Claims 7 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: in the last line of each of these claims, --of-- should be inserted after “orientation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelton et al (US 2022/0069770, cited by applicant).
Shelton shows a photovoltaic (PV) module distribution device comprising:
a platform (part of vehicle 907; Fig. 9) configured to store a plurality of PV modules 120 in a pre-determined orientation, each of the PV modules comprising a plurality of solar components that are pre-assembled to form a corresponding PV module; and
an installation arm 100/908/909 configured to:
retrieve a PV module of the plurality of PV modules from the platform; and
position the PV module proximate a support column (not separately identified but can be seen in at least Figs. 9-16) physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit a user to attach the PV module to the support column.
Re claim 2, the PV module comprises a first PV module of the plurality of PV modules and the support column comprises a first support column;
the installation arm comprises a first installation arm coupled to a first side of the platform; and
the PV module distribution device further comprises a second installation arm coupled to a second side of the platform that is opposite the first side of the platform (not separately identified but shown in Figs. 11C, 12A-B, 14), the second installation arm configured to:
retrieve a second PV module of the plurality of PV modules from the platform; and
position the second PV module proximate a second support column physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit the user to attach the second PV module to the second support column (pars. [0061], [0062]).
Re claim 3, the second installation arm is configured to operate at the same time as the first installation arm (pars. [0061], [0062]).
Re claim 5, the installation arm is configured to:
retrieve the PV module autonomously based on an installation instruction; and
autonomously release the PV module based on an installation complete instruction (pars. [0055], [0059], [0060], claim 26).
Re claim 6, the platform comprises a retention device 905 configured to:
facilitate the pre-determined orientation of the plurality of PV modules; and
prevent the plurality of PV modules from moving relative to the platform.
Re claim 10, Shelton discloses a hitch portion configured to couple to a vehicle to permit the PV module distribution device to be moved by the vehicle within an environment (par. [0059]).
Re claim 11, Shelton discloses a position detection system configured to detect a position of the PV module distribution device relative to the support column when the vehicle moves the PV module distribution device pars. [0046], [0047]).
Claims 1, 6-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davis et al (US 2024/0083699, having an effective filing date of 9/14/22).
Davis shows a photovoltaic (PV) module distribution device comprising:
a platform 602 configured to store a plurality of PV modules 300 in a pre-determined orientation, each of the PV modules comprising a plurality of solar components 302, 640 that are pre-assembled to form a corresponding PV module; and
an installation arm 606 configured to:
retrieve a PV module 710 of the plurality of PV modules from the platform; and
position the PV module proximate a support column 701/702 physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit a user to attach the PV module to the support column (Figs. 6-9).
Re claim 6, the platform comprises a retention device 100 configured to:
facilitate the pre-determined orientation of the plurality of PV modules; and
prevent the plurality of PV modules from moving relative to the platform.
Re claim 7, the retention device defines a plurality of openings 116 configured to receive edges of the plurality of PV modules to facilitate the pre-determined orientation of the plurality of PV modules (Figs. 1, 3, 4; pars. [0046] – [0056]).
Re claim 8, the platform comprises a plurality of retention arms 106 configured to selectively interface with the plurality of PV modules to:
facilitate the pre-determined orientation of the plurality of PV modules; and facilitate the retrieval of the plurality of PV modules from the platform.
Re claim 9, each of the plurality of retention arms comprises:
a base portion 102 coupled to the platform;
an extension member 110/112 coupled to the base portion; and
an engagement flange 108 coupled to a distal end of the extension member, the engagement flange being configured to selectively interface with an individual PV module of the plurality of PV modules to:
facilitate the pre-determined orientation of the individual PV module; and
facilitate the retrieval of the individual PV module from the platform (Figs. 1, 3, 4; pars. [0046] – [0056]).
Re claim 10, Davis discloses a hitch portion configured to couple to a vehicle to permit the PV module distribution device to be moved by the vehicle within an environment (not explicitly identified but considered inherent given the tractor-trailer type vehicle shown in Figs. 6-9, especially since the similar vehicles shown in Figs. 5 and 11 are identified as flatbed semi-trailers).
Re claim 11, Davis discloses a position detection system configured to detect a position of the PV module distribution device relative to the support column when the vehicle moves the PV module distribution device (par. [0079]).
Re claim 12, Davis discloses a photovoltaic (PV) module distribution device comprising:
a platform 602 configured to store a plurality of PV modules 300 in a pre-determined orientation, each of the PV modules comprising a plurality of solar components 302, 640 that are pre-assembled to form a corresponding PV module; and a first installation arm 606 and a second installation arm 606 (Figs. 6-7), wherein the first installation arm and the second installation arm are configured to selectively interface with different portions of a PV module of the plurality of PV modules to: retrieve the PV module from the platform; and position the PV module proximate a support column 701/702 physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit a user to attach the PV module to the support column (Figs. 6-9).
Claims 15-20 are treated in the same manner as analogous claims 6-11 above.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al in view of Miller et al (US 2020/0412295, cited by applicant).
Davis shows that the PV module comprises a torque tube 304, but it is not clear if the first and second installation arms are configured to selectively interface with respective first and second portions of the torque tube to retrieve the PV module from the platform.
Miller teaches a generally similar solar panel (PV module) distribution device wherein a handling device 22 is used to retrieve a PV module 10 of a plurality of PV modules stored on a platform 18 in a predetermined orientation, and to position the PV module proximate a support column 28 physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit a user to attach the PV module to the support column, wherein the handling device interfaces with first and second portions of a torque tube 16 of the PV module (pars. [0055], [0056], [0071]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Davis such that the first and second installation arms were configured to selectively interface with respective first and second portions of the torque tube to retrieve the PV module from the platform, as suggested by Miller, to provide a convenient and effective means of engaging the PV modules.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al in view of Shelton et al.
Davis discloses that the PV module comprises a first PV module of the plurality of PV modules and the support column comprises a first support column, and the first installation arm and the second installation arm are coupled to a first side of the platform, but does not disclose that the PV module distribution device further comprises a third installation arm and a fourth installation arm, wherein the third installation arm and the fourth installation arm are coupled to a second side of the platform that is opposite the first side of the platform and the third installation arm and the fourth installation arm are configured to selectively interface with different portions of a second PV module of the plurality of PV modules to: retrieve the second PV module from the platform; and position the second PV module proximate a second support column physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit the user to attach the second PV module to the second support column.
As noted above in par. 4 with respect to claim 2, Shelton discloses a second installation arm coupled to a second side of the platform opposite the first side, the second installation arm configured to: retrieve a second PV module from the platform; and position the second PV module proximate a second support column physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit the user to attach the second PV module to the second support column.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Davis by providing a third installation arm and a fourth installation arm coupled to a second side of the platform opposite the first side of the platform, wherein the third installation arm and the fourth installation arm were configured to selectively interface with different portions of a second PV module of the plurality of PV modules to: retrieve the second PV module from the platform; and position the second PV module proximate a second support column physically located proximate the PV module distribution device to permit the user to attach the second PV module to the second support column, as suggested by Shelton, to effectively double the rate at which the modules could be installed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/James Keenan/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
7/09/26