that AC electric power supplied from an external source is converted by inverters 10 and 20 into DC electric power to charge battery B]; and supplying alternating current (AC) electric power to a rotor of a traction motor via the bi-directional power converter operating as a DC/AC converter to convert DC electric power from the traction battery to AC electric module during a second condition [see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches that, in propulsion operation, the inverters convert DC electric power from the battery into AC electric power for vehicle propulsion].
Oyobe does not expressly teach the AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor of the traction motor.
In an analogous art, Stancu teaches that AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor of the traction motor; [see inverter 104 converts DC electric power into AC electric power and supplies the AC electric power to a rotary transformer 112 having primary and secondary windings magnetically coupled across an air gap (Fig. 1, para. 0005, 0012-0013). The rotary transformer functions as an inductive transfer unit, Stancu further teaches that electrical power supplied to the rotary transformer is inductively transferred across the air gap to secondary winding 232 and is ultimately supplied to rotor winding 210 via rectifier/filter circuitry (Fig. 2, para. 0005, 0014-0015), such that the electrical power supplied to the inductive transfer unit is ultimately supplied to the rotor winding of a synchronous electrical machine corresponding to the claimed rotor of the traction motor].
Accordingly, Stancu teaches that AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor of the traction motor, as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the inductive rotor power transfer system of Stancu into the vehicle power system of Oyobe to supply electrical power to a rotor without physical electrical contact, thereby improving reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Oyobe teaches vehicle power distribution system, comprising:
a traction battery; [see (Fig. 1, power storage device B, para. 0043-0046) Oyobe discloses a DC power storage device B supplying DC electric power to vehicle systems]; a traction motor [see (Fig. 1, motor generators MG1, MG2, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches motor generators MG1 and MG2 corresponding to traction motors]; a DC/AC power converter configured to supply three-phase AC power to an armature of the traction motor from the traction battery; [see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches inverters converting DC electric power from the battery into three-phase AC electric power supplied to motor generators MG1 and MG2]; a bi-directional power converter configured to: operate in a first mode as a DC/AC converter to convert DC electric power from the traction battery to AC electric power module [see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches that, in propulsion operation, the inverters convert DC electric power from the battery into AC electric power]; operate in a second mode as an AC/DC converter that converts AC electric power from a power grid to DC power for charging the traction battery [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches that AC electric power supplied from an external source is converted by the inverters into DC electric power to charge the battery]; a switch electrically coupled to the bi-directional power converter [see (Fig. 1, relay at AC port 60 and switching elements controlling connection of inverters 10, 20, para. 0043-0046, 0055) Oyobe teaches switching elements and relays controlling electrical connection between the power storage device, the converters, and the external AC power source].
Oyobe does not expressly teach that the AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor winding of the traction motor; and an inductive power transfer unit electrically coupled to the switch and the rotor winding.
In an analogous art, Stancu teaches that the AC electric power is supplied to an inductive transfer unit and the rotor winding of the traction motor; [see inverter 104 converts DC electric power into AC electric power and supplies the AC electric power to a rotary transformer 112 having primary and secondary windings magnetically coupled across an air gap (Fig. 1, para. 0005, 0012-0013), The rotary transformer functions as an inductive transfer unit that receives AC electric power. Stancu further teaches that electrical power supplied to the rotary transformer is inductively transferred across the air gap to secondary winding 232 and is ultimately supplied to rotor winding 210 via rectifier/filter circuitry (Fig. 2, para. 0005, 0014-0015), such that the electrical power supplied to the inductive transfer unit is ultimately supplied to the rotor winding of a synchronous electrical machine corresponding to the claimed rotor winding of the traction motor]; and an inductive power transfer unit electrically coupled to the switch and the rotor winding [see rotary transformer 112 receiving AC electric power from inverter 104 and delivering electrical power via secondary winding 232 to rotor winding 210 (Fig. 1-2, para. 0005, 0012-0015). The rotary transformer is positioned within the electrical path between the converter and the rotor winding].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the inductive rotor power transfer system of Stancu in the vehicle power system of Oyobe so that electrical power controlled by the switching elements of Oyobe is supplied through an inductive transfer unit to a rotor winding, thereby enabling contactless rotor power transfer and improving reliability with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the DC/AC power converter and the bi-directional power converter are electrically coupled to the traction battery [see (Fig. 1, power storage device B coupled to inverters 10, 20, para. 0043-0046, 0048-0049) Oyobe discloses battery B electrically connected to inverters 10 and 20, thereby coupling both converters to the traction battery].
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the bi-directional power converter is configured to receive three-phase AC power [see (Fig. 1, motor generators MG1, MG2, para. 0045, 0048-0051) Oyobe teaches MG1 and MG2 as three-phase AC electric rotating machines having Y-connected three-phase windings, and external AC power from load 90 is applied to neutral points N1 and N2 during charging, such that inverters 10 and 20 receive three-phase AC power via the motor windings when operating in AC/DC mode].
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the bi-directional power converter is additionally electrically coupled to a vehicle charging connector [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, plug 70, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches an external AC power source connected through a charging port to the converter system, thereby electrically coupling the converter to a vehicle charging connector].
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the traction motor is a three-phase motor [see (Fig. 1, motor generators MG1, MG2, para. 0045, 0051) Oyobe teaches MG1 and MG2 as three-phase AC electric rotating machines having Y-connected three-phase coils, corresponding to three-phase traction motors].
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to operate the bi-directional power converter based on an input received via the vehicle charging connector; [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, plug 70 with voltage/current sensing, para. 0055; Fig. 7, charge/discharge control unit 36, para. 0075-0077) Oyobe teaches that electrical conditions at the vehicle charging connector, including AC voltage (VAC) and current (IAC), are detected at AC port 60 and provided to the controller, which generates control signals (CTL, AC1, AC2) to operate inverters 10 and 20 during charging, thereby operating the bi-directional power converter based on input received via the vehicle charging connector].
Regarding claim 9, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the first condition is a vehicle charging connector interfacing with a vehicle connector; [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, plug 70, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches that charging occurs when an external connector interfaces with the vehicle charging port, thereby defining the first condition].
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the second condition is the vehicle charging connector not interfacing with the vehicle connector; [see (Fig. 1, para. 0048-0049, 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches a charging mode when plug 70 is connected to AC port 60 and a propulsion mode in which inverters 10 and 20 drive motor generators MG1 and MG2 from battery B; it would have been understood that the propulsion mode corresponds to a state in which the external charging connector is not interfaced with the vehicle connector, thereby corresponding to the second condition].
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the first condition is based on a request to charge the traction battery; [see (Fig. 7, para. 0075-0077) Oyobe teaches a charge/discharge control unit 36 that activates control signal CTL and generates instructions AC1 and AC2 when a signal CG instructing the charging of power storage device B by load 90 is active, corresponding to a request to charge the traction battery that initiates the charging condition].
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches that the second condition is based on an absence of the request to charge the traction battery; [see (Fig. 7, para. 0072-0077) Oyobe teaches that when signal CG is inactive, the system operates with CTL inactive and inverter control units produce PWM signals for normal motor operation rather than charging control, corresponding to operation in the absence of a request to charge the traction battery].
Regarding claim 17, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches a controller including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the controller to operate the bi-directional power converter based on a request to charge the traction battery; [see (Fig. 7, charge/discharge control unit 36, para. 0075-0077) Oyobe teaches a controller that activates control signal CTL and generates instructions AC1 and AC2 when a signal CG instructing charging of power storage device B by load 90 is active, thereby causing operation of the bi-directional power converter based on a request to charge the traction battery].
Regarding claim 20, Combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches a vehicle charging connector electrically coupled to the bi-directional power converter; [see (Fig. 1, AC port 60, plug 70, para. 0050-0053) Oyobe teaches an external AC power source connected through a charging connector to inverters 10 and 20, thereby electrically coupling the vehicle charging connector to the bi-directional power converter].
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyobe et al. (US2010/0027305 A1) in view of Stancu et al. (US2012/0218069 A1) further in view of You (US 2018/0136265 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Oyobe in view of Stancu teaches the invention set forth above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the bi-directional power converter is configured to receive two-phase AC power.
In an analogous art, You teaches the bi-directional power converter is configured to receive two-phase AC power; [see abstract; para. 0004 You teaches that the terminal is provided with a two-phase AC electrical wiring probe, which receives AC power from a high voltage AC source and supplies power to the device through a relay, thereby teaching that the power converter is configured to receive two-phase AC power].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Oyobe in view of Stancu to configure the bi-directional power converter to receive two-phase AC power as taught by You in order to accommodate specific AC power interface configurations, thereby providing compatibility with different AC input configurations with predictable results.
Claim(s) 13-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyobe et al. (US2010/0027305 A1) in view of Stancu et al. (US2012/0218069 A1) further in view of Krause (US 2012/0268082 A1).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, combination does not expressly teach closing a switch to supply AC electric power to the rotor.
In an analogous art, Krause teaches closing a switch to supply AC electric power to the rotor
[see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0002-0004, 0047-0055) Krause teaches a voltage source 2 connected to rotor winding LR via step-down converter 5, inverter 8, rotary transformer T1, and rectifier 7, with monitoring unit 12 controlling these elements to transmit electrical energy to the rotor winding, thereby selectively establishing a power path supplying energy to the rotor winding, which corresponds to closing a switch to supply AC electric power to the rotor; when combined with Stancu’s teaching of supplying AC-derived power via a rotary transformer to the rotor winding, this corresponds to closing a switch to supply AC electric power to the rotor].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the controlled rotor power delivery of Krause in the system of Oyobe in view of Stancu to selectively enable delivery of electrical power to the rotor winding, thereby providing controlled and reliable rotor excitation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, combination of Oyobe, Stancu and Krause teach the invention set forth above, Krause further teaches opening the switch to supply DC electric power to the traction battery; [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0020-0023, 0047-0057) Krause teaches that monitoring unit 12 controls converter elements to enable or disable energy flow to the rotor winding depending on operating conditions, thereby selectively establishing or interrupting the rotor power path, which corresponds to opening a switch in the rotor power path].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the selective rotor power control of Krause in the system of Oyobe in view of Stancu to open a switch in the rotor power path during battery charging operation, thereby allowing the bi-directional power converter to operate in AC/DC mode to supply DC electric power to the traction battery while preventing concurrent rotor power delivery, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, combination of Oyobe, Stancu and Krause teaches invention set forth above, Oyobe further teaches supplying electric power to an armature of the traction motor via the traction battery [see (Fig. 1, inverters 10, 20, motor generators MG1, MG2, para. 0048-0049) Oyobe teaches that DC electric power from battery B is converted by inverters 10 and 20 into AC electric power supplied to motor generators MG1 and MG2, corresponding to supplying electric power to the armature of the traction motor via the traction battery].
Regarding claim 18, combination of Oyobe and Stancu teaches invention set forth above, combination does not expressly teach that the controller opens the switch in response to the request to charge the traction battery.
In an analogous art, Krause teaches that the controller opens the switch in response to the request to charge the traction battery [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0020-0023, 0047-0057) Krause teaches that monitoring unit 12 controls converter elements to enable or disable energy flow to the rotor winding depending on operating conditions, thereby selectively interrupting the rotor power path when a charging condition is present, which corresponds to the controller opening a switch in response to a request to charge the traction battery].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the control logic of Krause in the system of Oyobe in view of Stancu to open a switch in the rotor power path in response to a charging request, thereby ensuring proper mode-dependent operation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, combination of Oyobe, Stancu and Krause teaches invention set forth above, Krause further teaches that the controller closes the switch in response to an absence of the request to charge the traction battery [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0020-0023, 0047-0057) Krause teaches that monitoring unit 12 controls converter elements to enable energy flow to the rotor winding when operating conditions require rotor excitation, thereby selectively establishing the rotor power path when a charging condition is not present, which corresponds to the controller closing a switch in response to an absence of a request to charge the traction battery].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the control logic of Krause in the system of Oyobe in view of Stancu to close a switch in the rotor power path in response to an absence of a charging request so as to enable rotor power delivery during propulsion operation, thereby providing coordinated mode-dependent control with predictable results.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849