DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a housing that encloses a chamber configured to hold dry chemicals and having a first opening and a second opening smaller than the first opening; wherein the housing is configured to be inserted into an opening of the microfluidic device, such that the container is independently secured within the opening, and such that a microfluidic channel of the microfluidic device is fluidically coupled with the chamber via the second opening in claim 1; and one or more structures that protrude outward from the first cylindrical portion and are configured to hold the housing within the microfluidic device when the housing is inserted into the opening of the microfluidic device in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10-11 are not clear with respect to what applicant is claiming. The claims do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Claim 1 is unclear reciting “wherein the housing is configured to be inserted into an opening of the microfluidic device, such that the container is independently secured within the opening, and such that a microfluidic channel of the microfluidic device is fluidically coupled with the chamber via the second opening” because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase “configured to” are part of the claimed invention. It is further unclear the recitation includes elements that have not been positively claimed (i.e., microfluidic device, microfluidic channel, etc.). For this reason, claim 5 is similarly unclear.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are unclear. Claim 1 is unclear reciting “a housing that encloses a chamber configured to hold dry chemicals and having a first opening and a second opening smaller than the first opening” because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase “configured to” are part of the claimed invention (i.e., is the applicant is claiming dry chemicals in the chamber?). It is further unclear what structural configuration is being claimed. Claim 10 is similarly unclear. Claim 11 is indefinite reciting “wherein the dry chemicals include freeze-dried reagents” because the recitation includes elements that have not been positively claimed.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are indefinite, as they fail to clearly define structural configurations.
Claim limitation “configured to [...]” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the term “means” or generic placeholder is modified by a word, which is ambiguous regarding whether it conveys structure or function; and/or the claim limitation uses the word “means” or a generic placeholder coupled with functional language, but it is modified by some structure or material that is ambiguous regarding whether that structure or material is sufficient for performing the claimed function. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel et al. (US 2017/0014826 A1) in view of Curry et al. (US 2011/0212002 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Engel et al. teach:
1. A container (e.g., 104) capable of connecting with a microfluidic device (see ¶ 0026-0032 & Figs. 1A-1C for example), the container comprising:
a housing (e.g., 202) that encloses a chamber (e.g., 105) capable of holding dry chemicals (see ¶ 0040 for example) and having a first opening (e.g., 212) and a second opening (e.g., 214) smaller than the first opening (see ¶ 0037 & Fig. 2B for example);
a first lid (e.g., 208) configured to cover the first opening (see ¶ 0037 for example); and
a second removable lid (e.g., 210) configured to cover the second opening (see ¶ 0037 for example),
wherein the housing is capable of being inserted into an opening of the microfluidic device (see Fig. 1A for example), such that the container is independently secured within the opening, and such that a microfluidic channel of the microfluidic device is fluidically coupled with the chamber via the second opening (see ¶ 0026-0032 & Figs. 1A-1C for example).
Regarding claims 1, 10-12, Engel et al. do not explicitly teach: the first lid having a column that extends from the first lid into the chamber. 10. The container of claim 1, wherein the column is configured to secure the dry chemicals within the chamber. 11. The container of claim 10, wherein the dry chemicals include freeze-dried reagents. 12. The container of claim 1, wherein the column includes a tip at a distal end of the column, the tip having a round shape or a conical shape.
Curry et al. teach: a first lid (e.g., 100) having a column (e.g., 108) that extends from the first lid into a chamber (see Figs. 1-3 for example); wherein the column is capable of securing dry chemicals within the chamber (¶ 0155); wherein the dry chemicals include freeze-dried reagents (¶ 0155); wherein the column includes a tip at a distal end of the column, the tip having a round shape or a conical shape (Fig., 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the first lid of Engel et al. with the column of Curry et al. for the purpose of securing one or more reagents in a dried or lyophilized form (dry chemicals/freeze-dried reagents) (Curry et al. ¶ 0155).
Regarding claim 1, modified Engel et al. meet all the structural limitations recited by the instant invention. Applicants’ preamble recites “to connect with a microfluidic device”. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
With regard to limitations in claim 1, 5, 7-11, (e.g., [...] to hold [...], [...] to be inserted into an opening of the microfluidic device, such that the container is independently secured within the opening, and such that a microfluidic channel of the microfluidic device is fluidically coupled with the chamber via the second opening, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claims 2-9, modified Engel et al. teach:
2. The container of claim 1, wherein the first lid includes a protruding structure (e.g., 302) that is capable of preventing moisture from entering into the chamber through the first opening when the first opening is covered by the first lid (see ¶ 0039 for example).
3. The container of claim 1, wherein the housing has a first cylindrical portion (e.g., 204) and a second cylindrical portion (e.g., 206) smaller than the first cylindrical portion (see ¶ 0036 for example).
4. The container of claim 3, wherein a diameter of the first cylindrical portion is substantially equal to a diameter of the first opening and a diameter of the second cylindrical portion is substantially equal to a diameter of the second opening (see Claim 3 for example).
5. The container of claim 3, further comprising one or more structures (e.g., 502) that protrude outward from the first cylindrical portion and are capable of holding the housing within the microfluidic device when the housing is inserted into the opening of the microfluidic device (see ¶ 0042 for example).
6. The container of claim 1, wherein the first lid includes one or more protruding structures (e.g., 302, 306) that is capable of allowing the first lid to sit overtop the first opening by resting on the one or more protruding structures without sealing the first opening (see ¶ 0039 for example).
7. The container of claim 6, wherein the first lid includes one or more slotted openings (e.g., 306) capable of allowing air to pass through the first opening when the first lid is resting on the one or more protruding structures (see ¶ 0040 for example).
8. The container of claim 1, wherein the housing includes a necking region (e.g., 702) located closer to the second opening than the first opening, the necking region being capable of holding the dry chemicals around the necking region (see ¶ 0045 for example).
9. The container of claim 1, wherein the housing includes one or more interior structures (e.g., 704) located closer to the second opening than the first opening, the one or more interior structures being capable of holding the dry chemicals around the one or more interior structures (see ¶ 0045 for example).
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798