DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al US 2014/0224014.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses, as seen in fig. 3 and fig. 4, a sensor block assembly comprising a sensor block (circuit board 6 with an inertia sensor fixed thereon, abstract), at least one isolator 9 rigidly connected with the at least one sensor block through an adhesive 8 (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 4, the at least one isolator of Wang includes a plurality of isolators (3 and 9) as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the sensor block of Wang includes at least one circuit board on one face as claimed (paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 6, the sensor block assembly of Wang is arranged such that movement between the at least one isolator 9 and the at least one sensor block 6 is minimized because the at least one isolator is rigidly connected to the at least one sensor block through the at least one adhesive since the two elements are fixedly connected to each other (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a sensor block assembly which includes a sensor block, an isolator and at least one adhesive 8 which secures the sensor block to the isolator. In assembly, the at least one adhesive is applied to the sensor block 6 and/or the isolator 9 to form a rigid connection between the two. In order for the adhesive to connect the two elements, at least a slight compression would be applied and a rigid mechanical connection between the at least one sensor and at least one isolator is formed.
Regarding claim 13, the at least one isolator of Wang includes a plurality of isolators (3 and 9) as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, the sensor block assembly of Wang is arranged such that movement between the at least one isolator 9 and the at least one sensor block 6 is minimized because the at least one isolator is rigidly connected to the at least one sensor block through the at least one adhesive since the two elements are fixedly connected to each other (paragraph 0024).
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakashima et al. US 2022/0057211.
Regarding claim 15, Nakashima teaches a sensor device and method of assembling a sensor block assembly (fig. 1A) comprising positioning at least one sensor block 2 next to at least one isolator 4, and welding the at least one sensor block to the at least one isolator to form at least one rigid mechanical connection between the at least one sensor block and the at least one isolator (paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 20, the sensor block assembly of Nakashima is arranged such that movement between the at least one isolator 9 and the at least one sensor block 6 is minimized because the at least one isolator is rigidly connected to the at least one sensor block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Potts et al. US 2017/0248553.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Wang discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the addition of a fastener to further connect the isolator to the sensor block. Potts teaches, as seen in fig. 7, a sensor mounting system in which a sensor block 20 is mounted to an isolating element 5 first with an adhesive (paragraph 0047) and then with an additional fastener 24 in the form of a screw (paragraph 0062). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Potts with those of Wang in order to provide an additional mounting element for more permanently securing the sensor to the device it is monitoring.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Wang discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the addition of a fastener to further connect the isolator to the sensor block. Potts teaches, as seen in fig. 7, a sensor mounting system in which a sensor block 20 is mounted to an isolating element 5 first with an adhesive (paragraph 0047) and then with an additional fastener 24 in the form of a screw (paragraph 0062). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Potts with those of Wang in order to provide an additional mounting element for more permanently securing the sensor to the device it is monitoring.
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Kameta et al. US 2018/0231405.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose curing the adhesive as claimed. Kameta teaches a sensing system in which sensors are attached by a bonding member 50 to a mounting surface 30 and cured by heating afterwards (paragraph 0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Kameta with those of Wang in order to provide a heat or other activated adhesive to ensure proper positioning prior to attachment.
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose curing the adhesive as claimed. Kameta teaches a sensing system in which sensors are attached by a bonding member 50 to a mounting surface 30 and cured by heating afterwards (paragraph 0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Kameta with those of Wang in order to provide a heat or other activated adhesive to ensure proper positioning prior to attachment.
Regarding claim 12, Wang and Kameta teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly teach the removal of the fastener after curing as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have removed the fastener once the adhesive was cured since it would no longer be necessary to hold the elements in place and it would allow for a more compact package.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima and Wang.
Regarding claim 19, Nakashima teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of isolators as claimed. Wang teaches a sensor device in which multiple isolators 3 and 9 are connected to the sensor to stabilize it during use. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Wang with those of Nakashima in order to provide an additional isolator to the sensor block to better stabilize it from vibration during sensing.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima and Sayer US 5,795,034.
Regarding claims 16-18, Nakashima teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the use of a screw or bolt as a fastener and removing the fastener after welding as claimed. Sayer discloses a method of attaching two elements together by welding in which a fastener (bolt) is used to couple the elements which are then welded and the fastener removed (column 3, lines 53-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Sayer with those of Nakashima in order to provide a temporary force to the members during welding in order to ensure they are in proper contact and then removing them after welding in order to hold the sensing block and isolator in the desired location during welding while reducing the size of the finished product afterwards.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855