DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 14-15, 17-19, 22, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPUB 20180003399 to Sabbaghian (Sabbaghian) in view of U.S. Patent 248858 to Hayes (Hayes).
Regarding claim 1, Sabbaghian teaches a roof curb and an air handling unit, the roof curb having a bottom end and a top end (1100, Figure 1 and Figure 13), the bottom end of the roof curb mounted on a roof deck of a building (shown in Figure1 and Paragraph 0088), the air handling unit mounted on the top end of the roof curb (shown in Figure 1), the roof curb comprising a housing that surrounds an HVAC passage extending from inside the building (1360 and/or 1350, Figure 3), through the roof deck (this is considered intended use), and to the air handling unit (shown in Figure 3), the air handling unit including an outdoor heat exchanger (1390, Figure 4), a gutter assembly (Paragraph 0057 discloses gutters that lead to a header 1393), the gutter assembly including a water trough alongside the housing of the roof curb (disclosed in Paragraph 0057 and Figure 2, it is alongside because it runs along the heat exchangers), the water trough being upwardly open and located below a bottom region of the outdoor heat exchanger so as to be configured to receive water (Paragraph 0057 discloses water that is gravity fed to the gutters which indicates an open top) that melts from the outdoor heat exchanger during a defrost cycle thereof (this is considered intended use).
Sabbaghian is silent on the roof curb including a gutter assembly that is integral to the housing of the roof curb
Hayes teaches the roof curb including a gutter assembly that is integral to the housing of the roof curb (shown in Figures 1-3 wherein a gutter is integral to a roof curb). Hayes also teaches an upwardly open gutter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Hayes to provide the roof curb including a gutter assembly that is integral to the housing of the roof curb. Doing so would be a simple rearrangement of parts and/or allow prevent liquid from leaking into areas where it would cause damage.
Regarding claim 2, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the outdoor rooftop HVAC curb assembly further includes a supply duct (1350, Figure 3) and a return duct (1360, Figure 3), both the supply duct and the return duct are disposed in the HVAC passage and surrounded by the housing of the roof curb, and the water trough of the roof curb is positioned at an elevation where the supply duct and the return duct are also located(shown in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Sabbaghian teaches wherein an entirety of the gutter assembly is located at an elevation lower than an entirety of the outdoor heat exchanger (Sabbaghian discloses gutters below the heat exchangers per Paragraph 0057 and appears to show this in Figure 3. Hayes discloses gutters below the surfaces of which water condensates in Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the air handling unit has a bottom base with a downwardly directed flange that extends along a perimeter of the bottom base (unit base and curb mounting, Figure 13), and the air handling unit is mounted on the top end of the roof curb such that the bottom base of the air handling unit rests on the top end of the roof curb with the downwardly directed flange at least partially surrounding the top end of the roof curb (shown in Figures 1 and 13), and wherein the downwardly directed flange is located further from the HVAC passage than at least part of the gutter assembly (gutter assembly is interior per Paragraph 0057 and Figures 1, 9, and 13).
Regarding claim 14, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the outdoor heat exchanger has a length, the water trough of the gutter assembly has a length, and the length of the water trough of the gutter assembly is equal to or greater than the length of the outdoor heat exchanger (Paragraph 0057 discloses gutter that collects condensate from a heat exchanger which indicates the gutter is at least the length of the heat exchanger).
Regarding claim 15, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the air handling unit includes a fan configured to move outdoor air over the outdoor heat exchanger (1210, 1365, 1395, and/or 1351), and the air handling unit is in fluid connection with both a return duct and a supply duct (1350 and 1360, Figure 3), wherein the air handling unit has a bottom side attached to both the return duct and the supply duct (shown in Figure 3 because the device is part of a singular unit and the bottom is shown in the Figure), wherein the air handling unit further includes an evaporator heat exchanger configured to cool air that flows from the return duct (1390 are provided in plural and one can be considered for this, Figure 4), into the air handling unit, over the evaporator heat exchanger, out of the air handling unit, and into the supply duct, and the air handling unit further includes a drip pan located directly under the evaporator heat exchanger to catch water that condenses on the evaporator heat exchanger and drips downwardly when the evaporator heat exchanger cools humid air (Paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 applies where the roof curb is considered a rail.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 2 applies.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claim 7 applies.
Regarding claim 29, the rejection of claim 14 applies.
Regarding claim 30, the rejection of claim 15 applies.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabbaghian in view of Hayes and U.S. PGPUB 20120048521 to Reifel et al. (Reifel).
Regarding claim 4, Sabbaghian is silent on wherein the top end of the roof curb includes a wood header.
Reifel teaches wherein the top end of the roof curb includes a wood header (Paragraph 0091). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Reifel to provide wherein the top end of the roof curb includes a wood header. Doing so would be a simple change in materials and/or one would do so in order to lower the cost of the device.
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Sabbaghian teaches wherein the gutter assembly is anchored to the wood header at the top end of the roof curb (orientation and fixed attachment is shown in Hayes, Figures 1-3, additionally Sabbaghian teaches nailing in Figure 13).
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 4 applies.
Claim(s) 6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabbaghian in view of Hayes, Reifel, and U.S. PGPUB 20030091417 to Swann (Swann).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Sabbaghian teaches wherein the housing of the roof curb comprises four walls that collectively delineate a rectangular shape, and the top end of the roof curb includes four wood header boards respectively extending along the four walls of the housing of the roof curb (Sabbaghian, Hayes, and Reifel teach an enclosure around the entire opening which appears to be rectangular which would include boards going around the entire perimeter as shown in each reference. Reifel teaches wooden boards per claim 4 above).
The modified device of Sabbaghian is silent on explicitly stating the roof curb walls are metal although it likely is metal.
Swann teaches a roof curb as a metal structure (Paragraph 0005). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Swann to provide the four metals walls of the housing of the roof curb. Doing so would be a simple change in material and/or be a known material used in the art for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claim 6 applies.
Claim(s) 8, 12-13, 16, 23, 27-28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabbaghian in view of Hayes and U.S. PGPUB 20110016903 to Ballet et al. (Ballet).
Regarding claim 8, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the air handling unit includes a heat exchanger fan (1210, 1365, 1395, and/or 1351).
Sabbaghian is silent on at least part of the gutter assembly being in vertical alignment with the heat exchanger fan.
Ballet teaches at least part of the gutter assembly being in vertical alignment with the heat exchanger fan (gutter, 119 with fans above it, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Ballet to provide at least part of the gutter assembly being in vertical alignment with the heat exchanger fan. Doing so would be a simple change in orientation of the fans which would allow it to fit with different buildings and in differently sized spaces.
Regarding claim 12, Sabbaghian is silent on wherein the water trough of the gutter assembly includes one or more heating elements.
Ballet teaches wherein the water trough of the gutter assembly includes one or more heating elements (Paragraph 0043, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Ballet to provide wherein the water trough of the gutter assembly includes one or more heating elements. Doing so would prevent the condensate gutters and drain from freezing.
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Sabbaghian teaches wherein either (i) the water trough of the gutter assembly is elongated so as to extend along at least two sides of the air handling unit, or (ii) the water trough of the gutter assembly extends along one side of the air handling unit and a second water trough of the gutter assembly extends along another side of the air handling unit (Ballet teaches two gutters that extend which would be along two sides of Sabbaghian even if not close to the sides).
Regarding claim 16, Sabbaghian is silent on wherein the outdoor heat exchanger is a component of an air-source heat pump, such that the outdoor heat exchanger is configured to selectively serve as either an evaporator heat exchanger or a condenser heat exchanger.
Ballet teaches wherein the outdoor heat exchanger is a component of an air-source heat pump, such that the outdoor heat exchanger is configured to selectively serve as either an evaporator heat exchanger or a condenser heat exchanger (Paragraphs 0022 and 0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Ballet to provide wherein the outdoor heat exchanger is a component of an air-source heat pump, such that the outdoor heat exchanger is configured to selectively serve as either an evaporator heat exchanger or a condenser heat exchanger. Doing so would add functionality to the device.
Regarding claim 23, the rejection of claim 8 applies.
Regarding claim 27, the rejection of claim 12 applies.
Regarding claim 28, the rejection of claim 13 applies.
Regarding claim 31, the rejection of claim 16 applies.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabbaghian in view of Hayes and JP200882684 to Ito (Ito).
Regarding claim 9, Sabbaghian teaches wherein the gutter assembly further includes a water drain in fluid communication with the water trough of the gutter assembly (1393, Figure 3).
Sabbaghian is silent on the water drain line.
Ito teaches wherein the water drain line (63, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Ito to provide the water drain line. Doing so would allow the condensate to be drained as desired.
Regarding claim 10, Sabbaghian is silent on wherein the water drain line passes through an opening in the roof deck of the building, such that the water drain line is configured to deliver water from the water trough of the gutter assembly into the building.
Ito teaches wherein the water drain line passes through an opening in the roof deck of the building, such that the water drain line is configured to deliver water from the water trough of the gutter assembly into the building (Ito teaches a drain line (63, Figure 3, any interaction with the building is considered intended use). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sabbaghian with the teachings of Ito to provide wherein the water drain line passes through an opening in the roof deck of the building, such that the water drain line is configured to deliver water from the water trough of the gutter assembly into the building. Doing so would allow the condensate to be drained as desired.
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Sabbaghian teaches wherein the water trough of the gutter assembly is located alongside an upper portion of the housing of the roof curb (Hayes, Figures 1-3 also addressed in claim 1), and the water drain line of the gutter assembly is located alongside a lower portion of the housing of the roof curb (Ito, Figure 3 shows drain line alongside a lower portion of the housing of the roof curb for a distance).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, the rejection of claim 10 applies.
Regarding claim 26, the rejection of claim 11 applies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762