DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments filed 2/3/2025 have been entered.
Claims 56-75 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 56-67, 69-70, 72-75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2014/0051755 (‘755).
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 68, 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘755.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35).
‘755 does not expressly teach the dosing regimen and the reason for administering the oral levodopa composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the amount of the oral composition for ensure the serum level of levodopa as being in the therapeutic level to treat any symptoms of Parkinson’s disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the amount of the oral composition for ensure the serum level of levodopa as being in the therapeutic level to treat any symptoms of Parkinson’s disease. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 56-75 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,213,502 (‘502) in view of ‘755. ‘502 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1-8).
‘502 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘502 does not expressly teach arginine to be incorporated into the composition. ‘502 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35). ‘755 teaches arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition (see [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants and arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate antioxidants arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition while arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition.
Claims 56-75 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,331,293 (‘293) in view of ‘755. ‘293 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa/arginine and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1-15).
‘293 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘293 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants into the composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate antioxidants into the composition because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition.
Claims 56-75 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,458,115 (‘115) in view of ‘755. ‘115 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1-30).
‘115 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘115 does not expressly teach arginine to be incorporated into the composition. ‘115 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35). ‘755 teaches arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition (see [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants and arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate anti-oxidants and arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition while arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition.
Claims 56-75 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,754 (‘754) in view of ‘755. ‘754 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1-29).
‘754 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘754 does not expressly teach arginine to be incorporated into the composition. ‘754 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35). ‘755 teaches arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition (see [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants and arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate antiocidants arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition while arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition.
Claims 56-75 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/969,590 (‘590) in view of ‘755.
‘590 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa/arginine and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 13).
‘590 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘590 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants into the composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate antioxidants into the composition because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 56-75 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11, 17, 23, 24, 32-35, 40-44 of copending Application No. 18/725,986 (‘986) in view of ‘755.
‘986 teaches a method of treating Parkinson’s disease using subcutaneous administration of levodopa/carbidopa and oral administration of levodopa/carbidopa, in the dosages within the herein claimed dosages (see claims 1, 10, 17, 32-35, 40-41).
‘986 does not expressly teach pH and the dosing regimen of the composition. ‘986 does not expressly teach arginine to be incorporated into the composition. ‘986 does not expressly teach the incorporation of anti-oxidants.
‘755 teaches a method of treating neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s disease, by continuously administering to said patient a composition of 1-6% of carbidopa/ 4-12% of levodopa, and arginine, wherein the composition is administered subcutaneously and orally administration of levodopa and/or carbidopa (see claims 1, 3, 4, 27, 31, 34). ‘755 teaches the extended oral administration can be 2-5 times daily at discrete intervals (see [0037], [0054], [0078]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of levodopa/carbidopa used as 100/25mg or in the ratio of 10:1 to 4:1 (see for example [0031], [0032], [0067]). ’755 teaches the pH of the composition as 9.1-9.8 (see [0005], [0039], [0040]). ‘755 teaches antioxidants including Na-ascorbate, L-cysteine, N-acetylcysteine (NAC), glutathione (GSH), Na2-EDTA, Na2-EDTA-Ca, or any combinations, can be incorporated into the liquid composition (see claims 10-11). ‘755 teaches the subcutaneous administration can be for 24 hours (see for example [0080]). ‘755 teaches the dosage of the liquid carbidopa/levodopa composition for subcutaneous infusion at an average rate of about 10-250 μl/hour, or about 160±40 μl/hour continuously for 24 hours (see [0080]). ‘755 teaches oral dosage of 100/25 (levodopa/carbidopa) produce comparable plasma level of LD (see Example 6, Fig. 5B). ‘755 teaches the oral composition can be formulated as pills, tablets or, the like (see [0067]). The examiner notes that at 250 μl/hour x 24 hours, it would be equivalent to 83.33mg to 720mg of levodopa (4-12%) and 60-360mg of carbidopa (1-6%). ‘755 also teaches the composition comprising about 2.5 to 7% of levodopa (see claim 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate antioxidants and arginine into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the pH and dosing regimen in the method of treating Parkinson’s disease. Adjusting the pH to maximize stability of the composition would be seen to be obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the amount of levodopa will affect the therapeutic level of levodopa, adjusting the amount to be administered would be obvious.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate arginine and antioxidants into the levodopa/carbidopa composition in a method of treating Parkinson’s disease because anti-oxidants can slow down the degradation of the composition while arginine can form a salt of carbidopa, and/or levodopa to give rise a stable composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627