DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transportation device,” “control module,” “detection module,” “air conditioning system,” and “flow distribution component” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
“Transportation device” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at para. 0003 as being a car, and equivalents thereof.
“Control module” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at para. 0064 as being an air conditioner controller, and equivalents thereof.
“Detection module” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at para. 0070, and equivalents thereof.
“Air conditioning system” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure of reference numeral 10 as illustrated in Figs. 1-8, and equivalents thereof.
“Flow distribution component” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described at paras. 0077 and 0118, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 10343483 B2) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2012/0183815 A1).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a thermal management system for a transportation device (vehicle), comprising:
an air-conditioning system 40;
a thermal management loop (50, 60, 10), wherein the thermal management loop is configured to:
circulate a first heat-conducting medium to perform thermal management on a specified part of the transportation device (battery B, motor 16, control unit 17, charger 18); and
exchange heat with the air-conditioning system to selectively transfer heat generated by the specified part to the air-conditioning system at least when the air- conditioning system is in a heating state (Figs. 4, 5, 8; etc.), to provide at least a partial heat source for an evaporation process of the air-conditioning system (at evaporator 47); and
an auxiliary heater 25, wherein the auxiliary heater is configured to selectively replenish heat for the thermal management loop (col. 17, lines 29-32).
As per claim 2, Kim discloses the system further comprising: controlling the auxiliary heater to replenish heat for the thermal management loop (col. 17, lines 29-32), although does not explicitly teach a control module or the heating supply demand being related to the heat generated by the specific part. Johnson et al. teach a control module (controller 109) and the concept of controlling a thermal management system according to the temperatures of specific parts of the system (para. 0028; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide a control module to the system of Kim for the simple purpose of carrying out the various controls discussed therein. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the heat generation of the specific part as a basis for the controls Kim since, as discussed in Johnson et al., it is well understood that the temperatures of (and thus heat generated by) each of the component parts of temperature control loops are well understood to affect the overall operation of the thermal system.
As per claim 3, Kim discloses the system operating in heating mode and determining whether the required heat demand is being met (col. 17, lines 29-32), but does not teach the system further comprising: a detection module, wherein the detection module is configured to detect an operating state or an operating environment of the air-conditioning system when the air-conditioning system is in the heating state; wherein the control module is further configured to determine, based on a detection result of the detection module, whether the heat generated by the specified part meets the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system. Johnson et al. teach a detection module (temperature detectors), wherein the detection module is configured to detect an operating state (temperature) or an operating environment of the air-conditioning system, wherein the control module is further configured to determine, based on a detection result of the detection module (para. 0028; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply the temperature detection arrangement of Johnson e al. to the system of Kim in order to determine whether the heat generated by the specified part meets the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system as simply a particular application of the teachings of Johnson et al. regarding the effect the temperature of a particular component of a thermal system has of the operation of the system.
As per claim 4, Kim does not teach wherein the operating environment comprises temperature of the first heat-conducting medium, the detection module is configured to detect the temperature of the first heat-conducting medium before heat exchange between the first heat-conducting medium and the air-conditioning system, and the control module is configured to determine, in response to the temperature detected by the detection module being lower than a preset temperature threshold, that the heat generated by the specified part does not meet the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system. Johnson et al. teach detecting temperature at various regions of the coolant loop (para. 0028) in order determine operation of thermal components of the thermal system (para. 0028; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply such coolant loop temperature detection to determine whether the heat generated by the specific part meets the heat demand as simply a particular application of the basic monitoring arrangement discussed by Johnson et al. for the purpose of ensuring proper operation of the system.
As per claim 5, Kim does not teach wherein the control module is further configured to control, in response to a heat supply demand of the specified part itself, the auxiliary heater to replenish heat for the thermal management loop, so as to heat the specified part through the first heat-conducting medium. Johnson et al. teach the concept of controlling thermal components (including heater 247) according to the detected temperatures of specified parts (e.g., battery 241) according to the thermal needs of the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control the heater 25 according to the detected temperature of the battery B of Kim for the same purpose ensuring desired thermal operation according to the requirements of the system.
As per claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the thermal management loop comprises at least two thermal management sub- loops (10, 50, 60), the at least two thermal management sub-loops are configured to perform thermal management on different specified parts (loop 10 manages parts 16-18; loop 60 manages battery B);
the thermal management system further comprising:
a thermal management switching component (switching valves V1-V7);
wherein the control module is further configured to control the thermal management switching component to selectively switch a heat exchange relationship between the at least two thermal management sub-loops and the air-conditioning system (various flow arrangements shown in Figs. 1-8).
As per claim 12, Kim discloses wherein:
the specified part comprises the battery module B and a motor module 16 of the transportation device, and the at least two thermal management sub-loops comprise a first thermal management sub-loop 60 and a second thermal management sub-loop 10;
the first thermal management sub-loop is configured to perform thermal management on the battery module B, and comprises a first main heat exchange zone for heat exchange with the battery module (where coolant line passes through B) and the auxiliary heat exchange zone for heat exchange with the auxiliary heater (where coolant line passes through 25);
the second thermal management sub-loop is configured to perform thermal management on the motor module and comprises a second main heat exchange zone for heat exchange with the motor module (where coolant passes through 16) and an external heat exchanger 12 for heat exchange with an external environment; and
controlling, in response to the air-conditioning system being in the heating state (Figs. 4, 5, 8; etc.), the thermal management switching component to switch at least one of the first thermal management sub-loop and the second thermal management sub-loop to exchanging heat with the air-conditioning system (heat exchange with air conditioning cycle 40 as shown in Figs. 4, 5, 8; etc.). Again, the concept of a control module to carry out the controls is taught by Johnson et al. as already discussed above.
As per claim 13, Kim discloses controlling, in response to the air-conditioning system being in the heating state, the thermal management switching component to switch the first thermal management sub-loop and the second thermal management sub-loop to simultaneously exchanging heat with the air- conditioning system (Figs. 2-5 and 7; etc.). Again, the concept of a control module to carry out the controls is taught by Johnson et al. as already discussed above.
As per claim 14, Kim discloses controlling the thermal management switching component to connect the first thermal management sub-loop and the second thermal management sub-loop, so that the first heat-conducting medium circulates in an entire loop formed by the first thermal management sub-loop and the second thermal management sub-loop (Figs. 1-5 and 7). Again, the concept of a control module to carry out the controls is taught by Johnson et al. as already discussed above.
As per claim 18, Kim discloses a first refrigerant loop condensing heat exchanger 42 exchanging heat with heat exchange medium to heat the specific region (battery B, etc.) and liquid reservoir (receiver 43 downstream of the condensing heat exchanger. Kim discloses wherein: the air-conditioning system comprises a first air-conditioning loop (refrigerant loop 40) and a second air- conditioning loop (coolant loop 60-50-10); the first air-conditioning loop is configured to circulate a refrigerant and comprises a compressor 48, a condensing heat exchanger 42, a liquid reservoir (receiver 43), an evaporation heat exchanger 47, and a and the refrigerant absorbs heat by evaporation in the evaporation heat exchanger, to absorb heat from the thermal management loop; and the second air-conditioning loop is configured to circulate a second heat-conducting medium and comprises a heating heat exchanger 31, wherein the heating heat exchanger exchanges heat with the condensing heat exchanger, to heat the specified region by air conditioning (Fig. 1; etc.). Kim does not teach the first air conditioning loop comprising and additional evaporation heat exchanger, wherein the refrigerant absorbs heat by evaporation in the first evaporation heat exchanger, to cool a specified region of the transportation device by air conditioning.
Johnson et al. teach wherein: the air-conditioning system comprises a first air-conditioning loop and a second air- conditioning loop; the first air-conditioning loop is configured to circulate a refrigerant and comprises a compressor 201, a condensing heat exchanger 203, a first evaporation heat exchanger 211, and a second evaporation heat exchanger 215, wherein the refrigerant absorbs heat by evaporation in the first evaporation heat exchanger, to cool a specified region of the transportation device by air conditioning (evaporator 211 serves to cool vehicle interior), and the refrigerant absorbs heat by evaporation in the second evaporation heat exchanger, to absorb heat from the thermal management loop (via heat exchange shown in Fig. 1; etc.); and the second air-conditioning loop is configured to circulate a second heat-conducting medium and comprises a heating heat exchanger 247. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the additional evaporating heat exchanger of Johnson et al. into the system of Kim for the same purpose of using the refrigeration cycle to more effectively directly cool the air directed into the vehicle for air conditioning rather than using heat exchanger 33, which involves less efficient indirect heat exchange via heat exchange loop 60.
As per claim 19, Kim discloses controlling, in response to the air-conditioning system being in a refrigeration state, the thermal management switching component to switch the second thermal management sub-loop 10 to exchanging heat with the condensing heat exchanger 42, to transfer heat released by the condensing heat exchanger to the external heat exchanger 12 (Figs. 2-3; etc.). Again, the concept of a control module to carry out the controls is taught by Johnson et al. as already discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 6 (and claims 7-10 which depend therefrom), there is no teaching or motivation in the art to further modify the system of Kim wherein the thermal management loop comprises a main heat exchange zone for exchanging heat with the specified part and an auxiliary heat exchange zone for exchanging heat with the auxiliary heater, and the thermal management loop further comprises a flow distribution component and a bypass line connected in parallel with the main heat exchange zone, wherein the control module is further configured to control, based on the heat supply demand of the specified part and the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system, the flow distribution component to perform flow distribution on the first heat-conducting medium between the main heat exchange zone and the bypass line.
As per claim 15, there is no teaching or motivation in the art to further modify the system of Kim wherein the first thermal management sub-loop further comprises a first flow distribution component and a first bypass line connected in parallel with the first main heat exchange zone, and wherein the control module is further configured to control, based on the heat supply demand of the specified part and the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system, the first flow distribution component to perform flow distribution on a first heat-conducting medium in the first thermal management sub-loop between the first main heat exchange zone and the first bypass line.
As per claim 16 (and claim 17 which depends therefrom), there is no teaching or motivation in the art to further modify the system of Kim wherein the second thermal management sub-loop further comprises a second flow distribution component and a second bypass line connected in parallel with the external heat exchanger, and wherein the control module is further configured to control, based on a heat dissipation demand of the motor module, the heat supply demand of the air-conditioning system, or the external environment of the external heat exchanger, the second flow distribution component to perform flow distribution on a first heat- conducting medium in the second thermal management sub-loop between the external heat exchanger and the second bypass line.
As per claim 20, there is no teaching or motivation in the art to further modify the system of Kim wherein the air-conditioning system further comprises a first air-conditioning switching component, the second thermal management sub-loop and the second air-conditioning loop are each connected to the condensing heat exchanger through the first air-conditioning switching component, and the control module is further configured to control the first air-conditioning switching component to selectively supply the first heat-conducting medium in the second thermal management sub-loop and the second heat- conducting medium in the second air-conditioning loop to the condensing heat exchanger.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
He et al. (US 2020/0047591 A1) and Richter et al. (US 2011/0174000 A1) teach alternative vehicle heating and cooling control arrangements including component heating by a heat exchange fluid in combination with a refrigeration cycle.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763