DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed on 06/09/2026.
Claims 7 and 24 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 18, 20-23, and 25-27 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
One argument presented is that the cited reference to Farag fails to disclose “receiving, by the wireless device, a first information by performing a sensing operation”. Applicant argues that the sensing operation in the reference “does not produce first information that is received by a wireless device”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The sensing operation in Farag results in: “sensing within a sensing window involves decoding the first stage SCI, and measuring the corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS” as described in paragraph 0086 of the reference. Hence, barring any specificity of what the “first information” refers to in the independent claims, then any and all information decoded in the sensing meets the claim limitation.
Another argument presented is “amended claim 1 recites that "the one or more SL PRSs are associated with at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, or the first information received by the wireless device." Nowhere does Farag teach or suggest that information obtained using the sensing window has any association with SL PRSs.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen and read in the reference (paragraphs 0125-0130), reference signals for SL positioning are associated to first stage and second stage SL control information which are multiplexed or carried in PSCCH/PSSCH, which satisfies the language of SL PRS being associated with one of PSCCH or PSSCH and meets the claim limitation. Furthermore, from the explanations provided above, since the sensing window is used to decode at least a first stage SCI, then Farag is believed to meet that the information obtained using the sensing window has an association with SL PRS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 18, 20-23, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farag (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0318772; with Effective Filing Date of April 5, 2022, corresponding to the Provisional Application 63/327,721, and that supports the teachings of the publication in pages 26-30, for example, amongst others).
Regarding claim 1 Farag discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, control information including at least one of sidelink control information (SCI) or sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) that indicates one or more sidelink positioning reference signals (SL PRSs) (paragraphs 0125-0130, 0178-0187; PRS associated with a sidelink positioning control information SCI-P, first stage SCI);
receiving, by the wireless device, a first information by performing a sensing operation (paragraph 0086; sensing within a sensing window involves decoding the first stage SCI, and measuring the corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS);
performing, by the wireless device, at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource selection, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource selection, or PRS resource selection (paragraphs 0075, 0086, 0141, 0145, 0149; resource pool configured for the communicating UEs and used for PRS); and
performing, by the wireless device, a sidelink communication according to the one or more SL PRSs (paragraphs 0106, 0121, 0125-0136, 0172, amongst others; wherein an initiator UE communicates with a receiving UE, transmitting sidelink PRS);
wherein the one or more SL PRSs are associated with at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, or the first information received by the wireless device (paragraphs 0125-0130; reference signals for SL positioning are associated to first stage and second stage SL control information which are multiplexed or carried in PSCCH/PSSCH),
wherein the sensing operation includes measuring at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of PSSCH or RSRP of PSCCH (paragraphs 0075-0075, 0086; through sensing the UE decodes first stage SCI and measures corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS and the DMRS is carried in PSSCH/PSCCH).
Regarding claim 3 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include a reference signal that is inside a set of sidelink resources (paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0145, 0149, 0178, 0182; configured sidelink resources used for PRS).
Regarding claim 4 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include one or more positioning reference signals sidelink PRSs indicated by the sidelink control information (paragraphs 0136-0178; SCI and SCI-P in relationship with PRSs).
Regarding claim 5 Farag discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs or the control information is at least partially inside a set of sidelink resources (figure 7; paragraphs 0136-0178; SCI/SCI-P and PRSs are within the configured sidelink resources as explained in paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 6 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include a sidelink reference signal configured with at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (paragraphs 0136-0178; the sidelink reference signal in relationship with PSCCH/PSSCH).
Regarding claim 8 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information includes at least one of SPCI that indicates PRS (paragraph 0178; SCI-P indicating PRS), SCI that indicates PRS (paragraphs 0138-0170; SCIs indicating PRS), SCI transmitted on PSCCH to indicate PSSCH (paragraphs 0075-0076, 0086, 0141; first and second stage SCIs), or PRS (paragraphs 0141-0167; S-PRS).
Regarding claim 10 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs are associated with at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH or the first information (paragraphs 0138-0178; sidelink PRS associated with a first information and PSSCH/PSCCH).
Regarding claim 12 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a frequency band of the one or more sidelink PRSs is obtained through at least one of: pre-configuration, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), the SCI or downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph 0119, 0170; RRC/MAC CE/DCI comprising system information).
Regarding claim 13 Farag discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the at least one of PSCCH resource selection or PRS resource selection includes measuring at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of PSSCH, or RSRP of PSCCH (paragraph 0086; measuring RSRP).
Regarding claim 18 Farag discloses an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor that is configured to cause the apparatus to implement a method (fig. 3, processor 340 connected to memory 360), the apparatus configured to:
receive, by a wireless device, control information including at least one of sidelink control information (SCI) or sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) that indicates one or more sidelink positioning reference signals (SL PRSs) (paragraphs 0125-0130, 0178-0187; PRS associated with a sidelink positioning control information SCI-P, first stage SCI);
receive, by the wireless device, a first information by performing a sensing operation (paragraph 0086; sensing within a sensing window involves decoding the first stage SCI, and measuring the corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS);
perform, by the wireless device, at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource selection, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource selection, or PRS resource selection (paragraphs 0075, 0086, 0141, 0145, 0149; resource pool configured for the communicating UEs and used for PRS); and
perform, by the wireless device, a sidelink communication according to the one or more SL PRSs (paragraphs 0106, 0121, 0125-0136, 0172, amongst others; wherein an initiator UE communicates with a receiving UE, transmitting sidelink PRS);
wherein the one or more SL PRSs are associated with at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, or the first information received by the wireless device (paragraphs 0125-0130; reference signals for SL positioning are associated to first stage and second stage SL control information which are multiplexed or carried in PSCCH/PSSCH),
wherein the sensing operation includes measuring at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of PSSCH or RSRP of PSCCH (paragraphs 0075-0075, 0086; through sensing the UE decodes first stage SCI and measures corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS and the DMRS is carried in PSSCH/PSCCH).
Regarding claim 20 Farag discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include a reference signal that is inside a set of sidelink resources (paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0145, 0149, 0178, 0182; configured sidelink resources used for PRS).
Regarding claim 21 Farag discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include one or more sidelink PRSs indicated by the sidelink control information (paragraphs 0136-0178; SCI and SCI-P in relationship with PRSs).
Regarding claim 22 Farag discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs or the control information is at least partially inside a set of sidelink resources (figure 7; paragraphs 0136-0178; SCI/SCI-P and PRSs are within the configured sidelink resources as explained in paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 23 Farag discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more sidelink PRSs include a sidelink reference signal configured with at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (paragraphs 0136-0178; the sidelink reference signal in relationship with PSCCH/PSSCH).
Regarding claim 25 Farag discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first information includes at least one of SPCI that indicates PRS (paragraph 0178; SCI-P indicating PRS), SCI that indicates PRS (paragraphs 0138-0170; SCIs indicating PRS), SCI transmitted on PSCCH to indicate PSSCH (paragraphs 0075-0076, 0086, 0141; first and second stage SCIs), or PRS (paragraphs 0141-0167; S-PRS).
Regarding claim 26 Farag discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: selecting a sidelink communication resource (paragraph 0081, resource (re)selection); performing a sidelink data communication based the selected resource (paragraphs 0081-0082, table 1), wherein a time-domain length of a resource selection window does not exceed at least a delay or a period or the delay and the period of a periodic transmission indicated by at least one of: pre-configuration, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), sidelink control information (SCI) or downlink control information (DCI) (paragraphs 0081-0084, 0155, table 2; periodicity, packet budget and UE configuration provided by RRC/MAC CE/DCI).
Regarding claim 27 Farag discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the resource includes at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or SCI indicating PRS, SPCI or PRS (paragraphs 0086, 0155-0156; PSSCH/PSCCH/SCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag in view of Ko (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0284242).
Regarding claim 11 Farag discloses the method of claim 1. Farag fails to explicitly disclose but Ko, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein at least one of a channel busy ratio (CBR) or a channel occupancy ratio (CR) is used to determine whether the first information indicates a PRS (paragraphs 0254-0256; wherein sidelink CBR is used to determine sidelink PRS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Farag with the teachings of Ko, in order to ensure positioning accuracy (Ko: paragraph 0009).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2024/0163835 to Thomas et al. – which discloses initiator UE 1105 transmits SL positioning control information to the responder UE 1201 (see messaging 1207). Here, the initiator UE 1105 may use sidelink control information (“SCI”) to send the SL positioning control information. At Step 4, the initiator UE 1105 transmits a set of one or more SL positioning reference signals based on a PRS type (see messaging 1209). Here, the SL positioning reference signals may be transmitted using Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (“PSSCH”).
US PGPUB 2023/0062805 to Baek et al. – which discloses sidelink positioning, and more particularly to a technology of transmitting a positioning reference signal (PRS) for sidelink positioning in a new radio-vehicle to everything (NR-V2X) system. A resource for positioning may include a resource for sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) indicating positioning control information and a PSFCH-PRS resource for PRS transmission as follows.
US PGPUB 2022/0416976 to Baek et al. – that discloses transmitting a positioning reference signal (PRS) required for sidelink positioning by being multiplexed with a feedback signal. System information and sidelink positioning control information (SPCI), necessary for performing SL positioning using the PSFCH, may be included in a system information block (SIB) transmitted through a PSBCH, 1st-stage SCI transmitted through a PSCCH, and/or a 2nd-stage SCI transmitted through a PSSCH.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466