Detailed Action
This is the first office action on the merits for US application number 18/748,828.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention group I), the product of claims 1-20, in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species b), Figs. 4D and 5-6A, in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged, which indicated that claims 1-21 read on the elected species.
Accordingly, claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/556,156, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 63/556,156 fails to provide adequate support for “a first plantar plate protruding orthogonally from the main bracket” in claim 1 line 16 for the elected species.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As to claim 1, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “a first plantar plate protruding orthogonally from the main bracket” in line 16 as there does not appear to be any description of the plate being orthogonal to the bracket for the elected species. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for “a first plantar plate protruding orthogonally from the main bracket” in line 16.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a cross-sectional shape of the reconstruction template is C-shaped and the reconstruction template is configured to engage a donor bone via a push fit” of claim 9 and “a cross-sectional shape of the reconstruction template is circular with split semicircles, and the reconstruction template is configured to engage a donor bone by opening the reconstruction template and arranging the reconstruction template on the donor bone” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1 should read “implant system[[,]] comprising:”.
Claim 1 line 2 should read “a first reconstruction template[[,]] including:”.
Claim 1 line 14 should read “a reconstruction plate[[,]] including:”.
Claim 17 line 1 should read “A reconstruction template apparatus[[,]] comprising:”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 is/are unclear with regards to “template” in lines 2, 4, 6, and 8 and the inconsistent usage thereof. That is, line 2 provides a template including a body, the template of line 4, the template of line 6, the template of line 8, and the template of line 10. However, lines 6-7 specify that the template of line 6 is an opening, lines 8-9 specify that the template of line 8 is an opening, and lines 10-11 specify that the template of line 10 is an opening. Review of the specification appears to use the same inconsistent interpretation of “template”; where 900 is template consistent with the ordinary meaning of the term, i.e. “a gauge, pattern, or mold (such as a thin plate or board) used as a guide to the form of a piece being made” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/template), but 905, 910, and 915 are openings that are also termed template with no alternative definition provided for “template”. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as,
“a first plantar plate slot
a first bone fastener opening disposed along the bodyand configured to receive the drill therein, and
a first implant opening disposed along the body and aligned with the first plantar plate slot opening being opening being orthogonal to an axis through the first plantar plate slot
in claim 1 lines 6-13 and is using this interpretation throughout the claims and suggests amending similarly throughout the claims as appropriate.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 each recites/recite the limitation "the dental implant opening" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “the first implant opening”.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 recites/recite the limitation "the bone template" in line 1 and 2 of claim 9 and lines 1, 2, 3, and 3 of claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “the [[bone]]reconstruction template”.
Claim(s) 14 is/are unclear with regards to “the reconstruction plate includes a second plantar plate slot disposed proximal to the first plantar plate slot” in lines 1-2. Claim(s) 14 recites/recite the limitation "the first plantar plate slot" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. That is, there appears to be no disclosure of the reconstruction plate 999 comprising slots. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “wherein relative to the first plantar plate slot
Claim(s) 16 recites/recite the limitation "the main bracket of the reconstruction template" in line 2 and line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. That is, the recited main bracket is a feature of the plate of claim 1 line 14 and not the template of claim 1 line 2. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “wherein a first side of the main bracket
Claim(s) 17 is/are unclear with regards to “A reconstruction template apparatus” in line 1 as such appears to use “template” to require a distinct interpretation from the ‘template’s 900, 905, 910, and 915. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “A reconstruction [[tem]]plate apparatus”.
Claim(s) 20 recites/recite the limitation "the reconstruction template" in line 2 and line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “wherein a first side of the main bracket
Claim(s) 2,3, 6-8, 11-13, 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moos et al. (WO 2022/164943, hereinafter “Moos”) in view of Bassett et al. (US 2011/0008754, hereinafter “Bassett”), further in view of Kubiak et al. (US 2013/0267955, hereinafter “Kubiak”).
The claimed phrase “formed” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
As to claims 1-3, 5, and 8-16, Moos discloses a mandible reconstruction and dental implant system (Figs. 1-4B and 20) comprising: a first reconstruction template (11, Figs. 1-4B) including: a body (Figs 1-4B), a first cutting guide (surface as left 32 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) disposed at a first edge of the body (as defined, Fig. 1) and a second cutting guide (surface as left 31 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) disposed at a second edge of the body (as defined, Fig. 1), a first bone fastener opening (generally circular openings shown in 11 in Figs. 1-3, Figs. 1-3) disposed along the body (Figs. 1-3) and capable of receiving a drill therein (due to the shown structure, such is capable of receiving an appropriately sized drill/drill bit, Figs. 1-3, page 14 lines 1-5, page 11 lines 23-25), and a reconstruction plate (Fig. 20) including: a main bracket (Fig. 20), wherein the reconstruction plate comprises titanium (page 14 lines 2-3). As to claim 2, Moos discloses that the main bracket includes at least one opening (Fig. 20) capable of receiving a fastener (“screw” of page 14 line 2) therein to attach the main bracket to an abutting bone segment (page 14 lines 1-5). As to claim 9, Moos discloses that a cross-sectional shape of the reconstruction template is C-shaped (Figs. 4A and 4B) and the reconstruction template is capable of engaging a donor bone via a push fit (Figs. 4A and 4B). As to claim 10, Moos discloses that a cross-sectional shape of the reconstruction template is circular with split semicircles (Figs. 1-4B), and the reconstruction template is capable of engaging a donor bone by opening the reconstruction template and arranging the reconstruction template on the donor bone (Figs. 1-4B). As to claim 11, Moos discloses a second reconstruction template (12, Figs. 1-4B), the first reconstruction template and the second reconstruction template being attached to one another via a template segment connector (13, Figs. 1-4B). As to claim 15, Moos discloses that a material of the reconstruction plate is titanium (page 14 lines 2-3) and the reconstruction plate is formed via additive manufacturing (Fig. 20). As to claim 16, Moos discloses that a first side of the main bracket is capable of being fixated to a first mandible stump (Fig. 20) and a second side of the main bracket is capable of being fixated to a second mandible stump (Fig. 20).
Moos is silent to a first plantar plate slot disposed along the body, the first plantar plate slot being an opening configured to receive a drill therein, a first implant opening disposed along the body and aligned with the first plantar plate slot, the first implant opening being configured to receive a drill therein, an axis through the first implant opening being orthogonal to an axis through the first plantar plate slot; and a first plantar plate protruding orthogonally from the main bracket, the first plantar plate including an aperture. As to claim 3, Moos is silent to the aperture includes threading for receiving and frictionally securing a complementary threading inserted therein. As to claim 5, Moos is silent to a dental implant configured to be inserted through an opening in a bone formed using the first implant opening and coupled to the plantar plate. As to claim 8, Moos is silent to a cross-sectional shape of the plantar plate slot template is rectangular, and a cross-sectional shape of the plantar plate is a complementary rectangular shape to the plantar plate slot template. As to claim 12, Moos is silent to an arrangement of the plantar plate slot is aligned with the bone fastener opening along a length of the body. As to claim 13, Moos is silent to the arrangement of the bone fastener opening is not aligned with the implant opening along the length of the body. As to claim 14, Moos is silent to the reconstruction template includes a second plantar plate slot arranged at a location relative to the first plantar plate slot.
Bassett teaches a similar mandible reconstruction and dental implant system (Fig. 17, ¶72) comprising: a first plantar plate (202) protruding orthogonally from a surface (208, Fig. 17, ¶72) within a porous material (200, Fig. 17, ¶72), the first plantar plate including an aperture (212, Fig. 17, ¶72) capable of receiving a dental implant (204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported), and a dental implant (204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported). As to claim 3, Bassett teaches the aperture includes threading (female threads of 212 as disclosed in ¶72, Fig. 17, ¶72) capable of receiving and frictionally securing a complementary threading (male threads mating with 212 as disclosed in ¶72, Fig. 17, ¶72) inserted therein (Fig. 17, ¶72). As to claim 5, Bassett teaches a dental implant (204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported) capable of being inserted through an opening in a bone (Fig. 17). As to claim 8, Bassett teaches that a cross-sectional shape of the plantar plate is a rectangular shape (Fig. 17). As to claim 13, Bassett teaches that the arrangement of the plantar plate is aligned with the implant bone opening along a length of the body (vertically spaced as shown in Fig. 17, Fig. 17).
Kubiak teaches a similar bone repair system (Figs. 1A-1C, abstract) comprising: a bone plate (10) including: a main bracket (12) comprising openings (30s) capable of receiving fasteners (fasteners of ¶74, ¶74) capable of fastening the plate to bone portions (¶74), and a first plantar plate (16 and 18 of 14, Fig. 1A, ¶72) protruding substantially orthogonally from the main bracket (Figs. 1A-1C, ¶81); wherein the bone plate comprises titanium (¶s 81 and 82). As to claim 12, Kubiak teaches an arrangement of the plantar plate is aligned with the main bracket fastener opening along a length of the body (vertically aligned as shown in Fig. 1B, Fig. 1B). As to claim 13, Kubiak teaches that the arrangement of the main bracket fastener opening is not aligned with a surface orthogonal to the plantar plate along the length of the body (vertically spaced as shown in Fig. 1B, Fig. 1B). As to claim 14, Kubiak teaches that the reconstruction template includes a second plantar plate (the other of 16, 18, Fig. 1A) arranged at a location relative to the first plantar plate (Fig. 1A).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the system as disclosed by Moos by adding a plantar plate and dental implant as taught by Bassett in order to aid in joining multiple sections of porous material (Bassett ¶72) and permit immediate restoration of dental surfaces (Bassett ¶65). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the orthogonally oriented main bracket and the plantar plate as disclosed by Moos and Bassett to be connected such that the plate is part of the bracket as taught by Kubiak in order to increase torsional stiffness as compared with traditional plates (Kubiak ¶83) and may allow the main bracket to have a thinner profile (Kubiak ¶83) and thereby improve the facial appearance following post-operative healing.
In forming the combination, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the template of Moos with appropriately sized and positioned openings corresponding to the plantar plate and dental implant taught by Bassett as connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak, since Applicant has not disclosed that such is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a cutting guide (Moos page 14 lines 1-5) that allows drilling of bone segments (Moos page 14 lines 1-5) to fix them to the reconstruction plate (Moos Fig. 20) to quickly and accurately take bone segments from a patient’s fibula with correct positioning on the mandible (Moos page 3 lines 10-20).
Thus, as to claim 1, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses a first plantar plate slot (to create the bone opening for Bassett 202, Fig. 17, ¶72 when connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak 16, 18, Figs. 1A-1C) disposed along the body (between fastener openings of Moos Figs. 1 and 20 as modified with the plantar plate of Bassett connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak), the first plantar plate slot being an opening (as defined) capable of receiving a drill therein (Moos Figs. 1-3, page 14 lines 1-5, page 11 lines 23-25), a first implant opening (to create the bone opening for Bassett 204, Fig. 17, ¶72) disposed along the body (between fastener openings of Moos Figs. 1 and 20 as modified with the plantar plate of Bassett connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak) and aligned with the first plantar plate slot (to achieve the positioning necessary for the alignment of Bassett Fig. 17 between the plantar plate and the implant), the first implant opening being capable of receiving a drill therein (Moos Figs. 1-3, page 14 lines 1-5, page 11 lines 23-25), an axis through the first implant opening being orthogonal to an axis through the first plantar plate slot (to achieve the positioning necessary for the alignment of Bassett Fig. 17 between the plantar plate and the implant). As to claim 5, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak teaches a dental implant (Bassett 204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported) capable of being inserted through an opening in a bone (Bassett Fig. 17) formed using the first implant opening and coupled to the plantar plate (to create the bone opening for Bassett 202, Fig. 17, ¶72 when connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak 16, 18, Figs. 1A-1C). As to claim 8, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses a cross-sectional shape of the plantar plate slot is rectangular (to create the bone opening for Bassett 202, Fig. 17, ¶72 when connected to the main bracket as taught by Kubiak 16, 18, Figs. 1A-1C), and a cross-sectional shape of the plantar plate is a complementary rectangular shape (as defined, Fig. 17) to the plantar plate slot (as defined).
As to claim 12, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses an arrangement of the plantar plate slot is aligned with the bone fastener opening along a length of the body (as defined, Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B). As to claim 13, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses the arrangement of the bone fastener opening is not aligned with the implant opening along the length of the body (as defined, Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B). As to claim 14, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses that the reconstruction template includes a second plantar plate slot (as defined, Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B) arranged at a location relative to the first plantar plate slot (as defined, Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B).
As to claims 17-20, Moos discloses reconstruction plate apparatus (Fig. 20) comprising: a main bracket (Fig. 20), wherein the reconstruction plate comprises titanium (page 14 lines 2-3). As to claim 18, Moos discloses that the main bracket includes at least one opening (Fig. 20) capable of receiving a fastener (“screw” of page 14 line 2) therein to attach the main bracket to an abutting bone segment (page 14 lines 1-5). As to claim 20, Moos discloses that a first side of the main bracket is capable of being fixated to a first mandible stump (Fig. 20) and a second side of the main bracket is capable of being fixated to a second mandible stump (Fig. 20).
Moos is silent to a first plantar plate protruding orthogonally from the main bracket, the first plantar plate including an aperture. As to claim 19, Moos is silent to the aperture includes threading for receiving and frictionally securing a complementary threading inserted therein.
Bassett teaches a similar reconstruction plate system (Fig. 17, ¶72) comprising: a first plantar plate (202) protruding orthogonally from a surface (208, Fig. 17, ¶72) within a porous material (200, Fig. 17, ¶72), the first plantar plate including an aperture (212, Fig. 17, ¶72) capable of receiving a dental implant (204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported), and a dental implant (204, Fig. 17, ¶72 discloses 204 is a post on which a tooth crown may be fastened or supported). As to claim 19, Bassett teaches the aperture includes threading (female threads of 212 as disclosed in ¶72, Fig. 17, ¶72) capable of receiving and frictionally securing a complementary threading (male threads mating with 212 as disclosed in ¶72, Fig. 17, ¶72) inserted therein (Fig. 17, ¶72).
Kubiak teaches a similar bone repair system (Figs. 1A-1C, abstract) comprising: a bone plate (10) including: a main bracket (12) comprising openings (30s) capable of receiving fasteners (fasteners of ¶74, ¶74) capable of fastening the plate to bone portions (¶74), and a first plantar plate (16 and 18 of 14, Fig. 1A, ¶72) protruding substantially orthogonally from the main bracket (Figs. 1A-1C, ¶81); wherein the bone plate comprises titanium (¶s 81 and 82).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the system as disclosed by Moos by adding a plantar plate and dental implant as taught by Bassett in order to aid in joining multiple sections of porous material (Bassett ¶72) and permit immediate restoration of dental surfaces (Bassett ¶65). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the orthogonally oriented main bracket and the plantar plate as disclosed by Moos and Bassett to be connected such that the plate is part of the bracket as taught by Kubiak in order to increase torsional stiffness as compared with traditional plates (Kubiak ¶83) and may allow the main bracket to have a thinner profile (Kubiak ¶83) and thereby improve the facial appearance following post-operative healing.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak in view of Carchidi et al. (US 5,971,985, hereinafter “Carchidi”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses the invention of claim 1.
The combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak is silent to a positioning pin configured to be inserted through an opening in a bone formed using the first implant opening and coupled to the plantar plate.
Carchidi teaches a positioning pin (10) capable of being inserted through an opening in a bone (abstract) for fixing and retaining tissue grafts and synthetic membranes directly to a maxillofacial bone graft site (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to the system as disclosed by the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak by adding the positioning pin as taught by Carchidi in order to fix and retain grafts directly to a maxillofacial bone graft site (Carchidi abstract) while being easily inserted and removed from the graft site without compromising its fixation (Carchidi abstract).
In forming the combination, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the positioning pin of the combination of Moos, Bassett, Kubiak, and Carchidi is appropriately sized for insertion in the first implant opening and coupling to the plantar plate, since Applicant has not disclosed that such is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for temporarily fixing and retaining the plate within the bone graft (Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B; Carchidi Fig. 1, abstract) to fix them to the reconstruction plate (Moos Fig. 20) to aid in quickly and accurately taking bone segments from a patient’s fibula with correct positioning on the mandible (Moos page 3 lines 10-20).
Thus, as to claim 1, the combination of Moos, Bassett, Kubiak, and Carchidi discloses a positioning pin (Carchidi Fig. 1) capable of being inserted through an opening in a bone formed using the first implant opening and coupled to the plantar plate (Moos Fig. 1; Bassett Fig. 17; Kubiak Fig. 1B; Carchidi Fig. 1, abstract).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak in view of Toranto (US 2022/0362023).
As to claims 6 and 7, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak discloses the invention of claim 1.
The combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak is silent to an angle of a plane of the first cutting guide is based on an obtained medical image. As to claim 7, the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak is silent to an angle of a plane of the second cutting guide is based on the obtained medical image.
Toranto teaches a similar mandible reconstruction and dental implant system (Figs. 3 and 22C) comprising: a first reconstruction template (300, Fig. 3) including: a body (Fig. 3), a first cutting guide (left slot of 310/410 as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, Figs. 3 and 4) disposed at a first edge of the body (Figs. 3 and 4) and a second cutting guide (right edge surface of 310/410 as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, Figs. 3 and 4) disposed at a second edge of the body (Figs. 3 and 4); and a reconstruction plate (Fig. 22C) including: a main bracket (Fig. 22C) that is 3D printed out of titanium alloy (¶101); wherein an angle of a plane of the first cutting guide is based on an obtained medical image (112, 124/128, Fig. 1, ¶s 93-95). As to claim 7, Toranto teaches an angle of a plane of the second cutting guide is based on the obtained medical image (112, 124/128, Fig. 1, ¶s 93-95).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the template and plate as disclosed by the combination of Moos, Bassett, and Kubiak to be based on obtained medical images as taught by Toranto in order to provide a patient specific template and plate (Toranto ¶s 92-95) to precisely cut fibular bone grafts at predetermined locations and then conform grafts into a final orientation to construct a neo-mandible (Toranto ¶s 3 and 98).
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775