DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 02/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-16, and 20 have been amended. No claim is added or cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In addition, the applicant argued that Paranjpe fails to teach “determining, by the CDN parent node, in conjunction with meta information of a to-be-accessed resource, whether the user request satisfies a hybrid pull condition for pulling the resource from the CDN hybrid node; and when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node.”
In response to the applicant’s argument Paranjpe in [0047] teaches the edge node for each customer/user of the pluggable CDN system may be a hybrid push/pull-based CDN. Typical CDNs function in two ways: Push-based and Pull-based, and in [0050] the AI/ML algorithm may process input data like tags of the consumed content, consumption pattern like frequency, repetition, content metadata, user demographics, etc and may generate models of consumer behavioural patterns. The models allow the system to obtain a predicted content list to be cached at the local storage, and in [0047], when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node (i.e. In the case of a pull-based CDN, no proactive distribution of resources is performed. When the end-user sends a request for content the CDN “pulls” it down from the nearest edge server or the Origin Server. All the content is cached in one place and the CDN does the work to pull it down into the end user's computing device, along with caching the same for itself for future requests in real-time.
Therefore, Paranjpe clearly taches that based on content metadata and other information as a condition for a CDN system that contain a hybrid pull-based CDN to obtain a predicted content list to be cached at the local storage for future requests.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI et al. (CN113824750A) hereinafter CAI in view of Paranjpe et al. (US 20220368776) hereinafter Paranjpe and further in view of Afergan et al. (US 20130097291 A1) hereinafter Afergan.
Regarding claim 1, CAI teaches a resource processing method (i.e. a method for downloading data, which can be applied in a data transmission system, page 5, paragraph 2) based on a hybrid content delivery network (CDN) system (i.e. data transmission system may include a CDN cluster, a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes. The CDN cluster may be a conventional CDN cluster including multi-layer nodes, page 5, paragraph 2), the method being performed by a CDN edge node in the hybrid CDN system (i.e. After the edge node receives the data acquisition request, the cache management process on the edge node can search whether the target data is stored locally according to the URL of the target data carried in the edge node, if it is stored, the locally stored target data can be fed back to the target terminal, page 5, paragraph 5), and the hybrid CDN system further comprising a CDN parent node (i.e. CDN parent node, page 6, paragraph 4); and a CDN hybrid node (i.e. a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes, page 5, paragraph 2); and the method comprising: in response to a user request, requesting a resource from the CDN parent node (i.e. the target terminal can send a data acquisition request for the target data to the edge node according to the IP address of the edge node. If it is not stored, the edge node can generate back-to-source requirements for the target data, page 5, paragraph 5).
However, CAI does not explicitly disclose determining, by the CDN parent node, in conjunction with meta information of a to-be-accessed resource, whether the user request satisfies a hybrid pull condition for pulling the resource from the CDN hybrid node; and when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node.
However, Paranjpe teaches determining, by the CDN parent node, in conjunction with meta information of a to-be-accessed resource, whether the user request satisfies a hybrid pull condition for pulling the resource from the CDN hybrid node (i.e. The edge node for each customer/user of the pluggable CDN system may be a hybrid push/pull-based CDN. Typical CDNs function in two ways: Push-based and Pull-based, [0047] and the AI/ML algorithm may process input data like tags of the consumed content, consumption pattern like frequency, repetition, content metadata, user demographics, etc and may generate models of consumer behavioural patterns. The models allow the system to obtain a predicted content list to be cached at the local storage, [0050]); and when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node (i.e. In the case of a pull-based CDN, no proactive distribution of resources is performed. When the end-user sends a request for content the CDN “pulls” it down from the nearest edge server or the Origin Server. All the content is cached in one place and the CDN does the work to pull it down into the end user's computing device, along with caching the same for itself for future requests in real-time, [0047]).
Based on CAI in view of Paranjpe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Paranjpe to the system of CAI in order to improve poor user experience, (Paranjpe, [0013]).
However, CAI in view of Paranjpe do not explicitly disclose wherein the hybrid pull condition comprises that the user request carries a CDN hybrid flag and that the CDN parent node has the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource.
However, Afergan teaches wherein the hybrid pull condition comprises that the user request carries a CDN hybrid flag (i.e. When the edge server receives the request for an object that is being delivered over the hybrid CDN-P2P network, it checks to see if the client signature is associated with the request, if the client request has the signature in the request, the edge server can then choose how to handle that request, [0031]) and that the CDN parent node has the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource (i.e. A given configuration file includes a set of content handling rules and directives that facilitate one or more advanced content handling features. The configuration file may be delivered to the CDN edge server via the distributed data transport mechanism. when an edge server manager process receives a request for content, it searches an index file for a match on a customer hostname associated with the request. If there is a match, the edge server process loads metadata from the configuration file to determine how it will handle the request, [0016]).
Based on CAI in view of Paranjpe and further in view of Afergan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Afergan to the system of CAI and Paranjpe in order to provide better performance and availability for content delivery.
Regarding claim 2, CAI teaches the CDN hybrid node comprises a CDN hybrid center and a CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes, page 5, paragraph 2); and the acquiring the to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node comprises: requesting the to-be-accessed resource from the CDN hybrid center (i.e. the edge node triggers the dispatch center to query the target home node corresponding to the target data, page 6, paragraph 2), and determining, by the CDN hybrid center, a first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and returning an address of the first CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the dispatch center may select the target home node according to the data cache state of the home node. Correspondingly, the processing of step 202 may be as follows: the edge node sends the identification information of the target data to the dispatch center; the dispatch center according to the identification information and the recorded data. For the data cache status of each home node, query the storage node of the target data; if the query is found, the dispatch center will determine the storage node as the target home node, page 6, paragraph 6 and the dispatch center may feed back the public network IP address of the target home node to the edge node, page 8, paragraph 5); and acquiring the to-be-accessed first resource from the first CDN hybrid edge node by using the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the edge node receives the feedback from the dispatch center of the target home node. The public network IP address; the edge node sends the target data transmission request to the target home node according to the public network IP address; the target home node transmits the target data to the edge node, page 8, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 3, CAI teaches the requesting the to-be-accessed resource from the CDN hybrid center, and determining, by the CDN hybrid center, the first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and returning the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node comprise: requesting the to-be-accessed resource from the CDN hybrid center (i.e. the edge node triggers the dispatch center to query the target home node corresponding to the target data, page 6, paragraph 2), and determining, by the CDN hybrid center based on hybrid resource indexes, the first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and returning the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the dispatch center may select the target home node according to the data cache state of the home node. Correspondingly, the processing of step 202 may be as follows: the edge node sends the identification information of the target data to the dispatch center; the dispatch center according to the identification information and the recorded data. For the data cache status of each home node, query the storage node of the target data; if the query is found, the dispatch center will determine the storage node as the target home node, page 6, paragraph 6 and the dispatch center may feed back the public network IP address of the target home node to the edge node, page 8, paragraph 5), wherein the hybrid resource indexes are generated based on resources in CDN hybrid edge nodes (i.e. After obtaining the identification information of the target data, the dispatch center can read the data cache status of each home node recorded locally, and then query the storage node of the target data (i.e. the home node storing the target data) according to the identification information of the target data, page 7, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, CAI does not explicitly disclose when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource fed back by the CDN parent node; and after the acquiring the to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node, further comprising: checking the to-be-accessed first resource by using the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource.
However, Paranjpe teaches when the user request satisfies the hybrid pull condition, acquiring the meta information of the to- be-accessed resource fed back by the CDN parent node (i.e. the edge node 208 may also perform cache management to make sure that there is room for fresh/new content using various algorithms whose variables may include consumption duration, content ids consumed, content metadata, [0053]); and after the acquiring the to-be-accessed first resource from the CDN hybrid node, further comprising: checking the to-be-accessed first resource by using the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource (i.e. the AI/ML algorithm may process input data like tags of the consumed content, consumption pattern like frequency, repetition, content metadata, user demographics, etc and may generate models of consumer behavioural patterns. The models allow the system to obtain a predicted content list to be cached at the local storage, [0050]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 5, CAI teaches when the CDN hybrid center determines that no CDN hybrid edge node has the to-be- accessed resource, re-requesting the resource from the CDN parent node to enable the CDN parent node to feed back the to-be-accessed resource; or when the first CDN hybrid edge node does not return the to-be-accessed resource, re- requesting the resource from the CDN parent node to enable the CDN parent node to feed back the to-be-accessed resource (i.e. after the edge node generates the back-to-source requirement of the target data, the cache management process on it can first obtain the URL suffix of the target data, and judge whether the URL suffix is the preset file suffix, such as whether it is the suffix of a large file, or For the suffix of the video file, etc. If yes, the edge node can trigger the dispatch center to query the target home node corresponding to the target data and perform subsequent processing; if not, the edge node can directly send a request for obtaining the target data to its corresponding CDN parent node, page 6, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 6, CAI does not explicitly disclose when the user request does not satisfy the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed second resource fed back by the CDN parent node; and when the user request satisfies a hybrid push condition, pushing the to-be-accessed second resource to the CDN hybrid node for storage.
However, Paranjpe teaches when the user request does not satisfy the hybrid pull condition, acquiring a to-be-accessed second resource fed back by the CDN parent node (i.e. Once the edge node 208 is active, the user may make a content/data request. If the requested data is not present in the edge node 208, a process 410 is performed in which the edge node 208 performs proactive real-time caching of requested uncached data with least latency possible, [0051]); and when the user request satisfies a hybrid push condition, pushing the to-be-accessed second resource to the CDN hybrid node for storage (i.e. For a push-based CDN, content is proactively shared with Edge servers at designated CDN locations and the Web content is automatically populated in the CDN closest to the end user's location. So when the end-user sends a request for an asset, the CDN already has it proactively cached to be delivered seamlessly to their requesting computing device, [0047]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, CAI does not explicitly disclose when the user request satisfies a hybrid sub-condition, sending a push request to the CDN hybrid center, and determining, by the CDN hybrid center, whether the push request satisfies a push sub-condition and, when the push request satisfies the push sub-condition, allocating a second CDN hybrid edge node to the push request; and pushing the to-be-accessed second resource to the second CDN hybrid edge node and synchronizing a push status to the CDN hybrid center to enable the CDN hybrid center to update hybrid resource indexes in response to a push success, wherein the hybrid resource indexes are generated based on resources in CDN hybrid edge nodes.
However, Paranjpe teaches when the user request satisfies a hybrid sub-condition, sending a push request to the CDN hybrid center (i.e. the user may make a content/data request. If the requested data is not present in the edge node 208, a process 410 is performed in which the edge node 208 performs proactive real-time caching of requested uncached data with least latency possible, [0051]), and determining, by the CDN hybrid center, whether the push request satisfies a push sub-condition and, when the push request satisfies the push sub-condition, allocating a second CDN hybrid edge node to the push request (i.e. For a push-based CDN, content is proactively shared with Edge servers at designated CDN locations and the Web content is automatically populated in the CDN closest to the end user's location. So when the end-user sends a request for an asset, the CDN already has it proactively cached to be delivered seamlessly to their requesting computing device, [0047]); and pushing the to-be-accessed second resource to the second CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the Web content is automatically populated in the CDN closest to the end user's location, [0047]) and synchronizing a push status to the CDN hybrid center to enable the CDN hybrid center to update hybrid resource indexes in response to a push success (i.e. The CDN Edge node 208 is part of the pluggable CDN system 200, wherein it reports its own details, such as a unique identifier (often termed EdgeID) and its acquired IP address on the network—so to update the entries in the data center with the same. This is done to ensure that devices on the client network accurately route requests to and via the CDN Edge node, [0027]), wherein the hybrid resource indexes are generated based on resources in CDN hybrid edge nodes (i.e. the edge node 208 may also perform cache management to make sure that there is room for fresh/new content using various algorithms whose variables may include consumption duration, content ids consumed, content metadata, repetitive consumption and/or user demographics, [0053]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 8, CAI in view of Paranjpe do not explicitly disclose when the user request carries the CDN hybrid flag, the user request is determined to satisfy the hybrid sub-condition; and whether the push request satisfies the push sub-condition is determined according to a bandwidth of the CDN hybrid edge node and/or a storage space of the CDN hybrid edge node
However, Afergan teaches when the user request carries a CDN hybrid flag, the user request is determined to satisfy the hybrid sub-condition; and whether the push request satisfies the push sub-condition is determined according to a bandwidth of the CDN hybrid edge node and/or a storage space of the CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. When the edge server receives the request for an object that is being delivered over the hybrid CDN-P2P network, it checks to see if the client signature is associated with the request, if the client request has the signature in the request, the edge server can then choose how to handle that request, [0031]) and he CDN itself and that has sufficient computing and bandwidth capabilities to perform some of the functions required of an edge server in the CDN, or to take advantage of given CDN infrastructure, resources, [0021]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, CAI teaches the to-be-accessed second resource fed back by the CDN parent node is acquired through a first thread, and the to-be-accessed second resource is pushed to the CDN hybrid node for storage through a second thread, wherein the first thread is asynchronous with the second thread (i.e. after the edge node generates the back-to-source requirement of the target data, the cache management process on it can first obtain the URL suffix of the target data, and judge whether the URL suffix is the preset file suffix, such as whether it is the suffix of a large file, or For the suffix of the video file, etc. If yes, the edge node can trigger the dispatch center to query the target home node corresponding to the target data and perform subsequent processing; if not, the edge node can directly send a request for obtaining the target data to its corresponding CDN parent node, page 6, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 10, CAI teaches a unit bandwidth cost of the CDN parent node is higher than a unit bandwidth cost of the CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. using the home broadband network to meet the back-to-source request of some data on the edge node can greatly reduce the bandwidth consumption of the CDN parent node outflow, and at the same time ensure the back-to-source efficiency of the remaining data, page 6, paragraph 5 and Traffic, reducing internal friction between edge nodes and CDN parent nodes. At the same time, compared with the commercial bandwidth resources used by CDN clusters, the price of home bandwidth resources is lower. Therefore, using home nodes to replace CDN parent nodes for data transmission can greatly reduce the service cost of CDN clusters, page 13, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 11, CAI teaches a resource processing method (i.e. a method for downloading data, which can be applied in a data transmission system, page 5, paragraph 2) based on a hybrid content delivery network (CDN) system (i.e. data transmission system may include a CDN cluster, a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes. The CDN cluster may be a conventional CDN cluster including multi-layer nodes, page 5, paragraph 2), the method being performed by a CDN hybrid node in the hybrid CDN system (i.e. a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes, page 5, paragraph 2), and the hybrid CDN system further comprising a CDN edge node (i.e. the edge node, page 5, paragraph 5) and a CDN parent node (i.e. CDN parent node, page 6, paragraph 4).
However, CAI does not explicitly disclose when a user request acquired by the CDN edge node, in conjunction with meta information of a to-be-accessed resource, satisfies a hybrid pull condition for pulling a resource from the CDN hybrid node, determining a to-be-accessed first resource; and feeding back the to-be-accessed first resource to the CDN edge node.
However, Paranjpe teaches when a user request acquired by the CDN edge node, in conjunction with meta information of a to-be-accessed resource, satisfies a hybrid pull condition for pulling a resource from the CDN hybrid node, determining a to-be-accessed first resource; and feeding back the to-be-accessed first resource to the CDN edge node (i.e. In the case of a pull-based CDN, no proactive distribution of resources is performed. When the end-user sends a request for content the CDN “pulls” it down from the nearest edge server or the Origin Server. All the content is cached in one place and the CDN does the work to pull it down into the end user's computing device, along with caching the same for itself for future requests in real-time, [0047] and the AI/ML algorithm may process input data like tags of the consumed content, consumption pattern like frequency, repetition, content metadata, user demographics, etc and may generate models of consumer behavioural patterns. The models allow the system to obtain a predicted content list to be cached at the local storage, [0050]).
Based on CAI in view of Paranjpe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Paranjpe to the system of CAI in order to improve poor user experience, (Paranjpe, [0013]).
However, CAI in view of Paranjpe does not explicitly disclose wherein the hybrid pull condition comprises that the user request carries a CDN hybrid flag and that the CDN parent node has the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource.
However, Afergan teaches wherein the hybrid pull condition comprises that the user request carries a CDN hybrid flag (i.e. When the edge server receives the request for an object that is being delivered over the hybrid CDN-P2P network, it checks to see if the client signature is associated with the request, if the client request has the signature in the request, the edge server can then choose how to handle that request, [0031]) and that the CDN parent node has the meta information of the to-be-accessed resource (i.e. A given configuration file includes a set of content handling rules and directives that facilitate one or more advanced content handling features. The configuration file may be delivered to the CDN edge server via the distributed data transport mechanism. when an edge server manager process receives a request for content, it searches an index file for a match on a customer hostname associated with the request. If there is a match, the edge server process loads metadata from the configuration file to determine how it will handle the request, [0016]).
Based on CAI in view of Paranjpe and further in view of Afergan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Afergan to the system of CAI and Paranjpe in order to provide better performance and availability for content delivery.
Regarding claim 12, CAI teaches the CDN hybrid node comprises a CDN hybrid center and a CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. a dispatch center, and multiple home nodes, page 5, paragraph 2), and the method is performed by the CDN hybrid center; and the determining the to-be-accessed first resource comprises: determining a first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and feeding back an address of the first CDN hybrid edge node to enable the CDN edge node to acquire the to-be-accessed first resource from the first CDN hybrid edge node by using the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the dispatch center may select the target home node according to the data cache state of the home node. Correspondingly, the processing of step 202 may be as follows: the edge node sends the identification information of the target data to the dispatch center; the dispatch center according to the identification information and the recorded data. For the data cache status of each home node, query the storage node of the target data; if the query is found, the dispatch center will determine the storage node as the target home node, page 6, paragraph 6 and the dispatch center may feed back the public network IP address of the target home node to the edge node, page 8, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 13, CAI teaches the determining the first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and feeding back the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node comprise: determining, based on hybrid resource indexes, the first CDN hybrid edge node where the to-be-accessed resource is located and feeding back the address of the first CDN hybrid edge node (i.e. the dispatch center may select the target home node according to the data cache state of the home node. Correspondingly, the processing of step 202 may be as follows: the edge node sends the identification information of the target data to the dispatch center; the dispatch center according to the identification information and the recorded data. For the data cache status of each home node, query the storage node of the target data; if the query is found, the dispatch center will determine the storage node as the target home node, page 6, paragraph 6 and the dispatch center may feed back the public network IP address of the target home node to the edge node, page 8, paragraph 5), wherein the hybrid resource indexes are generated based on resources in CDN hybrid edge nodes(i.e. After obtaining the identification information of the target data, the dispatch center can read the data cache status of each home node recorded locally, and then query the storage node of the target data (i.e. the home node storing the target data) according to the identification information of the target data, page 7, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 14, CAI does not explicitly disclose when the user request does not satisfy the hybrid pull condition and the CDN edge node acquires a to-be-accessed second resource from the CDN parent node, determining whether the user request satisfies a hybrid push condition and, when the user request satisfies the hybrid push condition, storing the to-be-accessed second resource in the CDN hybrid node.
However, Paranjpe teaches when the user request does not satisfy the hybrid pull condition and the CDN edge node acquires the to-be-accessed second resource from the CDN parent node (i.e. Once the edge node 208 is active, the user may make a content/data request. If the requested data is not present in the edge node 208, a process 410 is performed in which the edge node 208 performs proactive real-time caching of requested uncached data with least latency possible, [0051]), determining whether the user request satisfies a hybrid push condition and, when the user request satisfies the hybrid push condition, storing the to-be-accessed second resource in the CDN hybrid node (i.e. For a push-based CDN, content is proactively shared with Edge servers at designated CDN locations and the Web content is automatically populated in the CDN closest to the end user's location. So when the end-user sends a request for an asset, the CDN already has it proactively cached to be delivered seamlessly to their requesting computing device, [0047]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 15-17 and 20-22, the limitations of claims 15-17 and 20-22 are similar to the limitations of claims 1, 7-8, and 10-11. CAI further teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor (i.e. each machine contains CPU, memory, page 10, paragraph 2); a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (i.e. the program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium, page 15, paragraph 2). Therefore, the limitations of claims 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 7-8, and 10-11 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
4/30/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447