DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 102 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues in substance that Ljung fails to disclose “wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion”
In response to Applicant, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Newly cited prior art Wu teaches minimum interval capability (wakeupsignalmingap-edrx) between the WUS monitored under eDRX by the UE and corresponding PO used for warm up and time-frequency synchronization after WUS detection [0145, 0146]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al (USPN 20200022081) in view of Wu et al (WO2020067718A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ljung discloses
a terminal device comprising: (UE, FIGs. 1, 4 #130, comprising [¶ 0066]
a processor (control circuitry, FIG. 4 #1302 [¶ 0066]
a transceiver (interface, FIG. 4 #1301, for transmitting and receiving [¶ 0066, 0118, 0056]
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to enable the terminal device to perform: (memory, FIG. 4 #1303, storing program code executed by control circuitry to perform [¶ 0066, 0012, 0013]
controlling the transceiver to send first capability information, wherein the first capability information is capability information corresponding to Wake Up Radio (WUR) of the terminal device (transmit capability information, FIG. 9B #4011, indicative of UE’s low-power receiver/WURx [¶ 0118, 0119, 0148, 0152].
Ljung does not expressly disclose “wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion”
Wu discloses minimum interval capability (wakeupsignalmingap-edrx) between the WUS monitored under eDRX by the UE and corresponding PO used for warm up and time-frequency synchronization after WUS detection [0145, 0146]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion” as taught by Wu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Regarding claim 2 Ljung discloses “the first capability information comprises at least one of: WUR capability information of the terminal device” transmit capability information [¶ 0118, 0119, 0147, 0148, 0152]
“type information of a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device” WUS type [¶ 0118].
Regarding claims 3, 12, Ljung does not expressly disclose “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging occasion comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device”
Wu discloses timeoffsetDRX, timeoffset-eDRX-short, timeoffset-eDRX-long, 3 WUSs for same PO each with its own offset [0090, 0091, 0147]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging occasion comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device” as taught by Wu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Regarding claim 5, Ljung discloses “wherein the WUR capability information of the terminal
device comprises at least one of: a bandwidth supported by the WUR of the terminal device” capability information comprising bandwidth [¶ 0104, 0118].
“a modulation manner supported by the WUR of the terminal device” and modulation supported [¶ 0089].
Regarding claim 6, Ljung discloses “the first capability information comprises at least one of: WUR capability information of the terminal device” capability information [¶ 0118, 0119, 0147, 0148, 0152]
“a starting time of an associated Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration timer” inactivity schedule/DRX timer [¶ 0102].
Regarding claim 7, Regarding claim 7, Ljung discloses “a starting time of an associated Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration timer” inactivity schedule/DRX timer [¶ 0102].
Ljung does not expressly disclose a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device”
Wu discloses timeoffsetDRX, timeoffset-eDRX-short, timeoffset-eDRX-long, 3 WUSs for same PO each with its own offset [0090, 0091, 0147]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging occasion comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device” as taught by Wu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Regarding claim 8, Ljung discloses “wherein the WUR capability information of the terminal
device comprises at least one of: a bandwidth supported by the WUR of the terminal device” capability information comprising bandwidth [¶ 0104, 0118].
“a modulation manner supported by the WUR of the terminal device” and modulation supported [¶ 0089].
Regarding claims 9, 16, Ljung discloses “controlling the transceiver to receive a third WUS, wherein a type of the third WUS is determined based on the first capability information, and/or a parameter for transmitting the third WUS is determined based on the first capability information” UE receives WUS transmission based on reported capability, e.g. sensitivity/category [¶ 0118, 0119, 0147, 0148]
“the third WUS is used for carrying at least one of: physical layer signaling” WUS carries UE or group identity as a simplified paging indicator, RRC or L2 content sits in a separate control message [0087-0089, 0097]
Regarding claim 10, Ljung discloses
an access network device comprising: (Base station, FIG. 3 #112, comprising [¶ 0053, 0065]
a processor (control circuitry, FIG. 1 #1122, [¶ 0065]
a transceiver (interface, FIG. 3 #1121, for UL/DL transmission/reception [0065, 0056]
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to enable the access network device to: (memory, FIG. 3 #1123, storing program code executed by control circuitry to perform [¶ 0065, 0012, 0013]
controlling the transceiver to receive first capability information sent by a terminal device, wherein the first capability information is capability information corresponding to Wake Up Radio (WUR) of the terminal device (receive capability control message from UE, the first capability information is capability information corresponding to Wake Up Radio (WUR) of the UE [¶ 0118, 0147, 0148, 0152].
Ljung does not expressly disclose “wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion”
Wu discloses minimum interval capability (wakeupsignalmingap-edrx) between the WUS monitored under eDRX by the UE and corresponding PO used for warm up and time-frequency synchronization after WUS detection [0145, 0146]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion” as taught by Wu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Regarding claim 11 Ljung discloses “the first capability information comprises at least one of: WUR capability information of the terminal device” transmit capability information [¶ 0118, 0119, 0147, 0148, 0152]
“type information of a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device” WUS type [¶ 0118].
Regarding claim 14, Ljung discloses “wherein the WUR capability information of the terminal
device comprises at least one of: a bandwidth supported by the WUR of the terminal device” capability information comprising bandwidth [¶ 0104, 0118].
“a modulation manner supported by the WUR of the terminal device” and modulation supported [¶ 0089].
Regarding claim 15, Ljung discloses “the first capability information comprises at least one of: WUR capability information of the terminal device” capability information [¶ 0118, 0119, 0147, 0148, 0152]
“a starting time of an associated Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration timer” inactivity schedule/DRX timer [¶ 0102].
Claims 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung in view of Wu as applied to claims 1, 10 respectively and in further view of Liu et al (USPN 20200275375).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Ljung does not expressly disclose “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging frame comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device and a respective associated paging frame”
Liu discloses UE monitoring WUS during time intervals with WUS having different types associated with paging frame [¶ 0077, 0084, 0080, 0111, 0113, 0131].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging frame comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device and a respective associated paging frame” as taught by Liu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to further Ljung’s power-saving objective by utilizing Liu’s per-WUS-type gap scheme (Liu, [¶ 0010, 0111, 0113, 0131]).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al (USPN 20190342833) in view of Wu et al (WO2020067718A1).
Regarding claim 17, Astrom discloses
a core network device comprising: (core network node/MME, FIG. 1 #22, comprising [¶ 0013, 0118]
a processor (processing circuitry, FIG. 16 #1210 [¶ 0040, 0186]
a transceiver (transmit/receive circuitry, FIG. 16 #1220 [¶ 0118]
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to enable the core network device to: (memory, FIG. 16 #1230, comprising instructions executed by processing circuitry to perform [¶ 0118]
controlling the transceiver to receive first capability information sent by a terminal device, wherein the first capability information is capability information corresponding to Wake Up Radio (WUR) of the terminal device (receive WUR capability signaling, FIG. 1 #20, transmitted by wireless device [¶ 0060, 0068, 0078].
Astrom does not expressly disclose “wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion”
Wu discloses minimum interval capability (wakeupsignalmingap-edrx) between the WUS monitored under eDRX by the UE and corresponding PO used for warm up and time-frequency synchronization after WUS detection [0145, 0146]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion” as taught by Wu into Astrom’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Regarding claim 18, Astrom discloses “the second capability information comprises at least one of: WUR capability information of the terminal device” capability information indicates WUR capability of UE [¶ 0060, 0061, 0007, 0144]
“a time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion” time interval, e.g. FIG. 2B #20B, between WUS and POs [¶ 0069, 0070, 0078], FIGs. 1, 2B.
Regarding claim 19, Astrom does not expressly disclose “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging occasion comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device”
Wu discloses timeoffsetDRX, timeoffset-eDRX-short, timeoffset-eDRX-long, 3 WUSs for same PO each with its own offset [0090, 0091, 0147]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging occasion comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device” as taught by Wu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to enable a base station to place WUS not too close to the PO (Wu, paragraph [0145, 0182]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung in view of Wu as applied to claim 17 and in further view of Liu et al (USPN 20200275375).
Regarding claim 20, Ljung does not expressly disclose “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging frame comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device and a respective associated paging frame”
Liu discloses UE monitoring WUS during time intervals with WUS having different types associated with paging frame [¶ 0077, 0084, 0080, 0111, 0113, 0131].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the time interval between the WUS supported by the WUR of the terminal device and the associated paging frame comprises: a time interval between each of different types of WUSs supported by the WUR of the terminal device and a respective associated paging frame” as taught by Liu into Ljung’s system with the motivation to further Ljung’s power-saving objective by utilizing Liu’s per-WUS-type gap scheme (Liu, [¶ 0010, 0111, 0113, 0131]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Wu et al (WO2020067718A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses
A terminal device comprising: (electronic device, FIG. 21 #2000, comprising [397-404]
a processor; (processor, FIG. 21 #2001 [399, 400]
a transceiver; and (transceiver, FIG. 21 #2004 [399]
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, (memory, FIG. 21 #2003, storing program codes [402, 403]
and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to
enable the terminal device to perform: (processor operable to execute program codes to perform [402-404]
controlling the transceiver to send first capability information, wherein the first capability information is capability information corresponding to Wake Up Radio (WUR) of the terminal device, (control transceiver to report to network whether UE supports Rel-16 group WUS and/or Rel-15 WUS [73, 74, 145, 146]
wherein the first capability information comprises at least one of a time interval between a Wake Up Signal (WUS) supported by the WUR of the terminal device and an associated paging occasion (minimum interval capability (wakeupsignalmingap-edrx) between the WUS monitored under eDRX by the UE and corresponding PO used for warm up and time-frequency synchronization after WUS detection [0145, 0146]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cox et al (USPN 20200029302) FIG. 15
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469