DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A). Umeda et al. teaches a liquid gas storage container 1 comprising an inner shell 3 forming a cavity (figure 1), the inner shell 3 disposed on an insulation base at 36, the insulation base at 36 comprising a first insulation sub-layer 36, an outer shell 5forming an insulation volume between the inner shell (figure 1) and the outer shell, a first insulation layer 61 disposed within the insulation volume and around the inner shell 3 and the insulation base (figure 1), and a second insulation layer 62 (figure 2) disposed within the insulation volume between the first insulation layer 61 and the outer shell 5.
Regarding claim 2, a skirt disposed along a sidewall of the insulation base (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, the first insulation layer 61 is disposed within the insulation volume and around the skirt (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, comprising one or more anchors 9, 10 mechanically coupled to the skirt (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, the first insulation sub-layer at 31, 36, 35 comprises a load-bearing insulation (capable of bearing a load).
Regarding claim 8, an interleaving layer 41 disposed between the first insulation sub-layer 36 and a second insulation sub-layer46, or the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer.
Regarding claim 9, a protective layer 31 disposed on the first insulation sub-layer.
Regarding claim 10, the second insulation layer 63 comprises a bulk fill material (glass wool and perlite disclosed).
Regarding claim 11, the bulk fill material comprises one or more of perlite, glass microspheres, fiberglass, or a mixture thereof (glass wool and perlite disclosed for layer 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A) in view of Heinisch et al. (DE3735767A1).
Regarding claim 5, Umeda et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the first insulation sub-layer comprising a pressure of about 100 Torr to about 1000 m Torr. Heinisch et al. teaches that it is known to provide a tank with pressurized insulation which has an insulation layer comprising a pressure of about 100 Torr to about 1000 m Torr (“operating at pressures up to 700 bar”; up to 700bar includes the range of 100 Torr). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage container of Umeda et al. with the first insulation sub-layer comprising a pressure of about 100 Torr to about 1000 m Torr, as taught by Heinisch et al., in order to provide sufficient strength to support the tank and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A) in view of Kroll et al. (CN108027109A).
Regarding claim 7, Umeda et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam. Kroll et al. teaches that it is known to provide a tank with the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam (see claim 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage container of Umeda et al. with the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam, as taught by Kroll et al., in order to provide sufficient strength to support the tank and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A) in view of Park et al. (KR20230171064A).
Regarding claim 12, Umeda et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the mixture comprising about 60 wt% to about 99 wt% perlite and about 1 wt% to about 40 wt% glass microspheres. Park et al. teaches that it is known to provide a tank with the insulation layer comprising perlite and glass microspheres. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage container of Umeda et al. with the mixture comprising perlite and glass microspheres, as taught by Park et al. and further comprises about 60 wt% to about 99 wt% perlite and about 1 wt% to about 40 wt% glass microspheres, in order to provide sufficient thermal insulation as perlite and glass microspheres are known materials for insulation, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A) in view of Rohwer (DE10200600090614A1).
Regarding claim 13, Umeda et al. teaches a liquid gas storage container 1 comprising an inner shell 3 forming a cavity (figure 1), the inner shell disposed on an insulation base 36, the insulation base comprising a first insulation sub-layer 36, an outer shell 5 forming an insulation volume between the inner shell and the outer shell (figure 1), a first insulation layer 61 disposed within the insulation volume and around the inner shell 3 and the insulation base 36, and a second insulation layer 62 disposed within the insulation volume between the first insulation layer 61 and the outer shell 5.
Further regarding claim 13, Umeda et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the membrane layer. Rohwer teaches that it is known to provide a tank with membrane layer (see layer 38; figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage container of Umeda et al. with the membrane layer, as taught by Rohwer, in order to provide a waterproof barrier between the layers for protection.
Regarding claim 14, the membrane layer comprises one or more of an aluminized Mylar, Mylar, epoxy, water glass, or zero-gel (Rohwer discloses aluminized Mylar for layer 38).
Regarding claim 15, a skirt disposed along a sidewall of the insulation base, wherein the first insulation layer is disposed within the insulation volume and around the skirt (figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, one or more anchors 9, 10 mechanically coupled to the skirt.
Regarding claim 17, the first insulation sub- layer 31, 36, 35 comprises a load-bearing insulation (capable of bearing a load).
Regarding claim 19, an interleaving layer 41 disposed between the first insulation sub-layer 36 and a second insulation sub-layer 46, or the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer.
Regarding claim 20, a protective layer 31 disposed on the first insulation sub-layer.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (JP 2022103917A) in view of Rohwer (DE10200600090614A1), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kroll et al. (CN108027109A).
Regarding claim 18, the modified tank of Umeda et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam. Kroll et al. teaches that it is known to provide a tank with the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam (see claim 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified storage container of Umeda et al. with the first insulation sub-layer comprising a load-bearing foam comprising a closed-cell foam, as taught by Kroll et al., in order to provide sufficient strength to support the tank and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art is cited for the insulated structure.
THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736