DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 04/07/26, for application number 18/748,989 has been received and entered into record. Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, 18, and 21 have been amended, and Claim 17 was previously cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the outstanding Double Patenting rejection were overcome.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, lines 2-3 recite, “instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to, during at least one of the plurality of modules is loaded via at least one of the module loaders:” (emphasis added) and should instead read, “instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to, when at least one of the plurality of modules is loaded via at least one of the module loaders:” (emphasis added)
Claim 21, lines 5-6 recite, “identify at least other of the plurality of modules for which loading is not completed,” and should instead read, “identify at least one module different from the at least one of the plurality of modules for which loading is not completed.” (emphasis added) The phrase “at least other of the plurality of modules” is repeated throughout Claim 21, and is objected to accordingly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 13, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al., US 2005/0086667 A1 (as listed in the IDS), and in view of Butera et al., US 2018/0113838 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Jin discloses an electronic device [Fig. 1], comprising:
a processor including a plurality of cores [multiple processors responsible for dispatch of drivers may be separate physical processors or may be separate logical processors, par 21]; and
memory electrically connected with the processor and storing instructions [the computer 700 further comprises a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device as a main memory 715 for storing information and instructions to be executed by the processors 710, par 58], wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
identify at least one module for which loading is not completed load a plurality of modules for booting an operating system of the electronic device; identify whether a dependency for the at least one module is cleared [dependencies may exist between the drivers thereby affecting the order of execution. A driver generally is not executed until its dependencies have been satisfied. Whether a driver is ready for execution may be determined by evaluating the dependencies of the driver. At any time in an initiation process there may be multiple drivers that ready for execution that do not share any dependencies. Because there are no dependencies between these drivers, an embodiment of a scheduling algorithm may provide for execution of the ready drivers wholly or partially in parallel, par 26];
select at least one module loader among the module loaders [implicitly disclosed: "The process continues until all the drivers are dispatched from the discovered driver queue, and the dispatching process is completed. At this point, the bootstrap processor is ready to boot the operating system (OS), par 25]; and
load the at least one module to the at least one module loader [obtaining a driver from the discovered drier queue and executing driver at steps 4-10, par 34-44].
However, while Jin discloses identifying whether a dependency for the at least one module is cleared [dependencies may exist between the drivers thereby affecting the order of execution. A driver generally is not executed until its dependencies have been satisfied. Whether a driver is ready for execution may be determined by evaluating the dependencies of the driver. At any time in an initiation process there may be multiple drivers that ready for execution that do not share any dependencies. Because there are no dependencies between these drivers, an embodiment of a scheduling algorithm may provide for execution of the ready drivers wholly or partially in parallel, par 26], Jin does not explicitly teach the steps of identify state information and priority information for each of module loaders allocated to the plurality of cores, as the module is ready for execution, and selecting a module loader based on determining an active/idle state of the state information and a priority value of the priority information.
In the analogous art of multicore and multiprocessing management, Butera teaches the steps of identify state information and priority information for each of module loaders allocated to the plurality of cores, as the at least one module is ready for execution, and selecting a module loader based on determining an active/idle state of the state information and a priority value of the priority information [determine the selected configuration vector is in an issue ready state based on a comparison of available resources of the processor tile with resources for the configuration vector; controller selecting a configuration vector in an idle state (i.e. the active/idle state) based on the priority number of the configuration vector (the configuration vector being equivalent to a module loader, as virtual circuits (VCs) may include processor tiles, and processor tiles of VCs may include a configuration vector, and a configuration vector in turn may represent a VC segment including the processor tile; that is, a configuration vector, presenting VC segments, may be used to perform tasks based on the configurations loaded within), par 113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jin and Butera before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the state and priority information identification as taught by Butera, into the device as disclosed by Jin, to ensure efficient use of system resources [Butera, par 67].
Regarding Claim 5, Jin and Butera disclose the electronic device of Claim 1. Butera further teaches selecting the at least one module loader based on whether the at least one module loader is in an idle state [controller selecting a configuration vector in an idle state based on the priority number of the configuration vector (the configuration vector being equivalent to a module loader, as virtual circuits (VCs) may include processor tiles, and processor tiles of VCs may include a configuration vector, and a configuration vector in turn may represent a VC segment including the processor tile; that is, a configuration vector, presenting VC segments, may be used to perform tasks based on the configurations loaded within), par 113].
Regarding Claim 13, Jin discloses an operation method of an electronic device [using the device of Fig. 1]. Claim 13 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 15, Jin and Butera disclose the operation method of Claim 13. Claim 15 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 21, Jin and Butera disclose the electronic device of Claim 1. Jin further discloses at least other of the plurality of modules [dependencies may exist between the drivers thereby affecting the order of execution. A driver generally is not executed until its dependencies have been satisfied. Whether a driver is ready for execution may be determined by evaluating the dependencies of the driver. At any time in an initiation process there may be multiple drivers that ready for execution that do not share any dependencies. Because there are no dependencies between these drivers, an embodiment of a scheduling algorithm may provide for execution of the ready drivers wholly or partially in parallel (i.e. considering all drivers, including a first selected driver and any others), par 26].
The remainder of Claim 21 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Butera, and further in view of Sauzede et al., US 9,600,397 B2 (as listed in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 2, Jin and Gillespie disclose the electronic device of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to identify the at least one module based on a module information table stored in the memory.
In the analogous art of loading software modules, Sauzede teaches identifying the at least one module based on a module information table stored in the memory [the different memory addresses and identifiers of the different sections of the module have, for example, been stored within a predetermined variable (a table, for example) within the memory MM, col. 4, ll. 35-38].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jin, Butera, and Sauzede before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the module identification as taught by Sauzede into the device as disclosed by Jin and Butera, to allow for checking of successful loading of software modules [Sauzede, col. 1, ll. 38-41].
Regarding Claim 14, Jin and Butera disclose the operation method of Claim 13. Claim 14 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, Butera, and further in view of Gillespie et al., US 2011/0283098 A1 (as listed in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 3, Jin and Butera disclose the electronic device of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach identifying the state information and the priority information based on a core information table stored in the memory.
In the analogous art of system boot management, Gillespie teaches identifying the state information and the priority information based on a core information table stored in the memory [the first processor 114 periodically queries the second processor 116 or checks the status of a shared table to determine when drivers have been fetched and are ready to be executed, par 18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jin and Butera before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the state and priority information identification as taught by Gillespie, into the device as disclosed by Jin and Butera, to reduce device boot times [Gillespie, par 1].
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, Butera, and Sauzede, and further in view of Yang et al., US 2018/0307498 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, Jin, Butera, and Sauzede disclose the electronic device of Claim 2. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: update the module information table based on the at least one module loader for which loading of the distributed at least one module is completed.
In the analogous art of driver loading, Yang teaches updating the module information table based on the at least one module loader for which loading of the distributed at least one module is completed [when the server determines that the VM is successfully started (before the VM loads the driver or after the VM loads the driver), the server may further update the first mapping table according to the correspondence between the first global index and the VM, par 66].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jin, Butera, Sauzede, and Yang before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the module information updating as taught by Yang into the device as disclosed by Jin, Butera, and Sauzede to prevent reallocation of functions already assigned [Yang, par 66].
Regarding Claim 16, Jin, Butera, and Sauzede disclose the operation method of Claim 14. Claim 16 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 4, and is rejected accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/07/26 have been considered but are moot due to the newly-cited portions of the references previously presented.
Applicant argues Jin fails to disclose “select at least one module loader among the module loaders based on determining an active/idle state of the state information and a priority value of the priority information” Rem. 11.
Examiner notes the rejection relies upon Butera for such a teaching, as illustrated in the rejection previously presented and repeated above.
No other arguments were made as to the existing limitations, and as such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded that in amending a response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175