DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiron et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0007965 (hereinafter “Tiron”).
Regarding claim 1, Tiron discloses a system comprising: a bed having a mattress (e.g. ¶159 and 167; Fig. 1 and 7A – 7C-1); a plurality of sensors, each sensor configured to: sense at least one phenomenon of a sleep session (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); generate a sensor-signal based on the sensing of the at least one phenomenon (e.g. disordered breathing events) (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); and transmit, to a computer system, the sensor-signal; and the computer system (e.g. Fig. 7B-3, 7C-2 and 8-8C), the computer system comprising at least one processor and memory, the computer system configured to: receive each of the sensor-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); generate a combined-signal from the modulated-signals (e.g. ¶37, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515); identify an event (e.g. snoring) in the combined-signal (e.g. ¶37, 47-48, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515) comprising determining a common-timestamp for the event in the combined-signal (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515); and create, for each sensor-signal, a synchronized-signal by demodulating the combined-signal.
Regarding claim 2, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to cause an automated device to modify the sleep session (e.g. ¶544).
Regarding claim 3, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into modulated-signals, the computer system is configured to perform frequency modulation on each of the sensor-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 4, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to selectively apply a band-pass filter to at least one sensor-signals based on frequency-domain analysis of the at least one sensor-signals (e.g. ¶196 and 388).
Regarding claim 5, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to generate the combined-signal from the modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to perform a summation of the modulated-signals and a normalization to a predefined scale (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 6, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to apply a filter to each of the sensor-signals to reduce a band of the sensor-signal (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 7, Tiron discloses the system of claim 1, wherein to sense at least one phenomenon of the sleep session, each sensor is configured to sense at least one of the group consisting of i) a sleeper on the bed (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388; Fig. 1), ii) a micro-climate of the bed, and iii) an environmental-climate of a building that the bed is in.
Regarding claim 8, Tiron discloses a system comprising: a bed having a mattress (e.g. ¶159 and 167; Fig. 1 and 7A – 7C-1); a plurality of sensors, each sensor configured to: sense at least one phenomenon of a sleep session (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); generate a sensor-signal based on the sensing of the at least one phenomenon (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); and transmit, to a computer system, the sensor-signal; and the computer system (e.g. Fig. 7B-3, 7C-2 and 8-8C), the computer system comprising at least one processor and memory, the computer system configured to: receive each of the sensor-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); generate a combined-signal from the modulated-signals (e.g. ¶37, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515); identify an event in the combined-signal (e.g. ¶37, 47-48, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515) comprising determining a common-timestamp for the event in the combined-signal (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515); and identify, for each of the sensor-signals, a sensor-specific-timestamp identifying a time in the sensor-signal that reflects the event (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515).
Regarding claim 9, Tiron discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the common-timestamp records a point in time, and wherein the sensor-specific-timestamps record an offset (i.e. greater than a threshold) relative to the common-timestamp (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515).
Regarding claim 10, Tiron discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the computer system is further configured to create, for the event, a list of the sensor-specific-timestamps (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515).
Regarding claim 11, Tiron discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the computer system is further configured to: receive a first timing request that identifies the event; and respond to the first timing request with the list of the sensor-specific-timestamps (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515).
Regarding claim 12, Tiron discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the computer system is further configured to: receive a second timing request that identifies i) the event and ii) one of the plurality of sensors (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515); and respond to the second timing request with a response-timestamp that combines the common-timestamp with the sensor-specific-timestamp for the identified one of the plurality of sensors (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515).
Regarding claim 13, Tiron discloses a computer system (e.g. Fig. 7B-3, 7C-2 and 8-8C), the computer system comprising at least one processor and memory, the computer system configured to: receive a plurality of sensor-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388), each of the sensor-signals being generated based on a sensing of at least one phenomenon of a sleep session; convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388); generate a combined-signal from the modulated-signals (e.g. ¶37, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515); identify an event in the combined-signal comprising (e.g. ¶37, 47-48, 195, 288, 353, 388 and 515) determining a common-timestamp for the event in the combined-signal (e.g. ¶253, 478-479, 482 and 515); and create, for each sensor-signal, a synchronized-signal by demodulating the combined-signal (e.g. ¶156-157 and 467).
Regarding claim 14, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein the computer system is further configured to cause an automated device to modify the sleep session (e.g. ¶544).
Regarding claim 15, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into modulated-signals, the computer system is configured to perform frequency modulation on each of the sensor-signals (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 16, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to selectively apply a band-pass filter to at least one sensor-signals based on frequency-domain analysis of the at least one sensor-signals (e.g. ¶196 and 388).
Regarding claim 17, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein to generate the combined-signal from the modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to perform a summation of the modulated-signals and a normalization to a predefined scale (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 18, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein to convert each of the sensor-signals into corresponding modulated-signals, the computer system is further configured to apply a filter to each of the sensor-signals to reduce a band of the sensor-signal (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388).
Regarding claim 19, Tiron discloses the computer system of clam 13, wherein the at least one phenomenon of a sleep session comprises at least one of the group consisting of i) a sleeper on the bed (e.g. ¶33, 35, 37, 39, 47-48 and 388; Fig. 1), ii) a micro-climate of the bed, and iii) an environmental-climate of a building that the bed is in.
Conclusion
CK
June 10, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116