DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding: Prior Art Rejections:
Applicant’s amendments and arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are moot due to new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffen et al. US 10908954 B2 in view of Zhu et al. US 20210096911 A1 in view of Kannan et al. US 20160191342 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Steffen teaches the invention substantially as claimed including:
A system comprising:
at least one hardware processor ([0013] a processor); and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to perform operations ([0013] a non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations) comprising:
receiving, from a client, at a server, a service request containing a request to execute a plurality of services from a service catalog of a cloud-based provider ([0004] Applications executing on a data processing system can perform operations by requesting the system to perform specific tasks. It is possible for a single operation to result in several task requests);
modularizing services provided by the cloud-based provider into modules representing modularized processes ([0028] Each process, in turn, can spawn multiple work elements (e.g., tasks, threads, etc.) in service of the various operations. A work element is a thread, task, or other grouping of instructions that are to be executed by the data processing system);
identifying modularized processes that are executable in parallel ([0028] an application can include multiple concurrent processes each performing various operations);
accessing a ranking of the modules ([0010] the priority matrix includes values associated with each of the multiple system priorities, where the multiple system priorities can include a processor priority associated with the one or more processors and an input/output priority associated with the memory storage system. The multiple system priorities can additionally include a throttling priority, a timer latency classification, and a throughput classification; [0063] Each priority matrix in the set of matrices 314 can store multiple sets of values for each priority value within the various subsystems managed based on the QoS service class 302. In one embodiment, each service class has an associated priority matrix. For example the user initiated class can have a matrix indexed by subsystem priority value, system condition value and relative priority. In one embodiment, the priority matrices 314 are indexed as a multi-dimensional priority matrix having a dimension for each of service class 302, system condition 306, and relative priority 304. In one embodiment, a two-dimensional matrix is used that indexes QoS class and relative priority on a first axis and subsystem priority value on a second axis);
based on the ranking and the plurality of services contained in the service request, constructing an execution plan comprising an executable sequence bundling the plurality of services for fulfillment ([0074] A set of concurrent requests by the mail application 510 to read data from the address book 520 can be placed into a request queue 521. The address book 520 can handle the request queue 521 via a task having a separate QoS class than any of the requests. Each request can be concurrently processed at the QoS class of the requester), the executable sequence indicating an ordering of modules of the plurality of services contained in the service request, the ranking defining relative positions of the modules in the executable sequence (Fig 5 Request Queue 521 requests of different QoS classes with relative priorities in order of descending priority; [0075]), and placing modules that involve downtime of a shared application or device in a single contiguous block of the ordering ([0048] Coalescing the timer interrupts can reduce the number of idle state transitions made by the processors 202. The processors 202 enter a low power state when idle. If a processor is in a low power state during the expiration of a timer, the processor will transition to an operational state to handle the timer interrupt. By executing more timers within a processor wakeup than would otherwise occur, the number of processor wakeups can be reduced, which reduces the number of idle state transitions); and
executing the execution plan by executing modules in the execution plan according to the ordering ([0035] Tasks in the user initiated class are executed at a high priority, but not as high of a priority as user interactive tasks. Thus, a task in the user initiated class can preempt all other user tasks other than other than user interactive tasks), with modules having an identical ranking being executed in parallel with each other ([0045] tasks are scheduled with equal priority when resources are not in contention. For example, a task in the user interactive class can be scheduled to execute concurrently with a task in the background class if sufficient execution resources are available), and with the shared application or device being shut down and started back up based on the ordering ([0048] By executing more timers within a processor wakeup than would otherwise occur, the number of processor wakeups can be reduced, which reduces the number of idle state transitions. Reducing the number of idle state transitions increases the amount of time the processors 202 can spend in a low power state, which reduces system power consumption).
Steffen does not explicitly teach the disclosed requesting and servicing taking place between a client and a cloud-based provider; identifying common processes among the modularized processes; the ordering eliminating redundant modules by eliminating duplicate instances of the common processes.
However Zhu teaches the disclosed requesting and servicing taking place between a client and a cloud-based provider ([0009] the cloud computing center comprises a plurality of servers to analyze, summarize, monitor, and count data sent by the edge computing node); identifying common processes among the modularized processes ([0066] get the repeated sub-tasks contained in multiple tasks); the ordering eliminating redundant modules by eliminating duplicate instances of the common processes ([0066] and integrate and remove duplicates to form a sub-task workflow).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Zhu’s cloud workflow task deduplication with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of reducing task allocation resource consumption and time (see Zhu [0090] Circle graph (DAG), which traverses the workflow (DAG) of multiple tasks in a time interval, so as to find the repeated subtasks contained in multiple tasks, and backward compatible and merge them, thereby reducing the resources of repeated tasks Consumption, speed up effective task allocation).
While Steffen discloses categories of services in the form of QoS Classes ([0031] the service classes include a user interactive class, a user initiated class, a utility class, and a background class), Steffen and Zhu do not explicitly teach receiving, from a client, at a server, a service request containing a request to execute a plurality of services from a service catalog of a cloud-based provider.
However, Kannan teaches receiving, from a client, at a server, a service request containing a request to execute a plurality of services from a service catalog of a cloud-based provider ([0048] In response to the request, the cloud service registry 72 would build a composite cloud service package based on the different categories of available cloud services that meet the requirements stated in the request from the cloud customer. For example, if a cloud customer requested a desktop publishing service that including requirements for photographic editing, graphic filters, color printing, and PDF creation, the cloud service registry 72 may build a packaged cloud service that included cloud services for photographic editing and PDF creation, cloud services for color printing services, and cloud services for graphic filters from various providers).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Kannan’s cloud service registry with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of matching cloud customers with cloud services best suited for the customer’s use case and requirements (see Kannan [0049] The cloud service registry 72 would act as a hub and update its available services in real-time and create a custom cloud service based on the modular needs of the cloud customer. The needs of the client are filled based on specific application requirements).
Regarding claim 2, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: using the ranking and the plurality of services to identify a length of downtime needed to execute the service request ([0046] the tasks in a low priority service class can be forced to periodically idle to preserve processor resources for other tasks); and
identifying one or more available time slots based on the length of downtime needed ([0046] The selective forced idle can be based on the primary schedule priority for a QoS class, or a separate value can be used to determine if and how often a task is forced to idle); and sending the one or more available time slots to the client ([0046] This can be used to ensure a minimum amount of processing resources are always available to schedule unanticipated high-priority tasks; Examiner notes: periodic forced idling periods assigned to clients high priority tasks).
Regarding claim 3, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 2.
Steffen further teaches wherein the executing is performed in response to a determination that a current time matches a beginning time of a selected time slot, as indicated by the client, of the one or more available time slots ([0047] Instead of having a fixed execution time for each timer, an embodiment allows each timer to be executed within a scheduling window of the timer. The scheduling window is defined by an initial execution time and a latency time. The initial execution time is the time when the timer is initially scheduled to be executed. The latency time is the length of the window in which the timer can be executed. The timer can then be executed at any time in the timer scheduling window).
Regarding claim 9, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen further teaches wherein the ranking excludes modules executed during pre-processing or post-processing of a service ([0068] the QoS override for a task expresses that an item of pending work classified with a specific QoS class and relative priority depends on the completion of the work currently being executed by the task; Examiner notes: the current work performed by the task informs QoS override relative priority not prior or future work).
Regarding claim 10-12, they are the methods of claims 1-3 respectively. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-3 respectively.
Regarding claim 17, it is the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1 respectively. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 respectively.
Steffen further teaches non-transitory machine-readable medium ([0013] a non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations).
Regarding claims 18-19, they are the non-transitory machine-readable media of claims 2-3 respectively. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-3 respectively.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 13-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffen et al. US 10908954 B2 in view of Zhu et al. US 20210096911 A1 in view of Kannan et al. US 20160191342 A1 in view of MV et al. US 20250342060 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen and Jiang do not explicitly teach wherein the ranking is generated using a modularization machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to identify, for each service provided by the cloud-based provider, a set of one or more modules used to execute a corresponding service.
However, MV teaches wherein the ranking is generated using a modularization machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to identify, for each service provided by the cloud-based provider, a set of one or more modules used to execute a corresponding service ([0032] The state predicted for a given one of the services 122 can include information indicating (i) whether a resource configuration can be improved for the given service and/or (ii) a priority of the given service; [0083] Step 606 includes assigning a new resource allocation to at least one service in the set of services using a second machine learning model comprising: (i) a prediction component that predicts the new resource allocation based at least in part on the determined one or more states corresponding to the at least one service; and (ii) a feedback component that updates the prediction component based on an evaluation of the predicted new resource allocation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined MV’s machine learning model for allocating resources for a set of services with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of reducing service latency by utilizing iterative machine learning to select optimal resources to perform services (see MV [0003] provide a machine learning framework that can automatically detect and improve resource allocations for one or more services (e.g., edge services). Additionally, one or more embodiments can adjust resource allocations to reduce latency based on respective priorities of applications and services.).
Regarding claim 5, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen and Jiang do not explicitly teach wherein the ranking is generated using a ranking machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to rank each module of each service provided by the cloud-based provider based on priority.
However, MV teaches wherein the ranking is generated using a ranking machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to rank each module of each service provided by the cloud-based provider based on priority ([0040] the first machine learning model 214 also determines respective priorities for the services. For example, the first machine learning model 214 can predict a priority bucket (or category) for each edge service, where each bucket corresponds to a policy for resource allocations having different priorities (none, low, medium, and high priorities, as non-limiting examples). The first machine learning model 214 can predict the priority for a given edge service based on one or more resource requirements and one or more performance thresholds (e.g., quality of service (QOS) thresholds)).
Regarding claim 7, Steffen, Zhu, Kannan, and MV teach the system of claim 4.
MV further teaches wherein the modularization machine learning model is a neural network ([0033] The second machine learning model 116 may comprise a deep reinforcement learning network).
Regarding claim 8, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen and Jiang do not explicitly teach wherein the ranking is generated using modularization machine learning model trained by a first machine learning algorithm to identify, for each service provided by the cloud-based provider, a set of one or more modules used to execute a corresponding service, the set of one or more modules passed to a ranking machine learning model trained by a second machine learning algorithm to rank each module of each service provided by the cloud-based provider based on priority.
MV further teaches wherein the ranking is generated using modularization machine learning model trained by a first machine learning algorithm to identify, for each service provided by the cloud-based provider, a set of one or more modules used to execute a corresponding service ([0083] Step 606 includes assigning a new resource allocation to at least one service in the set of services using a second machine learning model comprising: (i) a prediction component that predicts the new resource allocation based at least in part on the determined one or more states corresponding to the at least one service; and (ii) a feedback component that updates the prediction component based on an evaluation of the predicted new resource allocation), the set of one or more modules passed to a ranking machine learning model trained by a second machine learning algorithm to rank each module of each service provided by the cloud-based provider based on priority ([0040] the first machine learning model 214 is trained to predict whether the resource allocation of the edge network 202 can be improved. The first machine learning model 214 can process the usage data 203, corresponding to one or more time periods, in the usage data store 206 to determine whether the resources allocated to the edge network 202 can be improved … the first machine learning model 214 also determines respective priorities for the services. For example, the first machine learning model 214 can predict a priority bucket (or category) for each edge service, where each bucket corresponds to a policy for resource allocations having different priorities (none, low, medium, and high priorities, as non-limiting examples). The first machine learning model 214 can predict the priority for a given edge service based on one or more resource requirements and one or more performance thresholds (e.g., quality of service (QOS) thresholds; Examiner notes: first machine learning model on a subsequent iteration of improvement is passed the previously allocated resources for the service for improvement analysis).
Regarding claims 13-14, and 16, they are the methods of claims 4-5 and 7 respectively. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 4-5 and 7 respectively.
Regarding claim 20, it is the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 4 respectively. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 respectively.
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffen et al. US 10908954 B2 in view of Zhu et al. US 20210096911 A1 in view of Kannan et al. US 20160191342 A1 in view of Love et al. US 20240296186 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Steffen, Zhu, and Kannan teach the system of claim 1.
Steffen and Jiang do not explicitly teach wherein the service request is generated by the client via a natural language machine learning model that takes a natural language request by a user, the natural language request not explicitly identifying the plurality of services, and identifies the plurality of services.
However, Love teaches wherein the service request is generated by the client via a natural language machine learning model that takes a natural language request by a user (Fig 2; [0087] FIG. 2 is block diagram that illustrates an exemplary process flow 200 demonstrating how the language model 140 can operate as an intermediary to facilitate scheduling or ordering of service offerings 190 provided by service provider platforms 180; [0090] At step 210, the user request 171 received via the client interface 135 is provided to language model 140), the natural language request not explicitly identifying the plurality of services, and identifies the plurality of services ([0091] Staying with the above example, the language model 140 can analyze the user request 171 for scheduling a ride. This analysis can enable the language model 140 to identify the type of service offering 190 being requested (e.g., ride hailing services) and service provider platforms 180 that provide the service offering 190. The language model 140 can further discern the service options 175 requested by the user (i.e., specifying a SUV vehicle type, pickup time in less than 10 minutes, and the lowest price offered by one of the service provider platforms 180).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Love’s language model intermediary between client and service providers with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of automating service requesting and provisioning (see Love [0022] The language model can translate and discern the meaning or intention of inputs received via the client interface, and communicate with each of the service provider platforms to respond to user requests and/or other inputs provided by end-users via the client interface. This avoids the end-user having to manually access and compare service options offered by various service provider platforms).
Regarding claim 15, it is the method of claim 6 respectively. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to HARRISON LI whose telephone number is (703) 756-1469. The
examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:30pm ET.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Aimee Li can be reached on (571) 272-4169. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/H.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195