DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2024 and 02/17/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong et al. (US 2018/0039387 A1) in view of Migos et al. (US 201280240074 A1).
8. With reference to claim 1, Cheong teaches An electronic device comprising: a display module, comprising a display, configured to change a size of a display screen; (“A display 160 may be disposed on a front surface 102 of the electronic device 101. The display 160 may be formed so as to occupy most of the front surface 102 of the electronic device 101.” [0042] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed. For example, in the state of displaying the default screen 600, the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 displayed in an overlay form may be invoked in response to folding interaction, and the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 may be hidden in response to unfolding interaction.” [0116]) Cheong also teaches a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively configured to execute the computer-executable instructions by accessing the memory, (“The electronic device 201 may include at least one processor (e.g., an AP) 210, a communication module 220, a subscriber identification module 224, a memory 230, a sensor module 240, an input apparatus 250, a display 260, an interface 270, an audio module 280, a camera module 291, a power management module 295, a battery 296, an indicator 297, and a motor 298. The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “At least part of the device (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or the method (e.g., operations) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented by an instruction, which is stored in a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., the memory 430), in the form of a program module. When the instruction is executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 420), the processor may perform a function corresponding to the instruction. The computer-readable recoding medium may include magnetic media, such as a hard disk, a floppy disk, and a magnetic tape; optical media, such as a Compact Disc Read Only Memory (CD-ROM) and a Digital Versatile Disc (DVD); magneto-optical media, such as a floptical disk; an internal memory; and/or the like.” [0228]) Cheong further teaches when the size of the display screen changes while displaying an image, change a size of the image while maintaining an image ratio. (“Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133])
Cheong does not explicitly teach a first navigation bar, terminate an output of the first navigation bar and initiate an output of a second navigation bar. This is what Migos teaches (“The device displays a page of a first multi-page section of a document (e.g., a chapter, lesson, act, or other logical division of a multi-page document) and a navigation bar configured to navigate through only pages in the first multi-page section of the document (602). For example, FIG. 5A shows page 504 of a multi-page section (Federalist No. 78) of document 502 (Federalist Papers) displayed on touch-sensitive display 112. Also displayed is a navigation bar that includes progress bar 506 and scrubber 508 for navigating within just the current section.” [0175] “in response to receiving the input, the device displays (in conjunction with displaying the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document) a navigation bar for navigating through only pages of the second multi-page section of the document (628). For example, in FIG. 5C, a navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is displayed. The navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is just for navigating through the pages in Federalist No. 81.” [0188] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
9. With reference to claim 2, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, when the size of the display screen changes, detect a margin area located in the display screen, (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed. For example, in the state of displaying the default screen 600, the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 displayed in an overlay form may be invoked in response to folding interaction, and the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 may be hidden in response to unfolding interaction.” [0116] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133])
Cheong does not explicitly teach determine whether to output the second navigation bar, based on a comparison between the detected margin area and the second navigation bar. This is what Migos teaches (“Event comparator 184 compares the event information to predefined event or sub-event definitions and, based on the comparison, determines an event or sub-event, or determines or updates the state of an event or sub-event. In some embodiments, event comparator 184 includes event definitions 186. Event definitions 186 contain definitions of events (e.g., predefined sequences of sub-events), for example, event 1 (187-1), event 2 (187-2), and others. In some embodiments, sub-events in an event 187 include, for example, touch begin, touch end, touch movement, touch cancellation, and multiple touching. In one example, the definition for event 1 (187-1) is a double tap on a displayed object. The double tap, for example, comprises a first touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a first lift-off (touch end) for a predetermined phase, a second touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, and a second lift-off (touch end) for a predetermined phase. In another example, the definition for event 2 (187-2) is a dragging on a displayed object. … event definition 187 includes a definition of an event for a respective user-interface object. In some embodiments, event comparator 184 performs a hit test to determine which user-interface object is associated with a sub-event. For example, in an application view in which three user-interface objects are displayed on touch-sensitive display 112, when a touch is detected on touch-sensitive display 112, event comparator 184 performs a hit test to determine which of the three user-interface objects is associated with the touch (sub-event). If each displayed object is associated with a respective event handler 190, the event comparator uses the result of the hit test to determine which event handler 190 should be activated. For example, event comparator 184 selects an event handler associated with the sub-event and the object triggering the hit test.” [0113-0114] “in response to receiving the input, the device displays (in conjunction with displaying the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document) a navigation bar for navigating through only pages of the second multi-page section of the document (628). For example, in FIG. 5C, a navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is displayed. The navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is just for navigating through the pages in Federalist No. 81.” [0188] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
10. With reference to claim 3, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, when the image has a first expansion size representing a maximum and/or high expandable size of the image while maintaining the image ratio in a state (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed. For example, in the state of displaying the default screen 600, the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 displayed in an overlay form may be invoked in response to folding interaction, and the second window (e.g., an alpha screen) 607 may be hidden in response to unfolding interaction.” [0116] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133])
Cheong does not explicitly teach the first navigation bar is displayed, compare the detected margin area with the second navigation bar. This is what Migos teaches (“Event comparator 184 compares the event information to predefined event or sub-event definitions and, based on the comparison, determines an event or sub-event, or determines or updates the state of an event or sub-event. In some embodiments, event comparator 184 includes event definitions 186. Event definitions 186 contain definitions of events (e.g., predefined sequences of sub-events), for example, event 1 (187-1), event 2 (187-2), and others. In some embodiments, sub-events in an event 187 include, for example, touch begin, touch end, touch movement, touch cancellation, and multiple touching. In one example, the definition for event 1 (187-1) is a double tap on a displayed object. The double tap, for example, comprises a first touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a first lift-off (touch end) for a predetermined phase, a second touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, and a second lift-off (touch end) for a predetermined phase. In another example, the definition for event 2 (187-2) is a dragging on a displayed object. … event definition 187 includes a definition of an event for a respective user-interface object. In some embodiments, event comparator 184 performs a hit test to determine which user-interface object is associated with a sub-event. For example, in an application view in which three user-interface objects are displayed on touch-sensitive display 112, when a touch is detected on touch-sensitive display 112, event comparator 184 performs a hit test to determine which of the three user-interface objects is associated with the touch (sub-event). If each displayed object is associated with a respective event handler 190, the event comparator uses the result of the hit test to determine which event handler 190 should be activated. For example, event comparator 184 selects an event handler associated with the sub-event and the object triggering the hit test.” [0113-0114] “The device displays a page of a first multi-page section of a document (e.g., a chapter, lesson, act, or other logical division of a multi-page document) and a navigation bar configured to navigate through only pages in the first multi-page section of the document (602). For example, FIG. 5A shows page 504 of a multi-page section (Federalist No. 78) of document 502 (Federalist Papers) displayed on touch-sensitive display 112. Also displayed is a navigation bar that includes progress bar 506 and scrubber 508 for navigating within just the current section.” [0175] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
11. With reference to claim 4, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, expand the image to a second expansion size such that a length along a second axis of the image having the first expansion size expands to a length along a second axis of an area while maintaining the image ratio, and a first axis is an axis that is parallel to a direction in which the display screen expands, and the second axis is an axis that is orthogonal to the first axis. (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133] “an input which moves from a first end along a widthwise direction of the display or a position close to the first end to a second end located on the opposite side of the first end or a position close to the second end, a folding/bending/motion input for folding or bending the electronic device, and a voice input. The electronic device may configure a first area and a second area on the display in response to the input. For example, at least part of an entire display area (or a full screen) of the display may be divided into multiple areas (e.g., a first area and a second area) in a lengthwise direction. For example, the electronic device may divide the entire display area (or the full screen) of the display into a first area and a second area in the lengthwise direction in response to the input.” [0158])
Cheong does not explicitly teach when determining to output the second navigation bar, where the first navigation bar was displayed. This is what Migos teaches (“The device displays a page of a first multi-page section of a document (e.g., a chapter, lesson, act, or other logical division of a multi-page document) and a navigation bar configured to navigate through only pages in the first multi-page section of the document (602). For example, FIG. 5A shows page 504 of a multi-page section (Federalist No. 78) of document 502 (Federalist Papers) displayed on touch-sensitive display 112. Also displayed is a navigation bar that includes progress bar 506 and scrubber 508 for navigating within just the current section.” [0175] “in response to receiving the input, the device displays (in conjunction with displaying the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document) a navigation bar for navigating through only pages of the second multi-page section of the document (628). For example, in FIG. 5C, a navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is displayed. The navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is just for navigating through the pages in Federalist No. 81.” [0188] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
12. With reference to claim 9, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, in a state when the image is displayed, based on a user input requesting the expansion to the second expansion size representing a maximum and/or high expandable size of the image, expand the display screen in a first direction such that the image has the second expansion size. (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133] “the electronic device may control the first application to expand and display one of the first and second graphic elements in an area obtained by adding the first and second areas together or in at least a partial area (or a full screen) of the display in response to a third input. For example, the third input may be at least one of a touch input having a direction/pattern/trajectory opposite to the first input, an input (or a touch/hovering/swipe input) which at least partially traverses the display in a second direction opposite to the first direction, an unfolding/motion input for unfolding the electronic device, and a voice input.” [0190])
Cheong does not explicitly teach the second navigation bar. This is what Migos teaches (“in response to receiving the input, the device displays (in conjunction with displaying the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document) a navigation bar for navigating through only pages of the second multi-page section of the document (628). For example, in FIG. 5C, a navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is displayed. The navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is just for navigating through the pages in Federalist No. 81.” [0188] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
13. With reference to claim 10, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, when displaying the image on a first window and separately generating a second window distinguished from the first window, and expand the size of the image while maintaining the image ratio by using at least the area. (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed.” [0116] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133])
Cheong does not explicitly teach terminate the output of the first navigation bar in the first window, maintain the output of the first navigation bar in the second window, where the first navigation bar was displayed on the first window. This is what Migos teaches (“the device displays a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., a page in another chapter of the document) (614). For example, in FIGS. 5A-5B, in response to detection of gesture 514 on scrubber 508, navigation interface 516, which includes, for example, multi-section progress bar 518 and scrubber 520, is displayed.” [0181] “in response to receiving the input, the device displays (in conjunction with displaying the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document) a navigation bar for navigating through only pages of the second multi-page section of the document (628). For example, in FIG. 5C, a navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is displayed. The navigation bar that includes progress bar 532 and scrubber 534 is just for navigating through the pages in Federalist No. 81.” [0188] “detect a predefined gesture at a location on the touch-sensitive surface unit 704 that corresponds to a predefined portion of the navigation bar (e.g., with the detecting unit 708); in response to detecting the predefined gesture, enable display of a navigation user interface that enables selection of a page of the document that is outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710); receive an input in the navigation user interface that indicates selection of a page of a second multi-page section of the document outside of the first multi-page section (e.g., with the receiving unit 712); and in response to receiving the input, enable display of the selected page of the second multi-page section of the document (e.g., with the display enabling unit 710).” [0191]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Migos into Cheong, in order to reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface.
14. With reference to claim 11, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, by expanding an area occupied by the first window and reducing an area occupied by the second window, expand the size of the image while maintaining the image ratio. (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed.” [0116] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133] “the electronic device may control the first application to expand and display one of the first and second graphic elements in an area obtained by adding the first and second areas together or in at least a partial area (or a full screen) of the display in response to a third input.” [0190])
15. With reference to claim 12, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, when a resolution of the image is not degraded according to the expansion of the image, based on the expansion of the display screen, expand the image while maintaining the image ratio. (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075] “in a state of displaying the default screen 600, the default screen 600 may be switched to a first screen 610 on which a second window 607 having a ratio of 8:9 is displayed in an overlay form in the first window 605 having a ratio of 24:9 in response to the type of event related to screen division. At this time, in the case of a split mode which is not the overlay form, the size of the first window 615 may be reduced to a ratio of 16:9 and the second screen 620 on which the second window 617 having a ratio of 8:9 shares a common boundary line with the first window 615 may be displayed.” [0116] “Referring to FIG. 8A, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101, 201, or 401) may display an original image at a default screen ratio of 4:3 on the display (e.g., the display 460). Referring to FIG. 8B, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image at a screen ratio of 21:9 on the display. Referring to FIG. 8C, the electronic device may display an image, which is implemented by cropping the original image, at a screen ratio of 24:9 on the display.” [0133] “the electronic device may control the first application to expand and display one of the first and second graphic elements in an area obtained by adding the first and second areas together or in at least a partial area (or a full screen) of the display in response to a third input.” [0190])
16. Claims 13 and 14 are similar in scope to claims 1 and 2, and they are rejected under similar rationale.
17. Claim 15 is similar in scope to the combination of claims 3 and 4, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
18. Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong et al. (US 2018/0039387 A1) and Migos et al. (US 201280240074 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gil et al. (US 2013/0019182A1).
19. With reference to claim 5, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075])
The combination of Cheong and Migos does not explicitly teach when determining to output the second navigation bar, output the second navigation bar by using at least the detected margin area. This is what Gil teaches (“FIG. 3 illustrates placement of an example context based menu over displayed content and on the screen of a touch based device according to embodiments. Example view 302 includes textual content with a portion 304 selected. As discussed above, a context based menu according to embodiments may be displayed in relation to selected content, which may include in some cases displaying the menu over the selected content (e.g., if no free display space is available). Thus, context based menu 306 is shown over the selected portion 304. A system according to embodiments may perform following operations in positioning a context based menu. First, the menu may be tried to be positioned in the margin area immediately to the right of the text currently selected (or left in bidirectional languages like Arabic or Hebrew).” [0035]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gil into the combination of Cheong and Migos, in order to provide a natural and delightful experience.
20. With reference to claim 6, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075])
The combination of Cheong and Migos does not explicitly teach when a length along a first axis of the detected margin area is greater than or equal to a first axis length of the second navigation bar, determine to output the second navigation bar. This is what Gil teaches (“The location of the context based menu may be selected at a fixed location on the user interface or a dynamically selected location based on the selected portion of the displayed content, a displayed content type, available display area, user interface borders, and/or a device type. If there is insufficient display area between the selected content and a user interface border to display the context based menu, the context based menu may be automatically moved to another location on the user interface, its size reduced, or the context based menu displayed partially. Furthermore, the context based menu 212 may be moved, its shape or size adjusted in response to a change in a size of the selected portion of the displayed content, a change in the size of the user interface, or a change in an orientation of the user interface.” [0032]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gil into the combination of Cheong and Migos, in order to provide a natural and delightful experience.
21. With reference to claim 7, the combination of Cheong and Migos does not explicitly teach the first axis length of the second navigation bar is a greater length of a default length preset for the second navigation bar and a length to display at least one icon comprised in the first navigation bar within the second navigation bar. This is what Gil teaches (“In the example configuration of context based menu 502, the menu is circularly shaped with the items positioned in segments radially on the menu. The items (e.g., 504, 506) may include executable commands or links to submenus. In cases, where there are more items than can be fitted onto the menu, one of the items such as the ellipsis item 512 may be used to open another menu with further commands or links. Some of the items may be associated with one or more submenus presenting commands in a particular category. These links may be indicated graphically such as the double arrows 508 near the center of the menu. The launcher indicator 510 at the center of the menu may also be used to collapse the menu.” [0047]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gil into the combination of Cheong and Migos, in order to provide a natural and delightful experience.
22. With reference to claim 8, Cheong teaches at least one processor is individually and/or collectively configured to, (“The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data, by running, for example, an OS or an application program. The processor 210 may be implemented by, for example, a System on Chip (SoC). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the processor 210 may further include a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and/or an image signal processor. The processor 210 may include at least some (e.g., a cellular module 221) of the elements illustrated in FIG. 4B. The processor 210 may load, into a volatile memory, instructions or data received from at least one (e.g., a non-volatile memory) of the other elements and may process the loaded instructions or data, and may store the resulting data in a non-volatile memory.” [0075])
The combination of Cheong and Migos does not explicitly teach at a time at which the second navigation bar is output, when the image has the second expansion size representing a maximum and/or high expandable size of the image in a state in which the second navigation bar is displayed, maintain the size of the image as the display screen is further expanded, and, at a time at which the second navigation bar is output, when the image has a size less than the second expansion size, further expand the size of the image as the display screen is further expanded. This is what Gil teaches (“The location of the context based menu may be selected at a fixed location on the user interface or a dynamically selected location based on the selected portion of the displayed content, a displayed content type, available display area, user interface borders, and/or a device type. If there is insufficient display area between the selected content and a user interface border to display the context based menu, the context based menu may be automatically moved to another location on the user interface, its size reduced, or the context based menu displayed partially. Furthermore, the context based menu 212 may be moved, its shape or size adjusted in response to a change in a size of the selected portion of the displayed content, a change in the size of the user interface, or a change in an orientation of the user interface.” [0032]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gil into the combination of Cheong and Migos, in order to provide a natural and delightful experience.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614