DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 06/20/2024 and 01/02/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“smart key module configured to…”;
“storage module configured to…”; and
“vehicle control module configured to…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11-13, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sarkar et al. US 2023/0396611 (hereinafter Sarkar).
As per claim 1, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: a smart key module configured to receive a signal from a smart key, the signal associated with accessing vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob); and
a storage module configured to control access to the vehicle data according to the control of the smart key module (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the smart key module is configured to allow access to the vehicle data stored in the storage module through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
As per claim 4, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 1, wherein the smart key module is configured to control the storage module to have any one of an initial state, a lock state, and an unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
As per claim 8, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 4, wherein the smart key module is configured to change the storage module from the lock state to the unlock state through an unlock operation (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
As per claim 11, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: a smart key module configured to receive a signal from a smart key, the signal associated with accessing vehicle data from a smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob);
a vehicle control module configured to be associated with at least one of vehicle management and driving convenience (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data); and
a storage module configured to store the vehicle data generated by the vehicle control module and control access to the vehicle data according to control of the smart key module (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], [0086], stored vehicle data. Authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the smart key module is configured to allow access to the vehicle data of the vehicle control module, stored in the storage module through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
As per claim 12, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 11, wherein the vehicle control module includes a vehicle internal module including at least one of a vehicle management module, an infotainment module, a driver assistance module, and a camera management module (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data).
As per claim 17, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: a smart key module configured to receive a signal from a smart key, the signal associated with accessing vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob); and
a vehicle control module configured to be associated with at least one of vehicle management and driving convenience (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data),
wherein the smart key module allows is configured to allow access to vehicle data stored in the vehicle control module through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
As per claim 20, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 17, wherein the smart key includes a remote device configured to remotely communicate with the smart key module through a network (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob).
As per claims 13, 15, 18-19, the claims claim a system essentially corresponding to the system claims 4, 8 and 12 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 10, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar, in view of Lee at al. US 2022/0283714 (hereinafter Lee).
As per claim 2, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 1, wherein the storage module comprises, a storage unit configured to store the vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0083], [0086], stored vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose a storage controller configured to control access to the storage unit.
Lee teaches a storage controller configured to control access to the storage unit (Lee paragraph [0025], [0041], storage controller).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of authenticating for access to stored vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include a storage controller to control access to storage because the results would have been predictable and resulted in having a storage controller controlling access to the vehicle storage.
As per claim 3, Sarkar in view of Lee teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 2, wherein the storage unit includes a non-volatile memory and is configured to store the vehicle data in the non-volatile memory (Sarkar paragraph [0083], [0086], stored vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0033], non-volatile memory).
As per claim 5, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 4, wherein the smart key module is configured to change the storage module from the initial state to the unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose initial state to unlock state through a password setting operation.
Lee teaches initial state to unlock state through a password setting operation (Lee paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0055]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0072]-[0074], unlock state via password setting).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of storing encrypted vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include setting a password and providing layers of encryption keys for encrypting data in order to enhance the security/encryption of the stored vehicle data.
As per claim 10, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 4.
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose wherein module is configured to change storage module from lock state or unlock state to initial state through a crypto erase operation.
Lee teaches wherein module is configured to change storage module from lock state or unlock state to initial state through a crypto erase operation (Lee paragraph [0056]-[0064], delete data and reset).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of storing encrypted vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include setting a password, providing layers of encryption keys for encrypting data, and deleting data and resetting passwords/keys in order to enhance the security of the stored vehicle data by deleting the vehicle data and changing the storage password/keys.
As per claims 14 and 16, the claims claim a system essentially corresponding to the system claims 5 and 10 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar in view of Lee, and further in view of Fujiwara et al. US 2017/0374047 (hereinafter Fujiwara).
As per claim 6, Sarkar in view of Lee teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 5, wherein the smart key module is configured to provide a password setting command to the storage module upon authentication of the smart key being successful (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle; Lee paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0055]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0072]-[0074], password setting command).
Sarkar in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose module is configured to provide a response signal to another module in response to a command.
Fujiwara teaches module is configured to provide a response signal to another module in response to a command (Fujiwara paragraph [0061], send notification).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee of providing a password setting command to set a password with the teachings of Fujiwara to include sending a notification to a requester in order to notify the requester of the password setting command that the command has been processed.
As per claim 7, Sarkar in view of Lee and Fujiwara teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 6, wherein upon the smart key module receiving a success response, the vehicle data access system is configured to encrypt the password according to an algorithm and store the encrypted password (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083]; Lee paragraph [0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047], encrypt password and stored encrypted password; Fujiwara paragraph [0061]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar, in view of Fujiwara et al. US 2017/0374047 (hereinafter Fujiwara).
As per claim 9, Sarkar teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 8, wherein the smart key module is configured to provide an unlock command to the storage module when authentication of the smart key is successful (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose module provides a success response or a fail response to another module in response to a command (Fujiwara paragraph [0061], send notification).
Fujiwara teaches provides a success response or a fail response to another module in response to a command (Fujiwara paragraph [0061], send notification).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of providing an unlock command with the teachings of Fujiwara to include sending a notification to a requester in order to notify the requester of the unlock command that the command has been processed and is successful or not.
Conclusion
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495