DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, Locking the rotor is mentioned (see claims 1-15), however rotor locking details not shown in applicant’s figs.1-7; the circulatory current flow path (in inverter circuit 200, see figs.3-4, claim 1) must be shown, control circuit for controlling the inverter circuit 200 and motor 108 needs to be shown and referenced (see claims 6-14, spec., page 8, par. [0037]), structural & direction details (fig.2) needs to be referenced (first vertical direction, second forward direction, See relative claims 13-14), magnet and zero position or desired lock position (see fig.5) needs to be referenced (See spec., page 9, par. [0040]), windings 202a (See spec., page 7, para. [0033]) must be shown in figs.3-4, a method of operating an electric motor system (see claims 1-5 and 15) needs to be shown and referenced and for claim 15, the phrase, “a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system” (see claim 15, and spec pages 10-11, para’s [0042], [0043], [0044] and [0045]), needs to be shown and referenced for proper understanding of the claimed invention. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Therefore, locking the rotor is mentioned (see spec, pages 1-2, para’s [0002], [0005]-[0006] relative to claims 1-15), however, applicant fails to teach and show rotor locking details in figs.1-7; the circulatory current flow path (in inverter circuit 200, see figs.3-4, claim 1) must be shown and referenced in spec., control circuit for controlling the inverter circuit 200 and motor 108 needs to be shown and referenced and corresponding teaching must be mentioned in specification (see claims 6-14, spec., page 8, par. [0037]), structural details shown in fig.2 must be referenced and corresponding teaching needs to be mentioned in spec, magnet and zero position or desired lock position (see fig.5) needs to be referenced and corresponding teaching needs to be mentioned in spec (See spec., page 9, par. [0040]).
The phrase, (see spec, pages 1-2, para’s [0005]-[0006], page 8, para. [0035]) and claims 1-15), “locking the rotor at a desired position by closing a subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter to provide a circulatory current flow path within the power inverter such that in response to external movement of the rotor, the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter will generate an opposing force to oppose the movement of the rotor” is not clear as how the external movement of the rotor is formed? Applicant’s (see spec., page 8, para. [0035]) mentions shorting the stator windings by closing bottom switches 206a,b,c and opening top switches 204a,b,c (figs.3-4) for creating the circulatory current flow (which is omitted in claims 1-15), and applicant fails to teach/state (in claims 1-15) how the external force is applied to the rotor 12 and a current is generated in the stator windings (is it regenerative current due to the external force not clear)?
a method of operating an electric motor system (see claims 1-5 and 15) needs to be shown and referenced in spec and for claim 15, the phrase, “a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system” (see claim 15, and spec pages 10-11, para’s [0042], [0043], [0044] and [0045]), needs to be shown and referenced in spec for proper understanding of the claimed invention. No new matter should be entered.
Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
4.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-15, (see spec, pages 1-2, para’s [0005]-[0006], page 8, para. [0035]), “locking the rotor at a desired position by closing a subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter to provide a circulatory current flow path within the power inverter such that in response to external movement of the rotor, the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter will generate an opposing force to oppose the movement of the rotor” is not clear as applicant fails to teach and show rotor locking details in figs.1-7 and also not clear as how the external movement of the rotor is formed and applied?
Applicant’s (see spec., page 8, para. [0035]) mentions shorting the stator windings by closing bottom switches 206a,b,c and opening top switches 204a,b,c (figs.3-4) for creating the circulatory current flow (which is omitted in claims 1-15), and applicant fails to teach/state (in claims 1-15) how or what provide the external movement is applied to the rotor 12 and applicant’s spec teaches (see spec., page 8, para. [0035] a current is generated in the stator windings (is it regenerative current due to the external movement?) and thus force (torque) which will oppose the movement of the rotor 12 is performed by operating the inverter circuit 200 by shorting the stator windings?
Applicant’s spec. (see pages 9-10, para. [0040]) mentions cogging torque and is not clear how is it formed (is it by above mentioned shorting of the stator windings (omitted in claims 1-15) by operating said switches and by said shorting is it involves braking of the rotor (not mentioned in spec.) for rotor to be locked?
Rotor locking details not mentioned anywhere in the specification.
As to claims 1-5 and 15, a method of operating an electric motor system (see claims 1-5 and 15) is not clear as a method is not shown in applicants’ figs.1-7 and method steps not referenced in spec and for claim 15, the phrase, “a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system” (see claim 15, and spec pages 10-11, para’s [0042], [0043], [0044] and [0045]), is not clear as they are not shown and referenced in spec for proper understanding of the claimed invention. No new matter should be entered.
Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENAROUS (US PUB. NO.:US 2020/0059172 A1) in view of Woodall et al. (US PUB. NO.: US 2023/0348087 A1 and Woodall hereinafter).
A method of operating an electric motor system, wherein the electric motor system comprises a motor comprising a rotor having a magnet mounted thereto and an electric circuit that comprises one or more stator windings for driving rotation of the rotor, the electric circuit further comprising an inverter comprising an arrangement of switches that can be selectively operated to control an operation of the electric motor system, the method comprising:
locking the rotor at a desired position by closing a subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter to provide a circulatory current flow path within the power inverter such that in response to external movement of the rotor, the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter will generate an opposing force to oppose the movement of the rotor.
(As to claim 1, Benarous teaches (see figs.1-2A, 2B, 2C & 3, para’s [0048]-[0052]) a method of operating an electric motor system (see figs.2A, 2B, 2C, para. [0058]-[0061])], wherein the electric motor system (figs.2A, 2B, 2C) comprises a motor 1 (fig.1) comprising a rotor 4 having a magnet 6 mounted thereto and an electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) that comprises one or more stator 2 windings [7, 8, 9] (figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C) for driving rotation of the rotor 4 (see para. [0061]), the electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) further comprising an inverter 12 (see para. [0059]) comprising an arrangement of switches ([14a, 15a, 16a], [14b, 15b, 16b]) that can be selectively operated (by opening and closing said switches using controller 11, see para. [0061], [0066]) to control an operation of the electric motor system (see figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C, para. [0058]), the method (see figs.1-2A, 2B, 2C & 3, and para’s [0048]-[0052]) comprising:
Benarous teaches braking the rotor 4 at a halt position (rotor 4 no longer driven and rotor 4 has come to a halt, see par’s [0062]-[0063]) by closing a subset of switches [14a, 15a/16a] (see figs.2A/2B/2C, para’s [0066], [0068], [0069] and [0070]) from the arrangement of switches 14-16 within the power inverter 12 (para. [0059]-[0061]) to provide a circulatory current [braking current] flow path within the power inverter 12 such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (drag on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing [braking current] in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 will generate an opposing torque to oppose the rotation of the rotor 4.
(Benarous teaches braking current flowing via phases and motor windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, using inverter 12, see figs.2A-2C, and para’s [0017], [0066], [0068]) such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (Benarous teaches drag torque on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 such as Benarous teaches circulating current [braking current] flowing via phases and windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, see para’s [0017]; and Benarous further teaches “one or more of the phases or windings 7-9 may be shorted in the braking mode to form a closed circuit so that potential difference generates an electrical current in the one or more windings 7-9, see para. [0066]) will generate an opposing force (dynamic braking torque, see para. [0071])) to oppose rotation of the rotor 4 (see para’s [0066], [0068], [0069], [0070], [0071]).
As to claim 1, Benarous do not mention locking the rotor at a desired position.
Woodall teaches a motor system 100/200 (see figs. 1-4, para’s [0002], [0004]-[0005], [0008], [0009] & [0021]) and a method of locking the propulsor 140 with integrated rotor 120/236 at optimal position (see figs.1-4, para. [0019], [0022] & [0028]; “locking in optimal positions”, see para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have locking the rotor at optimal position of Woodall in the system of Benarous because drag is reduced (see Woodall, para’s [0003] and [0021]).
An electric motor system comprising:
a motor comprising a rotor having a magnet mounted thereto;
an electric circuit that comprises one or more stator windings for driving rotation of the rotor when the stator windings receive an input voltage from an electrical power supply, the electric circuit further comprising an inverter comprising an arrangement of switches that can be selectively operated to control an operation of the electric motor system; and
a control circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to, when it is desired to lock the rotor at a certain position:
close a subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter to provide a circulatory current flow path within the power inverter such that in response to external movement of the rotor, the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter will generate an opposing force to oppose the movement of the rotor.
(As to claim 6, Benarous teaches (see figs.1-2A, 2B, 2C & 3, para’s [0048]-[0052]) an electric motor system (see figs.2A, 2B, 2C, para. [0058]-[0061]) comprising:
a motor 1 (fig.1) comprising a rotor 4 having a magnet 6 mounted thereto;
an electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) that comprises one or more stator 2 windings [7, 8, 9] (figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C) for driving rotation of the rotor 4 when the stator windings [7, 8, 9] receive an input voltage from an electrical power supply 10, (see para’s [0059] & [0061]), the electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) further comprising an inverter 12 (see para. [0059]) comprising an arrangement of switches ([14a, 15a, 16a], [14b, 15b, 16b]) that can be selectively operated (by opening and closing said switches using controller 11, see para. [0061], [0066]) to control an operation of the electric motor system (see figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C & 3, and para’s [0048]-[0052]); and
Benarous teaches (figs.2A, 2B, 2C) a control circuit 11, wherein the control circuit 11 is configured to brake the rotor 4 at a halt position (rotor 4 no longer driven and rotor 4 has come to a halt, see par’s [0062]-[0063]) by closing a subset of switches [14a, 15a/16a] (see figs.2A/2B/2C, para’s [0066], [0068], [0069] and [0070]) from the arrangement of switches ([14a, 15a, 16a], [14b, 15b, 16b]) within the power inverter 12 (see para. [0059]-[0061]) to provide a circulatory current [braking current] flow path within the power inverter 12 such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (drag on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing [braking current] in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 will generate an opposing torque to oppose the rotation of the rotor 4.
(Benarous teaches braking current flowing via phases and motor windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, using inverter 12 (see figs.2A-2C, and para’s [0017], [0066], [0068]) such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (Benarous teaches drag torque on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 such as Benarous teaches circulating current [braking current] flowing via phases and windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, see para’s [0017]; and Benarous further teaches “one or more of the phases or windings 7-9 may be shorted in the braking mode to form a closed circuit so that potential difference generates an electrical current in the one or more windings 7-9, see para. [0066]) will generate an opposing force (dynamic braking torque, see para. [0071])) to oppose rotation of the rotor 4 (see para’s [0066], [0068], [0069], [0070], [0071]).
As to claim 6, Benarous do not mention lock the rotor at a certain position.
Woodall teaches a motor system 100/200 (see figs. 1-4, para’s [0002], [0004]-[0005], [0008], [0009] & [0021]) and a controller 144 (fig.1, para. [0024]) for locking the propulsor 140 with integrated rotor 120/236 at optimal position (see figs.1-4, para. [0019], [0022] & [0028]; “locking in optimal positions”, see para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have locking the rotor at optimal position of Woodall in the system of Benarous because drag is reduced (see Woodall, para’s [0003] and [0021]).
11. An electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft comprising:
an electric motor system as claimed in claim 6; and
one or more propellers arranged to provide thrust, wherein each of the one or more propellers is connected to the electric motor system;
wherein the control circuit electric motor system is operable to lock the propellers in a certain orientation.
(As to claim 11, Benarous (teaches, para. [0048] and aircraft comprising:
An electric motor system (figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C)).
Benarous do not mention electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft comprising:
one or more propellers arranged to provide thrust, wherein each of the one or more propellers is connected to the electric motor system;
wherein the control circuit electric motor system is operable to lock the propellers in a certain orientation.
Woodall teaches (figs.1-5, para’s [0002]-[0005], & [0016]) an electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft 108 comprising:
one or more propellers 104 (figs.1-3) arranged to provide thrust (see para. [0016] & [0019]), wherein each of the one or more propellers 104 is connected to the electric motor system 100/200 (fig.1-2);
wherein the control circuit 144 (500, fig.5) electric motor system 100/200 (figs.1-2) is operable to lock the propellers 104 in a certain optimal position (see para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft comprising: one or more propellers arranged to provide thrust, wherein each of the one or more propellers is connected to the electric motor system;
wherein the control circuit electric motor system is operable to lock the propellers in a certain orientation of Woodall in the system of Benarous because drag is reduced (see Woodall, para’s [0003] and [0021]).
12. The aircraft of claim 11, wherein during a flight phase of the aircraft, the control circuit is configured to lock at least one of the propellers at a certain orientation to reduce drag.
(As to claim 12, Benarous (teaches, para. [0048]) an aircraft wherein control circuit 11 is configured to brake the rotor 4 (figs.1-3, [0066] thru [0070]) to control the drag on the rotor 4 (See fig.3, para’s [0071]).
Benarous do not mention the control circuit is configured to lock at least one of the propellers at a certain orientation to reduce drag.
Woodall teaches (figs.1-5, para’s [0002]-[0005],& [0016]) an electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft 108, wherein during flying of aircraft 108, the control circuit 144 (see para. [0024]) of the electric motor system 100/200 (figs.1-2) is operable to lock the propellers 104 in a certain optimal position to reduce drag (see para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have the control circuit is configured to lock at least one of the propellers at a certain orientation of Woodall in the system of Benarous because drag is reduced (see Woodall, para’s [0003] and [0021]).
15. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system, wherein the electric motor system comprises a motor comprising a rotor having a magnet mounted thereto and an electric circuit that comprises one or more stator windings for driving rotation of the rotor, the electric circuit further comprising an inverter comprising an arrangement of switches that can be selectively operated to control an operation of the electric motor system, the method comprising: locking the rotor at a desired position by closing a subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter to provide a circulatory current flow path within the power inverter such that in response to external movement of the rotor, the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter will generate an opposing force to oppose the movement of the rotor.
(As to claim 15, Benarous teaches (see figs.1-2A, 2B, 2C & 3, para’s [0048]-[0052]) a controller 11 to perform a method of operating an electric motor system (see figs.2A, 2B, 2C, para. [0058]-[0061])], wherein the electric motor system (figs.2A, 2B, 2C) comprises a motor 1 (fig.1) comprising a rotor 4 having a magnet 6 mounted thereto and an electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) that comprises one or more stator 2 windings [7, 8, 9] (figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C) for driving rotation of the rotor 4 (see para. [0061]), the electric circuit (See figs. 2A, 2B, 2C) further comprising an inverter 12 (see para. [0059]) comprising an arrangement of switches ([14a, 15a, 16a], [14b, 15b, 16b]) that can be selectively operated (by opening and closing said switches using controller 11, see para. [0061], [0066]) to control an operation of the electric motor system (see figs.1, 2A, 2B, 2C, para. [0058]), the method (see figs.1-2A, 2B, 2C & 3, and para’s [0048]-[0052]) comprising:
Benarous teaches braking the rotor 4 at a halt position (rotor 4 no longer driven and rotor 4 has come to a halt, see par’s [0062]-[0063]) by closing a subset of switches [14a, 15a/16a] (see figs.2A/2B/2C, para’s [0066], [0068], [0069] and [0070]) from the arrangement of switches 14-16 within the power inverter 12 (para. [0059]-[0061]) to provide a circulatory current [braking current] flow path within the power inverter 12 such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (drag on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing [braking current] in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 will generate an opposing torque to oppose the rotation of the rotor 4.
(Benarous teaches braking current flowing via phases and motor windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, using inverter 12, see figs.2A-2C, and para’s [0017], [0066], [0068]) such that in response to external movement of the rotor 4 (Benarous teaches drag torque on the rotor 4, see fig.3, para. [0072]), the current flowing in the circulatory current flow path within the power inverter 12 such as Benarous teaches circulating current [braking current] flowing via phases and windings 7-9 relative to shorting of windings 7-9, see para’s [0017]; and Benarous further teaches “one or more of the phases or windings 7-9 may be shorted in the braking mode to form a closed circuit so that potential difference generates an electrical current in the one or more windings 7-9, see para. [0066]) will generate an opposing force (dynamic braking torque, see para. [0071])) to oppose rotation of the rotor 4 (see para’s [0066], [0068], [0069], [0070], [0071]).
As to claim 15, Benarous do not mention a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system, wherein the method comprising locking the rotor at a desired position.
Woodall teaches (see para’s [0045] thru [0051]) a non-transitory computer readable medium [computer system 500] (fig.5) storing instructions (via 524/508) that when executed by a processor 504 cause the processor 504 to perform a method of operating an electric motor system 100/200 (see figs. 1-5, para’s [0002], [0004]-[0005], [0008], [0009] & [0021]) and a method 400 of locking the propulsor 140 with integrated rotor 120/236 at optimal position (see figs.1-4, para. [0019], [0022] & [0028]; “locking in optimal positions”, see para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of operating an electric motor system, wherein the method comprising locking the rotor at a desired position of Woodall in the system of Benarous because drag is reduced (see Woodall, para’s [0003] and [0021]).
ALLOWABLE SUBJECT-MATTER
Claims 2-5, 7-10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-5, 7-10 and 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach initially moving the rotor to the desired position, and then closing the subset of switches to lock the rotor at the desired position.
As to claims 3 and 8, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach the subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter that is closed to lock the rotor comprises the subset of top switches for each switch arm.
As to claims 4 and 9, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach the subset of switches from the arrangement of switches within the power inverter that is closed to lock the rotor comprises the subset of bottom switches for each switch arm.
As to claims 5 and 10, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach a stator having a plurality of stator teeth around which the stator windings are mounted, and wherein the desired position at which the rotor is locked is a position where the rotor is aligned with at least one of the stator teeth.
As to claim 7, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach when it is desired to lock the rotor, the control circuit is configured to initially move the rotor to the desired position, and then close the subset of switches to lock the rotor at the desired position.
As to claim 13, the prior art of records (closest prior arts Benarous and Woodall et al.) fails to teach one or more lifter propellers arranged to rotate in a first plane to provide thrust in a first, vertical direction that is perpendicular to the first plane and at least one pusher propeller that is arranged to provide forward thrust for moving the aircraft in a second, forward direction that is parallel to the first plane.
Claim 14 depend on allowable claim 13.
However, formal requirements outstanding (See Objection to drawings and specification and 35 USC 112 rejection) and appropriate corrections and clarifications are requested.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) (Thirunarayana et al., Pub.No.: US 2019/0016571 A1) teaches figs.1-9 that involves braking command signals to lock the rotor assembly 160 of motor 130 (figs.7-8, para. [0061] & [0065]).
b) Prior art of record (SHIMADA et al., Pub. No.: US 2016/0204720 A1) teaches (figs.1-4, para. [0041]) short circuiting processing is executed using inverter 11 to restrict rotation of rotor to make the rotor stationary in position.
c) Okamura et al. (Pub.No.: US 2009/0314564 A1) teaches (figs.1-14B, abstract) a method wherein lock control is executed to control the motor so as to restrict the rotation of the rotor.
d) Colbourn et al. (US 2023/0348080 A1) teaches (figs.1-5, abstract, para. [0003]) magnet locking system to prevent movement of the rotor.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846