DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered and made of record.
No claims have been amended.
Claims 1-41 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1, the applicant argued that the Office Action fails to point to subject matter in Bucci or Crafts that teaches the above-referenced claimed subject matter alone or in the proposed combination.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.10-11, Bucci clearly discloses that a CAsm-light fixtures as shown in Fig.2 is configured to determine that the CAsm/control device has entered a discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/ mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the message i.e., first mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES” since the CAsm's programming performs the following operations: (1) continuous scanning for incoming messages and determining whether messages should be retransmitted- blocks 1301 through 1305 in FIG. 10 and (2) segregating CONTROL messages from DISCOVERY, STORE, and FLASH messages-block 1306 in FIG.10, whereby Fig.11 step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “YES” i.e., an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold; Noted: the decision of “YES” is the result of comparison between an enter discovery threshold and a first discovery threshold of a minimum signal strength at the CAsm (see Bucci, Fig.9 [0219]-[0220], Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229] and Fig.10-11 [0234][0240]).
Bucci also discloses that the CAsm-light fixtures as shown in Fig.2 is configured to determine that the CAsm/control device has exited the discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES” since the CAsm's programming performs the following operations: (1) continuous scanning for incoming messages and determining whether messages should be retransmitted-- blocks 1301 through 1305 in FIG. 10 and (2) segregating CONTROL messages from DISCOVERY, STORE, and FLASH messages-block 1306 in FIG.10, whereby Fig.11 step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “NO” i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold; Noted: the decision of “NO” is the result of comparison between an exit discovery threshold and a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold during continuously scanning for incoming messages blocks 1301 through 1305 (see Bucci, Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229] and Fig.10-11 [0232] [0234][0240]).
Additionally, Crafts discloses that the load control device is determined outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold since the range 408 may be established by adjusting the signal strength of the signal transmitted by the communications module 406 or the user device 404, e.g., the signal strength may be increased or decreased between -9 dBm and -3 dBm; and the established range 408 is adjustable and a user 402 may increase or decrease the established range 408 (e.g., between -3 dBm and -9 dBm) to discover and/or associate load control devices within a larger or smaller area, whereby
the user device 404 may establish the range 408 by disregarding information received from load control devices outside of the range 408 (see Crafts, Fig.4 Col 11 lines 6-43 and Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59).
Claims 11, 23 and 35, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1&13 of Patent No. (US 12,048,058 B2). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application and Patent No. (US 12,048,058 B2) both disclose a load control system. The claims recited in the instant application are broader version of the claims recited in Patent No. (US 12,048,058 B2) (please see below the mapping of claims; the table below shows only Example of Claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1&13 of Patent No. (US 12,048,058 B2)
Instant Application: 18/749104
US Patent No.: US 12,048,058 B2
1. A load control system comprising:
a mobile device configured to transmit a first mobile device beacon message that includes a first discovery threshold; and
a control device configured to:
receive the first mobile device beacon message;
determine that the control device has entered a discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received and an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold;
transmit a control device beacon message when the control device is within the discovery range;
receive a second mobile device beacon message from the mobile device, the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold; and
determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second
discovery threshold.
1. A load control system comprising:
a mobile device configured to transmit a first mobile
device beacon message that includes a first discovery
threshold; and
a plurality of control devices, wherein each control device of the plurality of control devices is configured to:
receive the first mobile device beacon message;
determine that the control device is within a discovery
range of the mobile device based on a received signal
strength magnitude at which the first mobile device
beacon message was received and the first discovery
threshold; and
in response to the control device being within the
discovery range, transmit a control device beacon
message;
wherein the mobile device is further configured to:
receive the control device beacon messages transmitted
by the plurality of control devices in response to the
first mobile device beacon message;
determine a number of discovered control devices
based on the received control device beacon messages;
compare the number of discovered control devices to a
target range, wherein the target range is defined by a
first target number of discovered control devices and
a second target number of discovered control devices
from which the control device beacon messages are
to be received from the plurality of control devices in
response to the first mobile device beacon message;
determine that the number of discovered control
devices is greater than the first target number of the
target range or less than the second target number of
the target range;
adjust the first discovery threshold to a second discovery threshold based on the number of discovered
control devices being determined to be greater than
or less than the target range, wherein the first discovery
threshold is configured to be decreased to the
second discovery threshold in response to the determination that the number of discovered control devices is less than the second target number of the
target range, and wherein the first discovery threshold
is configured to be increased to the second discovery threshold in response to the determination that the number of discovered control devices is greater than the first target number of the target range; and
transmit a second mobile device beacon message that
includes the second discovery threshold.
13. The load control system of claim 1, wherein the first mobile device beacon message includes an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the received discovery threshold and the second mobile device beacon message includes an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold, and wherein each control device of the plurality of control devices is further configured to:
determine that the control device has entered the discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received and the enter discovery threshold;
receive the second mobile device beacon message; and
determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and the exit discovery threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 16-19, 20, 23, 28-31, 32, 35 and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucci [hereinafter as Bucci], US 2011/0140864 A1 in view of Crafts et al. [hereinafter as Crafts], US 10,027,127 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Bucci discloses wherein a load control system (Fig.1-2 [0196], one or more CCtrl(s) of load shedding for load control system) comprising:
a mobile device configured to transmit a first mobile device beacon message that includes a first discovery threshold (Fig.9 [0219]-[0220], the PPTool 100 is configured to send a “discovery message” i.e., first mobile device beacon that contains/includes a received signal strength threshold information “discovery threshold” i.e., a first discovery threshold for setting a minimum signal strength at the CAsm); and
a control device configured to (Fig.1-2&9 [0168][0220], a CAsm-light fixtures as shown in Fig.2 configured to):
receive the first mobile device beacon message (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], a CAsm is receiving the discovery message of the PPTool/first mobile device beacon message and Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], at block 1301 the CAsm/control device is receiving the first mobile device beacon message and then at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e. "NO", go to Fig.11; [0234], [0240]);
determine that the control device has entered a discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has entered a discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the message i.e., first mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], Fig.11 step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “YES” i.e., an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold);
transmit a control device beacon message when the control device is within the discovery range (Fig.11 [0240], step “Transmit Discovery Reply with our ID” information which is used by the PPTool, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range of the CAsm, once the response to the PPTool has been sent, control returns to block 1301 of Fig.10);
receive a second mobile device beacon message from the mobile device (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228][0234], the CAsm’s programming of Fig.11 then loops back to Fig.10 which continuously scans/looks for another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message being received from the PPTool /mobile device, step 1301), the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold during continuously scanning for incoming messages blocks 1301 through 1305; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has exited the discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]), and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “NO” i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Even though Bucci discloses wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold, in the same field of endeavor, Crafts teaches wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59, determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Bucci to incorporate the teaching of Crafts in order to provide for better room temperature. It would have been beneficial to determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold as taught by Crafts to have incorporated in the system of Bucci to provide for adjusting the lighting level of the lighting load. (Crafts, Fig.4 Col 9 lines 1-21 and Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59)
Regarding claim 4, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device is configured to receive the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], the control device is receiving the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e., “YES” or “NO” and Fig.10-11 [0240]), and receive the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], receiving the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], Fig.10-11 [0232][0234]).
Regarding claim 5, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device being configured to determine that the control device is within the discovery range comprises the control device being configured to:
determine whether the control device is within a configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold or one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 6, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device is further configured to:
determine that the control device is within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 7, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device is further configured to:
determine that the control device is not within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is not within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 8, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the mobile device is further configured to:
receive the control device beacon message transmitted by the control device (Fig.11 [0240], receive the control device beacon message transmitted by the CAsm/ control device; Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221]);
determine a number of discovered control devices based on the received control device
beacon messages from a plurality of control devices that includes the control device (Fig.1-2 [0174]-[0176], determine a number of discovered CAsm(s) control devices based on the received control device beacon messages from a plurality of control devices that includes the control device; Fig.11 [0234] [0240]);
compare the number of discovered control devices to a target range (Fig.10-11 [0236]-[0238], compare the number of discovered CAsm(s) control devices to a discovery range/target range);
adjust the first discovery threshold to the second discovery threshold based on the number of discovered control devices being greater than or less than the target range (Fig.9&10-11 [0220] [0234][0240], adjust the first discovery threshold to the second discovery threshold based on the number of discovered control devices above or below the discovery range/target range; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
transmit the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold (Fig.11 [0232][0234], transmit the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0228]; Fig.9&10-11 [0220] [0234][0240], transmitting the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold).
Regarding claim 9, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the mobile device is further configured to:
receive control device beacon messages transmitted by a plurality of control devices that includes the control device (Fig.11 [0240], receive the control device beacon message transmitted by the CAsm(s)/a plurality of control devices that includes the control device; Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221]);
determine that the control device beacon message transmitted by the control device was received at a highest received signal strength magnitude (Fig.10-11 [0238]-[0239], determine that the CAsm(s)/control device beacon message transmitted by the control device was received at a strongest/highest RSSI(s)/received signal strength magnitude; Fig.1-2 [0170]-[0173]); and
transmit a connection message to the control device (Fig.9 [0221]-[0222], transmitting a connection message to the CAsm/control device; Fig.13 [0247]-[0249]).
Regarding claim 10, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device beacon message includes a unique identifier associated with the control device (Fig.10-11 [0240]-[0241], the CAsm/control device beacon message includes a unique identifier associated with the control device; Fig.3-4&10-11 [0193][0235]), and wherein the mobile device is further configured to:
determine that the mobile device is connected to the control device (Fig.2-3 [0202]-[0204], determining whether the PPTool/mobile device is connected to the CAsm/control discovery device; Fig.1-2 [0172]-[0173], Fig.5 [0187]);
select a configuration identifier for the control device (Fig.10-11 [0240]-[0241], select a configuration identification for the CAsm/control device Fig.2-3 [0221][0223], Fig.2-3 [0172]-[0174]);
create an association between the unique identifier associated with the control device and the selected configuration identifier (Fig.10-11 [0235]-[0236], create an association between the unique identifier associated with the CAsm/control device and the selected configuration identifier, Fig.2-3 [0191]-[0193], Fig.10-11 [0240]-[0241]); and
store the association between the unique identifier associated with the control device and the selected configuration identifier (Fig.10-11 [0235]-[0236], store the association between the unique identifier associated with the CAsm/control device and the selected configuration identifier; Fig.2-3 [0191]-[0193], Fig.10-11 [0240]-[0241]).
Regarding claim 11, Bucci discloses wherein a control device (Fig.1-2&9 [0168][0220], a CAsm-light fixtures/control device) comprising:
a communication circuit configured to receive a first mobile device beacon message that
includes a first discovery threshold from a mobile device (Fig.9 [0219]-[0220], a communication circuit of the CAsm-light fixtures is configured to receive a “discovery message” i.e., first mobile device beacon that contains/includes a received signal strength threshold information “discovery threshold” i.e., a first discovery threshold for setting a minimum signal strength at the CAsm from the PPTool 100/mobile device); and
a control circuit configured to (Fig.1-2&9 [0168][0220], a control circuit of the CAsm-light fixtures as shown in Fig.2 configured to):
receive, from the communication circuit, an indication of the first mobile device beacon message (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], the CAsm is receiving from the communication circuit, an indication of the discovery message of the PPTool/first mobile device beacon message and Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], at block 1301 the CAsm/control device is receiving the first mobile device beacon message and then at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e. "NO", go to Fig.11; Fig.10-11 [0234][0240]);
determine that the control device has entered a discovery range of the mobile device
based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has entered a discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the message i.e., first mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold (F;
transmit a control device beacon message when the control device is within the
discovery range (Fig.11 [0240], step “Transmit Discovery Reply with our ID” information which is used by the PPTool, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range of the CAsm, once the response to the PPTool has been sent, control returns to block 1301 of Fig.10);
receive, from the communication circuit, an indication of a second mobile device beacon message (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], the CAsm’s programming of Fig.11 then loops back to Fig.10 which continuously scans/looks for another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message being received from the communication circuit), the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold during continuously scanning for incoming messages blocks 1301 through 1305; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device
beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has exited the discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229] ) and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “NO” i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Even though Bucci discloses wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold , in the same field of endeavor, Crafts teaches wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59, determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Bucci to incorporate the teaching of Crafts in order to provide for better room temperature.
It would have been beneficial to determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold as taught by Crafts to have incorporated in the system of Bucci to provide for adjusting the lighting level of the lighting load. (Crafts, Fig.4 Col 9 lines 1-21 and Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59)
Regarding claim 16, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control device is configured to receive the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], the control device is receiving the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e., “YES” or “NO” and Fig.10-11 [0240]), and receive the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], receiving the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], Fig.10-11 [0232][0234]).
Regarding claim 17, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control circuit being configured to determine that the control device is within the discovery range comprises the control circuit being configured to:
determine whether the control device is within a configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 18, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control circuit is further configured to:
determine that the control device is within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 19, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the control circuit is further configured to:
determine that the control device is not within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is not within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 20, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the communication circuit is further configured to receive the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold and the one or more offsets, and wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
receive, from the communication circuit, an indication of the second mobile device beacon message (Fig.11 [0240], receive the control device beacon message transmitted by the CAsm/ control device; Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221]);
determine that the control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, the second discovery threshold, and at least one of the one or more threshold offsets Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197], and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], determine one or more of the exit discovery threshold/second discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and in response to the control device being within the discovery range, transmit a second control device beacon message (Fig.11 [0232]-[0234], transmit the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0228]; Fig.9&10-11 [0220] [0234][0240], transmitting the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold in response to the CAsm/control device is within the discovery range).
Regarding claim 23, Bucci discloses wherein a method (Fig.1-2&9 [0168][0220], a method) comprising:
receiving, at a control device, a first mobile device beacon message that includes a first
discovery threshold (Fig.9 [0219]-[0220], a CAsm-light fixtures is configured to receive a “discovery message” i.e., first mobile device beacon that contains/includes a received signal strength threshold information “discovery threshold” i.e., a first discovery threshold for setting a minimum signal strength at the CAsm from the PPTool 100/mobile device);
determining that the control device has entered a discovery range of a mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has entered a discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the message i.e., first mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the received discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], Fig.11 step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “YES” i.e., an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold);
transmitting a control device beacon message when the control device is in the discovery range (Fig.11 [0240], step “Transmit Discovery Reply with our ID” information which is used by the PPTool, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range of the CAsm, once the response to the PPTool has been sent, control returns to block 1301 of Fig.10);
receiving, at the control device, a second mobile device beacon message that includes a second discovery threshold (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], the CAsm’s programming of Fig.11 then loops back to Fig.10 which continuously scans/looks for another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message being received from at the CAsm control device and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold during continuously scanning for incoming messages blocks 1301 through 1305); and
determining that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile
device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has exited the discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “NO” i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Even though Bucci discloses wherein determining that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold, in the same field of endeavor, Crafts teaches wherein determining that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59, determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Bucci to incorporate the teaching of Crafts in order to provide for better room temperature. It would have been beneficial to determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold as taught by Crafts to have incorporated in the system of Bucci to provide for adjusting the lighting level of the lighting load. (Crafts, Fig.4 Col 9 lines 1-21 and Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59)
Regarding claim 28, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the first mobile device beacon message comprises the enter discovery threshold (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], the control device is receiving the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e., “YES” or “NO” and Fig.10-11 [0240]), and wherein the second mobile device beacon message comprises the exit discovery threshold (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], receiving the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], Fig.10-11 [0232][0234]).
Regarding claim 29, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses determining that the control device is within the discovery range comprises:
determining whether the control device is within a configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202]-[0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculating one or more of the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and comparing the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 30, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 29 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses determining that the control device is within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202]-[0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculating the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
comparing the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 31, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 29 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses determining that the control device is not within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202]-[0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is not within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculating the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
comparing the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 32, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses receiving, at the control device, the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold and one or more offsets (Fig.11 [0240], receiving the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold and one or more offsets);
determining that the control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, the second discovery threshold, and at least one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.3-4 [0202]-[0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197], and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], determine one or more of the exit discovery threshold/second discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
in response to the control device being within the discovery range, transmitting a second control device beacon message (Fig.11 [0232]-[0234], transmit the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0228]; Fig.9&10-11 [0220] [0234][0240], transmitting the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold in response to the CAsm/control device is within the discovery range).
Regarding claim 35, Bucci discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a control circuit, cause the control circuit to (Fig.1-3 [0180][0251], a computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computer or processor/control circuit, cause the control circuit to):
receive, via a communication circuit, a first mobile device beacon message that includes a first discovery threshold from a mobile device (Fig.9 [0219]-[0220], a communication circuit of the CAsm-light fixtures is configured to receive a “discovery message” i.e., first mobile device beacon that contains/includes a received signal strength threshold information “discovery threshold” i.e., a first discovery threshold for setting a minimum signal strength at the CAsm from the PPTool 100/mobile device);
determine that a control device has entered a discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has entered a discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the message i.e., first mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], Fig.11 step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “YES” i.e., an enter discovery threshold that is greater than the first discovery threshold);
transmit a control device beacon message when the control device is within the discovery range (Fig.11 [0240], step “Transmit Discovery Reply with our ID” information which is used by the PPTool, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range of the CAsm, once the response to the PPTool has been sent, control returns to block 1301 of Fig.10) (Fig. 11, step "Transmit Discovery Reply with our ID");
receive, via the communication circuit, an indication of a second mobile device
beacon message (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], the CAsm’s programming of Fig.11 then loops back to Fig.10 which continuously scans/looks for another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message being received via the communication circuit), the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold during continuously scanning for incoming messages blocks 1301 through 1305); and
determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device
based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], determine that the CAsm/control device has exited the discovery range, in connection with Fig.9 discovery range, of the PPTool/mobile device in block 1306 based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the another incoming messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, e.g., from block 1306 to flowchart of Fig.11, go to Fig.11 para [0240] for step “Message Type=Discovery?” with the answer “YES”; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]) and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0240], step “Signal Strength above Discovery Threshold?” with the answer “NO” i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Even though Bucci discloses wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold, in the same field of endeavor, Crafts teaches wherein determine that the control device has exited the discovery range of the mobile device based on a received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received and an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold (Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59, determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Bucci to incorporate the teaching of Crafts in order to provide for better room temperature.
It would have been beneficial to determine that the load control device is outside of the established range 408/has exited the discovery range of the mobile user device 404 (e.g., between -9 dBm to -3 dBm) based on a received signal strength (RSSI) magnitude at which the discovery messages i.e., second mobile device beacon message was received, and the received signal strength (RSSI) of the load control device is below a threshold i.e., an exit discovery threshold that is less than the second discovery threshold as taught by Crafts to have incorporated in the system of Bucci to provide for adjusting the lighting level of the lighting load. (Crafts, Fig.4 Col 9 lines 1-21 and Fig.4 Col 11 lines 44-59)
Regarding claim 37, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 35 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the instructions, when executed, cause the control circuit to receive the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message (Fig.1-2&9 [0220]-[0221], the control device is receiving the enter discovery threshold in the first mobile device beacon message at block 1306 the message= DISCOVERY, i.e., “YES” or “NO” and Fig.10-11 [0240]), and receive the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message (Fig.11 [0227]-[0228] [0234], receiving the exit discovery threshold in the second mobile device beacon message; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229], Fig.10-11 [0232][0234]).
Regarding claim 38, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 35 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the instructions causing the control circuit to determine that the control device is within the discovery range comprises the instructions causing the control circuit to:
determine whether the control device is within a configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold or the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 39, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 38 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to:
determine that the control device is within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the exit discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the exit discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 40, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 38 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to:
determine that the control device is not within the configuration mode (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is not within a discovery range for configuration mode; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197]);
calculate the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.10-11 [0234][0240], calculate one or more of the enter discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], calculate one or more of the exit discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
compare the received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon
message was received to the enter discovery threshold (Fig.10-11 [0238][0240], compare the RSSI values/ received signal strength magnitude at which the first mobile device beacon message was received to the enter discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 41, Bucci and Crafts disclose all the elements of claim 35 as stated above wherein Bucci further discloses the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to:
receive, via the communication circuit, the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold and one or more offsets (Fig.11 [0240], receiving the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold and one or more offsets);
determine that the control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received, the second discovery threshold, and at least one of the one or more threshold offsets (Fig.3-4 [0202][0204], determine whether the CAsm/control device is within a discovery range of the mobile device based on the received signal strength magnitude at which the second mobile device beacon message was received; Fig.3-4 [0194][0197], and Fig.10-11 [0232][0234], determine one or more of the exit discovery threshold/second discovery threshold based on the received discovery threshold and one or more threshold offsets; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0229]); and
in response to the control device being within the discovery range, transmit a second control device beacon message (Fig.11 [0232]-[0234], transmit the second mobile device beacon message that includes the second discovery threshold; Fig.10-11 [0227]-[0228]; Fig.9&10-11 [0220] [0234][0240], transmitting the second mobile device beacon message including a second discovery threshold e.g., repeat signal strength threshold/ Repeat_Signal_Threshold in response to the CAsm/control device is within the discovery range).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 12-15, 21-22, 24-27, 33-34 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414