DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1. 9, 17 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2019/0042066) in view of QUINLAN et al (US Pub 2017/0288879).
With respect to claim 1, KIM discloses a multi-screen unlocking method, (par 0001; invention relates to electronic devices, e.g., electronic devices including a plurality of displays) comprising: in response to detecting a first operation on an electronic device, determining, by the electronic device, that a status of the electronic device is a screen-locked state (par 0756; discloses upon detecting a press on the home key or a touch on the display, the electronic device may control the off-state display in the on state. In this case, the electronic device may display a lock screen on the display controlled in the on state. The electronic device may run a lock function for security); displaying, by a first display of the electronic device, a first screen lock interface by using a first application of the electronic device corresponding to the first display; displaying, by a second display of the electronic device, a second screen lock interface by using a second application of the electronic device corresponding to the second display, wherein the first screen lock interface is different from the second screen lock interface (par 0757; discloses the electronic device in the outspread mode may display a first lock screen on the sub display and a second lock screen on the main display. The first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key; fig. 243A; discloses the first lock screen and second lock screen are different from each other; par 0125; discloses the electronic device 101 may display an execution screen of a first application on the first display. The electronic device 101 may display a screen of an application now running on the first display. Par 0126; discloses the electronic device 101 may display, through a second application, another running screen of the first application, an execution screen of the second application, and an image or information associated with the first application or a first content run through the first application);
Kim discloses displaying, by the first application, a first unlocked interface by using the first display, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; displaying, by the second application, a second unlocked interface by using the second display (par 0756; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern; par 0463; discloses the electronic device may detect an input (e.g., a swipe) for unlocking on the second lock screen, and in response, the electronic device may display the previously used screens on the sub display and the main display, respectively);
Kim doesn’t expressly disclose sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device in response to detecting a second operation on the second display; in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; sending, by the first application of the electronic device, a second message to the second application of the electronic device; and in response to the second message, displaying, by the second application, a second unlocked interface;
In the same field of endeavor, QUINLAN discloses system and method for managing access to plurality of applications on a computing device (see abstract); QUINLAN discloses sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device in response to detecting a second operation on the second display (par 0043; discloses the user loads the second group application 220 and proceeds to interact with the second group application 220 via its user interface [step 308]. As discussed above, in the present example the second group application 220 delegates authentication of the user to the first group application 210 and therefore sends an authentication request to the first application using secure inter-application protocol 250 [step 310].); in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; sending, by the first application of the electronic device, a second message to the second application of the electronic device; and in response to the second message, displaying, by the second application, a second unlocked interface (par 0043; discloses Upon receipt of the authentication request, the first group application 210 confirms that the user is authenticated (for example, by virtue of the first group application being unlocked) and returns an unlock message comprising timestamp key pair 230 to the second group application 220 [step 312]. Upon receipt of the unlock message, the second group application 220 unlocks its user interface; Periodically the activity monitor 222 of the second group application 220 generates signed timestamp 241 based on timestamp 223 and timestamp write key 230a, and embeds the signed timestamp 241 into a secure message 240 which is transmitted to the first group application 210 [step 318]. On receipt of secure message 240, the first group application 210 extracts timestamp 241 and verifies timestamp signature 242 using the timestamp read key 230b [step 320]. If the first group application 210 successfully verifies the authenticity of the timestamp 241 received from the second group application 220, it proceeds to compare the received timestamp 241 to the timestamp 213 stored in the secure container 211 and, if timestamp 241 indicates a later time that the time indicated by timestamp 213, the first group application 210 updates timestamp 213 to indicate the later time [step 322]. In this manner, the inactivity timer provided by the activity monitor 212 of the first group application 210 will not expire even if the activity monitor 212 does not detect user activity with respect to the first group application for a time period exceeding the timeout period 350 of the first group application, by virtue of the user's activity with respect to the second group application 220. Thus, when the user returns to the first group application 210 after a period of inactivity with respect to the first group application 210 which exceeds its timeout period 350 [step 324], the first group application 210 remains unlocked and the user is not required to re-enter their password to continue using the first group application 210);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim to incorporate the teachings of QUINLAN to communicate and sync authentication process between applications of an electronic device in order to allow users to unlock plurality of applications/functions using a single unlocking command instead of unlocking plurality of applications sequentially by inputting unique password for each application.
With respect to claim 3, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses further comprising: displaying, by the second display, first prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the first prompt information prompts the user to perform unlocking in a preset unlocking manner (Kim; par 0757; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern).
With respect to claim 7, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses further comprising: when a screen status of the second display is a screen-locked state, switching an interface of the second display from the second screen lock interface to a second interface in response to receiving a third operation on the second display, wherein the second interface is configured to display a pull-down notification bar, a notification, a widget of a third application, or an application icon of the third application (Kim; par 0761; discloses The electronic device may detect a designation of a notification on the second lock screen. For example, as shown in FIG. 244, the electronic device may detect a downward drag gesture for one notification on the second lock screen, and in response, display a detail view for the designated notification).
With respect to claim 8, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses wherein the first screen lock interface comprises a time, a date, and a lock icon; and the second screen lock interface comprises at least one of the following: an application icon, a notification message, a weather condition, navigation information, and unlocking prompt information (Kim; see fig. 243A; par 0757; discloses the first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key).
With respect to claim 9, KIM discloses a multi-screen unlocking method, (par 0001; invention relates to electronic devices, e.g., electronic devices including a plurality of displays) comprising: in response to detecting a first operation on an electronic device, determining, by the electronic device, that a status of the electronic device is a screen-locked state (par 0756; discloses upon detecting a press on the home key or a touch on the display, the electronic device may control the off-state display in the on state. In this case, the electronic device may display a lock screen on the display controlled in the on state. The electronic device may run a lock function for security); displaying, by a first display of the electronic device, a first screen lock interface by using a first application of the electronic device; displaying, by a second display of the electronic device, a second screen lock interface by using a second application of the electronic device, wherein the first screen lock interface is different from the second screen lock interface (par 0757; discloses the electronic device in the outspread mode may display a first lock screen on the sub display and a second lock screen on the main display. The first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key; fig. 243A; discloses the first lock screen and second lock screen are different from each other; par 0125; discloses the electronic device 101 may display an execution screen of a first application on the first display. The electronic device 101 may display a screen of an application now running on the first display. Par 0126; discloses the electronic device 101 may display, through a second application, another running screen of the first application, an execution screen of the second application, and an image or information associated with the first application or a first content run through the first application); displaying, by the second display, a second unlocked interface in response to detecting a second operation on the second display; indicating, by the second application of the electronic device, the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state (par 0763; discloses the electronic device may display the first lock screen on the sub display and the second lock screen on the main display. The electronic device may detect an input (e.g., a swipe) for unlocking on the second lock screen, and in response, the electronic device may display the previously used screens on the sub display and the main display, respectively);
Kim doesn’t expressly disclose sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device; and in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface by using the first display;
In the same field of endeavor, QUINLAN discloses system and method for managing access to plurality of applications on a computing device (see abstract); QUINLAN discloses sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device (par 0043; discloses In a first step of method 300, the user loads and unlocks the first group application 210 by inputting their password via its user interface [step 302]. Once unlocked, the first group application 210 generates and stores timestamp key pair 230 [step 304]. Upon receipt of the authentication request, the first group application 210 confirms that the user is authenticated (for example, by virtue of the first group application being unlocked) and returns an unlock message comprising timestamp key pair 230 to the second group application 220 [step 312]); and in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface by using the first display (par 0043; discloses Upon receipt of the unlock message, the second group application 220 unlocks its user interface, decrypts its secure container 221, and stores timestamp key pair 230 in memory [step 314]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim to incorporate the teachings of Yin to communicate and sync authentication process between applications of an electronic device in order to allow user to unlock plurality of applications/functions using a single unlocking command instead of unlocking plurality of applications sequentially by inputting unique password for each application.
With respect to claim 15, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses further comprising: when a screen status of the second display is a screen-locked state, switching an interface of the second display from the second screen lock interface to a second interface in response to receiving a third operation on the second display, wherein the second interface is configured to display a pull-down notification bar, a notification, a widget of a third application, or an application icon of the third application (Kim; par 0761; discloses The electronic device may detect a designation of a notification on the second lock screen. For example, as shown in FIG. 244, the electronic device may detect a downward drag gesture for one notification on the second lock screen, and in response, display a detail view for the designated notification).
With respect to claim 16, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses wherein the first screen lock interface comprises a time, a date, and a lock icon; and the second screen lock interface comprises at least one of the following: an application icon, a notification message, a weather condition, navigation information, and unlocking prompt information (Kim; see fig. 243A; par 0757; discloses the first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key).
With respect to claim 17, KIM discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; (fig. 1; processor 120) and a memory storing computer-executable instructions; (fig. 1; memory 130) the one or more processors are configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to enable the electronic device to perform operations comprising: in response to detecting a first operation on an electronic device, determining, by the electronic device, that a status of the electronic device is a screen-locked state (par 0756; discloses upon detecting a press on the home key or a touch on the display, the electronic device may control the off-state display in the on state. In this case, the electronic device may display a lock screen on the display controlled in the on state. The electronic device may run a lock function for security); displaying, by a first display of the electronic device, a first screen lock interface by using a first application of the electronic device corresponding to the first display; displaying, by a second display of the electronic device, a second screen lock interface by using a second application of the electronic device corresponding to the second display, wherein the first screen lock interface is different from the second screen lock interface (par 0757; discloses the electronic device in the outspread mode may display a first lock screen on the sub display and a second lock screen on the main display. The first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key; fig. 243A; discloses the first lock screen and second lock screen are different from each other; par 0125; discloses the electronic device 101 may display an execution screen of a first application on the first display. The electronic device 101 may display a screen of an application now running on the first display. Par 0126; discloses the electronic device 101 may display, through a second application, another running screen of the first application, an execution screen of the second application, and an image or information associated with the first application or a first content run through the first application);
Kim discloses displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface by using the first display, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; displaying, by the second application of the electronic device, a second unlocked interface by using the second display (par 0756; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern; par 0463; discloses the electronic device may detect an input (e.g., a swipe) for unlocking on the second lock screen, and in response, the electronic device may display the previously used screens on the sub display and the main display, respectively);
Kim doesn’t expressly disclose sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device in response to detecting a second operation on the second display; in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; sending, by the first application of the electronic device, a second message to the second application of the electronic device; and in response to the second message, displaying, by the second application, a second unlocked interface;
In the same field of endeavor, QUINLAN discloses system and method for managing access to plurality of applications on a computing device (see abstract); QUINLAN discloses sending, by the second application of the electronic device, a first message to the first application of the electronic device in response to detecting a second operation on the second display (par 0043; discloses the user loads the second group application 220 and proceeds to interact with the second group application 220 via its user interface [step 308]. As discussed above, in the present example the second group application 220 delegates authentication of the user to the first group application 210 and therefore sends an authentication request to the first application using secure inter-application protocol 250 [step 310].); in response to the first message, displaying, by the first application of the electronic device, a first unlocked interface, and indicating the electronic device to switch from the screen-locked state to an unlocked state; sending, by the first application of the electronic device, a second message to the second application of the electronic device; and in response to the second message, displaying, by the second application, a second unlocked interface (par 0043; discloses Upon receipt of the authentication request, the first group application 210 confirms that the user is authenticated (for example, by virtue of the first group application being unlocked) and returns an unlock message comprising timestamp key pair 230 to the second group application 220 [step 312]. Upon receipt of the unlock message, the second group application 220 unlocks its user interface; Periodically the activity monitor 222 of the second group application 220 generates signed timestamp 241 based on timestamp 223 and timestamp write key 230a, and embeds the signed timestamp 241 into a secure message 240 which is transmitted to the first group application 210 [step 318]. On receipt of secure message 240, the first group application 210 extracts timestamp 241 and verifies timestamp signature 242 using the timestamp read key 230b [step 320]. If the first group application 210 successfully verifies the authenticity of the timestamp 241 received from the second group application 220, it proceeds to compare the received timestamp 241 to the timestamp 213 stored in the secure container 211 and, if timestamp 241 indicates a later time that the time indicated by timestamp 213, the first group application 210 updates timestamp 213 to indicate the later time [step 322]. In this manner, the inactivity timer provided by the activity monitor 212 of the first group application 210 will not expire even if the activity monitor 212 does not detect user activity with respect to the first group application for a time period exceeding the timeout period 350 of the first group application, by virtue of the user's activity with respect to the second group application 220. Thus, when the user returns to the first group application 210 after a period of inactivity with respect to the first group application 210 which exceeds its timeout period 350 [step 324], the first group application 210 remains unlocked and the user is not required to re-enter their password to continue using the first group application 210);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim to incorporate the teachings of QUINLAN to communicate and sync authentication process between applications of an electronic device in order to allow users to unlock plurality of applications/functions using a single unlocking command instead of unlocking plurality of applications sequentially by inputting unique password for each application.
With respect to claim 18, Kim as modified by QUINLAN further comprising: displaying, by the second display, first prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the first prompt information prompts the user to perform unlocking in a preset unlocking manner (Kim; par 0757; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern).
With respect to claim 19, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses further comprising: when a screen status of the second display is a screen-locked state, switching an interface of the second display from the second screen lock interface to a second interface in response to receiving a third operation on the second display, wherein the second interface is configured to display a pull-down notification bar, a notification, a widget of a third application, or an application icon of the third application (Kim; par 0761; discloses The electronic device may detect a designation of a notification on the second lock screen. For example, as shown in FIG. 244, the electronic device may detect a downward drag gesture for one notification on the second lock screen, and in response, display a detail view for the designated notification).
With respect to claim 20, Kim as modified by QUINLAN discloses wherein the first screen lock interface comprises a time, a date, and a lock icon; and the second screen lock interface comprises at least one of the following: an application icon, a notification message, a weather condition, navigation information, and unlocking prompt information (Kim; see fig. 243A; par 0757; discloses the first lock screen may contain current time, weather, or other information. The second lock screen may include notifications indicating events generated from various applications and may include an unlock function key).
Claim(s) 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2019/0042066) in view of QUINLAN et al (US Pub 2017/0288879), Yin et al (US Pub 2019/018072), and LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0388094).
With respect to claim 2, Kim as modified by QUINLIN discloses wherein the sending the first message to the first application comprises: displaying, by the second display, a first interface in response to detecting the second operation on the second display, wherein the first interface comprises a password input area (Kim; par 0756; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern);
Kim as modified by QUINLIN don’t expressly disclose in response to detecting an operation of entering a password in the password input area, sending, by the second application, the first message to the first application, wherein the first message carries the password, wherein the first application is configured to: after the verification on the password succeeds, displays the first unlocked interface by using the first display;
In the same field of endeavor, Yin discloses system and method for accessing target application and terminal (see abstract); Yin discloses in response to detecting an operation of entering a password in the password input area, sending, by the second application, the first message to the first application, wherein the first message carries the password, wherein the first application is configured to: after the verification on the password succeeds, displays the first unlocked interface by using the first display; (Yin; par 0019; discloses a transmitter, configured to send, to an application server, a first message that carries the application password; a receiver, configured to receive a second message that indicates that verification of the application password succeeds and that is sent by the application server; fig. 1B; discloses displaying an unlocked interface);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN to incorporate the teachings of Yin to transmit password information between applications such that plurality of applications may be unlocked using the same password entered by the user;
Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Yin don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager, and send the password to the password manager, the password manager performs verification on the password;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses system and method for controlling a device (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager, and send the password to the password manager, the password manager performs verification on the password (par 0407; discloses the access control device 3000 may receive manager information received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager information to manager information prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager information and the prestored manager information match. For example, the access control device 3000 may receive a manager password received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager password to a manager password prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager password and the prestored manager password match);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Yin to incorporate the teachings of LEE to include a password manager that stores and compares the received password with the stored password in order to easily perform the password verification process and providing quick decision for unlocking the device or application.
With respect to claim 10, Kim as modified by QUINLIN discloses wherein the displaying the second unlocked interface comprises: displaying, by the second display, a first interface in response to detecting the second operation on the second display, wherein the first interface comprises a password input area (Kim; par 0756; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern);
Kim as modified by QUINLIN don’t expressly disclose in response to detecting an operation of entering a password in the password input area; performing verification on the password; and after the verification on the password succeeds, displaying, by the second display, the second unlocked interface;
In the same field of endeavor, Yin discloses system and method for accessing target application and terminal (see abstract); Yin discloses in response to detecting an operation of entering a password in the password input area; performing verification on the password; and after the verification on the password succeeds, displaying, by the second display, the second unlocked interface; (Yin; par 0019; discloses a transmitter, configured to send, to an application server, a first message that carries the application password; a receiver, configured to receive a second message that indicates that verification of the application password succeeds and that is sent by the application server; fig. 1B; discloses displaying an unlocked interface);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN to incorporate the teachings of Yin to transmit password information between applications such that plurality of applications may be unlocked using the same password entered by the user;
Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Yin don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager, and sending, by the second application, the password to the password manager by using the first application;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses system and method for controlling a device (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager, and sending, by the second application, the password to the password manager by using the first application; (par 0407; discloses the access control device 3000 may receive manager information received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager information to manager information prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager information and the prestored manager information match. For example, the access control device 3000 may receive a manager password received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager password to a manager password prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager password and the prestored manager password match);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Yin to incorporate the teachings of LEE to include a password manager that stores and compares the received password with the stored password in order to easily perform the password verification process and providing quick decision for unlocking the device or application.
Claim(s) 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2019/0042066) in view of QUINLAN et al (US Pub 2017/0288879), and LEE et al (US Pub 2020/0388094).
With respect to claim 11, Kim as modified by QUINLIN discloses further wherein the displaying the second unlocked interface comprises: displaying, by the second display, first prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the first prompt information prompts the user to perform unlocking in a preset unlocking manner (Kim; par 0757; discloses the electronic device may run a lock function for security. The lock screen may include a UI requesting entry of security information, e.g., a password or pattern);
Kim as modified by QUINLIN don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses system and method for controlling a device (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises a password manager; (par 0407; discloses the access control device 3000 may receive manager information received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager information to manager information prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager information and the prestored manager information match. For example, the access control device 3000 may receive a manager password received by the user's terminal 2000 and compare the manager password to a manager password prestored in the storage unit 3500 to determine whether the received manager password and the prestored manager password match);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN to incorporate the teachings of LEE to include a password manager that stores and compares the received password with the stored password in order to easily perform the password verification process and providing quick decision for unlocking the device or application.
Claim(s) 4, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2019/0042066) in view of QUINLAN et al (US Pub 2017/0288879) and Moreno et al (US Pub 2022/0100831).
With respect to claim 4, Kim as modified by QUINLAN don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a face authentication manager, and the first message carries face authentication indication information; and the first application is further configured to: send the first message to the face authentication manager to perform, based on the first message, authentication on a face image captured by the electronic device; and after the authentication on the face image succeeds, displays the first unlocked interface by using the first display;
In the same field of endeavor, Moreno discloses system and method for controlling a device (see abstract); Moreno discloses disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a face authentication manager, and the first message carries face authentication indication information; and the first application is further configured to: send the first message to the face authentication manager to perform, based on the first message, authentication on a face image captured by the electronic device; and after the authentication on the face image succeeds, displays the first unlocked interface by using the first display (par 0019; discloses the facial recognition module 112 stores the embeddings generated by the machine-learned model in the secure storage unit 106. If, however, the user device 102 is in a locked state 116-1 and a user 114 is attempting to unlock the user device 102 subsequent to enrollment, the facial recognition module 112 compares the embedding to a set of embeddings stored in the secure storage unit 106. Based on the comparison, the machine-learned model of the facial recognition module 112 either rejects the authentication or authenticates the user 114 to unlock the user device 102 to an unlocked state 116-2. If the authentication is rejected, the user device 102 remains in the locked state 116-1. If the user 114 is authenticated, the user device 102 transitions to the unlocked state 116-2,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLAN to incorporate the teachings of Moreno to include a face authentication manager that stores and compares the received facial information with the stored facial information in order to easily perform the user verification process and providing quick decision for unlocking the device or application, hence providing a secure way of unlocking the device or application.
With respect to claim 12, Kim as modified by QUINLAN don’t expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a face authentication manager, and wherein the displaying the second unlocked interface comprises: sending, by the second application, a second message to the first application in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second message carries face authentication indication information; sending, by the first application, the second message to the face authentication manager; performing, by the face authentication manager based on the second message, authentication on a face image captured by the electronic device; and after the authentication on the face image succeeds, displaying, by the second display, the second unlocked interface;
In the same field of endeavor, Moreno discloses system and method for controlling a device (see abstract); Moreno discloses disclose the electronic device further comprises a face authentication manager, and wherein the displaying the second unlocked interface comprises: sending, by the second application, a second message to the first application in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second message carries face authentication indication information; sending, by the first application, the second message to the face authentication manager; performing, by the face authentication manager based on the second message, authentication on a face image captured by the electronic device; and after the authentication on the face image succeeds, displaying, by the second display, the second unlocked interface; (par 0019; discloses the facial recognition module 112 stores the embeddings generated by the machine-learned model in the secure storage unit 106. If, however, the user device 102 is in a locked state 116-1 and a user 114 is attempting to unlock the user device 102 subsequent to enrollment, the facial recognition module 112 compares the embedding to a set of embeddings stored in the secure storage unit 106. Based on the comparison, the machine-learned model of the facial recognition module 112 either rejects the authentication or authenticates the user 114 to unlock the user device 102 to an unlocked state 116-2. If the authentication is rejected, the user device 102 remains in the locked state 116-1. If the user 114 is authenticated, the user device 102 transitions to the unlocked state 116-2,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLAN to incorporate the teachings of Moreno to include a face authentication manager that stores and compares the received facial information with the stored facial information in order to easily perform the user verification process and providing quick decision for unlocking the device or application, hence providing a secure way of unlocking the device or application.
Claim(s) 5-6, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2019/0042066) in view of QUINLAN et al (US Pub 2017/0288879) and Moreno et al (US Pub 2022/0100831) and OZONO et al (US Pub 2022/0148354).
With respect to claim 5, Kim as modified by QUINLAN and Moreno don’t expressly disclose further comprising: displaying, by the second display, second prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second prompt information informs the user that facial recognition is being performed;
In the same field of endeavor, OZONO discloses face authentication system and method (see abstract); OZONO discloses displaying second prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second prompt information informs the user that facial recognition is being performed (par 0044; discloses the face authentication of the user is performed by the face authentication server, and in the face authentication machine, two or more notification screens indicating the progress of the face authentication by the face authentication server are sequentially displayed on the display unit. Therefore, it is possible to allow the user to easily recognize the progress of the face authentication);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLAN and Moreno to incorporate the teachings of OZONO to display the progress of face authentication to the user in order to allow user to easily recognize the progress such that user maintains a still position during the authentication.
With respect to claim 6, Kim as modified by QUINLAN, Moreno and OZONO discloses wherein a display form of the second prompt information comprises a text, an image, or a breathing status icon (OZONO; par 0045; discloses the processor causes a character or a graphic indicating that authentication of the user is in progress to be displayed on one of the notification screens).
With respect to claim 13, Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Moreno don’t expressly disclose further comprising: displaying, by the second display, second prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second prompt information informs the user that facial recognition is being performed;
In the same field of endeavor, OZONO discloses face authentication system and method (see abstract); OZONO discloses displaying second prompt information in response to receiving the second operation on the second display, wherein the second prompt information informs the user that facial recognition is being performed (par 0044; discloses the face authentication of the user is performed by the face authentication server, and in the face authentication machine, two or more notification screens indicating the progress of the face authentication by the face authentication server are sequentially displayed on the display unit. Therefore, it is possible to allow the user to easily recognize the progress of the face authentication);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Kim as modified by QUINLIN and Moreno to incorporate the teachings of OZONO to display the progress of face authentication to the user in order to allow user to easily recognize the progress such that user maintains a still position during the authentication.
With respect to claim 14, Kim as modified by QUINLIN, Moreno and OZONO discloses wherein a display form of the second prompt information comprises a text, an image, or a breathing status icon (OZONO; par 0045; discloses the processor causes a character or a graphic indicating that authentication of the user is in progress to be displayed on one of the notification screens).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 1, 9 and 17 have been fully considered but they are moot as the arguments do not apply to new reference being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624