DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed July 28, 2026, 1-6, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 18-20 are amended, claims 9, 16, and 17 are canceled, and claims 21-23 are newly added and claims 1-8, 10-15, and 18-23 are currently pending for examination.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 applicant’s arguments, see page 10 – page 12, filed July 28, 2026, with respect to claims 1-8, 10-15, and 18-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Sedin et al. (WO2025170216A1).
Regarding claims 1, 19 and 20, the applicant argued that, see page 20, “…However, nowhere does SEDIN disclose that a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band transmits SI comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list that indicates that the cell itself is associated with a non-terrestrial network node. To the contrary, paragraph [0119] explains that, "[b]y only broadcasting SIB33 and not SIB31, the UE is made aware that the cell is not an NTN, but a TN providing assistance information for TN-NTN mobility." SEDIN, paragraph [0119]. Paragraph [0147] of SEDIN similarly describes a terrestrial eNB broadcasting satellite ephemeris information in SIB33 and subsequently redirecting the UE to a separate non-terrestrial network gNB. Thus, SEDIN does not overcome the deficiencies of MAATTANEN.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patentable over MAATTANEN as well as any combination of MAATTANEN and SEDIN.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 1, 19 and 20, Maattanen teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.4, Fig.6, Wireless Device 110) configured to: receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, indicating a presence of a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band (see para. 0109-0111, receiving NR frequencies in SIB4/ system information and when estimated AoA is above certain configured or specified threshold, the cell associated with the respective synchronization sequence {a presence of a cell} used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band) and associated with a non-terrestrial network node (see para. 0109-0111, TN cell gNB / non-terrestrial network node, see also para. 0109-0111, the cell associated with the respective synchronization sequence used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band and associated TN cell gNB / non-terrestrial network node); and communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information (see para. 0111, communicating via TN access based on NTN capability or communicating via NTN access based on TN capability based on the parameters associated with NR frequencies in SIB4), the Examiner further states that Sedin teaches receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list” (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells, para. 0117-0119, 0141-0144, 0156, receiving from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, and the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list, see also para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, and a satelliteld field, the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency, is the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5, see also para. 0109-0111, to associate frequency priorities with NTNs is to use the existing reselection priority related parameters (e.g. the ones associated with NR frequencies in SIB4), but introduce a new list of network type indications (where the network type could, for example, be any of NR, TN, NTN, NTN-GEO, NTN-MEO, NTN-LEO, NTN-HAPS, NTN-HIBS, EUTRA / associated with a different cell).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Maattanen and Sedin reads upon “receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list; and communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information” as recites in the claim.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 9-15 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0319661), and further in view of Sedin et al. (WO2025170216A1).
As per claim 1, Maattanen disclose A user equipment (UE) (see Fig.4, Fig.6, Wireless Device 110) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig.6, memory 130, see para. 0138); and
one or more processors (see Fig.6, Processing circuitry 120) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, indicating a presence of a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band (see para. 0109-0111, receiving NR frequencies in SIB4/ system information and when estimated AoA is above certain configured or specified threshold, the cell associated with the respective synchronization sequence {a presence of a cell} used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band) and associated with a non-terrestrial network node (see para. 0109-0111, TN cell gNB / non-terrestrial network node, see also para. 0109-0111, the cell associated with the respective synchronization sequence used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band and associated TN cell gNB / non-terrestrial network node); and
communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information (see para. 0111, communicating via TN access based on NTN capability or communicating via NTN access based on TN capability based on the parameters associated with NR frequencies in SIB4).
Maattanen however does not explicitly disclose receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”.
Sedin however disclose receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list” (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells, para. 0117-0119, 0141-0144, 0156, receiving from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, and the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list, see also para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, and a satelliteld field, the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency, is the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5, see also para. 0109-0111, to associate frequency priorities with NTNs is to use the existing reselection priority related parameters (e.g. the ones associated with NR frequencies in SIB4), but introduce a new list of network type indications (where the network type could, for example, be any of NR, TN, NTN, NTN-GEO, NTN-MEO, NTN-LEO, NTN-HAPS, NTN-HIBS, EUTRA / associated with a different cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receive, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”, as taught by Sedin, in the system of Maattanen, so as to provide efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system, see Sedin, paragraphs 12-14.
As per claim 2, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein a presence of a system information block type 31 (SIB31) or scheduling information associated with the SIB31 in the system information indicates: that the current cell is the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node, or that a current frequency associated with the current cell is a frequency associated with the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see Fig.11-Fig.13, para. 116, 117, 119, 123, SI of a cell and a presence of a system information block type 31 (SIB31), also UE to communicate with gNB TN / terrestrial spectrum band or NTN wireless base station / non-terrestrial network node, according to at least one of the operations in one of FIG. 11, FIG. 12 or FIG. 13, on a first frequency that is set by frequency generation circuit 1067, shown in Fig.10, see also para. 64 . 65 and Table 3).
As per claim 3, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein the system information includes a system information block type 1 (SIB1) including a scheduling information list (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells), and wherein scheduling information for a system information block type 31 (SIB31) included in the scheduling information list indicates that the cell is operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see Fig.11-Fig.13, para. 116, 117, 119, 123, SI of a cell and a presence of a system information block type 31 (SIB31), also UE to communicate with gNB TN / terrestrial spectrum band or NTN wireless base station / non-terrestrial network node, according to at least one of the operations in one of FIG. 11, FIG. 12 or FIG. 13, on a first frequency that is set by frequency generation circuit 1067, shown in Fig.10, see also para. 64 . 65 and Table 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the system information is associated with a current cell, wherein the system information includes a system information block type 1 (SIB1) including a scheduling information list, and wherein scheduling information for a system information block type 31 (SIB31) included in the scheduling information list indicates that the current cell is the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node, as taught by Sedin, in the system of Maattanen, so as to provide efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system, see Sedin, paragraphs 12-14.
As per claim 4, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein a presence of a system information block type 33 (SIB33) or scheduling information associated with the SIB33 in the system information indicates: that the cell is operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node, or that a current frequency associated with the current cell is a frequency associated with the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see Fig.13, para. 143-145, 147, scheduling information associated a single cell, a set of cells associated with a satellite on the frequency, or a set of cells associated with a set of satellites on the frequency).
As per claim 5, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein the system information includes a system information block type 1 (SIB1) including a scheduling information list (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells), and wherein scheduling information for a system information block type 33 (SIB33) included in the scheduling information list indicates that the current cell is the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see para. 141,143, 144, the current cell is the cell operating in the NTN and associated with TN cell).
As per claim 6, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein a system information block type 33 (SIB33) being included in the system information indicates that the current cell is the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see para. 117, the system information indicates that the current cell is the cell/ a serving cell operating in the TN band and associated NTN).
As per claim 7, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 6.
Sedin further disclose wherein the SIB33 is empty (see para. 119, by only broadcasting SIB31 and not SIB33 / SIB33 is empty, the UE is made aware that the cell is an NTN, not a TN providing assistance information for TN-NTN mobility).
As per claim 8, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein the system information includes a system information block type 3 (SIB3), wherein the SIB3 includes an indication of the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and being associated with the non-terrestrial network node, and wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3 (see para. 119, wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3, the cells or frequencies have a satelliteld field (or the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB3 for intra-frequency).
As per claim 10, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 8.
Sedin further disclose wherein the presence of the satellite assistance information list in the SIB3 indicates that all cells in a current frequency associated with the cell are cells operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with non-terrestrial network nodes (see para. 119, wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3, the cells or frequencies have a satelliteld field (or the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB3 for intra-frequency).
Motivation same as claim 8.
As per claim 11, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 8.
Sedin further disclose wherein the presence of the satellite assistance information list in the SIB3 indicates that one or more cells in a current frequency associated with the current cell are cells operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with non-terrestrial network nodes (see para. 119, wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3, the cells or frequencies have a satelliteld field (or the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB3 for intra-frequency).
Motivation same as claim 8.
As per claim 12, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 8.
Sedin further disclose wherein the satellite assistance information list includes a single default satellite identifier (see para. 119, wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3, the cells or frequencies have a satelliteld field showing a single default satellite identifier).
Motivation same as claim 8.
As per claim 13, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein a system information includes a system information block type 5 (SIB5), wherein the SIB5 includes an indication of the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node, and wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5 (see para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, and a satelliteld field, the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency, is the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5, see also para. 156).
As per claim 14, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 13.
Sedin further disclose wherein the presence of the satellite assistance information list associated with the frequency in the SIB5 indicates that all cells in the frequency are cells operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with non-terrestrial network nodes (see para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, a satelliteld field and the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency).
Motivation same as claim 13.
As per claim 15, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 13.
Sedin further disclose wherein the presence of the satellite assistance information list associated with the frequency in the SIB5 indicates that one or more cells in the frequency are cells operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with non-terrestrial network nodes (see para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, a satelliteld field and the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency).
Motivation same as claim 13.
As per claim 19, Maattanen disclose A non-terrestrial network node (see Fig.5, Network Node 160) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 5 Memory 180); and
one or more processors (see Fig.5, Processing Circuitry 170) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
transmit, from a cell of the non-terrestrial network node via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information indicating a presence of a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band and associated with a non-terrestrial network node (see para. 0109-0111, transmitting system information SIB4 indicating a presence of a cell operating an NTN cell associated with a TN cell, synchronization sequence {a presence of a cell} used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band); and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.4, Fig.6, Wireless Device 110) based at least in part on the system information (see para. 0111, communicating via TN access based on NTN capability or communicating via NTN access based on TN capability based on the parameters associated with NR frequencies in SIB4).
Maattanen however does not explicitly disclose transmit, from a cell of the non-terrestrial network node via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”.
Sedin however disclose transmit, from a cell of the non-terrestrial network node via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list” (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells, para. 0117-0119, 0141-0144, 0156, receiving from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, and the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list, see also para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, and a satelliteld field, the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency, is the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5, see also para. 0109-0111, to associate frequency priorities with NTNs is to use the existing reselection priority related parameters (e.g. the ones associated with NR frequencies in SIB4), but introduce a new list of network type indications (where the network type could, for example, be any of NR, TN, NTN, NTN-GEO, NTN-MEO, NTN-LEO, NTN-HAPS, NTN-HIBS, EUTRA / associated with a different cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of transmit, from a cell of the non-terrestrial network node via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”, as taught by Sedin, in the system of Maattanen, so as to provide efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system, see Sedin, paragraphs 12-14.
As per claim 20, Maattanen disclose A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.4, Fig.6, Wireless Device 110), comprising:
receiving, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, wherein the system information indicating a presence of a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band (see para. 0109-0111, receiving NR frequencies in SIB4 / system information and when estimated AoA is above certain configured or specified threshold, the cell associated with the respective synchronization sequence used in estimation is considered as an NTN cell / a cell operating in a terrestrial spectrum band) and associated with a non-terrestrial network node (see para. 0109-0111, TN cell gNB / non-terrestrial network node); and
communicating via the cell based at least in part on the system information (see para. 0111, communicating via TN access based on NTN capability or communicating via NTN access based on TN capability based on the parameters associated with NR frequencies in SIB4).
Maattanen however does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”.
Sedin however disclose receiving, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list” (see para. 43, 44, Table 1, a SIB1 including a scheduling information list of cells, para. 0117-0119, 0141-0144, 0156, receiving from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, and the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list, see also para. 85, 94, 119, UE receiving cells or frequencies operating in TN and NTN, and a satelliteld field, the information element satelliteAssistancelnfoList provided in SIB5 for inter-frequency, is the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list associated with a frequency in the SIB5, see also para. 0109-0111, to associate frequency priorities with NTNs is to use the existing reselection priority related parameters (e.g. the ones associated with NR frequencies in SIB4), but introduce a new list of network type indications (where the network type could, for example, be any of NR, TN, NTN, NTN-GEO, NTN-MEO, NTN-LEO, NTN-HAPS, NTN-HIBS, EUTRA / associated with a different cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receiving, from a cell via a terrestrial spectrum band, system information, “wherein the system information indicates that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with a non-terrestrial network node based on the system information comprising a non-terrestrial network system information block or a satellite assistance information list”, as taught by Sedin, in the system of Maattanen, so as to provide efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system, see Sedin, paragraphs 12-14.
As per claim 21, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
Sedin further disclose wherein the non-terrestrial network system information block is empty or includes one or more default values, or wherein the satellite assistance information list includes one or more default satellite identifiers ((see para. 119, by only broadcasting SIB31 and not SIB33 / SIB33 is empty, the UE is made aware that the cell is an NTN, not a TN providing assistance information for TN-NTN mobility, see also para. 119, wherein the indication is a presence of a satellite assistance information list in the SIB3, the cells or frequencies have a satelliteld field showing a single default satellite identifier).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0319661), in view of Sedin et al. (WO2025170216A1) and further in view of Nokia (NOKIA ET AL: "Overview for NR supporting NTN", 3GPP DRAFT; Rl-1901722, (2019-02-16)).
As per claim 18, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the UE of claim 1.
The combination of Maattanen and Sedin however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust tracking loop parameters associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating the presence of the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node.
Nokia however disclose wherein one or more processors, to communicate via a cell based at least in part on system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust tracking loop parameters associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating the presence of the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see section 2.4, adjust tracking loop parameters associated with one or more communications via a cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein one or more processors, to communicate via a cell based at least in part on system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust tracking loop parameters associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating the presence of the cell operating in the terrestrial spectrum band and associated with the non-terrestrial network node, as taught by Nokia, in the system of Maattanen and Sedin, so as to shorten the random access transmission/retransmission delay based on the given satellite information for the purposes of efficiency and power saving, see Nokia, page 1 section 2.1.
As per claim 22, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
The combination of Maattanen and Sedin however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a timing advance associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node.
Nokia however disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a timing advance associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see section 2.4, adjust a timing advance associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a timing advance associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node, as taught by Nokia, in the system of Maattanen and Sedin, so as to shorten the random access transmission/retransmission delay based on the given satellite information for the purposes of efficiency and power saving, see Nokia, page 1 section 2.1.
As per claim 23, the combination of Maattanen and Sedin disclose the user equipment (UE) of claim 1.
The combination of Maattanen and Sedin however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a frequency pre-compensation associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node.
Nokia however disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a frequency pre-compensation associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node (see section 2.4, adjust a frequency pre-compensation associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors, to communicate via the cell based at least in part on the system information, are individually or collectively configured to: adjust a frequency pre-compensation associated with one or more communications via the cell based at least in part on the system information indicating that the cell operates in the terrestrial spectrum band and is associated with the non-terrestrial network node, as taught by Nokia, in the system of Maattanen and Sedin, so as to shorten the random access transmission/retransmission delay based on the given satellite information for the purposes of efficiency and power saving, see Nokia, page 1 section 2.1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cozzo et al (US Pub. No.:2025/0294484) – see para. 0102, 0103, “When a satellite adapts beams over the satellite footprint, hence adapts the network operation for (a part of) the satellite footprint, the satellite needs to signal the change of network operation. Depending on the type of network operation change, the satellite would notify UEs affected by the change and/or broadcast the notification over (a part of) the satellite footprint. For example, the satellite or the gNB may transmit system information when the satellite or the gNB receives an EI response, or the satellite or the gNB may stop transmission of system information when the satellite or the gNB does not receive any indication of UE presence on the cell associated with the system information”.
Gao et al (US Pub. No.:2022/0159481) – see para. 0035, 0055, “a UE (e.g. the UE 104 or the UE 204, a wireless communication device, a mobile device, etc.) receives a configuration in relation to a wireless communication node (e.g. the BS 102, the BS 202, a satellite, a non-terrestrial communication node, a terrestrial communication node, a gNB, a gNodeB, a network, etc.). The UE can perform, based on the received configuration, one or more operations. The operations may include determining one or more cells and/or one or more frequencies to perform measurements on, a target cell to move to based on the configuration, and/or cells to be included in a measurement report. The configuration can include at least one of the ephemeris information of the current satellite and the neighbor satellites, the physical cell identifiers (PCI) of the cells of the current satellite and neighbor satellites, a type of the current cell, one or more neighbor cells, or one or more cells on concerned frequencies. For each of the cells, the type of cell can include whether the cell is a satellites cell, and/or the orbit type of satellite cell, such as a low earth orbit (LEO), a medium earth orbit (MEO), and a geostationary earth orbit (GEO)”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469