DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments filed on 04/27/2026 has been received and entered. Currently Claims 1-9, 11-15, 17 and 19-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 05/14/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 2023/0396611 (hereinafter Sarkar), in view of Lee at al. US 2022/0283714 (hereinafter Lee), and Guerin et al. US 2014/0325011 (hereinafter Guerin)
As per claim 1, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: processing circuitry configured to receive a signal from a smart key, wherein the signal is associated with a request to access vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob); and
a storage controller coupled with a storage unit, wherein the storage controller is configured to control access to the vehicle data stored in the storage unit according to the control of the processing circuitry (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to allow access to the vehicle data stored in the storage unit through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuity is configured to control the storage controller to have any one of a lock state and an unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity.
Lee teaches wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation (Lee paragraph [0056]-[0064], delete data and reset)
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity (Lee paragraph [0044]-[0047], [0056]-[0064], delete keys and reset password).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of storing encrypted vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include setting a password, providing layers of encryption keys for encrypting data, and deleting data/keys and resetting passwords/keys in order to enhance the security of the stored vehicle data by deleting the vehicle data/keys and changing the storage password/keys.
Sarkar in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity.
Guerin teaches erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity (Guerin paragraph [0125]-[0128], delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee of deleting keys and resetting the password on the storage device with the teachings of Guerin to include delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server in order to provide synchronization of the keys/password and provide increased security of the system by deleting the target keys/password in both the processing circuitry and the storage device.
As per claim 2, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 1, wherein the storage controller comprises, a storage unit configured to store the vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0083], [0086], stored vehicle data); and
a storage controller configured to control access to the storage unit (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083]; Lee paragraph [0025], [0041], storage controller).
As per claim 3, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 2, wherein the storage unit includes a non-volatile memory and is configured to store the vehicle data in the non-volatile memory (Sarkar paragraph [0083], [0086], stored vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0033], non-volatile memory).
As per claim 4, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the storage controller to have any one of an initial state, a lock state, and an unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0025], [0041]).
As per claim 5, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to change the storage controller from the initial state to the unlock state through a password setting operation (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0055]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0072]-[0074], unlock state via password setting).
As per claim 8, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to change the storage controller from the lock state to the unlock state through an unlock operation (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0025], [0041]).
As per claim 11, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: a processing circuitry configured to receive a signal from a smart key, wherein the signal is associated with a request to access vehicle data from a smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob);
a vehicle controller configured to be associated with at least one of vehicle management and driving convenience (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data); and
a storage controller coupled with a storage unit, wherein the storage controller is configured to store the vehicle data generated by the vehicle controller in the storage unit and control access to the vehicle data stored in the storage unit according to control of the processing circuitry (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], [0086], stored vehicle data. Authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to allow access to the vehicle data of the vehicle controller, stored in the storage unit through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuity is configured to control the storage controller to have any one of a lock state and an unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity.
Lee teaches wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation (Lee paragraph [0056]-[0064], delete data and reset)
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity (Lee paragraph [0044]-[0047], [0056]-[0064], delete keys and reset password).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of storing encrypted vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include setting a password, providing layers of encryption keys for encrypting data, and deleting data/keys and resetting passwords/keys in order to enhance the security of the stored vehicle data by deleting the vehicle data/keys and changing the storage password/keys.
Sarkar in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity.
Guerin teaches erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity (Guerin paragraph [0125]-[0128], delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee of deleting keys and resetting the password on the storage device with the teachings of Guerin to include delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server in order to provide synchronization of the keys/password and provide increased security of the system by deleting the target keys/password in both the processing circuitry and the storage device.
As per claim 12, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 11, wherein the vehicle controller includes a vehicle internal module including at least one of a vehicle management module, an infotainment module, a driver assistance module, and a camera management module (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data).
As per claim 17, Sarkar teaches a vehicle data access system comprising: a processing circuitry configured to receive a signal from a smart key, wherein the signal is associated with a request to access vehicle data (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob);
a vehicle controller configured to be associated with at least one of vehicle management and driving convenience (Sarkar paragraph [0046], [0050], [0086], vehicle systems that generate vehicle data); and
a storage controller coupled with a storage unit, wherein the storage controller is configured to store in the storage unit the vehicle data generated by the vehicle controller (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuitry allows is configured to allow access to vehicle data stored in the storage controller through an authentication operation of the smart key (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data),
wherein the processing circuity is configured to control the storage controller to have any one of a lock state and an unlock state (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data).
Sarkar does not explicitly disclose wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity.
Lee teaches wherein processing circuitry is configured to change storage controller from lock state or unlock state to an initial state through a crypto erase operation (Lee paragraph [0056]-[0064], delete data and reset)
comprising communicating, by the processing circuitry, an erase command to the storage controller with instructions to erase from storage unit encryption keys generated based on a password provided by the processing circuity (Lee paragraph [0044]-[0047], [0056]-[0064], delete keys and reset password).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar of storing encrypted vehicle data with the teachings of Lee to include setting a password, providing layers of encryption keys for encrypting data, and deleting data/keys and resetting passwords/keys in order to enhance the security of the stored vehicle data by deleting the vehicle data/keys and changing the storage password/keys.
Sarkar in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity.
Guerin teaches erasing, by processing circuitry and based on success of controller erasing data, data stored in the processing circuity (Guerin paragraph [0125]-[0128], delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee of deleting keys and resetting the password on the storage device with the teachings of Guerin to include delete data on the client based on successful deletion of the data on the server in order to provide synchronization of the keys/password and provide increased security of the system by deleting the target keys/password in both the processing circuitry and the storage device.
As per claim 20, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches The vehicle data access system of claim 17, wherein the smart key includes a remote device configured to remotely communicate with the processing circuity through a network (Sarkar paragraph [0079]-[0081], receive request from key fob).
As per claims 13-15 and 19, the claims claim a system essentially corresponding to the system claims 4, 5 and 8 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin, and further in view of Fujiwara et al. US 2017/0374047 (hereinafter Fujiwara).
As per claim 6, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to provide a password setting command to the storage controller upon authentication of the smart key being successful (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle; Lee paragraph [0040]-[0043], [0055]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0072]-[0074], password setting command)
Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin does not explicitly disclose controller is configured to provide a response signal to processing curcuitry in response to a command.
Fujiwara teaches controller is configured to provide a response signal to processing curcuitry in response to a command (Fujiwara paragraph [0061], send notification).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin of providing a password setting command to set a password with the teachings of Fujiwara to include sending a notification to a requester in order to notify the requester of the password setting command that the command has been processed.
As per claim 7, Sarkar in view of Lee, Guerin and Fujiwara teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 6, wherein upon the processing circuitry receiving a success response, the vehicle data access system is configured to encrypt the password according to an algorithm and store the encrypted password (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083]; Lee paragraph [0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047], encrypt password and stored encrypted password; Fujiwara paragraph [0061]).
As per claim 9, Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin teaches the vehicle data access system of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to provide an unlock command to the storage controller when authentication of the smart key is successful (Sarkar paragraph [0082]-[0083], authenticate request and provide access to vehicle data; Lee paragraph [0025], [0041]).
Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin does not explicitly disclose controller provides a success response or a fail response to processing circuitry in response to a command.
Fujiwara teaches controller provides a success response or a fail response to processing circuitry in response to a command (Fujiwara paragraph [0061], send notification).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sarkar in view of Lee and Guerin of providing an unlock command with the teachings of Fujiwara to include sending a notification to a requester in order to notify the requester of the unlock command that the command has been processed and is successful or not.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495