DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on April 20, 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-13 are now pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-13 remain withdrawn because, as stated in the Restriction Requirement filed on February 19th, 2026; the product as claimed (claims 1-7) can be made by a materially different process such as any method not following the four steps outlined in method claim 8. Making the process dependent to the product does not overcome the restriction because the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)).
If claims 1-7 were directed to an allowable product. Pursuant to the procedures set forth in MPEP § 821.04(B), claim 8-13, directed to the process of making or using an allowable product, previously withdrawn from consideration as a result of a restriction requirement, could be hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the axial flux machine must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the stator's teeth". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-7 are rejected solely due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIL (KR 20210072186 A).
In regards to claim 1, KIL teaches:
A stator core (Fig 1; 14) of nanocrystalline material [0032]for an axial flux electric machine(axial flux machines are well known in the art and all of these practices are not specific to a circumferential machine), which comprises an encapsulated and machined nanocrystalline material for forming the stator's teeth(Fig 1; 15), characterized by the fact that the encapsulation (Fig 1; 12) comprises at least two distinct encapsulation materials (Fig 1; 20) ( heat dissipation filler and a polymer resin[0028])deposited over the nanocrystalline material(Fig 1; 14).
The Applicant should note, KIL discloses the claimed invention except for an axial machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an axial machine over a circumferential one since it was known in the art that these are similar.
In regards to claim 2, KIL teaches the stator core, according to claim 1:
characterized by the fact that at least one of the distinct encapsulation materials is a material able to increase the mechanical rigidity of the stator core(the polymer resin works as a binder; which in turn increase rigidity of the machine [0025]).
In regards to claim 3, KIL teaches the stator core, according to claim 2:
characterized by the fact that the material able to increase the mechanical rigidity (polymer resin) of the stator core (Fig 1; 21) is an epoxy structural resin [0025]constituted by a quartz or silica filler with a percentage of 10% to 50% by mass(silicone resin[0064]).
The Applicant should note, KIL discloses the claimed invention except for the mass of an epoxy structural resin constituting quartz or silica filler by 10% to 50% by mass. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to be 10% to 50% by mass , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 . It is well known in the art that epoxies can be used to support mechanical rigidity, examples are shows in the relevant art section.
In regards to claim 4, KIL teaches the stator core, according to claim 3:
characterized by the fact that the encapsulated stator core (Fig 1; 14)has, after machining thereof, about 10% to 90% by mass of epoxy structural resin encapsulation material(product by process)(Fig 1 shows a device that could reasonably be between 10%-90% by mass).
In regards to claim 5, KIL teaches the stator core, according to claim 1:
characterized by the fact that at least one of the distinct encapsulation materials is a material able to increase the thermal exchange capacity of the electric machine(the heat dispersion filler works to achieve the heat dissipation and EMI shielding effect together [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: KIL teaches:
The stator core, according to claim 5, characterized by the fact that the material able to increase the thermal exchange capacity (the heat dispersion filler )of the electric machine is a thermal property epoxy resin (mixed with resin[0028])constituted by an alumina and silica filler[0014].
However, KIL does not teach:
an alumina and silica filler, with a percentage from 30% to 80% by mass, with minimum thermal conductivity of 0.5W/m.K. (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 6 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of an alumina and silica filler, with a percentage from 30% to 80% by mass, with minimum thermal conductivity of 0.5W/m.K. is too specific which makes it novel in this application.
Claims 6-7 are objected to, and not rejected, because they depend from a claim that contains allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834