DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1–7, 10, and 12–19 in the reply filed on July 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1–7, 10, and 12–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
1. A process for recovery of carbon dioxide from a flue gas stream comprising:
compressing a flue gas feed stream forming a compressed flue gas stream, wherein the flue gas feed stream comprises carbon dioxide, and a nitrogen oxide compound, or a sulfur oxide compound, or ammonia, or combinations thereof;
separating the compressed flue gas feed stream in a CO₂ pressure swing adsorption (PSA) unit to form a CO2-enriched tail gas stream, and an off gas stream;
compressing the CO2-enriched tail gas stream in a tail gas compressor forming a compressed tail gas stream;
removing at least a portion of a heavy nitrogen oxide compound, or the sulfur oxide compound, or combinations thereof from the compressed tail gas stream in a heavy nitrogen oxide and sulfur oxide removal zone forming a reduced contaminant gas stream wherein a level of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound or the sulfur oxide compound or combinations thereof in the reduced contaminant gas stream is less than a level of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound or the sulfur oxide compound or combinations thereof in the compressed tail gas stream; or removing at least a portion of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound from the compressed tail gas stream in a water wash unit forming a reduced contaminant compressed tail gas stream, wherein a level of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound in the reduced contaminant compressed tail gas stream is less than a level of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound in the compressed tail gas stream; or both; and
fractionating the compressed gas stream or the reduced contaminant gas stream in a CO2 fractionation column into a carbon dioxide-enriched product stream and an overhead gas stream. Emphasis added.
Claim 1 is indefinite because “the compressed gas stream” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 2–7, 10, and 12–19 are indefinite because they depend from claim 1.
Also, claim 10 recites:
10. The process of claim 1 further comprising:
chilling the dried compressed tail gas stream forming a chilled compressed tail gas stream; and
chilling the chilled compressed tail gas stream with a refrigerant stream forming a second chilled tail gas stream. Emphasis added.
Claim 10 is indefinite because “the dried compressed tail gas stream” lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner is unable to provide an interpretation of claim 10 because it is unclear which of the compressed gas streams of claim 1 (“compressed flue gas stream,” “compressed tail gas stream,” “reduced contaminant compressed tail gas stream,” “the compressed gas stream”) correspond to “the dried compressed tail gas stream” of claim 10.
Claims 11–16 are indefinite because they depend from claim 10.
Also, claim 12 recites:
12. The process of claim 10 further comprising:
chilling the compressed tail gas with the carbon dioxide enriched product stream before drying the compressed tail gas stream. Emphasis added.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the compressed tail gas” refers to the “compressed tail gas stream” of claim 1.
Claim 12 is also indefinite because “drying the compressed tail gas stream” lacks antecedent basis as it is a step that has not been introduced in claims 1 or 10.
Claim 15 recites:
15. The process of claim 14 further comprising:
sending the heated second overhead stream to an expander to generate power or decrease the power of the feed gas compressor or the tail gas compressor, forming a cooled recycle gas stream; and
optionally cooling the compressed tail gas stream, or circulating quench water from a quench column, or a refrigerant stream, or the overhead gas stream from the CO2 fractionation column with the cooled second overhead gas stream from the expander. Emphasis added.
Claim 15 is indefinite because “the feed gas compressor” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 16 recites:
16. The process of claim 15 further comprising:
passing the off gas stream from the PSA or VPSA to an expander to generate power or directly decrease the power of a compressor in the one of the units forming a cooled vent gas stream; and
optionally cooling the compressed tail gas stream or a compressor interstage cooler or a quench water cooler from the quench column or any combination thereof with the cooled vent gas stream from the expander. Emphasis added.
Claim 16 is indefinite because it is unclear if “the PSA” refers to the “CO2 pressure swing adsorption (PSA) unit” of claim 1. Claim 16 is also indefinite because “the…VPSA” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 16 is further indefinite because “the units forming a cooled vent gas stream” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 16 is also indefinite because “the cooled vent gas stream from the expander” lacks antecedent basis as the claim initially introduces “a cooled vent gas stream” that is formed “in one of the units” (instead of being formed from the expander).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 17–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain, US 2014/0026750 A1 in view of Naito, US 2019/0178574 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jain teaches a method of using system 300 to recover high purity carbon dioxide from a feed stream 70 produced in a combustion process. See Jain Fig. 3, [0035]. The method reads on the claimed “process for recovery of carbon dioxide from a flue gas stream.” The method comprises:
Compressing flue gas stream 55 (the “flue gas feed stream”) in blower 65 to form feed stream 70 (the “compressed flue gas stream”), wherein the feed stream 70 comprises carbon dioxide and sulfur oxides, as claimed. See Jain Fig. 3, [0037].
Separating the compressed stream 70 in a CO2 separation system 80 (which can be a pressure swing adsorption unit, [0038]) to form a CO2 product stream 120 (the “CO2-enriched tail gas stream”) and a CO2 depleted stream 85 (the “off gas stream”), as claimed. See Jain Fig. 3, [0037]–[0039].
Compressing the CO2 product stream 120 in a compressor (the “tail gas compressor”) forming a compressed CO2 product stream (the “compressed tail gas stream”), as claimed. See Jain Fig. 3, [0039].
Removing at least a portion of the sulfur oxide compound from the compressed CO2 product stream 120 in a CO2 purification system 125 (the “heavy nitrogen oxide and sulfur oxide removal zone”) forming a stream 140 (the “reduced contaminant gas stream”) wherein a level of the sulfur oxide compound is less than the sulfur oxide compound in the compressed CO2 product stream 120, as claimed. See Jain [0039].
Jain differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the step of fractioning the purified CO2 product stream 140 (the “reduced contaminant gas stream”) in a CO2 fractionation column into a carbon dioxide-enriched product stream and an overhead gas stream, as claimed.
But Jain teaches that the purified CO2 product stream 140 can be liquified. See Jain [0039] (last sentence).
With this in mind, Naito teaches a carbon dioxide recovery method where carbon dioxide gas is sent (via passage L5) to a cryogenic liquefication distillation apparatus SP (the “fractionation column”). See Naito Fig. 1, [0026], [0035]. Within the distillation apparatus SP, the carbon dioxide gas fractionated into highly purified carbon dioxide liquid C (the “carbon dioxide-enriched product stream”) and residual gas G’ (the “overhead gas stream”). Id. The cryogenic liquefication distillation apparatus SP of Naito is beneficial because it produces highly purified carbon dioxide liquid C. Id. It would have been obvious to use the cryogenic liquefication distillation apparatus SP of Naito as the mechanism for liquifying the purified CO2 product stream 140 of Jain to produce highly purified carbon dioxide liquid.
Regarding claim 4, Jain teaches that the flue gas 55 further comprises mercury (interpreted as Hg(0), (Hg2+), or a heavy metal) with the method further comprising removing at least a portion of the mercury from the flue gas 55 before separating the “compressed flue gas stream” 70 in the “CO2 PSA unit” 80, as claimed. See Jain Fig. 3, [0036].
Regarding claim 7, the claim further limits the optional step of claim 1 of “removing at least a portion of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound from the compressed tail gas stream in a water wash unit”—because claim 7 indicates that “removing at least a portion of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound from the compressed tail gas stream in the water wash unit comprises…” Claim 7 fails to specify that the optional step of claim 1 (“removing at least a portion of the heavy nitrogen oxide compound from the compressed tail gas stream in a water wash unit”) is required by the claimed process. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations of claim 7 are also optional, and therefore the prior art reads on claim 7 even if the process of the prior art does not teach the optional limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, Jain teaches that the flue gas stream 55 comprises a flue gas stream from unit 5, which is a power generation plant using a combustion source, such as coal or natural gas, as claimed. See Jain [0004], [0035].
Regarding claim 18, Jain teaches sending the compressed CO2 product stream 120 (the “compressed tail gas stream”) to a temperature swing adsorption system while also removing moisture from the compressed CO2 product stream 120. Jain also teaches that a temperature swing adsorber can be used as a moisture removal system 79. See Jain [0048]. Therefore, because Jian teaches that the compressed CO2 product stream 120 can be dried to remove moisture and can be sent to a temperature swing adsorption system, with a temperature swing adsorber 79 being useful to remove moisture—it would have been obvious for the moisture removal mechanism described in [0039] to be the temperature swing adsorber 79.
Jain also teaches that stream 135 (which is compressed and has moisture removed) is used as a purge gas (desorption gas), reading on “a desorption gas is…a dried compressed tail gas stream.” See Jain [0039].
Regarding claim 19, Jain as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Jain as modified differs from claim 19 because it is silent as to recycling the residual gas G’ of Naito (the “overhead gas stream”) to the PSA 80 of Jain (the “CO2 PSA”) to increase CO2 recovery.
But the PSA 80 of Jain is regenerated with purge gas to increase CO2 recovery (as a regenerated PSA is able to recover more CO2). See Jain [0039]. Also, Naito teaches that the residual gas G’ can be sent to dryer DR (a temperature swing adsorption system) to regenerate the dryer DR. See Naito Fig. 1, [0025], [0034]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to recycle the residual gas G’ of Naito to the PSA 80 of Jain to regenerate the PSA 80 because Naito suggests that the residual gas G’ is suitable for this purpose with the PSA 80 requiring purge gas for regeneration.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain, US 2014/0026750 A1 in view of Naito, US 2019/0178574 A1 and in further view of Hojjatie et al., US 2017/0190575 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Jain as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Jain as modified differs from claim 2 because it is silent as to quenching the flue gas stream 55 with water to cool the flue gas 55 and remove HCl or HF or both from the flue gas 55 before compressing it in blower 65, as claimed.
But the flue gas stream 55 comprises impurifies such as sulfur oxides, as noted above. With this in mind, Hojjatie teaches a sulfur dioxide scrubbing process for use with a flue gas comprising a preliminary step of pretreating the combustion gas feed in a quench tower (a tower using water) to cool the gas and remove components, such as hydrochloric acid (HCl). See Hojjatie [0119].
It would have been obvious to quench the flue gas stream 55 of Jain with the preliminary quenching step of Hojjatie to cool the flue gas and remove hydrochloric acid before it is compressed in blower 65 to further purify the flue gas 55.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain, US 2014/0026750 A1 in view of Naito, US 2019/0178574 A1 in view of Hojjatie et al., US 2017/0190575 A1 and in further view of Zanjani et al., US 2023/0233986 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Jain as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Jain as modified differs from claim 2 because it is silent as to quenching the flue gas stream 55 with a neutralizing agent to remove HCl, or HF, or SO2, or combinations thereof from the flue gas 55 before compressing it in blower 65, as claimed.
But the flue gas stream 55 comprises impurifies such as sulfur oxides, as noted above. With this in mind, Hojjatie teaches a sulfur dioxide scrubbing process for use with a flue gas comprising a preliminary step of pretreating the combustion gas feed in a quench tower (a tower using water) to cool the gas and remove components, such as hydrochloric acid (HCl). See Hojjatie [0119]. Also, Zanjani teaches a flue gas decarbonation process where a quench water stream can comprise additives, such as basic compounds (neutralizing agents) to improve removal efficiency of acidic compounds.
It would have been obvious to quench the flue gas stream 55 of Jain with the preliminary quenching step of Hojjatie to remove hydrochloric acid before it is compressed in blower 65 to further purify the flue gas 55. It would have been obvious for the quenching liquid to comprise basic compounds to improve the removal efficiency of the quenching process.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain, US 2014/0026750 A1 in view of Naito, US 2019/0178574 A1 and in further view of Woodward, US 2017/0341963 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Jain as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Jain as modified differs from claims 4 and 5 because it is silent as removing a portion of, for instance, the particulate from the flue gas stream 55 before separating the “compressed gas stream” 70 in the “CO2 PSA” 80 by passing the flue gas 55 through a baghouse to remove particulate.
But Woodward teaches a flue gas purification system comprising a bag house 106 immediately downstream from the combustion unit 102 for removing particulates out of gas released from the combustion unit 102. See Woodward Fig. 1, [0026]. The bag house 106 is beneficial because it is able to remove 99% or better of particulate matter released by the combustion unit 102 before it is sent downstream for further processing. Id.
It would have been obvious to provide a baghouse immediately downstream of the combustion unit 5 of Jain to remove most of the particulate matter from the flue gas 55 before it is sent downstream for further processing.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain, US 2014/0026750 A1 in view of Naito, US 2019/0178574 A1 in view of Monereau et al., US 2012/0180657 A1 and in further view of Dube, US 2017/0354926 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Jain as modified teaches that the process further comprises drying the compressed CO2 product stream 120 in a “dehydration unit” (the mechanism that removes moisture from the compressed CO2 product stream 120, as moisture can be removed from the compressed CO2 product stream 120. See Jain [0039].
Jain as modified differs from claim 6 because it is silent as to the “dehydration unit” also removing ammonia from the compressed CO2 product stream 120, as claimed.
But Jain teaches that a conditioning unit 60 can be used to remove impurities, such as oxides of nitrogen. See Jain Fig. 3, [0036]. Jain also teaches that moisture and nitrogen can be removed from the compressed CO2 product stream 120. See Jain [0039].
With this in mind, Monereau teaches a flue gas purification system comprising a unit 4 that uses ammonia to remove NOx from the flue gas before the flue gas is moved downstream for further processing. See Monereau Fig. 1, [0049]. Also, Dube teaches a flue gas purification system comprising a receiver that is used to condense residual moisture and ammonia from a gas comprising carbon dioxide. See Dube [0037].
It would have been obvious to use the unit 4 of Monereau as part of the conditioning unit 60 of Jain to use ammonia to remove nitrogen oxides from the flue gas 55 because using ammonia is a suitable technique for removing nitrogen oxides from flue gas. It also would have been obvious to use the receiver of Dube to condense the moisture and residual ammonia from the compressed CO2 product stream 120 of Jain to remove moisture and ammonia (nitrogen) from the compressed CO2 product stream 120 before it is sent downstream.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Degenstein et al., US 2010/0083697 A1 (purifying carbon dioxide with activated carbon); Andrich et al., US 2023/0356147 A1 (process or purifying of gas flow comprising NO2, carbon dioxide, and nitrogen).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776