DETAILED ACTION
Claim objections
Claim 16 line 1 should read “The hair iron according to [[claim 1, further comprising:” in order to be consistent with rest of the claims. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is “light emitting unit” in claims 9 and 15.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “The light emitting unit 34 includes: LEDs (light emitting device) 341; an LED holder (support) 342 that supports the LEDs 341; and an LED cover (support) 343. The LED 341 is preferably a red LED which emits light with a wavelength ranging from 615 nm or more and 655 nm or less. Incidentally, as a replace of the LEDs 341, halogen lamps may be used as the light emitting devices; see ¶0031” described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (US 20180070694 A1, hereinafter “Feng”).
Claim 1. Feng discloses a hair iron (abstract and Fig 1-8), comprising: a grip section (Fig 1, upper handle 5 section and lower handle section 1) configured to be grasped by a user (Fig 1, upper handle 5 and lower handle 1 sections are capable to be grasped by a user) ; and an iron section (Fig 8, aluminum tubes 16 and 17) which is provided at a front end part of the grip section (Fig 8) and is used to wind therearound and curl hair (¶0023), wherein the iron section includes: a cylindrical main body (Fig 1, main body of aluminum tubes 16 and 17); and a pair of electrodes (Fig 7 and ¶0009, upper fabric 21 and lower fabric 27 generate ions) which are provided opposing to each other on a peripheral surface of the main body (Fig 7) and are exposed from the main body (Fig 7 and ¶0005, upper fabric 21 is arranged outside upper aluminum tube 16 and lower fabric 27 is arranged outside lower aluminum tube 17).
Claim 2. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further discloses each of the electrodes has an elongated shape and is provided along a longitudinal direction of the main body (Fig 7).
Claim 3. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further disclose each of the electrodes has a function of conducting ions into or out of the hair (¶0009).
Claim 4. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further discloses the iron section further includes a pair of heaters facing each other (Fig 8, first MCH 20 and second MCH 26) , the heaters being provided at positions which are between the pair of the electrodes and are inside the main body (Fig 8).
Claim 5. Feng discloses the invention of claim 4. Feng further discloses each of the heaters (first MCH 20 and second MCH 26) has an elongated shape, and is provided along a longitudinal direction of the main body (Fig 8).
Claim 6. Feng discloses the invention of claim 4. Feng further discloses each of the heaters (first MCH 20 and second MCH 26) includes: a heat generator; and an insulator which coats the heat generator, and the insulator contains aluminum oxide as a main component (first MCH 20 and second MCH 26 are metal ceramic heaters (MCH). MCM heaters generate heat with insulators coats that contain aluminum oxide as the main component. See Applicant’s own disclosure in ¶0026).
Claim 16. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further discloses a plate-shaped press section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 and 9) which is provided to be movable close to and apart from the iron section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 is movable close to and apart from the iron section during use), and is configured to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section (Fig 1, the clamping section 22 is capable to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section), the press section further includes a stress release member (Fig 8, double torsion spring 10) provided on a surface on a side closer to the iron section (Fig 8, double torsion spring 10 is provided on a surface on a side closer to the iron section between 9 and support cover 7 and support frame 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 20180070694 A1, hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Totsuka et al (US 20220007807A1, hereinafter “Totsuka”).
Claim 7. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further discloses comprising a plate-shaped press section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 and 9) which is provided to be movable close to and apart from the iron section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 is movable close to and apart from the iron section during use) , and is configured to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section (Fig 1, the clamping section 22 is capable to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section); but silent to the press section has an opening that penetrates in a thickness direction of the press section.
Totsuka teaches a hair care apparatus (abstract and Fig 1-11) including a grip section (Fig 1, 20), an iron section (Fig 1, 16), and a press section (Fig 1, 18b) has an opening that penetrates in a thickness direction of the press section (Fig 18, opening inside 18b with penetration thickness of the opening in a direction of the press section 18b) to provide an efficient transfer and dissipation of heat from the heating rod in order to prevent unwanted hair damage, and to provide an aesthetic appearance of the hair device to meet user’s needs and preferences.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the press section of Feng’s hair iron device, and incorporate an opening inside the press section, as taught by Totsuka’s hair apparatus, to provide an efficient transfer and dissipation of heat from the heating rod in order to prevent unwanted hair damage, and to provide an aesthetic appearance of the hair device to meet user’s needs and preferences.
Claim 8. Feng discloses a hair iron (abstract and Fig 1-8), comprising: a grip section (Fig 1, upper handle 5 section and lower handle section 1) configured to be grasped by a user (Fig 1, upper handle 5 and lower handle 1 sections are capable to be grasped by a user); an iron section (Fig 8, aluminum tubes 16 and 17) which is provided at a front end part of the grip section (Fig 8) and is used to wind therearound and curl hair (¶0023); and a plate-shaped press section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 and 9) which is provided to be movable close to and apart from the iron section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 is movable close to and apart from the iron section during use), and is configured to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section (Fig 1, the clamping section 22 is capable to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section), wherein the iron section includes: a cylindrical main body (Fig 1, main body of aluminum tubes 16 and 17); but silent to the press section has an opening that penetrates in a thickness direction of the press section.
Totsuka teaches a hair care apparatus (abstract and Fig 1-11) including a grip section (Fig 1, 20), an iron section (Fig 1, 16), and a press section (Fig 1, 18b) has an opening that penetrates in a thickness direction of the press section (Fig 18, opening inside 18b with penetration thickness of the opening in a direction of the press section 18b) to provide an efficient transfer and dissipation of heat from the heating rod in order to prevent unwanted hair damage, and to provide an aesthetic appearance of the hair device to meet user’s needs and preferences.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the press section of Feng’s hair iron device, and incorporate an opening inside the press section, as taught by Totsuka’s hair apparatus, to provide an efficient transfer and dissipation of heat from the heating rod in order to prevent unwanted hair damage, and to provide an aesthetic appearance of the hair device to meet user’s needs and preferences.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 20180070694 A1, hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Totsuka et al (US 20220007807A1, hereinafter “Totsuka”) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Chen Shirong (CN207202398U, hereinafter “Shirong”).
Claim 9. Feng and Totsuka teach the invention of claim 7, but silent to wherein the iron section further includes a light emitting unit provided in an upper position of the main body, where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section, and light emitted by the light emitting unit passes through the opening while the press section is close to the main body.
Shirong teaches similar hair curling rod (Fig1-2) with the iron section (Fig 2, 5) further includes a light emitting unit (Fig 2, first light bar 8 and second light bar 12) provided in an upper position of the main body (Fig 2) , where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section (15) (Fig 1-2), and light emitted by the light emitting unit passes through the opening (Fig 2, light emitting grooves 5a) while the press section is close to the main body (Fig 2) so that the infrared rays emitted from infrared lamps have a high frequency of radiation and strong permeability, so that the wavelength of infrared rays can just penetrate the human dermis to achieve the functions of promoting blood circulation and improving skin tissue (Page 1, highlighted paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hair iron of the combination of Feng and Totsuka and incorporate a light emitting unit provided in an upper position of the main body, where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section, and light emitted by the light emitting unit passes through the opening while the press section is close to the main body, as taught by Shirong, so that so that the infrared rays emitted from infrared lamps have a high frequency of radiation and strong permeability, so that the wavelength of infrared rays can just penetrate the human dermis to achieve the functions of promoting blood circulation and improving skin tissue.
Claim 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 20180070694 A1, hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Chen Shirong (CN207202398U, hereinafter “Shirong”).
Claim 10. Feng discloses the invention of claim 1. Feng further discloses a plate-shaped press section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 and 9) which is provided to be movable close to and apart from the iron section (Fig 1, clamping sheet 22 is movable close to and apart from the iron section), and is configured to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section (Fig 1, the clamping section 22 is capable to press the hair wound around the iron section against the iron section); but silent to the iron section further includes a light emitting unit provided in an upper position of the main body, where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section.
Shirong teaches similar hair curling rod (Fig1-2) with iron section (Fig 2, 5) further includes a light emitting unit (Fig 2, first light bar 8 and second light bar 12) provided in an upper position of the main body (Fig 1-2), where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section (15) (Fig 1-2) so that the infrared rays emitted from infrared lamps have a high frequency of radiation and strong permeability, so that the wavelength of infrared rays can just penetrate the human dermis to achieve the functions of promoting blood circulation and improving skin tissue (Page 1, highlighted paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hair iron of Feng and incorporate a light emitting unit provided in an upper position of the main body, where the upper position denotes a position closer to the press section, as taught by Shirong, so that so that the infrared rays emitted from infrared lamps have a high frequency of radiation and strong permeability, so that the wavelength of infrared rays can just penetrate the human dermis to achieve the functions of promoting blood circulation and improving skin tissue.
Claim 11. Feng and Shirong teach the invention claim 10. Shirong further teaches the light emitting unit (Fig 2, first light bar 8 and second light bar 12) includes: a light emitting device (first light bar 8 and second light bar 12); and a support (Fig 2, 11) that supports the light emitting device (Fig 2).
Claim 12. Feng and Shirong teach the invention claim 11. Shirong further teaches a plurality of the light emitting devices are provided along a longitudinal direction of the main body (Fig 2).
Claim 13. Feng and Shirong teach the invention claim 10. Shirong further teaches the iron section (Fig 2, 5) further includes a force member (Fig 2, sleeve 7 and 13) that applies force to the light emitting unit from the main body toward the upper position (sleeves 7 and 13 apply force during contact with first light bar 8 and second light bar 12 from the main body toward the upper position).
Claim 14. Feng and Shirong teach the invention of claim 10. Feng is silent to the iron section further includes a stress release member provided in the upper position of the light emitting unit in the main body.
Shirong teaches similar hair curling rod (Fig1-2) with iron section (Fig 2, 5) further includes a light emitting unit (Fig 2, first light bar 8 and second light bar 12) provided in an upper position of the main body (Fig 1-2), the iron section (Fig 2, 5) further includes a stress release member (Fig 2, first and second silica gel strips 6 and 14) provided in the upper position of the light emitting unit in the main body so that the first silica gel strip 6 or the second silica gel strip 14 covers the light-emitting groove 5a. The first silica gel strip 6 and the second silica gel strip 14 play a role of transmitting light on the one hand and act as a water-proof and dust-proofing function on the other hand (Page 3, highlighted 6th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hair iron of Feng device and incorporate the stress release member made of silicone strip, as taught by Shirong, so that the first silica gel strip 6 or the second silica gel strip 14 covers the light-emitting groove 5a. The first silica gel strip 6 and the second silica gel strip 14 play a role of transmitting light on the one hand and act as a water-proof and dust-proofing function on the other hand.
Claim 15. Feng and Shirong teach the invention of claim 14. Shirong further teaches the iron section further includes a fixing member (Page 3, highlighted 5th paragraph, outer surface of first and second bracket 9 and 11) that fixes the stress release member (silica gel strips 6 and 14) to the light emitting unit (Fig 2), and has an opening (Fig 2, grooves 5a) through which light emitted by the light emitting unit can pass.
Conclusion
Additional references were also reviewed during the examination of this application and listed for your reference in the notice of reference cited form.
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772