DETAILED ACTION
This is a final rejection in response to amendments filed 3/26/2026. All claims are pending.
Response to Arguments
Based on the amendments made, the claims have overcome the previous 112 rejections. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art of record not teaching the amended features of claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca (US 20220161822) in view of Ma (US 20250381977).
Regarding claim 1, Fonseca teaches a system for collision detection (Fig. 5), comprising:
one or more sensors associated with a vehicle, the one or more sensors configured to detect an obstacle around the vehicle ([0024] discusses using sensors to detect objects around the vehicle); and
a processing device in communication with the one or more sensors, the processing device is configured to execute instructions stored in a memory ([0039] discusses the system which is interpreted as including communication with the sensors being executed using processor to execute instructions stored in a memory) to perform operations comprising:
generating a vehicle shape representative of and encompassing the vehicle ([0033] discusses representing the vehicle with at least one geometric primitive shape);
identifying a centroid of the vehicle shape ([0034] discusses the collision check being performed using the center of the vehicle shape);
generating an obstacle shape representative of and encompassing the obstacle ([0027] discusses the obstacle being represented visually within the model which is interpreted as a shape representative); and
generating an inflated obstacle boundary based on dimensions of the vehicle shape ([0045] discusses a dilated object border being based on the dimensions of the vehicle shape);
wherein the inflated obstacle boundary is dimensioned greater than the obstacle shape ([0045] discusses the dilated object border having a greater dimension than the obstacle); and
wherein the inflated obstacle boundary represents a path along which the centroid of the vehicle shape can move without collision between the vehicle and the obstacle ([0045] discusses the dilated object border being based on the radius of the geometric primitive representing the vehicle where the radius of the geometric primitive is equal to half of the vehicle’s width therefore the dilated object border would represent a path along which the centroid of the vehicle can move without collision);
but does not explicitly teach
and wherein at least one of:
i. if the vehicle is a single body vehicle, the operations comprise generating the inflated obstacle boundary based on only the vehicle shape; and if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle, the operations comprise:
generating the vehicle shape for each body of the multi-body vehicle;
generating the inflated obstacle boundary based on each vehicle shape; and
combining the inflated obstacle boundaries based on each vehicle shape to generate a multi-body inflated obstacle boundary; or
(ii) if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle, generating the vehicle shape comprises:
generating a first vehicle shape for a first section of the multi-body vehicle; and
generating a second vehicle shape for a second section of the multi- body vehicle.
Ma teaches (ii) if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows the vehicle as a multi-body vehicle), generating the vehicle shape comprises:
generating a first vehicle shape for a first section of the multi-body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows shape 12 representing the vehicle tractor); and
generating a second vehicle shape for a second section of the multi- body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows shape 14 representing vehicle trailer).
Fonseca teaches generating vehicle representations in determining collision detection. Ma teaches using two vehicle shapes as representation of a multi-body vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the multi-body generation of Ma as this would allow for the system to account for the different turn radii of the different bodies while keeping the processing simple.
Regarding claim 2, Fonseca teaches wherein the vehicle is at a non-parallel and non-perpendicular angle relative to the detected obstacle, and wherein the vehicle is a single body vehicle or a multi-body vehicle including a tractor and a trailer (Fig. 4 shows the vehicle is at a non-parallel and non-perpendicular angle relative to the detected obstacle and the body is a single body vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Fonseca teaches wherein if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle of (ii), the centroid is located at an intersection or connection of the first vehicle shape and the second vehicle shape.
Ma teaches wherein if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle of (ii), the centroid is located at an intersection or connection of the first vehicle shape and the second vehicle shape (Fig. 4 shows the connection of the first vehicle shape and the second vehicle shape as hitch point 48 which is interpreted as the location of the centroid).
Fonseca teaches generating vehicle representations in determining collision detection. Ma teaches using two vehicle shapes as representation of a multi-body vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the multi-body generation of Ma as this would allow for the system to account for the different turn radii of the different bodies while keeping the processing simple.
Regarding claim 15, Fonseca teaches wherein the operations further comprise setting or adjusting a motion path of the vehicle to avoid entering or passing of the centroid of the vehicle shape through the inflated obstacle boundary to avoid the collision between the vehicle and the obstacle ([0034] discusses determining the risk of collision to determine the trajectory of a vehicle where the risk is determined based on the center of the vehicle with [0045] discussing the dilated object boundary being based on the center of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, Fonseca teaches a computer-implemented method for collision detection (Fig. 5), comprising:
detecting an obstacle around a vehicle with one or more sensors associated with the vehicle ([0024] discusses using sensors to detect objects around the vehicle); and
executing instructions stored in a memory with a processing device in communication with the one or more sensors to perform operations ([0039] discusses the system which is interpreted as including communication with the sensors being executed using processor to execute instructions stored in a memory) comprising:
generating a vehicle shape representative of and encompassing the vehicle ([0033] discusses representing the vehicle with at least one geometric primitive shape);
identifying a centroid of the vehicle shape ([0034] discusses the collision check being performed using the center of the vehicle shape);
generating an obstacle shape representative of and encompassing the obstacle ([0027] discusses the obstacle being represented visually within the model which is interpreted as a shape representative); and
generating an inflated obstacle boundary based on dimensions of the vehicle shape ([0045] discusses a dilated object border being based on the dimensions of the vehicle shape);
wherein the inflated obstacle boundary is dimensioned greater than the obstacle shape ([0045] discusses the dilated object border having a greater dimension than the obstacle); and
wherein the inflated obstacle boundary represents a path along which the centroid of the vehicle shape can move without collision between the vehicle and the obstacle ([0045] discusses the dilated object border being based on the radius of the geometric primitive representing the vehicle where the radius of the geometric primitive is equal to half of the vehicle’s width therefore the dilated object border would represent a path along which the centroid of the vehicle can move without collision);
but does not explicitly teach
and wherein at least one of:
i. if the vehicle is a single body vehicle, the operations comprise generating the inflated obstacle boundary based on only the vehicle shape; and if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle, the operations comprise:
generating the vehicle shape for each body of the multi-body vehicle;
generating the inflated obstacle boundary based on each vehicle shape; and
combining the inflated obstacle boundaries based on each vehicle shape to generate a multi-body inflated obstacle boundary; or
(ii) if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle, generating the vehicle shape comprises:
generating a first vehicle shape for a first section of the multi-body vehicle; and
generating a second vehicle shape for a second section of the multi- body vehicle.
Ma teaches (ii) if the vehicle is a multi-body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows the vehicle as a multi-body vehicle), generating the vehicle shape comprises:
generating a first vehicle shape for a first section of the multi-body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows shape 12 representing the vehicle tractor); and
generating a second vehicle shape for a second section of the multi- body vehicle (Fig. 4 shows shape 14 representing vehicle trailer).
Fonseca teaches generating vehicle representations in determining collision detection. Ma teaches using two vehicle shapes as representation of a multi-body vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the multi-body generation of Ma as this would allow for the system to account for the different turn radii of the different bodies while keeping the processing simple.
Claims 3, 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca in view of Ma and further in view of Silva (US 20210370921).
Regarding claim 3, Fonseca teaches representing the vehicle as a geometric primitive but does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and wherein the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square.
Silva teaches wherein the vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and wherein the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square ([0031] discusses the bounding boxes representing the vehicles as being based on the respective sizes and shapes of the vehicles with [0033] discussing these being based on dimensions including length and width and with Figs. 2A and 2B showing the shapes as rectangular including edges and vertexes).
Fonseca teaches using geometric primitive shapes to represent vehicles. Silva teaches using bounding boxes to represent vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the bounding boxes of Silva as the use of rectangular boxes will allow the system to closely approximate the shape of the vehicle with a single shape improving the processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Fonseca teaches generating a vehicle representation but does not explicitly teach wherein if (ii): each of the first vehicle shape and the second vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length; and the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square.
Ma teaches if (ii): each of the first vehicle shape and the second vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length (Fig. 4 shows the first and second vehicle shapes as rectangles with a top and bottom edge defining a width and a left and right edge defining a length).
Fonseca teaches generating vehicle representations in determining collision detection. Ma teaches using two vehicle shapes as representation of a multi-body vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the multi-body generation of Ma as this would allow for the system to account for the different turn radii of the different bodies while keeping the processing simple.
Ma does not explicitly teach the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square.
Silva teaches the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square ([0031] discusses the bounding boxes representing the vehicles as being based on the respective sizes and shapes of the vehicles with [0033] discussing these being based on dimensions including length and width and with Figs. 2A and 2B showing the shapes as rectangular including edges and vertexes).
Modified Fonseca teaches using geometric primitive shapes to represent vehicles. Silva teaches using bounding boxes to represent vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of modified Fonseca with the bounding boxes of Silva as the use of rectangular boxes will allow the system to closely approximate the shape of the vehicle with a single shape improving the processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Fonseca teaches dilating object boundaries as discussed above but does not explicitly teach the operations further comprise generating a buffer zone along a perimeter of the inflated obstacle boundary; the buffer zone is an area offset perpendicularly from each side of the inflated obstacle boundary by a predetermined distance away from the obstacle; and the operations further comprise setting a border of the buffer zone as a limit for travel of the centroid of the vehicle shape to avoid the collision between the vehicle and the obstacle.
Silva teaches the operations further comprise generating a buffer zone along a perimeter of the inflated obstacle boundary; the buffer zone is an area offset perpendicularly from each side of the inflated obstacle boundary by a predetermined distance away from the obstacle; and the operations further comprise setting a border of the buffer zone as a limit for travel of the centroid of the vehicle shape to avoid the collision between the vehicle and the obstacle ([0033] discusses including a buffer zone around an obstacle boundary representative of a safe distance around the obstacles where the distance can be based on the object type which is interpreted as a predetermined distance).
Fonseca teaches using dilating object boundaries. Silva teaches using buffer zones based on object types. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the buffer zones of Silva as Silva teaches that this allows the system to modify the buffer zones for more vulnerable road users and to account for perception confidence making the system safer.
Regarding claim 17, Fonseca teaches representing the vehicle as a geometric primitive but does not explicitly teach the vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length; and the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square.
Silva teaches the vehicle shape is a vehicle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, and a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length; and the obstacle shape is an obstacle rectangle or square including a top edge and an opposing bottom edge defining a width, a left edge and an opposing right edge defining a length, and a vertex at each corner of the obstacle rectangle or square ([0031] discusses the bounding boxes representing the vehicles as being based on the respective sizes and shapes of the vehicles with [0033] discussing these being based on dimensions including length and width and with Figs. 2A and 2B showing the shapes as rectangular including edges and vertexes).
Fonseca teaches using geometric primitive shapes to represent vehicles. Silva teaches using bounding boxes to represent vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the bounding boxes of Silva as the use of rectangular boxes will allow the system to closely approximate the shape of the vehicle with a single shape improving the processing efficiency.
Claims 4-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca in view of Ma and Silva and further in view of Xie (US 20210096565).
Regarding claim 4, Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions but does not explicitly teach wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a first set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in a direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square; connecting endpoints of the first set of lines with a boundary of the obstacle shape to represent a first part of the inflated obstacle boundary; transposing a second set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in the direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square, wherein the second set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective first set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the second set of lines with the first part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent a second part of the inflated obstacle boundary.
Xie teaches wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a first set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in a direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square; connecting endpoints of the first set of lines with a boundary of the obstacle shape to represent a first part of the inflated obstacle boundary; transposing a second set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in the direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square, wherein the second set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective first set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the second set of lines with the first part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent a second part of the inflated obstacle boundary ([0032] discusses generating polygons by dilating shapes that represent objects where the shapes of the objects are dilated by half the width of the vehicle where dilating by these dimensions is interpreted as transposing the lines from the dimensions of the vehicle to create the inflated boundaries).
Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions as described above. Xie teaches dilating objects by half the width and length of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the system of Xie as this allows the vehicle to determine if a projected trajectory will intersect with the object making the system safer for the user.
Regarding claim 5, Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions but does not explicitly teach wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a third set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary; transposing a fourth set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary, wherein the fourth set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective third set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the third and fourth set of lines with the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent the inflated obstacle boundary.
Xie teaches wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a third set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary; transposing a fourth set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary, wherein the fourth set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective third set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the third and fourth set of lines with the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent the inflated obstacle boundary ([0032] discusses generating polygons by dilating shapes that represent objects where the shapes of the objects are dilated by half the width of the vehicle where dilating by these dimensions is interpreted as transposing the lines from the dimensions of the vehicle to create the inflated boundaries).
Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions as described above. Xie teaches dilating objects by half the width and length of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the system of Xie as this allows the vehicle to determine if a projected trajectory will intersect with the object making the system safer for the user.
Regarding claim 18, Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions but does not explicitly teach wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a first set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in a direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square; and connecting endpoints of the first set of lines with a boundary of the obstacle shape to represent a first part of the inflated obstacle boundary.
Xie teaches wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a first set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in a direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square; and connecting endpoints of the first set of lines with a boundary of the obstacle shape to represent a first part of the inflated obstacle boundary ([0032] discusses generating polygons by dilating shapes that represent objects where the shapes of the objects are dilated by half the width of the vehicle where dilating by these dimensions is interpreted as transposing the lines from the dimensions of the vehicle to create the inflated boundaries).
Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions as described above. Xie teaches dilating objects by half the width and length of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the system of Xie as this allows the vehicle to determine if a projected trajectory will intersect with the object making the system safer for the user.
Regarding claim 19, Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions but does not explicitly teach wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a second set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in the direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square, wherein the second set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective first set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the second set of lines with the first part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent a second part of the inflated obstacle boundary.
Xie teaches wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a second set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in the direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square, wherein the second set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective first set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the second set of lines with the first part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent a second part of the inflated obstacle boundary ([0032] discusses generating polygons by dilating shapes that represent objects where the shapes of the objects are dilated by half the width of the vehicle where dilating by these dimensions is interpreted as transposing the lines from the dimensions of the vehicle to create the inflated boundaries).
Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions as described above. Xie teaches dilating objects by half the width and length of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the system of Xie as this allows the vehicle to determine if a projected trajectory will intersect with the object making the system safer for the user.
Regarding claim 20, Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions but does not explicitly teach wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a third set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary; transposing a fourth set of lines having a dimension of half the length and extending in a direction parallel to the left and right edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary, wherein the fourth set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective third set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the third and fourth set of lines with the second part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent the inflated obstacle boundary.
Xie teaches wherein generating the inflated obstacle boundary comprises: transposing a second set of lines having a dimension of half the width and extending in the direction parallel to the top and bottom edges of the vehicle rectangle or square from each vertex of the obstacle rectangle or square, wherein the second set of lines extend from the vertex away from the respective first set of lines; and connecting endpoints of the second set of lines with the first part of the inflated obstacle boundary to represent a second part of the inflated obstacle boundary ([0032] discusses generating polygons by dilating shapes that represent objects where the shapes of the objects are dilated by half the length of the vehicle where dilating by these dimensions is interpreted as transposing the lines from the dimensions of the vehicle to create the inflated boundaries).
Fonseca teaches dilating objects based on vehicle dimensions as described above. Xie teaches dilating objects by half the width and length of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Fonseca with the system of Xie as this allows the vehicle to determine if a projected trajectory will intersect with the object making the system safer for the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIELLE M JACKSON whose telephone number is (303)297-4364. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:00-4:30 MT.
/D.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /ABBY LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657