Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Summary of Arguments:
Applicant argues that Guo:
Claim 1: Guo maintains a single, predefined, and fixed dictionary. See Remarks Page 7, Para. 13.
Claim 1: the range of the distance parameter is defined based on a fixed macroblock size (MBsize), which is a constant 16x16. See Remarks Page 8, Para. 1.
In [0009], modes 16x8 and 8x16 do not refer to the actual size range of the current block being processed, but rather indicates a profile scenario. See Remarks Page 8, Para. 4.
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner contends that Guo does disclose:
In [0009], Guo teaches for a block encoded in a 16x8 or 8x16 mode, the possible geometric partition types 0 and 90 can be removed from the predefined of candidate partition types, thus generating a variable dictionary of geometric partitioning types.
The applicant’s argument is moot since Guo does not teach the parameter MBsize to be a constant 16x16 value. The examiner notes [0009] teaches generating a candidate geometric partitioning list by taking into account the size (MBsize) of the macroblock. If the parameter MBsize were to be set to a constant 16x16 value, the calculated distance parameter would be a constant value. Instead, Guo teaches generating a candidate geometric partitioning list for blocks encoded at a plurality of sizes including inter/intra16xgeo16, inter/intra8xgeo8, 16x8, and 8x16 ([0006], [0009]), thus the variable MBsize is depends on the size of the block being encoded
Guo does not mention blocks encoded in a 16x8 and 8x16 inter/intra mode as a “profile scenario”. It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that reference to an NxN mode of a coding block represents the size of block in terms of width x height. In this case, in [0009], Guo teaches for blocks encoded in 16x8 and 8x16 inter/intra modes (i.e. the encoded blocks are of a size 16x8 or 8x16 and an intra/inter type), geometric partition types corresponding to angles 0 and 90 are omitted from the available types of geometric partitions (in other words for block sizes in the range of greater than or lesser than 16x8 or 8x16, all possible predefined geometric partition types are available for selection and for block sizes in the range of 16x8 or 8x16, the possible geometric partition types are reduced to exclude partition types corresponding to angles 0 and 90 degrees).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2022/0321890) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2012/0106627).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a method of decoding an image ([0001], encoding/decoding is performed), the method comprising:
dividing a current block in the image into two partitions based on a geometric block partitioning, the two partitions including a first partition and a second partition (FIGs. 18-25, a block is partitioned into 2 geometric partitions);
obtaining a first prediction block for the first partition ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed);
obtaining a second prediction block from the second partition ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed); and
generating a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed),
wherein the first prediction block for the first partition is obtained based on an intra block copy (IBC) mode ([0735]-[0740], prediction blocks are generated for a target MxN block (FIG. 11, target block) based on an intra block copy mode)
wherein the geometric block partitioning is performed based on one of geometric partitioning types available for performing the geometric block partitioning on the current block (FIG. 18 and 19), and
wherein a number of the partitioning types available is adaptively determined based on at least one of a size of the current block ([0380], the available partition types depend on the block size).
Lim is silent about wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available is adaptively determined based on at least one of a size of the current block, a shape of the current block, or a component type of the current block, wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a first value which corresponds to all the geometric partitioning types pre-defined for performing the geometric block partitioning if the size of the current block belongs to a first threshold range, wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a second value which is less than the first value if the size of the current block belongs to a threshold range other than the first threshold, and wherein each of the geometric partitioning types available is defined based on a distance from a center of the current block to a partitioning line and an angle of the partitioning line.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available for performing the geometric partitioning on the current block is adaptively determined based on at least a size of the current block ([0009], a dictionary of possible geometric partition types is generated and partition line angles 0 and 90 are not used if the size of the block is 16x8 or 8x16), wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a first value which corresponds to all the geometric partitioning types pre-defined for performing the geometric block partitioning if the size of the current block belongs to a first threshold range ([0009], when the block size is in a range of sizes other than 16x8 or 8x16, all candidate geometric partition modes in a predefined list are made available), wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a second value which is less than the first value if the size of the current block belongs to a threshold range other than the first threshold ([0009], a dictionary of possible geometric partition types is generated and partition line angles 0 and 90 are not used if the size of the block is 16x8 INTER/INTRA/GEO coded or 8x16 INTER/INTRA/GEO coded (i.e. for block sizes in the range of greater or lesser than 16x8 and 8x16)), and wherein each of the geometric partitioning types available is defined based on a distance from a center of the current block to a partitioning line and an angle of the partitioning line ([0114], the list of possible geometric partitions is determined responsive to the distance and angle from the center of the region to the partition boundary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Lim for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses wherein the second prediction block for the second partition is obtained based on an intra prediction mode (FIG. 22, [0051], intra mode).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a method of encoding an image ([0001], encoding/decoding is performed), the method comprising:
dividing a current block in the image into a two partitions based on a geometric block partitioning, the two including a first partition and a second partition (FIGs. 18-25, a block is partitioned into 2 geometric partitions);
obtaining a first prediction block for the first partition ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed);
obtaining a second prediction block from the second partition ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed); and
generating a final prediction block of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction block and the second prediction block ([0819], the processing unit may use a weighted sum (or average) of prediction values for partitioned regions generated from geometric partitioning when prediction of the target block is performed),
wherein the first prediction block for the first partition is obtained based on an intra block copy (IBC) mode ([0735]-[0740], prediction blocks are generated for a target MxN block (FIG. 11, target block) based on an intra block copy mode),
wherein geometric block partitioning is performed based on one of geometric partitioning types available for the current block (FIG. 18 and 19), and
wherein a number of the partitioning types available is adaptively determined based on at least one of a size of the current block ([0380], the available partition types depend on the block size).
Lim is silent about wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available is adaptively determined based on at least one of a size of the current block, a shape of the current block, or a component type of the current block, wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a first value which corresponds to all the geometric partitioning types pre-defined for performing the geometric block partitioning if the size of the current block belongs to a first threshold range, wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a second value which is less than the first value if the size of the current block belongs to a threshold range other than the first threshold, and wherein each of the geometric partitioning types available is defined based on a distance from a center of the current block to a partitioning line and an angle of the partitioning line.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available for performing the geometric partitioning on the current block is adaptively determined based on at least a size of the current block ([0009], a dictionary of possible geometric partition types is generated and partition line angles 0 and 90 are not used if the size of the block is 16x8 or 8x16), wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a first value which corresponds to all the geometric partitioning types pre-defined for performing the geometric block partitioning if the size of the current block belongs to a first threshold range ([0009], when the block size is in a range of sizes other than 16x8 or 8x16, all candidate geometric partition modes in a predefined list are made available), wherein the number of the geometric partitioning types available is equal to a second value which is less than the first value if the size of the current block belongs to a threshold range other than the first threshold ([0009], a dictionary of possible geometric partition types is generated and partition line angles 0 and 90 are not used if the size of the block is 16x8 INTER/INTRA/GEO coded or 8x16 INTER/INTRA/GEO coded (i.e. for block sizes in the range of greater or lesser than 16x8 and 8x16)), and wherein each of the geometric partitioning types available is defined based on a distance from a center of the current block to a partitioning line and an angle of the partitioning line ([0114], the list of possible geometric partitions is determined responsive to the distance and angle from the center of the region to the partition boundary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Lim for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations of claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1. Lim further discloses a non-statutory computer readable medium for storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method ([0022], a medium stores a bitstream) comprising instructions stored thereon, that when executed by a processor, perform the encoding method ([1007], a stored program is executed).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2022/0321890) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2012/0106627), and further in view of Filippov et al. (Filippov) (US 2022/0217332).
Regarding claim 3, Lim in view of Guo discloses the method of claim 2 (see claim 1 above).
Lim in view of Guo is silent about wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available is 32, 64, or 128.
Filippov from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a number of the geometric partitioning types available is 64 ([0182], 64 partitions in geometric mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Filippov into the teachings of Lim in view of Guo for more accurate prediction by using a large number of split types.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2022/0321890) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2012/0106627), and further in view of Reuze et al. (Reuze) (US 2021/0058617).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Lim in view of Guo discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Lim in view of Guo is silent about wherein it is constrained to perform only uni-directional prediction for at least one of the two partitions; and wherein the constraint is adaptively imposed based on at least one of a geometric partitioning type for geometric block partitioning, a position of the partitions within the current block, or a size of the partitions.
Reuze from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein it is constrained to perform only uni-directional prediction for at least one of the two partitions ([0153], [0154], first and/or second geometrically blocks may be uni-directional prediction); and wherein the constraint is adaptively imposed based on at least one of a position of the partitions within the current block (FIG. 8, [0163], Depending on the position of each 4x4 unit, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to store either uni-prediction or bi-prediction motion vectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Reuze into the teachings of Lim in view of Guo for more efficient prediction by processing vectors in only one direction for a corresponding partition.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2022/0321890) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2012/0106627), and further in view of Blaeser et al. (Blaeser) (US 2021/0227247).
Regarding claim 8, Lim in view of Guo discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Lim in view of Guo is silent about wherein geometric partitioning types pre-defined for the geometric block partitioning are classified into a plurality of groups, and wherein the plurality of groups includes at least one of a first group being a group where bi-directional prediction is allowed or a second group being a group where only uni-directional prediction is allowed.
Blaeser from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein geometric partitioning types pre-defined for the geometric block partitioning are classified into a plurality of groups ([0003], asymmetric partitioning and [0011], triangular partitioning), and wherein the plurality of groups includes at least one of a first group being a group where bi-directional prediction is allowed or a second group being a group where only uni-directional prediction is allowed ([0018], only unidirectional prediction is allowed for triangular partitioning performed on 4x4 blocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Blaeser into the teachings of Lim in view of Guo for more efficient image prediction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488